Read 363 Porch.com Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 123 4 star: 13 3 star: 3 2 star: 15 1 star:  209
Bottom Line: 39% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 363
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Bathroom remodel

    • Plainview, NY,
    • Jan 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Wind and Sea Painting & Home improvement did an excellent job on our total bathroom remodel. Chris and Russ are excellent, skilled workers and pleasant people. They communicated clearly and solved problems as they arose. Chris was also helpful with design ideas. Price was fair, and the job was completed on time. Workmanship is outstanding. I recommend Wind and Sea without reservation.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Contractor

    • Oregon,
    • Jan 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Porch.com is running a big SCAM. Beware, contractors. Porch.com has you buy leads. The leads have been 100 percent FAKE for the last two months. They tell you they will refund your lead purchase if it is not valid. Beware, they refund it to your Porch account, no refunds back to your credit or debit account. Furthermore, it now takes as much as four weeks to get your purchase price back into your porch account.

    The last two months the leads have been 100 percent FAKE.

    I'd you have a concern or want some information, the sales/support staff is not allowed to give out any contact info for someone of authority.

    Porch.com takes your money, post FAKE leads, and then you cannot get your money back. It is gone. BEWARE.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 28, 2019

      Porch, Customer Service Rep

      Jim,

      We're sorry to hear about your recent experiences. We aim to provide contractors with high-quality leads and exceptional customer service. We take your comments seriously, and we will use your feedback to continually improve the Porch experience for contractors. If you want to speak to someone on the support team directly, please reach out here: https://porch.com/pro/support.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Electrical installation

    • Missouri,
    • Jan 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Ryno Resources took care of our electrical install job very quickly and very professionally. They responded immediately to our posting and arrived very shortly thereafter to complete the job. We will definitely contact them in the future for additional home projects.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    BEWARE! Porch.com bogus leads!

    • Tulsa, OK,
    • Jan 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a small business owner who signed up with Porch.com for electrical customer leads. I think they have been just sending me a number of bogus numbers. The last 15 numbers that I called were either non-working numbers, non-English speaking households, or the owner has absolutely no idea, that they live in apartments or never ever asked for an electrician. I did my credit refund and they told me they wouldn’t refund the credit to Spanish speaking leads. I called and filed a dispute with my bank on December 3rd and they charged my bank $345.00 and on December 9th, another $365.00! I am considering speaking to an attorney on this matter. This is FRAUD on Porch.com's part! Do NOT use them!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 28, 2019

      Porch, Customer Service Rep

      Robin,

      We're sorry to hear about your experience. Sending pros quality leads, and crediting leads when they are invalid is something we care deeply about, and we'd be happy to discuss any issues you may have had with lead quality. You can reach our support team here: https://porch.com/pro/support.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Kitchen island drawer off the track

    • Euclid, OH,
    • Jan 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a kitchen island assembled on November 19, 2018. One of the drawers is off the track. I have called customer service FOUR times. The project manager has still not returned my call to set up a time for the repair to be done. I paid a lot of money for the island and the assembly. This is the only problem.

    What else do I need to do?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 13, 2019

      Rosalyn H.

      When is someone going to repair the drawer?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    If you are a contractor considering using Porch.com, please read on

    • New Orleans, LA,
    • Jan 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    If you're a construction pro thinking about using Porch.com, please read on before making what could be a very costly commitment. I've been using Porch for roughly three years now. Before them I used Thumbtack for about 4 years and, have used Angie List, and HomeAdvisor and Networx, so I'm pretty well versed in using lead services.

    When I first enlisted with Porch, like Thumbtack years before, they were fairly new to the market and offered all kinds of nice incentives to get contractors on board. But as of last year, their attitude towards contractors in their database has drastically changed, and it's obvious that they are no longer focusing on providing good service to it's contractors, but lining their pockets with green. See, Porch boasts that they have a great lead credit policy, which is total bull! When I first joined Porch, if I got a bad lead, all it took was a phone call to Porch to get credit. For non-responsive leads, you only had to make two phone calls and send two texts before requesting credit. Then they added that the lead had to be open 72 hours before you could request a refund for non responsive customer (this change was implemented without me being informed, resulting in them robbing me of $100). Then they added the rule that you had to attempt two calls and two texts to the customer within the first 72 hours (wasn't notified, this time they robbed me of $50).

