About Pocket Hose Ultra

Richard Karn, known to millions as Borland from TV’s Home Improvement, is the chipper spokesman for Pocket Hose Ultra, an expandable/collapsable garden hose. This is the updated version of the Pocket Hose – by adding “Ultra” they claim it is now 3x stronger, won’t rip or pop, and has a new solar stripe shield they say extends the life of the hose.

Pocket Hose Ultra comes to you from Telebrands, a telemarketing company so old they claim to be the originators of the “As Seen On TV” logo. They are a BBB-accredited business (based in Fairfield, NJ) and currently have an A- rating. However, as the BBB site states, this does not mean Telebrands’ products or services have been endorsed by them.

Pocket Hose Ultra Construction

Pocket Hose Ultra sort of looks like a miniature green fire hose, albeit with amber-colored ends. In fact, they claim it is made with the same double layer construction, with what they claim is a “scientifically developed” elastomer hose (translation: a rubber hose that expands) with a “new and improved” fabric outer lining they say will have “no more rips or breakthroughs” (apparently a problem with the old version.) They tout the 2 white stripes running along the green exterior are Solar Stripe Shields they say will protect it from damaging UV rays and extend its life.

They brag that its amber tips are made of “super strong” material that is “3 times stronger”, but decline to state specifics (it appears to be a form of plastic.) They also tout its “tight seal technology” promises “no more leaks” (again, an apparent problem with regular Pocket Hose.) The infomercial shows an ordinary hose with brass ends being crushed under 300 lbs. of pressure, while Pocket Hose Ultra remains unscathed.

How Pocket Hose Ultra Works

To use Pocket Hose Ultra, choose length, unravel, and attach like you would any ordinary garden hose; you can also use the Amber Elbow Adaptor or attach 2 hoses together, but they say to not use the Adaptor if you are using a spray nozzle. and use any type of sprinkler or nozzle. Turn on the water and switch on the valve at the end. As water rushes through, the hose will expand to its full length. When done washing or watering, turn off the hose, de-attach and drain with spray nozzle (if used) and they claim it will return to its original compact size. They brag it can be easily stored unlike regular hoses of a comparable length, which they say are bulky and take up a lot of space. (They say to always store indoors when not in use.)

On the website, Karn is holding a Pocket Hose Ultra of unknown length easily with one hand. The actual contraction length is listed as 25 ft. hose contracts to 9 ft., 50 ft. to 17 ft., 75 ft. to 25 ft., and 100 ft. to 31ft. and its weight is approximately 1/2 lb. for every 25 ft.

Pocket Hose Ultra Warnings

They say to not drink from this (or any) hose, to never stretch the hose when empty as it may snap back and injure you, and that a hose may strangle you if wrapped around your neck. They add it is for outdoor use only in situations under 80 psi. They say it is not meant for use in hot water applications or with pressure washers. Do not leave unattended when in use, keep away from children or pets, and, finally they strongly emphasize, THIS IS NOT A TOY.

Pocket Hose Ultra Includes:

  • Pocket Hose Ultra (25, 50, 75, or 100 ft.)
  • 2nd Pocket Hose Ultra “free” (25 ft. only, extra S & H)
  • Amber Elbow Adaptor “free” (with 25 ft. extra S & H)
  • Lifetime Guarantee

Pocket Hose Ultra Pricing, Shipping, and Returns

Pocket Hose Ultra can be yours in different configurations. If you purchase the 25 ft. hose it is $12.99 for one hose, plus they automatically throw in another 25 ft. and Amber Elbow Adaptor “free” but tack on an additional $7.99 S & H making the total $20.98 for 2 hoses and an adaptor. You can also purchase the 50, 75, or 100 ft. versions for $19.99, $32.99, or $39.99 respectively (plus $7.99 S & H); in this case the Amber Elbow Adaptor costs $7.99 plus $3.99 S & H. All Telebrands products including the Pocket Hose Ultra have the same money back guarantee – you can return any item in the original packaging for your money back, minus what it costs to ship it back and your original handling fees. You must also include a “detailed explanation” why you did not like the product, or they may not honor the guarantee.

Bottom Line: Is Pocket Hose Ultra a Scam?

Pocket Hose billed itself as “the number-one selling expandable hose in the world” but that doesn’t mean people were happy with it. In fact, there were numerous complaints about the old version ripping, popping, leaking, and generally not working as advertised. That’s probably the reason why they came out with the “Ultra” version, and so far it seems to be getting a better reception (Pocket Hose Ultra was unleashed in early 2014.)

People love its collapsibility, especially those that don’t want to lug around a bulky long hose in the winter. They say it’s generally more durable than the previous product. There are less complaints about leaking, popping, or ripping (but they’re still there.) There have also been negative remarks about the low flow rate due to the very small opening at the end.

