About Porch.com

By J.R. Duren
HighYa Staff Updated on: May 30, 2018

Porch is an online marketplace for homeowners where you can post projects for the purpose of getting bids from contractors or hiring a Porch Service pro to perform work at your house.

The company is based in Seattle and was founded in 2012, then launched in 2013. The company’s two founders are Matt Ehrlichman and Ronnie Castro.

Ehrlichman, the company’s CEO spent around five years at ACTIVE Network, a marketplace for activities and events. Castro, the company’s VP or Customer Operations, previously worked at Google, Expedia and Wild Tangent before helping found Porch.

The hallmarks of Porch’s website is a combination of their Porch Pro contractors and Porch Services, along with a pair of guarantees that, in qualifying situations, can protect you in the event that your contractor doesn’t follow through on their work or your home is damaged during the project.

Over the course of this review, we’ll provide you our insights about the various features of the website, as well as talk about some of the fine print we think you should know when you head to their site to find a contractor.

We’ll also do a quick comparison of what Porch and other homeowner-focused contracting sites so that you can get an idea of how the site fares against the competition.

At the end of our review, we’ll wrap up with our thoughts on Porch.com’s strengths and weaknesses.

Porch.com’s Contractor Options: Porch Pros and Porch Services

As we mentioned in the introduction of this review, Porch provides two main types of contractors: Porch Services and Porch Pro.

Porch Services

This part of the website is dedicated to handyman services and contractors who come to your home to perform work.

What makes these contractors different than Porch Pro contractors is that you can schedule, book and pay for their services through Porch.com, whereas with Porch Pros you post a project on the site, get bids from contractors and then book and pay for those contractors on your own, away from Porch.com.

At the time of publishing, Porch Services offered handyman and contractor help in 40 different areas, with each of those areas featuring its own subset of different jobs and projects.

We wanted to get a sense of what the Porch Services booking engine was like, so we gave it a test run. After entering our area code, we said we needed cabinet installation. Porch quickly gave us a quote: $249 for cabinet installation.

PorchPorch Quote. Credit: Porch.com

From there, Porch asked us to pick a time and date for the service and then requested our address and contact information.

Once you finish this process, a Home Assistant from Porch will contact you to finalize the details of your appointment. Their booking engine’s fine print notes that your Porch Services Pro will contact you the day of your appointment to confirm that they’re on their way.

Important Reminders About Porch Services

Booking your appointment is a simple process. There are, however, a few things you need to remember as you prepare to have your Porch Services pro come to your home.

First, you can cancel your appointment for free as long as you do it at least 24 hours before the time at which the contractor was supposed to arrive.

If, for some reason, the job takes longer than Porch estimated, their fine print says that you’ll be charged an hourly fixed rate for the additional time it took.

Background Checks

All professionals who participate in the Porch Services program are background-checked and, according to a Porch rep with whom we spoke, agree to “carry the licensing and insurance applicable to the service and location.”

The Porch Services Satisfaction Promise

One of the advantages of using Porch Services is that contractors hired through this program are backed by a property protection guarantee and a quality guarantee (“Satisfaction Promise”).

This is a key factor because competing sites Thumbtack and HomeAdvisor offer a property protection guarantee (more on that later) but don’t cover the quality of the work performed by contractors you hire via listings on their site.

Now, in order to properly file a claim through the Satisfaction Promise program, you need to do a couple of things ahead of time.

First, you have to file a claim within 15 days of the work being completed. The claim needs to include three important pieces of information, a Porch representative told us:

  • A written statement detailing which parts of the completed work you aren’t happy with
  • Photos of the unsatisfactory work
  • A statement telling Porch how you want the situation resolved

Porch notes that their goal is to have the same contractor come back and do the job right, so handle your claim with tact. You don’t want to burn your bridges with the contractor before he or she has a chance to return to your home and correct the mistake(s) .

If it’s not possible to send out the original contractor, Porch will provide you with a replacement professional to fix the mistakes.

