• 123 Customer Reviews
  • 13% Recommend This Company
1.7 out of 5
5 star: 6% 4 star: 4% 3 star: 6% 2 star: 16% 1 star: 66%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Not all it's cracked up to be

    Overall Experience:

    They did not send me the item I paid $49.99 extra for, which was the pan to cook breads and cakes. It was supposed to be copper and have a handle on it. Instead, they told me that I paid $49.99 for the basket and the handle and not the bucket. They charged me $199.92, and I did not get what I ordered, nor am I happy with the product since it takes up too much space and it's very cumbersome. They also refuse to pay my shipping charge for returning the package, which cost me $72.51.

    So all potential customers beware, be very aware that you may get ripped off.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Ripoff, stay away

    Overall Experience:

    This is an honest review. This oven is a ripoff. They claim that customers get a 60-day money back, but they don’t tell people that they don’t get the cost of the warranty but a $29.96 refunded. They also don’t tell anyone that it will cost $57 plus to send this useless machine back.

    It also does not perform as promised. The shelves keep falling down constantly, the machine smells like burnt plastic, and the rotisserie hangs with anything bigger than a pork chop. One other thing that was bad was that shelves were so flimsy that they fell down when trying to work with them. And the unit cracked my Corian countertop. Good luck people!

    In fact, when I called, the TriStar rep tried to refund me 30 bucks if I considered keeping this trash Air Frier oven. You better know that I will make it my life task to let everyone know what a ripoff this is. I expect all my money back and shipping paid for.

    So the saga continues. After wasting my time yet again with agent number 4, just as the other reps have done this is what they said:

    “Thank you for holding, Bernadette. The only best way to do as of now is we will suggest you return first the whole order back to us and we will see IF the protection plan will be refunded. And please visit us back if the protection plan was not refunded. And please be informed also that we do not offer return labels. You can print a return label from the carrier of your choice or bring it to the post office.”

    When we bought the item there was no return policy on their website, at least we were not able to find it, and now all of a sudden one is magically there. My husband looked several times! The fact that they can't guarantee to pay me back the extended warranty proves their dishonesty. I want people to know you WILL be out $90, they won't cover if you buy the extended warranty, and you have to pay a minimum of $60 with the post office for shipping because of size and weight.

    All of a sudden a return policy exists. So make sure you realize what it costs to send the oven back. You're out either way. Go to a store, that way you can take it back. Better yet, don’t buy it. The unit did not do what they said, for me at least. I will be logging a complaint at the BBB as well. I have seen many complaints against TriStar.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not worth it, worked once, made crap chicken, then did not work the second time I used it.

    • By Jacqui,
    • Virginia,
    • Feb 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    What a horrible piece of equipment. I bought it thinking it would be a great, healthy way to cook food. I followed all directions and took all the parts out and washed them before use. I put my chicken thighs etc. on the trays to cook, and as soon as the fan came on, there was a horrible smell of burning plastic. After the time the chicken was supposed to be cooked (it wasn't), for 40 minutes at 370 degrees and still raw in the middle, I gave up. I turned the machine off and unplugged.

    The next day, I plugged it in, turned it on to try to cook the chicken again, and got NOTHING; no FAN,no AIR, but it got hot. Very hot.

    I called customer service, and they apologized and said I could send it back and they would send another one. I said "fine, let me know when it comes, and I will ship the broken one back in the box you sent the new one in." NOPE, they cannot do that, you have to send it back first and once they receive it, you will be sent a new one. I told her to RMA my oven now as I was sending it back and don't bother sending me a new one. Cancel my order and refund me my money!

    They did send me a return shipping label to send it back, and luckily I kept the box it came in. They can shove it where the sun don't shine! I will never buy this again. And I would never recommend it to people I like.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible product!

    • By Sue J,
    • Albuquerque, NM,
    • Feb 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Don't waste your money on this one! it is extremely difficult to load the wire shelves, and the rotisserie rod is a real pain. The unit is so dark inside, even with the light on, and at counter level. No way you can do a 4-5 pound chicken on the rotisserie. Even a 3 pound one, tightly trussed, scrapes on the bottom!

