PlayBeatz Ear Buds Review - Legit or Hype?

By J.R. Duren
HighYa Staff
Published on: Nov 29, 2019

PlayBeatz are wireless earbuds that look like Apple AirPods but cost a fraction of the price.

What makes these earbuds unique is that the marketing for the product mentions Apple’s AirPods and insinuates that this product performs just as good as AirPods but without the $159 price tag.

In our review of this product, we’ll examine how PlayBeatz work, talk about their pricing, then compare them to AirPods and conclude with a section about the earbuds’ pros and cons and the bottom line.

How PlayBeatz Work

PlayBeatz earbuds are powered by 2.4 GHz Bluetooth and have a range of 33 feet. They can pair with any phone, tablet, desktop computers and laptops.

Each earbud has a button near the base that serves as the power button and the connection button. Each PlayBeatz earbud is equipped with a multi-function button and an LED light.

Connecting to Your Device

To connect your PlayBeatz to your phone, you’ll press and hold the button on each earbud for five seconds until you see red and blue lights flashing on the earbuds.

Then press one of the two buttons for two seconds. You’ll hear a beep when the earbuds are ready to pair. Go to your Bluetooth settings and connect to “i12.”

At this point, the earbuds are ready to work with your phone just like any other Bluetooth earbuds or speaker.

If you want to connect just one earbud, you’ll go through the same process with the earbud you want to use. This feature is helpful if you need to keep one ear free in situations where you’re keeping tabs on your kids at home, listening for someone at the door or similar scenarios.

Managing Phone Calls and Music Volume

When calls come in, you’ll do a short press on the multi-function button to answer the call and a long press to reject the call.

When you’re listening to music, you’ll do a quick double-press on one of the earbud's buttons to increase the volume and a double press on the other earbud to lower the volume.

You can skip to the next song or previous song by tapping the button three times.

Turning Off and Charging

If you need to turn the earbuds off, press one of the multi-function buttons for five seconds. A red light on the earbud will flash and, about five minutes after that, the earbuds will power down.

If your battery is running low, the earbuds will give you a voice reminder to charge them.

To charge them, place the earbuds in your charging dock and quick-press the button on the front of the dock. You’ll know the dock is charging when its LED light turns blue. Your earbuds will flash blue when they’re fully charged, which takes between 40 and 50 minutes.

One charge provides more than three hours of use or 72 hours of standby time.

PlayBeatz Pricing and Return Policy

You can purchase between one and five sets of PlayBeatz at the following prices:

  • $49.99 for one plus $8.95 shipping
  • $91.99 for two plus $9.95 shipping
  • $124.99 for three plus $10.95 shipping
  • $159.99 for four plus $11.95 shipping
  • $187.99 for five plus $12.95 shipping

You have 30 days from the day you receive your PlayBeatz to request a return. However, you’re allowed to return your PLayBeatz only if they're new condition and in their original packaging.

If that is the case, notify PlayBeatz customer service that you want to make a return. You can reach them at support@getplaybeatz or call (855)815-1539.

Then, send the earbuds along with your name, phone number, email address and mailing address to:

13507 Van Nuys Blvd
P.O. Box #4701
Pacoima, CA 91333-7001
United States

PlayBeatz’ fine print says that the company will make the final determination if they’ll refund your money. Keep this in mind, as sending the earbuds back isn’t a guarantee that you’ll get your money back.

How PlayBeatz Compare to AirPods

It can be tempting to give in to PlayBeatz marketing and buy them because they seem like a cheaper version of Apple's AirPods. However, you need to know there are some significant differences between the two products.

Setup

First, the setup process with AirPods is much easier than PlayBeatz. Instead of going through multiple button presses, you place your AirPods dock with the earbuds inside next to your phone. Your iPhone will recognize the AirPods and all you have to do is tap the “Connect” button that pops up on your phone screen.

This is a huge benefit considering that your PlayBeatz will run into serious problems if one of the buttons breaks. Should you get a new phone or try to connect to a new device, you won’t be able to connect both earbuds since you have to long-press the button on both to connect to a new device.