We think the word is still out on whether it is “improved” or not, but, if you want to give it a shot, we suggest buying from a site like Amazon, which offers the same product at a discounted rate.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

84 Consumer Reviews for Pocket Hose Ultra

Average Consumer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 3 4 star: 2 3 star: 3 2 star: 9 1 star:  67
Bottom Line: 13% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 84
Sort reviews by:

  • Started leaking the second time I used it

    • Raleigh, NC,
    • Aug 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased a black Pocket Hose with brass fittings in June. I believe it was their best model. I finally took it out of the plastic package and used it for the first time in early August 2018. The second time, on August 15th. It sprung a leak. My clothing got soaked before I could shut it off. It isn't any better than the green ones with plastic fittings; just a lot more expensive. My recommendation is not to buy a Pocket Hose in any version or at any price. They are JUNK!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Worthless piece of junk

    • Lancaster, OH,
    • Aug 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I took the pocket hose out of the container, used it four or five times, and a whole blew in the piece of junk!

    Would I recommend this to a friend? I wouldn't recommend this to someone I didn't like!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Never again

    • Arundel, ME,
    • Jul 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought several pocket hoses several years ago with the plastic fittings and they were a disaster. Didn't last a month. So when they came out with the new brass fittings, I thought I would give it a try again, after all, they were very light and easy to move around. I bought a 50' at Home Depot and two 100' online. The 50' lasted a few weeks before the hose separated from the brass coupling. Fortunately, Home Depot took it back. The 100' lasted a couple of months and then one of them developed a long split (while I wasn't around) and pumped hundreds of gallons of water down the street instead of on my lawn. This is the worst product ever. There is no way they could have tested this product. Doesn't deserve one star!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Hose burst

    • Albert Lea, MN,
    • Jun 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was watering my garden and it burst. I hadn't had it very long. It could have been really bad if my 20-month-old grandson hadn't walked away moments before. I would not recommend anyone buy these hoses. Dangerous. Too bad the company doesn't care. Do not support this company because they won't respond to you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Don’t buy it

    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Jun 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had it for three days, and it kinked and exploded! It’s the second one that did that. I bought the first one and thought it was a fluke, so I tried again. It’s junk. I’m still paying off the credit card for a hose that exploded. It’s garbage.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Worst hose ever!

    • New York City, NY,
    • Jun 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got an expandable Pocket Hose for Christmas 2017 from a neighbor friend. I only used it twice in March, both times briefly!

    I used it maybe a total of four times in April, and it has already started leaking at about every two feet or so along the entire yellow stripe that is printed on the outside of this crappy hose.

    Today I went to water my lawn and after about 5 minutes in it just popped! About a 3-foot section of it just popped! After looking at it, you can see the inside is just some thin, cheaply crafted rubberized tubing and made quite poorly!

    We have gone through quite a few hoses on our families property over the 46 years we have owned and lived here, and this was the first one that has ever just popped!

    And NO! We have NOT abused it, never left the water turned on, always drained all the water out of it, disconnected it and placed it in a nice, clean bucket to keep it stored in and put it inside after each use, the bucket also to made it easier to carry around!

    It NEVER shrunk down to its original size after the first use and always stayed a bit stretched out and longer than how it came!

    We'd say it IS a big SCAM! Don't EVER buy the Pocket Hose! It IS pure GARBAGE!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Pocket Hose

    • Tennessee,
    • Jun 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have purchased nine Pocket Hoses and they have all busted the first time used. I have called the company and they did nothing about it. I have taken them back to the stores where purchased and they won't take them back they just say call the company. False advertisement, worst item. I have to go back to the original hoses used for years. They should be ashamed for selling defective items. As Seen On TV is a joke. How many people have they taken over these hoses. I know I am not the only one that has complained about this item.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Piece of crap!

    • Kentucky,
    • May 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We bought a Pocket Hose not knowing how bad they were. We followed the instructions and tonight being the third time using it, it split open and water everywhere! This company should be shut down!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Very junky hose

    • Arlington, VA,
    • May 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought two of the pocket hoses at the same time. The first one lasted less than one summer, and the second one (which I cared for and really babied it) blew out the first time I used it this year. What a piece of junk! Do not waste your money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Bad hose

    • Quebec, Canada,
    • Oct 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought the pocket hose, and it lasted 5 months. I barely used it until it burst, so not sturdy at all. Every hose I bought because of As Seen on TV were not good.

    It didn't last until the end of summer, so I would not recommend.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Breakage

    I first purchased a pocket hose about four years ago to replace the heavy rubber ones. I am 79 years old and thought the Pocket Hose would be perfect because it is so light. I am also living on Social Security.

    I have had to purchase two new ones every year for the last four years I have been using them. I started with the 25-foot, and it did not last a season. Next, the 50-foot also did not last the season. This year I tried the 75-foot black with brass fitting, and both of them exploded within days of each other.

    It is now the first of October, and I am in need of a new hose. Is there any way they can be repaired?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 27, 2018

      Ralph M.

      I bought the pocket hose about two months ago. I used it daily since then. Yesterday, I noticed water where I was dragging the hose. When I turned off the water and started putting the relaxed hose in a 5-gallon bucket, I found the spot where the hose was wet. I could feel through the outer liner that the hose was broken inside and that's why the water is coming out. I never turned the water on full while using the hose, as I use it to water potted plants. I don't need the pressure washing away potting soil. I said all that to say this, this hose is very poor quality and they know it, that is why they offer no warranty. I wish I had Richard Korn's address, I would mail this piece of junk to him.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 84

Write a Review for Pocket Hose Ultra!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review