    The wire racks are a pain getting lined up and if you have to turn food partway through, everything (crust on chicken) falls onto the bottom and all over the open door.

    It is a mess to clean. Crumbs and coatings fall off and into the vents on the inside of the door. The door cannot be submerged for cleaning, so you have to literally take a screwdriver and take the inside part of the door off the outside to clean out the debris!

    Notice that on the infomercials, they are always shown removing food, not putting it in? There's a reason for that; they don't want you to know how awkward and hard it is to get stuff inside in the first place!

    Don't waste your money on this junk! A good idea, but very badly executed. Never again!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Updated review

    Update

    • By Don Kehrer,
    • Cincinnati, OH,
    • Dec 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    After further trials, I noticed a review on the hot bottom, yes it does get hot. I measured close to 200 degrees Fahrenheit. On the exterior base after cooking at 400 degrees for 18 minutes. The countertop was about 150. I would recommend a fireproof, heat absorbing mat under the unit. Damage to surfaces may occur. It exhausts at the base and back of the unit. The book says keep back and sides clear by 5 inches. It should say bottom too.

    Cooking meat is a real mess. Splatter all inside, all over. Book recommends cleaning after each use. I would do so. Do not walk away from it when cooking.

    I'm not sure if the health benefits are outweighed by the risk of using this appliance. Get a PDF of the instructions and read before buying. Safety instructions are covered in the book, not in the promo video.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Previous review
    • Dec 6, 2017

    Doesn't perform as advertised

    First, the racks don't have long enough rails to get them in easy. Rails for racks start deep in the unit, and the racks are rounded, so trying to get the racks to line up to the rails is your first challenge.

    The video shows dark browned food. I tried several times, and it's more of a tan browning. Home fries become dehydrated before they are fully cooked. Even frozen fries don't brown at their recommended time. I tried another 10 minutes and still not browned and mushy center in the fries. I've baked fries in a regular oven and they are better. Crisp, brown and done.

    The chef in the video says to walk away, but the book tells you to never leave it unattended. The book says chicken max 4 lbs on rotisserie or it will hit the top. I haven't tried the rotisserie or kabobs yet. If you use vegetable oil, it will become a sticky goo on the accessories and hard to clean off. Just like a deep fried goo.

    I am going to keep experimenting with it. So far I would say, use your conventional oven. Probably a good dehydrator though.

    (read moreread less...)

  • Buyer beware!

    Overall Experience:

    Just save yourself the hassle and don’t buy this oven. My first one worked once, then the second time I used it the fan died, and it caught fire. After arguing with customer service that “no, I should not have to pay you $20 AND the shipping costs for you to replace this” they sent me a label and I got a replacement machine.

    I turned on the replacement for 7 minutes to get some of the plastic smell out, and let it cool completely. I put food in to cook, hit start, and GUESS WHAT? The fan died. Again. When the fan dies the product STILL HEATS UP. This is a dangerous product. And now I’m being told I can’t get a refund. So the gift my in-laws purchased for us is literally trash.

    I am so disappointed in the service and the product. Do not risk your family’s safety. Go spend a few more dollars and buy the Cuisinart Rotisserie Toaster oven. This thing is total crap.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Garbage

    Overall Experience:

    Don’t fall for this scam like I did. It’s nothing but a glorified oven pod. You're much better off using your regular oven with much better results. I had to pay 75 bucks to ship it back, and then they only refunded me partially. Crooked and dishonest.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Returned

    • By Rose D,
    • Ohio,
    • Feb 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I bought the air fryer oven after watching info on TV. I should have known better.

    I received the unit and washed all items, then used it to make fries. There was a terrible plastic smell when used, and I thought it was because of the newness of product. I cooked three more recipes. Ugghhh, everything tasted like melted plastic.

