About Porch.com

By providing design and remodel ideas and inspiration, residential construction costs, as well as a way for local contractors to connect with customers, Porch.com claims to be the leading home improvement network. As such, Porch claims to make “home improvement easy, delightful, and connected.”

But when it comes down to it, is Porch.com really a one-stop shop for home improvement ideas, and is it a good method of reaching your customers? We performed some research and here’s what we learned.

Porch.com Details

Matt Ehrlichman claims he came up with the idea for Porch after he began building his Seattle home, but couldn’t find a website that provided inspiration, access to professionals, and customer reviews all in one place. As such, at its most basic, Porch.com claims to be a home improvement network that uses public and private data to showcase featured projects and related professionals in your area, in addition to real reviews from other customers who’ve used these same contractors.

Professionals

With this in mind, Porch features more than 1.5 million professionals across 250 categories that you can search for based on a variety of criteria, including those used and endorsed by your neighbors, project and cost history, as well as your personal preferences (e.g. contractor expertise, licensing, credentials, etc.). In order to locate a professional using Porch.com, you’ll simply need to enter the type of contractor you’re looking for (e.g. carpenter, electrician, etc.) and your city, and then press the “Go” button.

Inspiration

When browsing Porch’s photos for inspiration, you can view all projects at once, only those for specific rooms (e.g. kitchen, dining room, etc.), as well as those related to landscaping and outdoor living ideas. Then, you can further filter these results by popularity, cost, and distance.

Data

Next, Porch.com provides insights on over 90 million projects across the U.S. through expert advice, the ability to scrapbook photo ideas, in addition to maintenance reminders and historical information about your home (e.g. past projects, permit history, who’s worked on your home, etc.). On top of this, you can also view your neighborhood’s stats regarding project costs, home values, and more.

Your Porch

Finally, as you’re browsing the Porch website, if you run across a professional you’re interested in contacting or an inspirational pic you’d like to use as a reference, you can save them to your Home section for later retrieval.

Porch Pro

In addition to the consumer-focused features noted above, Porch.com also offers a Pro version, which is intended for use by businesses looking for customers. Using the Pro feature, businesses can create free profiles that become available when local customers search for contractors in their industry, who can then rank their experience and thereby build a word-of-mouth reputation.

Porch Pricing & Refund Policy

In order to sign up for a free Porch.com individual (e.g. non-business) account, you can do so through either Facebook or email.

While there are no prices listed on the Porch website for their Pro service, this review from 2013 puts the cost at $35.

What’s the Bottom Line About Porch?

With all of this in mind, does Porch.com really organize “inspiration, project data, and word-of-mouth referrals in one place?” Likely, but keep the following in mind:

Although Porch was founded in 2012, the company didn’t go live until the end of 2013. Because of the company’s unique use of data and its application in the home improvement niche however, Porch.com has received an immense amount of media attention over the past 6-8 months. In fact, because Porch claims that its reviews can’t be “gamed,” the company is widely expected to give other review website such as Angie’s List and Yelp a serious run for their money.

With this said, there are almost no online reviews from customers who’ve used Porch.com’s services, so it’s difficult to gauge overall satisfaction levels. With this said their service is completely free, so if you’re not pleased you’ll only be out some time.

We also didn’t locate reviews from any professionals who paid for Porch’s Pro service, although we did find more than one review from former/current sales staff that these Pro accounts may not provide clear value or return on investment.

Bottom line: Porch.com’s new way of using data to help individuals prepare for home building/renovation projects could stand to revolutionize the industry, although it remains to be seen how effective this will be at helping businesses connect with customers.

Now read: Insider’s Tips: How to Avoid Home Improvement Scams or Rip Offs & How to Find a Reliable Contractor

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

181 Consumer Reviews for Porch.com

Average Consumer Rating: 2.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 40 4 star: 3 3 star: 2 2 star: 10 1 star:  126
Bottom Line: 26% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 181
Sort reviews by:

  • Guarantee a scam - stick with Angie's List

    • Chicago, IL,
    • Jan 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I felt secure since Porch.com advertises their "guarantee." I've never had an issue hiring a contractor ever until I used Porch.com. The contractor did the worst job I've seen in my life and ripped me off. Porch.com failed to communicate with me in a timely manner to address the issues, and in the end, simply said sorry about your luck and told us the guarantee doesn't apply to contractor quality, only damage. I will never utilize this site ever again. Do not waste your time or money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Terrible service!

    • Richmond, VA,
    • Jan 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Their contractor was terrible! He tried to charge us when he had not done any work and was THREE hours late. He was slow and wanted us to pay for his lack of diligence. We ended up requesting that he leave. We contacted Porch.com, and they tried to excuse the contractor's behavior and tell us we should be grateful there wasn't a trip charge. He didn't do ANYTHING! Argh. Terrible service!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Ill-fitting pipes

    We purchased a new kitchen sink from Lowe's. They recommended Porch for installation. We had a worker from Porch do the installation. Since then the pipes are really loose, and it appears that they are the wrong size. Every time we flush water down the drain, it leaks all over the floor. We have repeatedly called the installer, but he has never returned our call. We have contacted Porch to have someone come out to fix the mess. They do not seem to be interested in fixing it. We have gotten nothing but a complete runaround.