Another important factor here is that Porch will only cover work that was paid for by debit or credit card through their site. Additional services performed by the contractor that you pay for in cash aren’t covered.

Porch’s fine print also states that you can ask for a reimbursement of your original payment if the redone job still doesn’t satisfy you.

The work done by the Porch Services pro is also covered by the site’s Property Protection, which we’ll address in the next section.

Porch Pros

The second way to book contractors via Porch is through Porch Pros. This portal differs from Porch Services because you aren’t booking and paying for services through Porch.

Rather, you post a project that you need done in your home and contractors who’ve signed up with Porch will send you quotes for the work that you describe.

While the profiles of these professionals may list licenses, it’s important that you verify that the contractor is licensed because Porch does not check the backgrounds of Porch Pros.

When you’ve looked through the quotes and decided on a contractor, all booking and payments take place outside of Porch. Porch Services, on the other hand, is an in-house service.

Because of this, the work that’s done on your home isn’t covered by the aforementioned Satisfaction Promise.

Porch Property Protection

However, you do get the site’s Property Protection, which is a program that’s designed to reimburse you up to $1,000 for any major damage done to your home at the hands of the contractor you hire.

Like the Satisfaction Promise, there are certain things you have to do to file your claim. First, Porch says that you’ll have to try and resolve the situation on your own before coming to them.

If that fails to resolve the problem, then you can file a claim as long as you meet the following criteria:

  • Pro was booked via your project page
  • You marked the pro “hired” on your project page
  • You file your claim within 15 days of the completion of the job

You’ll have to provide proof of the damage – photos work – as well as “documentation showing the value of the damaged property,” their site says.

Things that aren’t covered by property protection are:

  • Poor work quality
  • Payment issues
  • Damage done that was part of work done that wasn’t included in your original project posting

Porch.com’s Better Business Bureau Ratings

Porch gets an A+ grade from the BBB, a ranking that reflects 13 different aspects ranging from how the company interacts with the BBB and how it handles complaints from customers.

At the time of publishing, Porch received an average customer review of 4.2 stars, which is better than HomeAdvisor, Houzz, Angie’s List and Thumbtack.

Complaints about the company focused on Porch Pros who didn’t live up to their original agreement with the customer either because they charged more than they quoted or they didn’t do the work well.

How Porch.com Compares to Other Contractor Websites

We’ve compared five of the most popular sites for finding a contractor, – Porch included – and find that there are some distinct differences between Porch and its competitors.

First, Porch’s Better Business Bureau page has a higher average star-rating than HomeAdvisor, Angie’s List, Thumbtack and Houzz.

Second, Porch and Angie’s List are the only two sites that provide a guarantee for work quality. Angie’s List’s guarantee, however, is only available to users who pay for a yearly membership on the site.

Porch is the only site of the five who provides a free quality guarantee, although it’s important to note the guarantee is only valid for Porch Services and not Porch Pros.

As for background checks, based on our research we believe that homeowners will probably be most satisfied with HomeAdvisor because they run each contractor through two license verifications, sex offender registries, a national criminal registry and the court system.

While Porch, Thumbtack and Angie’s List’s background checks aren’t as extensive as HomeAdvisor’s, they do check the area that is critical to work quality: licensing.

You don’t want a contractor who doesn’t have a license. For all you know, they could be a random person pretending to be a contractor who will take your money and run.

When it comes to background checks, it’s important for you to do research on your own, though. Porch notes that even though they do license checks on their Porch Services contractors, homeowners should verify the validity of the contractor’s license.

Call your local government office to find out how to verify a license and check criminal backgrounds. Your state’s sex offender search can be found with a quick google search.

Another important thing to remember is that the background checks these sites do are only administered to the owner of the contracting business.

The owner’s employees and/or subcontractors are not checked. So, be sure to ask the contractor who is doing the work and if they are licensed. Feel free to inquire about criminal records, too.

Whichever the case, the general rule of thumb is that the homeowner should do research on their own to confirm that their contractor is licensed and has no criminal or sex offender history.