    For about 30 days (between November and December 2018) they changed the system to give automatic refunds to bad leads that met their criteria. That quickly changed to them promising to refund credits for bad leads within 48 hours. It's taking them upwards of 5 days to give credit for leads that for example, have a disconnected phone number attached. They've changed the system so that leads that have non-responsive customers are supposed to be automatically credited after 7 days. This is total bull! Because their rule now is, unless you are a vetted pro, if another contractor makes contact with the customer, you can't get a credit.

    Now they have a section in each purchased lead called "lead details" which is supposed to show if any contractor has made contact with a particular customer, which I always view. I had a case where I requested a refund and was told that the homeowner had connected with another pro. But, "lead details" showed that I was the only contractor to reach out. When I questioned this (when I could still get phone assistance), the agent told me that tracking system they used in house was different than the one provided in "lead details," and that the customer had hired another Porch contractor. That was another $50 they robbed me of. Today I'm in my 10th day of a non-responsive lead which has not been credited by their automatic system, so that's bull!

    Now they have some new crap called "Vetted Pro." It's a system that requires you to give them $275 for a background check. This also gives you access to there phone techs whenever there is a problem with a lead. I can't even call in anymore because my calls are routed to an agent who never answers when I call, and who can't do anything for me about lead credits. If you are not a "Vetted Pro," you're treated like a tire kicker. I could overcome much of the bull! I get with Porch through the leads I purchase, except, 95% of the leads I purchased last quarter were NO GOOD PERIOD! People are not requesting the service, yet their names and information show up as supposedly valid lead. I confirmed that when I bought a lead for a bath remodel that ended up being a sub contractor that I use for my bath remodels.

    Of all the lead generation companies I've dealt with since 2006, I have purchased more invalid leads through Porch, than all of the other companies combined, and in less time. Sure, I question this whenever I can get a live person (I use different phones whenever I need to get through since my phone number is obviously restricted), but I get as many different answers as bad leads. I argue that it's not cool to tie up contractor's money, money that they could use towards valid leads. Their response, "Most of the contractors keep enough money in their budget where they're not waiting on credits to buy new leads." Makes sense, except, who wants to invest $200 or more every month on invalid leads, that end up tying their money up unnecessarily?

    So in conclusion, I'm not telling anyone not to use Porch. The truth is, on the rare occasion that I purchase a valid lead, if I can get an appointment with the customer, my closing rate is in the 90 percentile. The money I make from valid leads generally makes up for the money Porch robs me of so, for me, it's a calculated risk. This is not the case for everybody, and you could end up losing a lot of money dealing with Porch. I suggest you not put all of your peas in one pot, and put the least amount into Porch.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 28, 2019

      Porch, Customer Service Rep

      George,

      We're sorry to hear about your experience. Sending pros quality leads, and crediting leads when they are invalid is something we care deeply about, and we'd be happy to discuss any issues you may have had with lead quality. Regarding our recent policy changes, we apologize if they were not communicated clearly. We are always looking to improve our product and make the experience better for pros. If you have specific feedback or concerns you want to share with us directly, you can do so here: https://porch.com/pro/support.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Silver Creek Construction misled the public.

    • Iowa,
    • Jan 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I waited over three months September 2017 - January 2018 for Josh to put automatic gate openers on two driveway gates, that he offered and agreed to install. I spent two afternoons going over the installation process, he never did the work. He stated he purchased the gate openers, but no work was ever done. Josh operated using falsified business addresses and misled the public to believe he was licensed when he was not. Used two separate R1 residential business addresses when he was not legally authorized. Had employees working for, recruiting and advertising for his business when it was not legit. He may have charged customers disposal fees for job debris but possibly dumped on his property and/or used his residential trash can to dispose of it. Photos and surveillance video were taken. A signed affidavit by Iowa Workforce Development Des Moines IA November 2018 stating neither Joshua nor his company, Silver Creek Construction, were authorized nor licensed in the state of Iowa.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 28, 2019

      Porch, Customer Service Rep

      Casey,

      We are very sorry to hear about the experience that you had with this contractor, and would appreciate the opportunity to learn more as this is not a contractor we support. Please email guarantee@porch.com to discuss further.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Sex offenders in the Porch database