Double-tap Commands

Second, AirPods can sync seamlessly with Siri, which allows you to use voice commands to control the volume of your AirPods.

Also, you have the option to choose what the double-tap function does for each earbud. For example, you can set your left earbud to skip a track and your right earbud to turn play, pause and stop your content.

PlayBeatz has two default settings. First, double-tapping the button will raise and lower volume. Second, triple-tapping them will skip to the next song or play the previous song. You cannot customize what your button taps do.

Also, holding down either of the multi-function buttons will activate Siri, which gives you the ability to change your content.

Automatic Detection

Finally, your iPhone can detect when your AirPods are in and out of years and will pause or stop your content. Pairing your iPhone with PlayBeatz does not offer the same convenience.

Sound Quality

PCMag, TechRadar and Tom’s Guide all praise the quality of sound you get from Apple AirPods. Meanwhile, PlayBeatz did not have any reviews in major tech publications at the time of publishing.

Pros

  • Good price, especially if you're on a budget
  • Double and triple tap commands allow you to navigate through songs and control volume with ease

Cons

  • Limited Battery Life
  • Lack of brand reputation. Unclear who the company behind these headphones is
  • Poor Refund policy - The company may choose not to refund you and issue you store credit instead.

Bottom Line

If your main goal is to buy a pair of earbuds that look like AirPods, then PlayBeatz is a viable option. However, if you’re concerned about function, there’s a good chance PlayBeatz won’t live up to your expectations.

Due to a lack of reputation online on who the company is, consider from companies such as JBL, Bose, Apple, etc.

The earbuds have limited customizations when you pair them with iPhones. Also, at full charge, the earbuds last around three hours, which may not be suitable if you listen to music for more than three hours a day.


Read 39 PlayBeatz Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 1 4 star: 3 3 star: 0 2 star: 2 1 star:  33
Bottom Line: 10% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 39
Sort reviews by:

  • Still nothing

    • By Amber W.,
    • Tuscaloosa, AL,
    • Jan 25, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    I placed my order for two PlayBeatz with warranties on both. Totaling around $90 for everything including shipping. Ordered on 12/15/2019. Today is 1/22/2020 and I’ve yet to even receive a tracking number. I’ve "chatted" with customer service reps twice now. The first person said they were back-ordered but assured me I would receive no later than 1/15. I spoke with someone else today giving them a week past 1/15 and was told my order was in fulfillment and I would receive tracking information within a few days. I was assured today 7-15 days until I receive my order. I used my PayPal and if I don’t have my order within 15 days, I will be getting my money back. Ridiculous. Even Wish is faster than this place.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • PlayBeatz scam

    • By Elizabeth M.,
    • North Carolina,
    • Jan 23, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have bought better earbuds at a Dollar General.

    They won't charge, they disconnect from my phone no matter if my phone is close or far. When I tried to cancel my order I got no response.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Stay away from this company

    • By Troy S.,
    • Salem, OR,
    • Jan 22, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    For Christmas, I purchased PlayBeatz earbuds and a warranty. Shortly afterward, I was informed that I was receiving a wireless Bose headset, so I returned the PlayBeatz well within the 30-day return policy period. That was December 2, 2019 and PlayBeatz received them on December 4, 2019, and when I called to check on the status of my refund, I was told that it hadn't been 30 days. I waited a couple of more weeks and followed up again and was told they needed to be tracked. I sent a copy of the USPS receipt with the tracking number and still heard nothing back. I emailed a week later, still no reply. I called today, and they claimed they did not have my order...which was promptly provided along with the USPS tracking number. They stated they would only refund the cost (no shipping) and not the warranty as I had used it. I informed Rolando that I had returned the item new in box unopened, and it was within the 30 days as their website and disclaimer states. He said he would return it, but I haven't seen the refund for that, only the purchase of the earbuds.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Don’t buy direct from PlayBeatz!

    • By Jon S.,
    • Florida,
    • Jan 22, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    Your order will take up to 30 days for delivery! If you must have these, order on Amazon and get as quick as 2-day delivery.