    I called to return the product. I lost $28.00 to ship it back and $26.00 for the extended warranty I had purchased, which they will not refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Customer service horrible

    Overall Experience:

    The third time we used the Power Air Fryer Oven the glass on the inside of the door shattered. I contacted customer service and was told corporate customer service would be in contact within 48 hours. I called again after the 48 hours had passed and was told again that it would be 48 hours. It took almost two weeks and multiple phone calls before I was money was finally refunded. Then had to contact them again because they didn't refund the funds I paid for the extended warranty on it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Refund/exchange policy leaves something to be desired

    • By Dan O'Rourke,
    • Metamora, IN,
    • Mar 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We saw the infomercial and purchased an Air Fryer oven on January 11, 2018. Since that time we had only used the oven three times to heat up leftovers. I am only giving it three stars because of how ridiculous I think their policy is on getting a replacement oven.

    On March 9, 2018, I turned the oven on, and the display panel lit up but the oven was barely warm, and there was no air circulating inside the oven. I know that for a fact because I put little pieces of paper inside and waited for it to blow around like like on the infomercial. I tried several times to get the oven to work but no success.

    A few days later I called customer service. I was told it would be no problem, just box the oven up and return it to them along with check or money order for, I thought they said $14.95. On March 20, 2018, I started packing the oven up to ship, and I thought about the $14.95 and decided I wanted a refund instead of another oven. I called Customer Service once again, and when I requested a refund, I was told that was only available within 60 days from the date of purchase, which would have been March 11th. I asked about the shipping charge, and I was informed that I needed to enclose $19.99, not $14.95, in the form of a check or money order to cover the shipping charges on the replacement oven.

    We shipped the oven today, and it cost $35 to return a DEFECTIVE oven! So the bottom line is, we have spent $54.95, 1/3 of the original purchase price, to get a replacement oven because the original one was DEFECTIVE! Frankly, it would have been less stressful and more economical if we had just thrown the DEFECTIVE oven away.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Dead on arrival

    Overall Experience:

    After the purchase, the air fryer oven arrived quickly, but that is where "the good ends."

    The unit was dead on arrival. The panel did come on but would not cook regardless of following directions perfectly. I contacted TriStar, the manufacturer, and requested they send a prepaid shipping label and send a new oven and hold my credit card data as an assurance that I will return the inoperative air fryer and the following is their response exactly as it appeared in an email from TriStar:

    "We are sorry to hear about your unit. As much as we love to send you the new unit, however, we do not have the option to do it here. The new unit will only send to you once we receive the original unit, you can use any box to return the unit as long as the unit will fit in it and properly placed."

    Therefore, buyer beware, once the oven is in your possession, every aspect after receipt of the oven, is on the consumer. TriStar, the manufacturer, will do absolutely nothing to assist the owner of their DOA Power Air Fryer Oven with a return and replacement of the defective oven.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Stopped working 3 months in

    Overall Experience:

    I purchased the Power Air Fryer Oven from Tristar Products (the As Seen on TV direct link site) in November 2017. I loved it while it worked. Just after the three-month mark, the air circulation stopped working. The heating coil came on, but not the air (which rendered it basically worthless for any kind of cooking). I contacted their customer service and was basically told "your 60-day return period is over, so sorry!"

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't waste your money

    • By Tink Luke,
    • Zanesville, OH,
    • Jan 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The smell of burning plastic fills the air every time the unit is used. The basket does not simply slide in and out of the unit, but instead must be jammed in over and over again until it finally sits "just right" to where the electrical contacts work. It is the most frustrating piece of junk that I have ever used in the kitchen.

    The company does not offer return shipping so expect to fork out another $70 for that in the hopes that they will refund your initial cost.

    My advice, save your money. It is in no way worth the cost or frustration.

    Apparently, you cannot give a ZERO star rating, which is really what it deserves.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not good

    Overall Experience:

    I used my Air Fryer once. Then later in the day, I prepared to use it again. I opened the door, placed the item in, attempted to turn on the light, and it does not work. I tried several times, and the light just blinks. I called and got a 1/2 English speaking man, who was unhelpful and kind of an impersonal butt. The answer to the problem is to pack up the unit, drive to the post office and mail it back, then wait another week or two for a replacement.

