About Power Air Fryer Oven

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Published on: Oct 31, 2017

With eight one-touch presets and turbo cyclonic Rapid Air technology that surrounds your food, Power Air Fryer Oven is an all-in-one device that promises to air fry, roast, grill, and bake, with little or no oil. It also includes rotisserie and dehydrator settings that can preserve fresh fruits, veggies, and other foods.

Using its digital touchscreen panel, the website indicates you only have to set the time and temperature, and the device will “virtually eliminate oil from the process,” while reducing potential mess.

During the process, Power Oven’s air flow racks will allow the hot air to circulate 360° around your food for crisp, golden results, while the drip tray catches the extra fat, for meals with fewer calories than traditional frying.

With three levels of cooking surfaces, the manufacturer claims you can cook an entire family meal with just one device, while keeping an eye on the whole process through its crystal clear, extra-large window. When you’re finished, the Rotating Mesh Basket and other accessories are made of durable stainless steel, so they’re dishwasher safe for fast, easy cleanup.

Has Tristar hit another home run with Power Air Fryer Oven? Can you expect it to take the guesswork out of cooking, while also delivering delicious fried food without the fat or calories? Let's start by comparing its core functionality to conventional methods.

How Does Traditional Frying Compare to Power Air Fryer Oven’s Rapid Air Technology?

With traditional frying, battered food is immersed in oil that’s heated to between 350° and 375°. This quickly seals the exterior, creates a golden-brown Maillard reaction (one of the main reasons fried foods are so delicious), and evenly cooks the food inside, while retaining moisture.

Despite its great taste, though, WebMD reports that fried food is typically loaded with fat, calories, and sodium, too much of which can lead to side effects like heart disease, type 2 diabetes, and obesity.

Instead, the Rapid Air Technology in Power Oven heats its internal air to between 150° F and 400° F (depending on the setting chosen) and then uses a fan to quickly circulate it. As a result, the manufacturer claims this can provide much of the same crisp, delicious browning as traditional frying, without the unhealthy oil.

But will it deliver in this regard? First, we need to discuss features.

Taking a Closer Look at How Power Air Fryer Oven Works

We’ll talk about important aspects to consider when purchasing an Air Fryer in a moment, but one frequently mentioned by consumers is capacity—in other words, the larger, the better. And while no capacity is specifically mentioned, the FAQ indicates it’s large enough to hold “a 9" round pizza or cake, a 9 x 5" loaf pan, or a 5 lb. chicken.”

Important: Although The Air Fryer Oven website and commercial promote a five-pound weight limit for chickens, the device’s user manual recommends not exceeding 3.5-four pounds.

On the inside, you can choose between using air flow racks (ideal for dehydration, as well as crispy heating), or the rotating mesh basket (for fries and roasting nuts). If you’re in the mood, the rotisserie shaft, forks, and set screws can be used to cook roasts and whole chicken.

Then, you’ll use the included Fetch Tool to gently extract them, without burning your hands. And regardless of what you’re cooking, its Drip Tray promises to catch fat and make for easy cleanups.

Once your food and appropriate accessories are in place, you’ll use the digital numeric interface to get started. The Oven’s power button doubles as a start/stop button, and you’ll use the temperature control to adjust between 150° and 400°, in 5° increments.

The time control buttons allow you to select cooking times between one and 60 minutes, except for dehydration mode, which defaults to 30-minute intervals between two and 24 hours.

On this panel, you’ll also find an internal light button that allows you to check progress during operation, a rotation button for use during any mode (not just rotisserie), and eight cooking preset buttons.

By default, selecting any of these will set the time and temperature based on that particular food, although this can be overridden by manually pressing the time and temperature buttons.

Keep in mind that, according to the site’s FAQ, some foods will have to be flipped mid-cooking, the device can never be used to cook or reheat liquids, and you’ll need to add three minutes to your cooking time when starting cold.

Regardless of the mode or manual setting you choose, the Power Oven’s built-in shut-off mode will automatically turn the device off once the timer reaches zero. From there, the fan will continue running for 20 seconds to help cool the device down.