    I would definitely NOT recommend using Porch for anything!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Porch personnel was a NO SHOW!

    • Renton, WA,
    • Jan 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased a new kitchen faucet at Lowe's, who recommended Porch.com to install it. I contacted Porch, and they were quick in setting up the appointment for the faucet installation, however, the person who was supposed to install the faucet on December 30, 2017, at 10:00 never showed up! I never heard back. I contacted Porch's Service Department via email and phone (put on hold and never talked to the customer service dept. as I was disconnected twice). I have not received an email reply or text or phone call back from their customer service department.

    I will not be using this company and will let Lowe's know of my experience.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Porch is a fraud

    I made the mistake of getting a profile from Porch. Now when you google "Viking Roofing, Boca Raton," their name comes up on top of all the information. They have a false review that I stole money from a false customer. I have been trying to have it removed for the last 6 or 7 weeks. After over 15 emails to Driss Benjamin at Porch, finally, he says he cannot get it removed. I need a letter-writing campaign to Lowes. How did they back such a business?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Booked and cancelled

    • North Charleston, SC,
    • Dec 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I booked a job on Monday, December 18, 2017, for a small paint job. I was given a price of $158.00. I accepted the price and we booked the job for Wednesday, December 20, 2017, at 9:00 am.

    Tuesday, December 19, 2017, I received a text message on my cell phone at 10:59 am saying "Unfortunately, we do not have anyone for this job. Thanks."

    I had to get back on the internet to try to locate someone else to assist me. I think this should have been a phone call to me with an apology. Unprofessional!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Better sites than Porch.com

    • Charlotte, NC,
    • Dec 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    The contractor we got through Porch turned out to be exactly like other contractors; giving a run-around and vastly underestimating the time for the project. However, when I contacted Porch requesting them to contact the contractor, they basically told me that they cannot help in anyway or form. They just didn't seem to care. The customer service agent was not very courteous and informed me that I should go to the police. Maybe that's true, however, some professionalism in communication isn't too much to ask.

    I had better experiences with Thumbtack and HomeAdvisor where at least some service is provided. Next time, I am going with them. I cannot see how Porch is any different from yellow pages if they can't fix any issues.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Horrible service

    • Canal Winchester, OH,
    • Dec 16, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was scheduled to have light fixtures installed, but the tech canceled the day of the appointment after the appointment time. I called Porch.com to advise, and they advise they will have an account rep contact me for resolution, and waited a few hours no call. I will never use them again. Absolutely poor service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Drywall job

    I got a call from Jasen Ayers, Alpha Constuction, and we agreed to meet. He came by my house and we discussed the drywall project. We agreed on a price, and I paid him 50% down ($600) on 12/7/17. He ran directly to the bank; the check cleared the same day.

    He didn't show up on the next day to do the job as promised; he said he had a quick job to do and would be there later. He did not show. I called, got some lame excuses, and he said he would be at my house on Saturday at 9:00 am. At 11:00 am I called and he was having truck problems he said. Then he said he was trying to get another truck.

    He texts me on Saturday evening about 4:00 pm about delivering the sheetrock. I told him just wait and bring it in the morning. We agreed on 8:30 am (he wrote "I'll be there."). At 9:00 am I sent him a text asking if he knew how to tell time. Of course, I was frustrated after all the excuses. He texts me back saying he was 10 minutes away and turning around, he didn't want to do business with me, and is voiding the contract. He said he was waiting for the check to clear, and he would return my money.

    This was on Sunday, the check cleared on the previous Thursday. I would not recommend anyone to business with this man.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Waste of time for contractors

    • Moberly, MO,
    • Dec 10, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been in the remodeling and construction business for over 20 years and have seen a lot of these online lead services. I tried several, including Porch, for about 3-4 months now. In my opinion, it's an absolute waste of your time as a contractor. Maybe 1 out of 6-7 leads is a legitimate potential client. Most are just pricing and have no real plans to hire anyone except maybe their brother or cousin to do the job. The rest are wanting to know if you will work on a payment plan. As I said, I've been with them for about 3-4 months and have yet to get a decent qualified lead.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Paramount Painting

    We hired Pasquale Fiore from Paramount Painting for a couple of jobs.

    He was quick to respond, reliable and prompt in showing up for an estimate and completed both projects within the week. One job was a major drywall repair and the other repair was repairing a woodpecker hole in our cedar siding at a very steep height. Pasquale did a fabulous job and we would highly recommend him.

    It's hard to find a reliable handyman that shows up and does good quality work for a fair price!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 181

Write a Review for Porch.com!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review