Power Pressure Cooker XL Test

For more product tests and shopping tips: Click here to subscribe to HighYa’s YouTube channel.

During our testing, we cooked four different dishes listed in the included recipe book:

Pot Roast Recipe

We were instructed to sauté vegetables directly in the cooker, but the recipe book provided no direction on exactly how to do this. We ended up choosing the chicken or meat program, waiting for the inner pot to heat up, and sautéed our veggies reasonably well.

After the cooking was complete, we found that the flavor was good, but definitely not perfect. The vegetables were a little overcooked and the meat a bit undercooked (it didn’t fall apart like most pot roasts should).

5 lb Frozen Chicken

Our frozen chicken ended up looking more boiled than roasted, and not very appetizing in appearance. After cutting into the chicken, we found the meat closer to the bone was completely raw, so we put it in for another 20 minutes.

It turned out this was probably too long, as the chicken came out dry and didn’t taste all that great. Despite this, it still wasn’t roasted.

Creme Brulee Recipe

The results were fairly impressive and tasted very good. However, although crème brulee might cook a little faster in the Power Pressure Cooker XL, you’re limited to cooking only 3-4 servings at a time, depending on the size of your ramekins, compared to an oven where space isn’t a concern.

Cooking Rice in the Power Pressure Cooker XL

Now that we figured out how to sauté in the XL, cooking the onions before adding the rice was a snap. After 6 minutes (in addition to the time to reach pressure, of course), the rice had good flavor with no sticking or burning—unlike what many HighYa readers have reported—but was a little underdone.

Our Takeaways

Overall, based on our testing, we came away with the following:

  • It takes 17–20 minutes for the Power Pressure Cooker XL to come to pressure before the cooking begins, so be sure to factor this into your overall preparation time.

  • We found that it can be confusing (even a bit counterintuitive) as to which settings you should use for which dishes. For example, sautéing something required the chicken or meat setting, while cooking the frozen chicken used the vegetable and the stew setting. So, if you’re cooking a recipe not found in the included book, you’ll probably have to experiment a lot to see which functions work best for different foods.

  • We didn’t encounter any burning or sticking during our testing, although the inner pot does become stained fairly easily.

  • Speaking of which, the inner pot and lid really hold on to some of the more flavorful smells, even after repeated washing, scrubbing, and thoroughly airing them out. We found that soaking them in warm water for a couple of hours seemed to work best.

In the end, based on our experience, we think the Power Pressure Cooker XL might help you save some time on certain dishes—as long as you’re already fairly comfortable using pressure cookers. If not, the pressure cooker seems to have quite a bit of a learning curve, and it’ll probably take a lot of experimentation before you feel fully comfortable.

Also, we didn’t find the Power Pressure Cooker XL to be universal or one-touch, and when cooking, it wasn’t always “up to 70% faster.”

One additional thing we experienced during testing: We found that XL’s pressure seal/vent valve was really loose and moved with even just the slightest touch of a finger. As a result, it doesn’t always stay in the position you set it in, which can quickly become frustrating.

Not only this but since the valve quickly releases hot steam, it could potentially be dangerous if your skin (especially your face) is over the vent when you accidentally touch it—or even just lightly bump the pressure cooker itself.

For these reasons, perhaps more than anything else, we found this to be Power Pressure Cooker XL’s biggest design flaw. Perhaps in future updates, the company will implement a design that locks this vent more firmly into place.


Customer Reviews

Start your review of Power Pressure Cooker XL:
  • 692 Customer Reviews
  • 38% Recommend This Company
2.4 out of 5
5 star: 23% 4 star: 9% 3 star: 6% 2 star: 9% 1 star: 51%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Delivery time

    • By Drusilla H Eubanksu,
    • Humble TX,
    • Apr 27, 2014
    Overall Experience:

    Can't track the order or talk to any body. Is this a RIP OFF?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not happy with the pro

    • By Cheryl ,
    • Illinois,
    • May 1, 2014
    Overall Experience:

    So after a long wait I get my box. No books included so how can I use it without the books. I call them they said they will send them. Then I look at the pro which I paid more for and there are no preset buttons like they said there were. Really mad now, might return and get the cheaper one. Very unhappy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Make sure your really ordering what you're looking for

    • By Jill,
    • Perryville, MD,
    • Aug 12, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I thought I was ordering the XL with 6 year warranty. I accidently ordered a juicer too. I sent the cooker and juicer back and received a refund for them, but not for the six year warranty. I called 973-287-5187 spoken to two people explaining that I also wanted the refund for the warranty since I didn't have either product. Supervisor Tracey was able to get this refund for me.