Power Air Fryer OvenWith 1,700 watts of power, Power Air Fryer Oven’s superheated cyclonic air claims to deliver the same taste as fried foods, but without the oil, fat, or calories. Image credit: Tristar Products, Inc.

How Much Does the Power Air Fryer (CM001) Oven Cost?

Available in white, black, or red, the Power Air Fryer Oven is priced at four payments of $39.99 plus free shipping, or a single payment of $159.96. For this price, you’ll receive:

  • AirFryer Unit
  • Fry Basket
  • Basket Divider
  • Recipe Books, as well as access to an online recipe library

During checkout, you can add the Accessory Kit (Rotisserie Carving Stand and 6-Quart Basket w/removable handle) for an additional $39.96, a six-year warranty for $29.96, and a Copper Chef fry pan set (11-inch family size and a 9.5-inch square fry pan) for $29.96.

We also found the device sold through Amazon for $179.99, plus free shipping.

All direct purchases come with a 60-day refund policy and a 60-day limited warranty against defects in materials workmanship, less S&H charges.

In order to request a refund or file a warranty claim, you’ll need to reach out to Tristar Products’ customer support line at 973-287-5197.

Are There Any Online Customer Reviews For the Power Air Fryer Oven?

The only website where we encountered any customer feedback for the Power Air Fryer Oven was on Amazon, when two reviewers had given the device an average rating of three stars. One (five stars) reported that it delivered great results, cooked without using oil, and worked as well as a traditional oven. On the other hand, the one-star reviewer reported that it featured less-than-stellar functionality.

From a company perspective, Tristar is the second largest manufacturer in the As Seen on TV industry and has been in business for more than 30 years.

Recent standout releases include Clear TV, the Copper Chef lineup, as well as other products bearing the Power Air Fryer brand name. In fact, since they use the same Rapid Air cyclonic technology and pre-set functionality, it’s worth pointing out that we performed an in-depth review of the Air Fryer, which could help provide some meaningful insight into some of what you might expect:

Tristar held an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, based on 17 reviews (100 percent of which were negative) and nearly 750 closed complaints, as of 10/30/17. Where details were available, most of these appeared to revolve around lower quality than expected and customer service difficulties. In each instance, a company representative responded with a proposed solution.

Power Air Fryer Oven vs. Power Air Fryer XL: What’s the Difference?

Functionally, both the Power Air Fryer XL and Oven (shown side-by-side below) feature the same Rapid Air cyclonic technology, digital panels, dishwasher-safe parts, vented air chambers, and temperature settings between 150° and 400°.

Power Air Fryer Oven vs. Power Air Fryer XLThe Power Air Fryer Oven (right) appears to provide a larger cooking chamber than the previous XL version (left), although support couldn’t provide any specifications. Image credit: Tristar Products, Inc.

As such, their biggest differences seem to be mostly related to design, as the Oven is meaningfully larger than XL, with a more substantial touchscreen. So, if you have vision or mobility issues, this might be a meaningful value-add.

There are some other differences worth noting:

Features Power Air Fryer Oven Power Air Fryer XL
Number of Pre-sets 8 7
Capcity 3.4 quarts Listed as large enough for a 5lb. chicken, though no specifics provided. Customer support didn’t have additional details.
Heating Increments 10°
Basket Adjustability No Yes

While these are two popular models from a well-known manufacturer, they’re not your only air fryer options, by any measure. Other top Google and Amazon marketplace search results at the time of our research included:

  • Philips HD9240 High Capacity Digital Airfryer ($300)
  • NuWave Brio ($100)
  • Farberware Air Fryer ($70)
  • Cook’s Essentials Digital Air Fryer ($100)
  • Dash Compact Air Fryer ($50)

Given the variety of manufacturers, styles, and price points, what’s the best method of deciding which air fryer is right for you?

The HighYa team has reviewed several of the most popular air fryers over the years. And during our research, we’ve learned that capacity (cooks greater amounts of food), the wattage (cooks faster and more evenly), and number of available features (adds convenience) often have the biggest impact on customer satisfaction, according to their online reviews.