» For Further Reading: Finding a Home Contractor: A Guide to the Five Best Websites

The Final Word: Pros and Cons of Porch.com

Based on our research, we believe Porch’s greatest strengths are that it offers a double guarantee on work performed by contractors booked through Porch Services.

Your property is protected up to $1,000 for damages caused by the contractor and, in the event that he or she did a poor job, you have several options for making sure the job is done right.

Homeowners who’ve endured poor contracting jobs will most likely find this double protection to be a big relief.

The downside of the site are that they don’t perform background checks on contractors who bid on the projects you post. You’ll have to do the legwork of checking that their license is up-to-date and valid for the type of work they’re doing, as well as running their name through a background check, if you choose to do so.

Overall, we think Porch is among the best sites to find a contractor and that, based on our research, the best-case scenario for homeowners is to work through their Porch Services option to find a contractor that’s been vetted and whose work comes with a quality guarantee.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

240 Consumer Reviews for Porch.com

Average Consumer Rating: 2.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 58 4 star: 7 3 star: 3 2 star: 12 1 star:  160
Bottom Line: 29% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 240
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • CAUTION: Spending lots of money on leads with no work in return

    • Elizabeth, CO,
    • Jul 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My new upstart company was eager to do business as a Porch Pro. Unfortunately, Porch requires you to pay upfront for customer leads before getting their contact information.

    After I paid for the first two leads, we followed up with a phone call and email. Neither customer responded. We completed the Lead Credit online, only to be notified that a customer not responding doesn't qualify for a lead credit. Also, Porch.com doesn't require enough detailed prompts when the customer completes a job request for the Pro to get an accurate idea of the job before wasting money on a lead. We are discontinuing our account with Porch and moving on to the more well thought out apps for Pros.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Horrible!

    • Kansas City, MO,
    • Jul 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We went through Porch.com for a professional to help us with deck repair and staining. BIGGEST MISTAKE EVER!

    They gave my contact information to some guy. He said he would be over on a Thursday to do the work. He never showed up. He made up some excuse as to why he never showed up for the job. Said he would be by on Friday at 7 am. My husband waited around until 9 am and was late to work. He didn't show up until 11 am! We asked him to just sand the deck and then stain. We told him do not power wash because we had already done that. He power washed it anyways and it looked worse than when he started.

    We called Porch to ask for another person to be assigned to our project. They said they would take care of it. BUT the guy showed up the next week and sanded the deck. At this point, it did look better. We were optimistic. Until he stained the deck. It was horrible. Drip marks everywhere. The bottom of the boards on the rails not done. BUT the most horrifying part was he stained the back of our house with the deck stain. I'm talking about brown stain all over the back of my gray house and also on the two back windows!

    It took Porch three weeks to finally get somebody out to fix it. Who did they send? The same guy! This guy showed up unannounced to "fix" the problem. He painted the back of my house a slight shade of gray-blue that kind of matches but not really. He dripped paint on the deck! He did not clean the window. It looks like a mess! Then the cherry on top, he charged us over $173 to "fix" his mistake by using the card we gave him to pay for him staining the deck. I was never notified that the card would be charged for the job to fix the guys mistake. I should have never paid the $499 in the beginning!

    I am furious and want all my money back, but Porch will not answer my calls or text messages. I will NEVER use this company again!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Totally Unreliable

    • Ilinois,
    • Jul 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I scheduled Porch to install a built-in refrigerator that had recently been delivered. When I called they provided a price, a day and time for the work to be done. The day before the appointment, they called to tell me that they had to cancel - permanently. Apparently, they have only one person who does this kind of work in my "service area". However the installer, who lives 50 miles away, decided it was too far to waste his time. I lost several days expecting them to show and had to spend time scheduling someone else. The takeaway is that even if they tell you they can do a job, there is no guaranty that they'll actually show up.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Worse Ever

    • Oklahoma ,
    • Jul 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I called Porch to inquire about lawn maintenance. I was scheduled for Friday June 29th. No call no show! I called the local number I was given and was told someone would call me the next morning. No call no show! I started searching for phone numbers for Porch. I finally called the number requesting a service. The man I spoke with refused to transfer me to a manager. He said he would take care of it and I would receive a call within an hour. That was four days ago. Apparently, this company is not legit and now they have my credit card number. Call another company and avoid the hassle.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Stay away!