    I'm going to blog the heck out of this experience, WHICH is a little unsatisfactory. I'm mad at the butt head I talked with more than anything. I bet if I stopped payment on the product, they'd listen up.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scam

    • By Scott Rubik,
    • Livingston Manor, NY,
    • Mar 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The product did not work. Almost set on fire and very hot. I returned it and was given a runaround for three weeks about a replacement. I finaly canceled order through my credit card company. STAY AWAY from this!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Power XL review

    • By Sushma J.,
    • Harrisbug, PA,
    • Jul 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We purchased this air fryer online through TV advertising and they said it could be returned in 60 days. They didn’t tell us about any extended warranty available, nor did we think it would stop working in 120 days! I called the company and they said that they could not do anything about it, we should have taken the warranty! Really?! And they said with warranty they would have sent a new one, not repair it! Probably they are not repairable?

    Absolutely useless if the warranty cannot be given for even a year! It must have been a faulty piece or extremely poorly made, and perhaps they are made to last only two months! And no repair company is willing to repair this small gadget!

    The power turns on but the digital display doesn’t light up and can’t use it as that is the only way to use it.

    I would give it ZERO stars and recommend everyone never to buy Power Air Fryer ever again!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't waste your money

    Overall Experience:

    This looked great and sounded great as well. I used the 4-payment plan. Got unit right away and used it about 5 times. A few days after the warranty expired, the unit stopped working. It wasn't even paid for and they charged my card for the last payment after I told them it wasn't working. No lights no heat. I contacted the manufacturer but they said to send it back to their "contracted service co," but since it was out of the 60-day warranty by a few days, I had to pay shipping, and if I wanted a new one it was full price plus shipping and tax. What a deal, right? Why should I pay to ship a return if I don't get a deal on a new one? The trash can doesn't cost me anything, and that is where this one is going.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Two machines duds.

    • By Daman Malone,
    • Langhorne, PA,
    • Mar 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    My wife fell in love with the commercial and said we NEEDED this, so after some checking, we decided to go ahead and buy this over the Big Boss Air Fryer.

    We bought it through Bed Bath & Beyond for $160 and I it was delivered three days later. I opened it up, and to my disappointment, it was clearly a display or refurb unit as it has scratched and chips in the outer black housing, everything else was packaged nice, and the instructions were neat, but I paid for a new product.

    I contacted them on a Thursday, and the old unit was picked up the next day, and a replacement was delivered the same time (super impressed!).

    I opened this one, and it again has light scratches but not chips or damaging to the housing.

    I unpacked and checked everything. I decided to do fries for my wife to try as this was and seems to be the basic first test for the machine.

    I put 1 and 1/2 cups of homemade fries in the basket with a 1/2 tbs of extra virgin olive oil and hit the fries button. Everything was great for 5 minutes, and then the fan stopped turning and never came back on.

    I waited for the timer to end and check. Not cooked at all.

    Very frustrated, so I will contact Bed Bath & Beyond again, and think I may use my money and explain to the wife we will need to try the Big Boss Fryer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Two out of three were garbage!

    • By Nita Morgan,
    • Georgia,
    • May 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I had to send two Power Air Fryers back because in both units the fan went out in less than 60 days in the first one and shortly after 60 days in the second one. I also requested the company to replace the last unit with the upgraded new 6 qt unit because the old 6 qt at is clearly garbage, but again, I received the same model that failed before. Further, there are numerous complaints from customers online with the same complaint of a defective fan, but the company has done nothing to fix the problem, instead, they keep sending the same defective model and ignoring the problem. So now I'm on a third unit, which I have absolutely no confidence in it holding up.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Power Air Fryer Oven

    Overall Experience:

    Do not buy one of these. I have been fighting with this company for over a month now trying to send them back. They will not give me a return label that the post office can scan to give me a receipt that I sent them back. Not worth all the headaches. This company is a joke.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Delicious undercooked plastic

    • By J L,
    • Meriden, CT,
    • May 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    One of the included recipe books had instructions for a 4-pound pork loin. I had a 1.6-pound cut and decided to use that as my first attempt.