To this extent, it’s our opinion that a good place to start is by selecting one (or perhaps even two) of these factors to focus on, and then moving from there. Just keep in mind that if you place more emphasis on one aspect, you might need to make an accommodation in another.

For example, the Philips model featured the highest wattage of the above bunch, but was also priced the highest. But if capacity and price are your main focus, the largest option was Cook’s Essentials at 5.3 quarts, which also featured a competitive price along with a total of 10 total functions.

Our Final Thoughts About the Power Air Fryer Oven

Can the Power Air Fryer Oven help you enjoy guilt-free fried food, as claimed on the website? Based on what we’ve read from consumer feedback for many popular air fryer models, this certainly could be the case, especially related to pre-fried foods like french fries, chicken strips, fish and cheese sticks, and so forth.

Writing for The Alternative Daily, Krista Hillis reports that in a 2015 study published in the International Food Research Journal, researchers cooked potato strips at 180 degrees Celsius (356 degrees Fahrenheit) for 40 minutes, using both air fryers and traditional oil-based methods. They found:

“… air frying significantly reduced moisture and oil uptake. In terms of free fatty acids, peroxide values and other physicochemical changes, researchers reported greater changes in the oil extracted from traditional frying methods, in comparison to air frying. Overall, researchers concluded that using an air-fryer is, in fact, a healthier technique.”

However, one of the most common complaints we’ve encountered among consumers in general is that, if you’re planning on using an air fryer to completely replace a traditional deep fryer for more robust, freshly-made foods like fried chicken or dumplings—and you’re expecting the exact same taste in all instances—you might be disappointed by their performance.

While maintaining realistic expectations, it’s also important to point out that pre-fried frozen foods are often loaded with salt, preservatives, oils, and fat that could outweigh any health benefits you might achieve from the Oven’s little-to-no-oil operation.

Finally, with a meaningfully larger size than the previous XL model, Power Oven isn’t exactly a small appliance, so make sure you have enough cabinet or drawer space in your kitchen. The user manual also emphasizes that you’ll need at least five inches of free space at the back, sides, and above the appliance, so you’ll need a fair amount of counter room while it’s in use.

With all of this in mind, Power Air Fryer Oven seems to deliver a lot of convenient features and a large capacity, and at a very competitive price. And if it doesn’t meet your expectations, Tristar provides a 30-day refund policy.

Just remember that based on the device’s size, it might not be exactly inexpensive to ship it back to the manufacturer, depending on your location.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

10 Consumer Reviews for Power Air Fryer Oven

Average Consumer Rating: 2.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 1 4 star: 2 3 star: 0 2 star: 2 1 star:  5
Bottom Line: 30% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-10 of 10
Sort reviews by:

  • Take it back

    • Whiting, NJ,
    • Jan 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    First, it is impossible to use the rotisserie for a chicken. I got a 4 lbs chicken, put it in there and it was too fat to turn. Roasted it in there instead. When done, it was a complete mess in there. I cleaned inside and all the parts totally. When moving off the counter, I tilted it and fat from cooking poured out of the bottom of the unit. I had no idea it was in there. I would not recommend this oven to anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Beware the high return shipping cost

    I was going to return it because the shelves are hard to insert but return shipping isn't covered and would cost me $50 via post office. So far I used it to rebake a pie that got doughy, so I pressed the pie icon on the panel and let it run at 350 for 10 minutes. There was an obvious burnt plastic smell that bodes ill, so I will report more about usage as I continue trying it out. It's cheaply made and I don't expect it to last long. The $100 grocery coupons were a primary incentive, and so far I had to fill out an application online to get a voucher I have to wait a day or two for. Another incentive was the demo by chef Eric Theisen, who made it look like a miracle appliance.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • What a waste

    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Jan 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was very disappointed in this product. It does a good job on french fries but was a disaster cooking fried chicken. It took three hours to cook the chicken to the correct temperature, and this was cut-up chicken!

    This was really a waste of money as you have to pay return postage yourself. No wonder people shop on Amazon.

    So basically it cost me $27.00 to try this terrible product. I would not recommend it to anyone unless you want to pay $160.00 to make french fries!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Great oven and I love it!

