About Pocket Hose Ultra

Richard Karn, known to millions as Borland from TV’s Home Improvement, is the chipper spokesman for Pocket Hose Ultra, an expandable/collapsable garden hose. This is the updated version of the Pocket Hose – by adding “Ultra” they claim it is now 3x stronger, won’t rip or pop, and has a new solar stripe shield they say extends the life of the hose.

Pocket Hose Ultra comes to you from Telebrands, a telemarketing company so old they claim to be the originators of the “As Seen On TV” logo. They are a BBB-accredited business (based in Fairfield, NJ) and currently have an A- rating. However, as the BBB site states, this does not mean Telebrands’ products or services have been endorsed by them.

Pocket Hose Ultra Construction

Pocket Hose Ultra sort of looks like a miniature green fire hose, albeit with amber-colored ends. In fact, they claim it is made with the same double layer construction, with what they claim is a “scientifically developed” elastomer hose (translation: a rubber hose that expands) with a “new and improved” fabric outer lining they say will have “no more rips or breakthroughs” (apparently a problem with the old version.) They tout the 2 white stripes running along the green exterior are Solar Stripe Shields they say will protect it from damaging UV rays and extend its life.

They brag that its amber tips are made of “super strong” material that is “3 times stronger”, but decline to state specifics (it appears to be a form of plastic.) They also tout its “tight seal technology” promises “no more leaks” (again, an apparent problem with regular Pocket Hose.) The infomercial shows an ordinary hose with brass ends being crushed under 300 lbs. of pressure, while Pocket Hose Ultra remains unscathed.

How Pocket Hose Ultra Works

To use Pocket Hose Ultra, choose length, unravel, and attach like you would any ordinary garden hose; you can also use the Amber Elbow Adaptor or attach 2 hoses together, but they say to not use the Adaptor if you are using a spray nozzle. and use any type of sprinkler or nozzle. Turn on the water and switch on the valve at the end. As water rushes through, the hose will expand to its full length. When done washing or watering, turn off the hose, de-attach and drain with spray nozzle (if used) and they claim it will return to its original compact size. They brag it can be easily stored unlike regular hoses of a comparable length, which they say are bulky and take up a lot of space. (They say to always store indoors when not in use.)

On the website, Karn is holding a Pocket Hose Ultra of unknown length easily with one hand. The actual contraction length is listed as 25 ft. hose contracts to 9 ft., 50 ft. to 17 ft., 75 ft. to 25 ft., and 100 ft. to 31ft. and its weight is approximately 1/2 lb. for every 25 ft.

Pocket Hose Ultra Warnings

They say to not drink from this (or any) hose, to never stretch the hose when empty as it may snap back and injure you, and that a hose may strangle you if wrapped around your neck. They add it is for outdoor use only in situations under 80 psi. They say it is not meant for use in hot water applications or with pressure washers. Do not leave unattended when in use, keep away from children or pets, and, finally they strongly emphasize, THIS IS NOT A TOY.

Pocket Hose Ultra Includes:

  • Pocket Hose Ultra (25, 50, 75, or 100 ft.)
  • 2nd Pocket Hose Ultra “free” (25 ft. only, extra S & H)
  • Amber Elbow Adaptor “free” (with 25 ft. extra S & H)
  • Lifetime Guarantee

Pocket Hose Ultra Pricing, Shipping, and Returns

Pocket Hose Ultra can be yours in different configurations. If you purchase the 25 ft. hose it is $12.99 for one hose, plus they automatically throw in another 25 ft. and Amber Elbow Adaptor “free” but tack on an additional $7.99 S & H making the total $20.98 for 2 hoses and an adaptor. You can also purchase the 50, 75, or 100 ft. versions for $19.99, $32.99, or $39.99 respectively (plus $7.99 S & H); in this case the Amber Elbow Adaptor costs $7.99 plus $3.99 S & H. All Telebrands products including the Pocket Hose Ultra have the same money back guarantee – you can return any item in the original packaging for your money back, minus what it costs to ship it back and your original handling fees. You must also include a “detailed explanation” why you did not like the product, or they may not honor the guarantee.

Bottom Line: Is Pocket Hose Ultra a Scam?

Pocket Hose billed itself as “the number-one selling expandable hose in the world” but that doesn’t mean people were happy with it. In fact, there were numerous complaints about the old version ripping, popping, leaking, and generally not working as advertised. That’s probably the reason why they came out with the “Ultra” version, and so far it seems to be getting a better reception (Pocket Hose Ultra was unleashed in early 2014.)

People love its collapsibility, especially those that don’t want to lug around a bulky long hose in the winter. They say it’s generally more durable than the previous product. There are less complaints about leaking, popping, or ripping (but they’re still there.) There have also been negative remarks about the low flow rate due to the very small opening at the end.

We think the word is still out on whether it is “improved” or not, but, if you want to give it a shot, we suggest buying from a site like Amazon, which offers the same product at a discounted rate.

