About Power Cooker

The Power Cooker is a 6-quart digital pressure cooker that claims to cook food up to 70% faster than conventional cooking.

Only available at Walmart stores or by ordering online through the Walmart website, the Power Cooker is a TriStar Product Inc. item, sold under the As Seen on TV brand. TriStar Product Inc. is based in New Jersey.

The Power Cooker’s website claims that it uses “flavor infusion technology” that retains all the natural moisture, flavor, nutrients and vitamins of every ingredient. With the Power Cooker, the website claims, you can do the work of 8 kitchen appliances and cook healthy meals much quicker than cooking in a conventional oven.

Power Pressure Cooker Features

The Power Cooker has built-in safety features, it is fully automated and the makers claim it retains moisture, nutrients and vitamins. It has an automatic keep warm function, a dishwasher-safe cooking pot and supposedly saves on both energy and time by cooking quickly. The makers claim that you can make dinners from “frozen to done in 20 minutes” and that it gives you “slow-cooked flavor in minutes.”

The Power Cooker has received mostly favorable reviews on the Walmart website, with the few negative reviews focusing on either a lack of manual coming with the product, or complaints about the recipe book that it comes with. It is worth noting that most reviewers simply called the product a pressure cooker and did not note anything special about it in terms of saving time or any health benefits. The Walmart website itself just lists the product as a pressure cooker.

Related: Power Pressure Cooker XL Review

Power Cooker Pricing, Shipping & Return Policies

The Power Cooker retails for $79.80 through the Walmart website and in stores. For that price, you get the cooker, a steamer tray, a measuring cup and a ladle. It also comes with a bonus recipe book.

The makers of Power Cooker offer a 60-day limited warranty that states they will, at their option, repair or replace any defective Power Cooker that is returned. All parts and components are warranted for 60 days from the date the product is received. The warranty has several clauses that can be viewed on the website.

It also comes with a 60-day money back guarantee. However, you have to ship the product directly to Tristar Products Inc. at 500 Returns Road, Wallingford, CT 06495. It does not appear that you can just take it back to the Walmart store where you purchased it, although that is not made clear.

Pros

  • Appears to save time for cooking, but no more time than a regular pressure cooker
  • Most reviewers seemed to like it

Cons

  • Some people have complained about not receiving a manual with their product.
  • The claims that it retains nutrients and vitamins of the food it cooks are unsubstantiated
  • Despite what the website makes it out to be, it appears to be just a regular pressure cooker

See also: Your All-In-One Buying Guide to Pressure Cookers


Update:

  • It appears that one of our readers have found the missing recipe booklet. Click here to download the PDF.
  • The most recent Power Pressure Cooker Manual could be found here.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

221 Consumer Reviews for Power Cooker

Average Consumer Rating: 2.1
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 32 4 star: 20 3 star: 11 2 star: 23 1 star:  135
Bottom Line: 26% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 221
Sort reviews by:

  • Not worth the money

    • California,
    • Nov 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Following directions on the recipes exactly, food does not come out cooked enough. Such a letdown! I would definitely not recommend this product and I will no longer waste money or time as there has to be a better product in the market that actually does what it claims.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • I have pitchers that have a burnt up bottom, must've been a wiring issue.

    • New York, NY,
    • Aug 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This was a gift, we had it for one year, not even one year. I used it and worked great, then one day it was on the warm feature for four hours. As I finished my work day and it caught fire, shorted out my electrical in my house. I wonder if that what they mean by safety features? I'd like a replacement but I can't find where I can send my fired up product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Junk

    • Destin, FL,
    • Jul 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had it for six months and this is the second time I used it. The first time it was great but now I am getting an E3 error message (overheating). I tried all the suggestions on the web, the same result.

    A 60-day warranty and $29.95 to send it back. Throwing it out for the junk it is and buying a name brand. DON'T buy this junk. I wish I could give it a zero!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Really like it

    • Mount Pleasant, SC,
    • Jun 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I mostly cook roasts and stews using the pressure cook mode. My meat always comes out perfect. I even cooked three racks of ribs in it, and the meat fell off the bone. I have never tried to slow cook in it yet. I like that is easy to clean. I would have given it a five if it had a better, bigger cookbook and better instructions.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • You're screwed if it doesn't come with all its parts.

    I got this for a Christmas gift, or one by the same people at least. I was super excited. I pulled it out for St. Patrick's Day because it was my first chance to use it (mmmm, corned beef). I open it up and find out it's missing the gasket for the float valve. No worries. These days, every company will send you a replacement part if it's missing from the box. It's easy. Not TriStar though. They want me to send the entire thing in, plus pay $25 to have it replaced. For a gasket! That they didn't package in the first place! Completely rude, completely unacceptable. Maybe the thing cooks like a god if it's complete, but I'll never know now because the customer service is the worst I've experienced.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Love it.

    I've seen the YouTube stuff where someone is really troubled, but I don't get it. You put the food in along with the recommended amount of water, you set the pressure valve (easy-peasy), you put on the lid, it locks, you select your cooking time, and after a few minutes or so, the thing seals itself up and starts pressure cooking. The timer counts down, goes off at the appropriate time, you let out the pressure and voila! Dinner in less than 30 (according to what you're cooking).

    I'm freaking lovin' it. I've made stews, roasts, meat and veggies, potatoes, the best mac n cheese in the world, rice, beans (from dry to done in 25 minutes), and goulash.

    The only thing I'd like is a better instruction manual and some more recipes (it comes with a short cookbook). But all of that's online so for $89 at Sam's Club, I'm not going to complain.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy this!

    Do not waste your money. It only worked right the first time I used it. The next two times I had to reset it twice before it would reach the desired pressure. The forth time it would not work at all. I just came back in from tossing the whole thing in the trash. A piece of crap!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 19, 2018

      Lisa

      I'm throwing mine out now. It won't work, it keeps saying "lid," and it keeps beeping. I just bought it but I lost the receipt. So unhappy.

    • Jun 25, 2018

      Dena F.

      All you have to do is press the button, and it resets the beeping loud signal. Easy peasy.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Cookbook

    I purchased the 6-quart Power Cooker. I saw them in an infomercial and thought, "hey, this is neat." But when I received my small "joke" of a cookbook, there is nothing, I mean nothing I would make. I will say I did try the roast. It was tough and I cooked it for 90+ minutes. It was a waste of my time and it was so tough. I think their company needs to rethink this when sending a cookbook with each machine. I like the Power Cooker and would recommend it to others. I have played with adjusting recipes from Pinterest. I love it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Love it

    • Sanford, FL,
    • Feb 13, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    The best thing in cooking I have ever had. I am so glad I got one and will always keep one around. My family loves the food that I cook in it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Not happy

    • Melbourne, AR,
    • Jan 31, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased the small Power Cooker at Walmart so I didn't think much about it if it quit working. I loved it so much that I bought the Power XL. Now the small one just quit, I have had it too long for warranty coverage. Now I worry the other one will quit.

    I really love the machines, however, if they don't last long it's a bad buy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Bad customer service

    • Forsyth. MO,
    • Jan 29, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    My time spent buying this cooker was disappointing. I received bad customer service from the get-go, and I am very unhappy with them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 221

Write a Review for Power Cooker!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review