    • Webb City, MO,
    • Jan 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought the Power Air Fryer Oven from Bed Bath & Beyond, and it's great. I love the basket that turns as I tried fries first, being that I've never had one of these, and they turned out great. I've had the 10-quart Brio from NuWave, and it doesn't work like I thought it would because the fries or other foods cook better when they're rotated. If not, they get done more on one side, and the Brio doesn't rotate them. The idea of the fan circulating the air to cook the items thoroughly, in my opinion, is not always correct for everything since some things need to be turned to get done on both sides. My NuWave oven, which I love, need foods to be turned as well.

    The Air Fryer Oven basket rotates, and that makes all the difference. The three shelves you get with the oven fit great. I don't know why there are so many comments about the shelves not fitting correctly or problems getting them out. Just like in a regular oven they are hot, and they need to be removed carefully. Maybe other ovens have issues or are made wrong, but mine does fine.

    The rotisserie works great, as earlier today I made a bacon wrapped tenderloin that I cooked 50 minutes on the rotisserie spit and it turned out awesome. I wish I could show you a picture. The oven will only fit up to certain sized foods. The people that say the foods they're trying to cook don't fit, well, they're probably trying to cook a food that is way too big for the oven. That's just absurd; if you buy the oven, you should be able to look inside and tell how big of, let's say, a tenderloin you can cook. If you buy one and it's too big, then cut some off so it fits or cook it in a bigger oven.

    I've tried chicken tenders, and they came out great. I haven't made a whole lot of food in it yet, but it so far surpassed my expectations. The comments that people make are ridiculous because you can see the dimensions of it. Between this oven, my NuWave oven, the two NuWave Pics, and my power pressure cooker, I never use my oven. If I didn't live in an apartment, I'd sell the oven.

    If you buy the power oven look at the dimensions and choose your food according to the size it can cook, buy it at a store like Bed Bath & Beyond so if you don't like it or there's something wrong, you can return it. I have mine sitting on a table with a tablecloth and nothing got hot enough to melt even a plastic tablecloth. The door and glass get hot, sure, but the rest of the oven is fine and touchable. Maybe these people got a bad one because it does happen, but I am more than satisfied. I wish this site would allow pictures so I can show you the food. I will buy more as gifts, and I highly recommend this item.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Bad product

    • Killen, AL,
    • Jan 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This product is not what it says it is. The chicken tasted terrible. I tried to make beef jerky, and it did not turn out like it was supposed to. The rotisserie is the worst I have ever tried to use! The bacon fell apart trying to get the rotisserie together and then it did not fit inside the machine. Once we got it to fit, it spun three times and quit. I called the customer service number and they offered me $40 to keep the piece of trash!

    After reading all of the reviews, I dont know if it is worth the money to send it back, pay the shipping, and fight with the people, or just keep it. I have only had it a week. I did like the way it cooked bacon in only 15 minutes. That is the only thing I liked about it. I was so excited to get this machine.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Power Air Fryer

    • Oceanside, CA,
    • Dec 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Great machine. So far I made dried apple slices and fried items. A great-looking machine, perfect for my three-person household. I tried 4 models and this is the best one so far. I love that it also has light and front opening.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 24 out 25 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Update

    • Cincinnati, OH,
    • Dec 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    After further trials, I noticed a review on the hot bottom, yes it does get hot. I measured close to 200 degrees Fahrenheit. On the exterior base after cooking at 400 degrees for 18 minutes. The countertop was about 150. I would recommend a fireproof, heat absorbing mat under the unit. Damage to surfaces may occur. It exhausts at the base and back of the unit. The book says keep back and sides clear by 5 inches. It should say bottom too.

    Cooking meat is a real mess. Splatter all inside, all over. Book recommends cleaning after each use. I would do so. Do not walk away from it when cooking.

    I'm not sure if the health benefits are outweighed by the risk of using this appliance. Get a PDF of the instructions and read before buying. Safety instructions are covered in the book, not in the promo video.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Previous review
    • Dec 6, 2017

    Doesn't perform as advertised

    First, the racks don't have long enough rails to get them in easy. Rails for racks start deep in the unit, and the racks are rounded, so trying to get the racks to line up to the rails is your first challenge.