    • Sacramento, CA,
    • Jul 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    They send unlicensed, uninsured, and unprepared hacks out to customers' homes and hope for the best. They are NOT employees of Porch, meaning no Workmans Comp and no general liability insurance. The workers are paid little for the work that they do (especially if they actually have business overhead) and are not encouraged to be efficient or proficient. Communication is the worst I've ever seen from a home improvement company. You'll just get a voicemail, or be transferred to a voicemail, which will never be returned. If they are this difficult to be a subcontractor for, I can only imagine being a homeowner trying to resolve an issue with them would be excruciating.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Dishwasher installed poorly

    • Nashville, TN,
    • Jul 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Wow, the installation guy they sent took three hours with two trips to the store. After he left, the dishwasher is leaning backward. I called several times to Porch and was either sent to voicemail or waiting for someone to help me endlessly. I do not recommend them, and will be seeking a refund on my credit card.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 18, 2018

      Porch, Customer Service Rep

      Jennifer,

      We apologize for the experience you had with this Pro. If you still need assistance, please reach out to guarantee@porch.com and we would be happy to help.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Worst experience ever!

    • Illinois,
    • Jul 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wish I could give zero stars. I never leave reviews but am trying to save someone else from making my same mistake. Please NEVER EVER contract this awful company! I set up an appointment one month ahead of time. I confirmed with them multiple times for a swing set installation. I talked with them twice the morning of the appointment, was told we were all set with no delays, and they were a NO SHOW! They didn't even call to let us know. ALFONSO, the manager, wouldn't call us back. I spent all day trying to get in touch with someone. They repeatedly tried to avoid our calls and didn't attempt to reschedule. They claimed they couldn't find anyone to do the job even though they sent me an email confirmation the day before the appointment. I drove to another state for this installation.

    This company is so unprofessional. Unfortunate for Lowe's that they are partners. Worst experience ever. Please save yourself the headache.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 18, 2018

      Porch, Customer Service Rep

      Meg,

      We want to apologize for this experience, we missed the mark on communication here. Thank you for this valuable feedback, as we are always working to improve our customer experience.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    The worst

    • Fallbrook, CA,
    • Jul 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is the worst company ever. They are very hard to deal with, as they are rude and impatient over the phone. They don’t seem to understand simple things, which makes it next to impossible to deal with them. I dealt with both Brenda and someone named Jose. These two people are the most incompetent people I have ever dealt with. I hate to say "stupid," but I’m not sure how else to describe them. Long story short, I had a bathroom fan install scheduled for two weeks, and they canceled it the day before. Wow. I wasted my time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 18, 2018

      Porch, Customer Service Rep

      Michael,

      We want to apologize for this experience, we missed the mark on communication here. Thank you for this valuable feedback, as we are always working to improve our customer experience.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    No show

    • Texas,
    • Jul 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I spoke to someone on the phone about the tile repair that we needed. I described the damage and was given an estimate over the phone. The price seemed fair, and they scheduled our service appointment quickly. On the day they were scheduled, they did not show up.

    I called 30 minutes after the appointment time and was told a manager would call me back. I called an hour later and was told the same thing, but they gave me the number of the person to call as well. I called and left a voicemail. An hour later I still had not heard anything, so I tried calling the 800 number on the website. This person told me my request would be escalated, and someone would call me within 20 minutes. Forty minutes later someone called me and said he was sorry they were unable to make the appointment, and I should call him if I had any questions. No offer to reschedule. I will find someone else to give my money to.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 18, 2018

      Porch, Customer Service Rep

      Denise,

      We are sorry to hear about this experience. We aim to provide homeowners with an easy, straightforward process from booking through project completion. We missed the mark on communication here and we apologize for any inconvenience.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Horrible and unprofessional...I’m stunned

