Read 368 Porch.com Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 127 4 star: 13 3 star: 3 2 star: 16 1 star:  209
Bottom Line: 39% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 368
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 8 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Bad leads

    • Saint Petersburg, FL,
    • Apr 24, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    So you run a business, do all the phases, i.e. payroll, books, answer phones, run estimates, type out estimates, etc.

    Now imagine more office workload; sending more emails, always worried about refunds because they CAP your refunds, making phone calls arguing about REFUNDS. It is more work than it's worth! There are more bad leads than good leads. Good luck having any spare time to deal with refunds!

    It is the worst lead service. They can't tailor the leads to fit your needs so you wind up returning 95% of them. It is a PAIN in the butt! I recommended their competition to them. They'll spend more time in the office than running good leads.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Under cabinet lighting

    • Jonesboro, GA,
    • Aug 9, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    My daughter used Porch to hire an electrician to install LED lights under her kitchen cabinets. Instead of fishing the wires in the wall or through the plastic conduit in the corners, this man drilled several 1/2" holes dead center in the shelves, severely damaging them and making it impossible to put any plates in the cabinets.

    After threatening to sue the electrician, he gave back half of the cost, and we hired someone else to make the job right.

    I contacted Porch and asked them to make good on their published guarantee to reimburse us for the damages. They refused to accept any responsibility.

    I have pictures to send to anyone interested.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    No-show cabinet installers

    In February this year, I booked two Porch.com handymen for kitchen cabinet installation that was to take place in April (we were building a new house and it wouldn't be ready until then). The first appointment was scheduled for April 7th at 9:00 am, and at 15 minutes to 9:00 Andrew, the handyman, called to tell me that his assistant had "hurt his hand" and they wouldn't be able to do the work that day. We rescheduled for April 12th. On April 11th, Porch called to confirm the appointment for 9:00 am the next morning. When Andrew had not shown up by 9:15 on the 12th, I called him directly, and his phone went to voicemail. A few minutes later Andrew texted me telling me he would not be able to do the work since he couldn't find an assistant. I called Porch, let them know how unhappy I was and they told me the "area supervisor" would escalate and return my call. They still have not even bothered to call me back. Don't use this outfit!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 25, 2018

      Porch, Customer Service Rep

      Cynthia,

      We apologize for your experience with this handyman and our scheduling process. We aim to provide the best customer service, and your feedback helps us continually improve.

      Again, we apologize. If you still need help with your kitchen cabinet installation, we would be happy to reconnect and help you get it done.

    • May 7, 2018

      Ruth Morley

      Never use this website to hire anyone. They are not checked out by anyone. My guy took my job and asked for a $200 deposit to begin the job. He had every excuse in the book of why he didn't show up, or why he didn't start the job, he even offered to send me pictures of what he had done but conveniently his phone wasn't working. Then his car wasn't working, he was sick, then he didn't have a babysitter, then it was too rainy to work, then there was a family emergency out of town, and this went on, and on. I realized I had been taken advantage of and he had no intention of doing the work. I looked up some information and I see he's not even licensed, although he shows that he is. Also, he has several liens and judgments against him. So don't be fooled as I was.


  • 7 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Thieves and Liars

    I have had the displeasure of being a porch.com premier HVAC contractor for the last 2 months. I was promised the world like all these BS companies do to steal your money. This company unlike others required me to do an extensive profile which in the beginning they said they would do for me. I spent about 4 days listing all jobs with pictures, prices, and locations. I also listed all my licenses and insurances which I had to call 3 times to have them verified. I was promised if I did this I would get a lot of traffic. I have since received 1 call to put a window air conditioner in which isn't even a service I do. I have made repeated calls to my account manager which are never returned. Waste of $350 per month. Worst of all companies that don't even pay for membership get better marketing then I do (LOL).

    Avoid this scamming company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Did not work out for me at the end.

    • Gilbert, AZ ,
    • Jul 22, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Started with Porch.com 1-1/2 years ago and started off great! Got great leads and saw Porch advertisements in every Lowe's location. Even got a tankless water heater sold in my first week. About six months in, everything changed. How the site worked, how the pro app worked and leads basically stopped.

    As a company we did our part and have the highest review/rating in our service area. After the initial period leads turned into nothing, most people didn't even know how to use the site or that a plumber would be contacting them. We would call customer service and their only fix was to pressure is into spending more money. We tried, needless to say we only wasted more. We were up to over $500 a month and got 1-2 leads a month which never turned into work. Save your money and time and avoid porch.com. Biggest mistake I ever made as a business owner.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Very disappointing

    I have been a contactor for over 30 years self employed since 1998

    My experience with Porch was a huge waste of time and energy, I set up my account put a few pictures on there had some past clients leave reviews. I purchased 4 leads that were a bogus $40 to $50 dollar leads. To pay for that kind of lead you would assume they are valid and ready to move forward with a professional.