    The video shows dark browned food. I tried several times, and it's more of a tan browning. Home fries become dehydrated before they are fully cooked. Even frozen fries don't brown at their recommended time. I tried another 10 minutes and still not browned and mushy center in the fries. I've baked fries in a regular oven and they are better. Crisp, brown and done.

    The chef in the video says to walk away, but the book tells you to never leave it unattended. The book says chicken max 4 lbs on rotisserie or it will hit the top. I haven't tried the rotisserie or kabobs yet. If you use vegetable oil, it will become a sticky goo on the accessories and hard to clean off. Just like a deep fried goo.

    I am going to keep experimenting with it. So far I would say, use your conventional oven. Probably a good dehydrator though.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 34 out 40 people found this review helpful

    Ripoff, stay away

    This is an honest review. This oven is a ripoff. They claim that customers get a 60-day money back, but they don’t tell people that they don’t get the cost of the warranty but a $29.96 refunded. They also don’t tell anyone that it will cost $57 plus to send this useless machine back.

    It also does not perform as promised. The shelves keep falling down constantly, the machine smells like burnt plastic, and the rotisserie hangs with anything bigger than a pork chop. One other thing that was bad was that shelves were so flimsy that they fell down when trying to work with them. And the unit cracked my Corian countertop. Good luck people!

    In fact, when I called, the TriStar rep tried to refund me 30 bucks if I considered keeping this trash Air Frier oven. You better know that I will make it my life task to let everyone know what a ripoff this is. I expect all my money back and shipping paid for.

    So the saga continues. After wasting my time yet again with agent number 4, just as the other reps have done this is what they said:

    “Thank you for holding, Bernadette. The only best way to do as of now is we will suggest you return first the whole order back to us and we will see IF the protection plan will be refunded. And please visit us back if the protection plan was not refunded. And please be informed also that we do not offer return labels. You can print a return label from the carrier of your choice or bring it to the post office.”

    When we bought the item there was no return policy on their website, at least we were not able to find it, and now all of a sudden one is magically there. My husband looked several times! The fact that they can't guarantee to pay me back the extended warranty proves their dishonesty. I want people to know you WILL be out $90, they won't cover if you buy the extended warranty, and you have to pay a minimum of $60 with the post office for shipping because of size and weight.

    All of a sudden a return policy exists. So make sure you realize what it costs to send the oven back. You're out either way. Go to a store, that way you can take it back. Better yet, don’t buy it. The unit did not do what they said, for me at least. I will be logging a complaint at the BBB as well. I have seen many complaints against TriStar.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Pretty good alternative to frying

    • California,
    • Dec 3, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I found that most of my fried foods came out crispy using the 400F setting. I spray my potatoes a light spray with PAM for flavor, and the fries definitely came out great. I haven't tried a pizza in it yet, but I'm confident it would likely do pizza just as well. We'll see.

    The only things I could find wrong with it would be the amount of heat it puts out as you're cooking. This puppy gets hot enough that you can't touch the sides or back and the counter gets hot enough that you can't touch it for long. This in itself doesn't cause any hazards as long as you keep your hands away from the hot areas until cooking has completed. The door handle was cool and safe to touch throughout cooking.

    I wouldn't expect this to replace your deep fat fryer if you're set on fried foods, but it's a respectable alternative. The price was fair and the product seems to be decent quality for the price. Easy to use. I can't say how the rotisserie is because I haven't had an opportunity to try it yet.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 46 out 56 people found this review helpful

    Not all it's cracked up to be

    They did not send me the item I paid $49.99 extra for, which was the pan to cook breads and cakes. It was supposed to be copper and have a handle on it. Instead, they told me that I paid $49.99 for the basket and the handle and not the bucket. They charged me $199.92, and I did not get what I ordered, nor am I happy with the product since it takes up too much space and it's very cumbersome. They also refuse to pay my shipping charge for returning the package, which cost me $72.51.

    So all potential customers beware, be very aware that you may get ripped off.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-10 of 10

Write a Review for Power Air Fryer Oven!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review