Read 380 Porch.com Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 132 4 star: 15 3 star: 3 2 star: 16 1 star:  214
Bottom Line: 40% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 380
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Worst experience with a contractor ever!

    • Georgia,
    • May 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    On April 24th I posted a request for a general contractor that could build a screened in covered porch and a side deck for my new home on Porch.com. On April 25th I was contacted by a contractor named Aly Abdeltif who is the owner of a company called Construction Near Me. He told me he was referred to me through Porch and could have his lead carpenter meet me at my property to give me an estimate of what the job would cost. That afternoon I met with Timothy Starkey at my property and was told that they could do the job for $9,850. After speaking with Aly on the phone and agreeing to the price, I met with him at the permit office so we could apply for the building permit and sign his contract to do the work. He requested that I pay him 60% down to cover material cost so I wrote him a check for $5,910. He told me he would start on the job immediately and would have it finished within 4 to 5 days.

    More than a week later and work still had not started on the porch but I had made a change to the size of the side deck and increased it from a 4 x 6 to a 8 x 30. Aly had his lead carpenter Tim meet me back out at the property on May 3rd to get another check from me to cover the cost of the material for the larger deck size. They told me the cost of the larger deck with labor would be a total of $3,200 and they had me sign another contract and requested that I pay that amount in full. This is where everything went downhill. Now that this company had $9,110 of my money they started giving me every excuse as to why they couldn't start work on my property. Every time I spoke with this company they told me they had ordered my material and it was delivered to the property but nothing was ever delivered. This company even tried to get me to pay them in full because they said one of their vehicles broke down and they needed the money to fix it before they could start working.

    On May 7th the permit office told me that the building permit was ready to be picked up so I let them know they could go by and get it and they did but continued to tell me that they still didn't have the permit to start building which was a lie. The contract that I signed on April 25th said that they would have this job completed by May 21st. After a total of 20 days had passed and no work was done I told the contractor that I would contact the Sheriff's Department and report them for theft by deception if they did not do the job they were hired to do. The contractor sent a crew out late at night and threw together what was supposed to be the frame to my porch but it wasn't built to code. Instead of building the porch on concrete Footers they buried the structural post 16 in into the ground with no concrete nor did they pour Footers. The structure is larger than a 12 x 12 and in the state of Georgia, it is required that anything larger than that there must be joist hangers used to support the weight of the structure on the floor joist. Also, the structure was not attached to the home and was free-standing without additional support added, which also are required by code. When I address this problem with the contractor he told me he was a professional and knew what he was doing and for me to not tell him how to do his job. I told him that if he couldn't build the structure to code then he would need to stop what he was doing before the entire structure would have to be torn down and done correctly. The contractor never completed the job nor did he try to make anything right he just never came back.

    I contacted the local sheriff's department and they contacted him and informed him that he would be charged with theft by deception if he did not return my money. I am still waiting for my refund. When I contacted Porch about this problem they had me put together all of the contract information, checks that I wrote, and any conversations that I had had with the contractor. They told me they would help me resolve this problem and would offer to give me back $1,000 of my money to help with legal fees against this contractor. After I worked hard to put all of this information together for them and emailed it to them I received an email back from them just a few minutes later that said that my problem didn't fit the porch guarantee criteria and they would not be refunding me any money. On top of all of this, I did a criminal background check on the owner of Construction Near Me and found out that he had been arrested 3 years in a row for felony charges including felony bad checks, felony theft by taking, and felony theft by deception. Porch said that they do a thorough background check on these contractors but apparently they don't. They send people out to your house that obviously have no idea how to build anything and then when they take your money and don't do the work they don't stand behind their guarantee. I would never use either one of these companies ever again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 31, 2019

      Company Response from Porch

      Hi, We apologize for the experience you had with this contractor; we want to make sure this does not happen in the future, therefore, this contractor has been removed from our platform. Again, we apologize for your experience and appreciate your feedback as it helps us provide better service moving forward.