    That was not the case at all, two of the clients never responded and two clients had no idea of the total cost of their project and were no longer interested. One of the clients wanted me to complete a 300 square foot covered porch for $1500 dollars. I kindly told the gentleman I will send you a material list with which he can go get pricing for it all and learn that doesn't even cover the $1,500 cost. He had no idea

    After 4 phone calls with Porch, I decided I was no longer interested in pursuing a business relationship with the company and they were welcome to keep my $200 dollars, as it is just a drop in the bucket I will kick down the street

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Research/untruthful posts & reviews, and lack of professionalism and customer service

    Porch.com is far from "professional." They allow non-customers of local businesses to make false and inaccurate reviews of businesses and business owners that the individual has never met, conversed, emailed, nor worked with.

    I would never use this horrendous website for reviews on businesses, nor would I ever recommend this site.

    I would use reputable websites such as the state website, Secretary of State website, and local civil courts (all records in civil court are available to the public free of charge).

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Do not use

    • New York, NY,
    • May 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    All they do is forward your contact info out to a bunch of other lead generation companies. They don't even forward the details of the job, just the type. I did not get one legitimate contractor from this, just a bunch of other companies offering to put me in contact with local contractors.

    That's what Porch is supposed to do to begin with! If they didn't have any contractors in my area, I understand that, but don't pass on my information to other companies I haven't had a chance to vet.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Contractor teview

    • Durham, NC,
    • May 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    The Porch Contractor that was referred (Larry Wallace Construction) ended up being a disaster.

    Mr. Wallace did not show up when he said he was coming to work on my job. There were multiple times he would show up late, work two hours, say he would be back to work on my job the next morning, and he did not show up, and I did not hear a word from him for over a week (on numerous occasions).

    There was nothing in the contract that spoke to me proving the tools to accomplish the job. Throughout the project, to date, Mr. Wallace has used my tools almost exclusively, saying his tools were not in his truck.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Would not recommend

    • Indiana,
    • May 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Like another review said, in my case, Porch.com sent my info to another similar service GoSmith. I could have just gone to GoSmith directly. I was expecting to be connected directly to other contractors. In addition, there was no indication of how many contractors they work with in the category of the project I requested. Nothing to give me any sense of what I was getting into. The only reason I had gone to Porch.com is because Lowes vouched for them and I have a good relationship with Lowes.

    Furthermore, Porch.com's customer service is poor. I decided to delete my account as I had better luck locating my own contractor to do the work. I was thinking I might try their service again in the future. The trick is, there is no means to cancel your account on their website. Dude, this is 2017. Get a real web portal.

    There is, however, an opt-out section on their privacy policy (https://porch.com/about/privacy). At the time of this writing the verbiage was:

    "To change or delete your information, you may login to your account and modify or remove specified information that resides in your account. If you want to delete your account, please contact us at questions@porch.com."

    So I did exactly that. The first response was essentially "We deleted your project". I responded back citing the above saying "No, I think you misunderstood, please delete my account." The response to that was a very long explanation about how they couldn't do that.

    At that point, I called the customer service center. The first agent I got connected to didn't seem to know how to work her headset/phone. There was a bad echo and background noise. The agent explained they're in a not so ideal call center and there tends to be a lot of background noise. I had to hang up and call again. The second agent I got connected to the call was clear and no background noise, but he kept talking over me explaining why they couldn't honor their own policy. I was like, you've outlined a process telling me what my rights are, you better honor them. I then threatened to make BBB/Attorney General complaint if they failed to comply. At this point, the agent essentially leveled with me and explained it's not easy for them to delete your account because it's a manual process and they don't have the tools to do it. To this I replied, "I can sympathize with that, but your site says you will do it and you need to honor your policies and processes." He said, "okay, I will make sure it gets done" and gave me his direct email.

    Seriously unprofessional and borderline shady.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Scamming the contractors

    After trying about 20 leads, only one was legit. It cost $40 for a $200 job that required $50 in materials. Leads cost an average of $40 each. Most homeowners did not request quotes from contractors. The others thought they were getting a quote from Lowe's, not independent contractors.

    Bad leads. And they don't refund your money either. They only give credit. You have to chargeback on your credit card.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 23-33 of 368

Write a Review for Porch.com!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review