    • Tampa Bay, FL,
    • Jul 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I scheduled Porch to come out and install two cabinets. Porch told me that if it took less than the four hours that I would only be charged for the time the carpenter spent. I took the day off of work, and had everything ready to go. The "handyman" came in, looked at the job, and went out to his truck and proceeded to talk on the phone for 15 minutes, meanwhile the clock is ticking, and I'm paying for him to talk on the phone. He came in, took the cabinets out of the box, and made me aware that I needed another board, and asked if I could bring him screws since we had to get a board. He didn’t bring screws! His son had to bring him a ladder! He had very few tools!

    Once my girlfriend left to go to Lowe's to get the board and his nails, he asked if she was my "roommate," I replied no, she's my girlfriend. He then handed me a business card for his wife that cleans in her lingerie. He explained she'll come out and clean your house in her lingerie...because I'm gay I have to obviously be into that. Once the board and nails arrived, he started to cut the boards in the kitchen and living room. I now have sawdust everywhere. He didn’t bring the proper tools, so he cut part of the cabinet and didn't cut it straight, of course, he hung it that way. He got to the end of the project and couldn't finish because of course, he didn't bring the proper tools.

    It took the entire four hours, so he got him money because he sat while it took my girlfriend an hour to get his nails and board...four hours to get someone to hang two cabinets.

    On his way out he gave me his own card and told me that he could give me a price lower than Porch and that I should just call him.

    I've called Porch three times today to talk to someone about my complaint. I was reassured twice that they never get these types of complaints and that Xavier would call me back. Xavier did call me, but his phone kept cutting out, and when I said I couldn’t hear him he told me that he would call me back...and here I am six hours later, and I haven't been called back.

    This is the worse job and service I've had in a really long time! Porch, KEEP YOUR WORD.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 18, 2018

      Porch, Customer Service Rep

      Tiffany,

      We apologize for the experience you had with this pro. Please reach out to fixit@porch.com with your project details and contact information, as we want to make sure this does not happen in the future. Again, we apologize for your experience and appreciate your feedback.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Sloppy work, but they did come back to fix it

    • Monroe, NC,
    • Jul 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Within a week the original contractor did come back and he did fix the problem to our satisfaction. So, NOW, I would recommend them. AND, they did fix the problem.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (4)
    View all 4 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 27, 2018

      Porch, Customer Service Rep

      Joanne,

      We apologize for the experience you had with this contractor. If you still need assistance, please reach out to guarantee@porch.com with your contact info and project details and we would be happy to help.

    • Jun 28, 2018

      Joanne C.

      Postscript, the original contractor did come back and did not redo the work to our satisfaction. If I could change my comments on this site, I would, but once you make them they appear to be set in concrete.

    • Jul 5, 2018

      Noob D.

      Porch has the worst service. I've had one thing that needs to be fixed. They were scheduled to come out twice, and both times, no call, no show. I didn't even get a call to let me know, so the two days I took off work were wasted. They offered me a $25 discount for the service. That doesn't even cover one hour of my time. Eventually, I just called someone else.

    • Jul 7, 2018

      Joanne C.

      Sorry that you had a problem.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Previous review
    • Jun 19, 2018

    Sloppy work

    We contacted Porch.com to help us fix two columns with the dry rot on the bottom. The contractor they sent out has a unique sense of humor that might be considered offensive to some, including us. But that was not the major problem. One of the columns he fixed appropriately, and we will be able to paint it make it look nice. The other one is a sloppy mess. Instead of going straight from the top of the porch to the bottom, he attached to at an angle of about 6°. This makes it unsafe.

    I called Porch.com to complain, and after talking to three people who kept moving me along the complaint trail, I never heard back as to what they were going to do to fix the problem. I have just called them again. We shall see how this phone tag adventure fares.

    (read moreread less...)

Showing 1-11 of 240

Write a Review for Porch.com!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review