    • North Carolina,
    • Jan 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    When you use Porch.com you just might get a convicted/registered sex offenders information sent to you! Porch tells homeowners that all of the professionals they refer are vetted and background checked (taken from the porch.com website) but this simply isn’t true. When a contractor is found out to be a convicted/registered sex offender and Porch is questioned as to how this happened, their response is "Everyday we aim to filter and perfect our list of pros by encouraging them to go through a full check, unfortunately, this is not true for all of the pros in our network as this process takes time, additionally each city has different rules and regulations in regards to what requirements we should be asking these pros to meet, it is because of this that we also leave the vetting process in the hands of the homeowner" (taken from an email sent by *****, Manager, Homeowner support). *Employee Name omitted by moderators.

    They want the homeowner to believe that it is safe to use the Porch.com service when help is needed around the home but they do not disclose that rudimentary background checks are not done in fact they say the exact opposite. After a contractor is found to be less than trusted, less than reliable, less than safe, Porch blames the homeowner for not vetting the contractor. PORCH BLAMES THE HOMEOWNER. Porch takes the homeowner's request for services, sends the homeowner information on a supposedly vetted and background checked contractor, and when it is discovered that Porch did not background check the contractor but rather asked the contractor to background check themselves, and a convicted/registered sex offender is found to be in the database, they blame the homeowner (see excerpt above taken from email to complaining homeowner).

    Porch will try to get around these facts by admitting that they farmed the homeowner's request to another service, Networx.com, but the homeowner is not informed of this upfront. Since the initial request is made through Porch.com, it leads the homeowner to believe that the information listed on the Porch.com website is accurate. One of the companies Porch uses is Networx.com. They have the exact same response when asked how this happened. In fact, ****** (Employee Name omitted by moderators. ), Resolution Agent, at Networx.com threatened the complaining homeowner with legal action if the homeowner said anything "inappropriate" in complaining and leaving feedback on the internet. Get that, it is the homeowner's fault for believing the claims made on the Porch.com website, and when the homeowner starts to complain, legal action is threatened.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 28, 2019

      Porch, Customer Service Rep

      Greg,

      We are very sorry to hear about this experience. We have already connected with you directly about this, if you need further assistance please reach out to homeowner@porch.com.

      All Porch Services professionals have been vetted, trained, and background checked so homeowners can trust the pros coming to their home. They also carry the required licensing and insurance applicable to the service and location.

      When connected with an independent contractor through the Porch Pro Network, vetting of the professional’s licensing, insurance, and reputation is the responsibility of the homeowner. When matched with professionals, homeowners should be sure to inquire about the credentials that matter most to them. We provide guidance for selecting the right pro for the job here: https://porch.com/advice/category/hire-right-pro. When homeowners are connected with professionals in the Porch Pro Network, they can read reviews about past projects and see the home professional’s response rate to better understand the company.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Very lacking on follow up

    • Arizona,
    • Jan 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Please be advised the Porch-recommend contractor who reviewed my initial project never followed thru with picking up my project blueprints. I would not recommend a Porch contractor referral.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 28, 2019

      Porch, Customer Service Rep

      Keith,

      We're sorry to hear about your experience with this contractor. We hope you will give us another try to connect you with a quality pro for your next project.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Fence project

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Dec 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Porch put me in touch with Calvin Silva of Premier Specialty Builders to build a fence across an alley behind my rental property. His crew started working on it the same day they arrived. The next day they came and finished it. The fence looks sturdy and is built well. A reasonable price was quoted and the job was done on budget and on time. Premier does quality work and completes the job as stated. I will use Porch.com again for my next project and highly recommend them.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Excellent home assistant

    • St. Clairsville, OH,
    • Dec 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The Dedicated Home Assistant (Karla) from Porch was excellent. She kept in constant contact with me only to the point of not being a nuisance. She supplied me with a huge list of "painting contractors" to choose from for my project. There was one contractor who contacted me and he was very respectful and came to my house to look over the project. I plan on using that contractor so I cannot at this time give a rating of the king of work done. I also have other projects, not related to painting in the future and I plan to use Porch again.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 23-33 of 363

Write a Review for Porch.com!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review