    I loaded it onto the rotisserie rod and started it, no issues. When the timer was up, I pulled it out and measured the temp. It only got up to 108 degrees, when following instructions for a roast 2.5 times the size.

    I loaded it back in and turned on the unit. A couple of minutes later I checked back in on it, and it was completely black, no power indicators at all. We figured this was the overheating protection and moved what was supposed to be rotisserie to our oven. Thirty minutes later it was up to temp, and we partook in plastic flavored pork.

    I am really glad I got this from my own workplace, it's going back tomorrow, and I will gladly dissuade anyone I see purchasing one going forward. I tried to turn it back on after a few hours cooling, completely dead.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible customer service

    • By Barb H.,
    • Nashwauk, MN,
    • Jul 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Don't EVER have any reason, even for the smallest issue, to call customer service on. They are the worst ever and absolutely NO follow up! Two weeks after I got my Air Fryer Oven, the bottom plate peeled and the EXCESSIVE heat caused my glass tabletop to crack in over 10 places. NO RESOLUTION to date - no new tray after three reps said yes they would send it. I advised the time of day to call me, they haven't. I sent pictures and have filed three complaints! Now the oven doesn't even work! Again, I had to resend the pics, fill out huge forms, call them, and guess what? They were having "phone issues!" So to date, I have called six times. I sent pics and forms twice, filed three complaints, and NO ANYTHING from them and now a bad bottom tray. I had to replace my tabletop and non-working oven! Horrible experience for a lot of money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Loved it until the fan died

    • By Patricia Quick,
    • Jefferson City, MO,
    • Feb 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I received the unit on December 4, 2017. We loved everything we made in it. February 19, 2018 (15 days after the 60-day guarantee), I tried to use it and the fan would not work. Of course, when I tried to call, the office was closed for the day. So disappointed. And I recommended this to several friends telling them how wonderful it was. Now I have (uncooked) egg on my face.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Five months and no extended warranty

    • By Anthony R.,
    • Mount Pleasant, TX,
    • Jul 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    It only lasted five months, a $280 purchase with bells and whistles, except I didn’t pay another $29 for the extended warranty. All they can offer is the "if" I buy another unit, I can purchase the extended warranty this time! No thanks! Don’t waste your money with this original manufactured Power Air Fryer junk!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Didn't last long

    • By Barbara G.,
    • Buffalo, NY,
    • Aug 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    We're a senior couple and didn't use our fryer oven for quite a few days as we needed to study the books. After a week or so we decided to try it and make some fries. So we didn't use it at first nor did we use it every day. I'd say we used it about 12 times. Then in the middle of cooking two chicken breasts, it konked out...just days after the 60-day warranty. I called the company and all they could say was "sorry." I bought the one advertised on TV. I really loved the ease and taste of the cooking on it and am sick that ours was a dud. I might try another if I can find one with a better warranty and customer service as I miss it already. We also never received the bar for rotisserie.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • This is a complete ripoff

    • By Paige G.,
    • South Carolina,
    • Jun 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The rotisserie never worked, it didn't cook evenly. I had to pay the postage to send their defective product back to them, which cost me $40. They'll probably just throw it in the dumpster cause it's a tax write off. I should have read all the reviews before I bought it because I never would have wasted my money, but when it's 3 am and you're watching their infomercial, you don't think about that. If it looks too good to be true, well, you know the rest.

    Power Air Fry Oven is junk, bottom line, and so are their company policies.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Take it back

    • By Nancy Krause,
    • Whiting, NJ,
    • Jan 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    First, it is impossible to use the rotisserie for a chicken. I got a 4 lbs chicken, put it in there and it was too fat to turn. Roasted it in there instead. When done, it was a complete mess in there. I cleaned inside and all the parts totally. When moving off the counter, I tilted it and fat from cooking poured out of the bottom of the unit. I had no idea it was in there. I would not recommend this oven to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 123

Write a Review for Power Air Fryer Oven!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Power Air Fryer Oven Reviews