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Update 5/14

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • May 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Porch.com posted the comment below asking me to contact them, so I did (note: I had already conveyed everything in my review to them on the phone before posting). Homeowner support asked me to review the handymen on Porch.com for other customers, but the directions were to menus that I could not find. I tried hard, in good faith, read their FAQ, and used other browsers, but the option was not anywhere. Thus, I'm a little more unimpressed than I was when I posted my original review.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Previous review
    • May 1, 2019

    Subpar

    I used, or tried to use, Porch.com twice. The first time was a cabinet install, and while the work was adequate, the contractor left some exposed surfaces stating that it would cost extra to cover and that he would only do it on the side, not through Porch.com. He also spent the day spouting unsolicited pseudoscience to me (for instance claiming to have invented an air-powered car, and to have found a way to stop global warming), and he made extremely upsetting, unwelcome, unprovoked comments about his hypotheses on the causes of SIDS to my visibly pregnant wife.

    The second time was an outdoor light install, and the contractor was polite, but rescheduled on me three times - the last AFTER the appointment, and then only when I had reached out to ask where he was. I had also requested a licensed electrician but he was not licensed. Canceled the appointment.

    I will never use Porch.com again, and certainly do not recommend it to anyone. Seems like a great way to get taken for a ride, to get subpar work, or worse.

    • May 10, 2019

      Company Response from Porch

      Colin,

      This is certainly not the experience we aim to deliver at Porch, thank you for bringing this to our attention. We would appreciate the opportunity to learn more - please email homeowner@porch.com with these details and your contact information.

    (read moreread less...)

  • Scheduling

    • Florida,
    • May 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The installer sent to me was EXCELLENT! I couldn't be happier. The scheduling was a mess! I had to reschedule and the appointment was not canceled and the rescheduled date was. Fortunately, I was able to work with the installer to get my item completed!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Dishwasher repair

    • Candler, NC,
    • May 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The tech was very professional, did an awesome job and cleaned up when done. He mentioned to me about some dishwasher soap and said he would send me some and on Saturday it was in my mailbox, which was very much appreciated. I would recommend this company to anyone, they came in a timely manner and it was repaired like new again. Thank you for the good service.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Gazebo installation

    • Edinburg, TX,
    • May 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Rick Trevino did an AWESOME JOB installing our gazebo! He was very punctual, dependable, and courteous. A TRUE PROFESSIONAL INDEED! I would definitely hire him again! He always kept us informed on our project status and showed up to do the job when he said he was. He is almost an anomaly down here in the RGV. Truly a man of his word! I STRONGLY RECOMMEND HIM! Thank you Rick!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Very impressed

    • Jonesborough, TN,
    • Apr 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I needed several trees planted and was very pleased with the prompt response from Porch as well as the follow up to confirm my satisfaction with the professional referred to me. East Tennessee Landscaping responded promptly to my tree planting request. The trees were planted very quickly and the price was very reasonable. Very impressed and pleased with Porch and Mark Lingerfelt of East Tennessee Landscaping.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Porch is a SCAM! BEWARE!

    • Morton Grove, IL,
    • Apr 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Porch takes your money and they never do the work. Don't ever give them your credit card number. They process it immediately before any work is done and then they don't do the work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 10, 2019

      Company Response from Porch

      Jeanne,

      We apologize if your credit card was charged and no work was done. We will certainly give you a refund in this case. Please email guarantee@porch.com with your contact information and project details and we can take care of this for you.


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Complete scam

    • California,
    • Apr 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do not use Porch.com. They make it seem like they will stand behind the contractors they provide. They do not! I got scammed by a plumber that they sent out and neither the (supposed) licensed contractor or Porch will do anything. About 30% of my work was completed but as it was under my house, I didn’t find out until they were long gone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Good job

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Apr 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a great experience the plumber and work he did to install a new hot water heater. I would use him again. He was able to install it in time. He also made contact with the company of the original water heater and found that it was under warranty, which I probably would not have know...so I am pleased.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Porch Home Assistant does NOT care about the customer!

    • Oregon,
    • Apr 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I tried to use Porch Home Assistant service but whenever I reached out (phone and email), I was told my Porch Home Assistant would contact me when available. Then a few days with no word would go by, so I'd reach out again and was always told that someone would get back to me. No one EVER got back to me! What a useless service. Not worth anyone's time or money, it is such a headache.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • Awesome Paramount Painting

    • Ballwin, MO,
    • Apr 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was very pleased with the outdoor painting at my house. I called for an estimate and Pascaule came out and knocked my socks off with the estimate. I immediately said they had the job. I had to wait for mother nature to cooperate, but a week and a half later they came out and did a beautiful job. Suzanne was great. Nice folks to have do your painting. They get an outstanding from me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 12-22 of 380

Write a Review for Porch.com!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review