    My confirmation email for the order states the 30-day delivery policy. I tried to cancel within 24 hours of ordering and was told no, "they have already been shipped to the facility." What the heck is "facility"?

    I have filed a charge reversal with my credit card company.

    BEWARE! Given their shipping policy I now question the quality of this product. If you must have these, go to Amazon where you can return for a refund. If you buy direct and want to return them for ANY reason, all you can get is a store credit.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • PlayBeatz earbuds

    • By Hans S.,
    • Texas,
    • Jan 22, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    These sounded great on the web so I bought 5 pairs for Christmas gifts - then found out that there are shipping delays. Finally got them and put the first earbud into my right ear to start to connect with my iPhone - I was putting on my readers to read the instructions and knocked the earbud accidentally out of my ear. It dropped to the hardwood floor and broke into two pieces with little wires and internal components exposed! Compared to my Apple earbuds these are total junk - wasted $160+ - my son put his earbuds back in my stocking after trying them. Don't waste your money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Good sound if you can get them powered up

    • By Sean P.,
    • South Carolina,
    • Jan 21, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    The pods provide good sound but they simply will not hold a charge, at least not after charging a time or two. I've gone back to other headsets simply because these are totally unreliable. I would not waste your money on these.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Buyer beware

    • By Mark L.,
    • Grundy Center, IA,
    • Jan 19, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    My wife purchased a set of PlayBeatz for me for Christmas and they worked awesome for the first two days and then would not pair together. My wife sent an email on the 27th of December asking for an exchange or refund.

    On January 14th they finally responded and denied us service because 30 days had passed. If they had answered our email 2 and 1/2 weeks earlier when we sent the first email they were covered under warranty. BUYER BEWARE!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Great earbuds

    • By John S.,
    • Scottsdale, AZ,
    • Jan 17, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received my earbuds as a gift. When you remove the buds from their case they automatically pair with each other. They will then pair with my Galaxy S9 or my LGTV. The sound is clear and bright. The only reason I gave them 4 stars is because I can't figure out how to change their volume or the tone. I even read the directions! When I figure that out I would change this to 5 stars.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Pipe dream

    • By Andrew D.,
    • Fort Worth, TX,
    • Jan 16, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am thankful to find others facing the same issue. I ordered on 12/19 and have still not received them. I have given them every opportunity to fulfill on their promise to eventually deliver on the mistake of personal good nature. I have called (was dropped multiple times while waiting) and emailed a number of times to find a standard feeling I am in the wrong for expecting too much? Wait though...I am expecting too much when they have billed me already and sent an email about having a lifetime warranty - without even having them?

    This is starting to smell like a fraud and there is an avenue that we could all take together to correct this. If they can cause physical harm that wasn’t disclosed? Here is a list of some illegal activities on their part, while there may be many more to a trained eye:

    1) Fraudulent promise of delivery, yet costs collected without receiving or communication?

    2) Fake reasoning around knowing a tracking number? Isn’t this an obvious criminal now?

    3) No statement about the time of delivery.

    4) Fake promise about quality/function.

    5) Non-American Company that doesn't have any realistic location?

    We should all join together to push for a class action lawsuit that refunds everyone and also bans them from ever doing business again. The solution may already be within our hands?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Horrible

    • By Ashley S.,
    • Dallas, TX,
    • Jan 15, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    I will never order from here again. I ordered my dad a Christmas gift on 12/7/2019 and I still have not received a confirmation. I called multiple times and the customer service agents always say it’s in the process of delivering. Seems like a scam! Worst experience!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Don't be fooled

    • By Jackson N.,
    • Birmingham, AL,
    • Jan 14, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer

    Don't buy these ear pods, they look like the Apple pods but they are not even near the quality. I never could get them to pair with my XR iPhone.

    And when I tried sending them back: "Money Back Guarantee," that's a joke, they gave me the runaround, still haven't gotten my money back.

    Do not buy these: they are junk!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 39

Write a Review for PlayBeatz!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review