What to Learn How to Shop Smarter for TV Products?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

75 Consumer Reviews for Pocket Hose Ultra

Average Consumer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 3 4 star: 2 3 star: 3 2 star: 9 1 star:  58
Bottom Line: 15% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 75
Sort reviews by:

  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    The ULTRA is AWESOME

    • Denison, TX,
    • May 14, 2014

    I bought three of the new Ultra 50' hoses right after they came out. I've had NO problems with any of them and I use them daily. I use a nozzle on each one and the flow is just as good as the other rubber hoses that I've had in the past. I will admit that the original version was a huge disappointment - both burst within 3 months. Not one complaint on the new ones and LOVE the ease of handling. With a money back guarantee if they should ever leak, what do you have to lose?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    It's Amazing

    • West Monroe, LA,
    • Apr 8, 2015

    I have been using the same pocket hose for over a year. It has never kinked and is very sturdy. I was skeptical when my wife brought it home but we now have two of them. We will never go back to the conventional water hoses. Highly recommend this product!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Three Cheers for the Pocket Hose

    • Connecticut,
    • Sep 9, 2015

    If you want a bad review of the Pocket Hose Ultra, read no further. I LOVE THE POCKET HOSE ULTRA. I am 5' 2" woman, weigh 115 lbs. and enjoy gardening. Lugging heavy hoses around my property to water my flower and vegetable gardens was taking the joy out of being outdoors. Then I discovered the Pocket Hose. The first three Pocket Hoses I bought lasted one and a half Summers. Then I bought the Ultra hose. So far, so good.

    If you are looking for a hose that will work for the rest of your life, then don't buy the Pocket Hose. The Pocket Hose has a varying life expectancy. If my Pocket Hose Ultra "dies" next week I will give it a Viking's Funeral and buy three more.

    The alleviation of the aggravation of having to drag, carry, unspool, and unkink a standard garden hose, and then repeat the process when putting the hose away is worth the $25 - $75 I spend on new Pocket Hoses every year!

    All you Pocket Hose Ultra haters keep on a lugging your old hoses and have a nice Summer! I'm going to sit on my front porch eating a salad and smelling my roses. Thanks Pocket Hose Ultra.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 29, 2015

      Scott

      So you're going to tell me out of 7 returns not 1 hose lasted more than a month with 2 days a month? I water manually and my friend at Home Depot said they returned more than 80 last month alone, that this is the best? In fact, I would give a hundred bucks to anyone who has this for over a year uses on a regular basis and has never had it start peeing water.

       

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Busted Hose

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Jul 27, 2014

    The pressure from using a spray nozzle caused the two purchased hoses to burst. I stopped using the spray nozzle and no more busted hose. Only use to water flowers.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Has its good and bad

    I go through about two hoses a season. It is very light weight and reduces in size after each use. The problem is if you drag it across the concrete or pavers, it springs a leak or rips. That is the only flaw. You can drive a car over it, but drag it a few feet and its trash.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Lightweight but not durable

    • Ft. Myers Beach, Fl,
    • May 1, 2014

    Had the hose for 2 weeks. Love the lightweight ease of it. Sprung a leak after 2 weeks. I am getting a replacement. Much easier to handle than those bulky hoses. Hopefully this one will last.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    I blew through 2 pockets hoses already

    • Summit, NJ,
    • Sep 5, 2015

    First I got the original pocket hose. It is nice and light. It takes some getting used to because you have to empty it after every use.

    The outside casing wore through and then it leaked so I returned it and they sent me a new one. It lasted less than three seasons.

    I really do appreciate the lightness of the hose so this year I got the Top Brass version. I like it better because the adaptor is a better quality, but again the casing only lasted 2 seasons, throughout Spring and Summer. It started leaking through its casing but was still usable, and then one day it just burst, it sounded like a gunshot. I mean I only use it to water plants. I don't torture the darn thing. So, I really think they have a few kinks to work out as to durability.

    Both versions lower the water pressure. It is not fun to wash your car with a pocket hose because the water pressure is significantly lower than with a conventional hose. I tried using it with a lawn sprinkler and the same thing, the water pressure is pretty lame. However, the water pressure was better with the Top Brass than the earlier version.

    So now I am returning the Top Brass version for a replacement. It's a good concept but you only get a couple of seasons out of it before it becomes unusable.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Useful but needs improvement.

    I bought the original one three summers ago and it lasted all summer and I water plants daily, loved it. Then it busted so I got one with the Brass end and it busted. At Christmas I found them going for two for $9.99 at a store. So I bought 2 and they lasted through the next summer. Last year I found the Pocket Hose Ultra again at a reduced price and bought two for this summer. One just busted last week and the other one has lasted all summer. So we may make it to the next summer, I also just bought another 2 for 7 each and I am ready for next summer.

    Besides the bursting issues, these hoses are wonderful. They're easy to coil up into an empty planter pot after use and leave hooked up. This is much easier than the 50 ft hose on the reel we still have. I keep it just in case and hope I do not have to use it again.

    If I can replace every year for under $20, then for me it is worth the hassle of replacing. Chiropractors appointments cost a lot more. It takes little effort to walk around my yard and water all the plants with them.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Hose leaks in the middle

    • Indio, California,
    • Aug 15, 2014

    I've had to exchange three Pocket Hoses at the Home Depot in the past month. Two leaked in the middle and one burst open near the nozzle. As long as Home Depot has the hoses in stock I will keep exchanging the defective hoses until they run out!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    I'm not a review expert

    • Oak Harbor, WA,
    • Aug 4, 2015

    My granddaughter gave me the 50 ft Ultra pocket hose as a birthday gift. Within one week it was leaking about 18" from the nozzle. Now the outer material is fraying as well and the leak is a little bigger. I have a black 50 foot rubber hose that is three years old. I have dug it out and started using it again. Goodbye ultra pocket hose. Not worth the money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Leaking Hose

    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Jul 8, 2015

    I bought a 25 foot hose at Wal-mart. After returning three sets of the X hose pro back to them, I like this one better as it has no problems yet. So I went back and got two more for my kids and hooked them up and they leaked out through the side of the hose. Now I'm on my way back to Walmart to get back my money. Never again will I buy these unless they can prove to me that they fixed all the problems.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 75

Write a Review for Pocket Hose Ultra!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review