    I would caution anyone ordering to make sure you know what you're ordering. I'm worried about a little bait and switch going on here. I wanted the XL for $99.99 instead received the basic cooker for $129.99. I didn't want the juicer, but couldn't figure out how to get out of phone call - it just kept going on and on and on. I think I also signed up for some other programs that I'm going to have fun canceling too. I bought a power pressure cooker from MACY's. It works great, I just got sucked into the TV add thinking it was better. Next I need to be fully awake before picking up the phone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • what the hell

    • By james,
    • baltimore,
    • May 11, 2014
    Overall Experience:

    first and foremost, I paid for my order in one lump sum. It took almost six weeks for them to ship it. Secondly, after following the instructions on a basic steaming of vegetables, they came out ruined. The instructions are so hard to articulate, and customer service is no help at all. I have learned my lesson. No more ordering crap from in commercials.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not Happy / Concerned

    • By Gwaltney,
    • Virginia,
    • Jun 30, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    We ordered a pressure cooker 4/21/14. Today is 5/14/14 and the status of our order still says processing. We have never ordered anything off of TV before but we were sitting there this particular Sunday morning watching the information about it and we were suckered by the yummy foods they were cooking in it. We were really excited but I should have known even then, when I called to order it. They went from trying to sell just that one product to many upgrades and then even went on trying to sell trips and other things. There was no way to get out of the call unless you sat and listened to everything else they were trying to up sell you. And if you pushed the wrong button then you've ordered more than what you called for. They also would switch the no button to push several times so that it would confuse the caller. I am not happy right now and really wish I had of read the reviews first. I am ready to cancel my order before we even get the item. Not happy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Never received

    • By G. Peterson,
    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Jun 30, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Ordered 4/22/14. Have tried to check status, but only shows "in process" and 2-3 weeks delivery. Cannot reach person over the phone. Finally, contacted credit card company. Thankfully, there has been no charge. Would like to cancel order since I will be out of town for an extended period coming up soon. Well, never order from these people again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Save your money, a rip off.

    • By Bruce Johnson,
    • Jacksonville, FL,
    • Jun 30, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    A rip off, I found similar products for less and being sold by more reliable distributors. First it took over 20 minutes to place my order. You cannot jump ahead to the payment. After turning down all their additional offers, since I was making one payment, I was entitled to all the previous offers without any additional charges. I placed my order on 4/26/2014 a week later it showed up on my credit card statement. As of today, the product still has not been delivered and the charge is no longer listed on my credit card statement.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • delivery of product slow

    • By Anonymous,
    • colorado springs, co,
    • Jun 1, 2014
    Overall Experience:

    ordered product 4/21. here it is 6/2 still not delivered even though was back ordered 4/21 3 to 4 weeks guaranteed delivery. if not received by 6/7 will cancel order.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Buyer Beware

    • By Leelee,
    • Virginia,
    • Jul 1, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Do not every buy from a recording buy but from a real person on the phone. Walmart sells this product the smaller one for $70. I would advise getting two because it is small and you can use one for the main dish and the other for starches and vegetables. The small ones has all the features as well. You can brown your own meat which I prefer to do myself. Everyone likes there meat different. You can bring it back to the store right away and it will not take forever to get it. I am very sorry to all the customers who are still waiting or getting the run around. I saw the commercial and called and just did not feel right not talking to a human being. Then a woman with a accent called me back. I ask about one hour of questions. Just did not feel right.

    Before you purchase anything go on you tube, amazon or type in your computer the reviews for the product and then make your decision. Please never order from a recording that cannot answer your questions. It will become confusing and by the way the juicer is refurbished and you have to pay to send the items back if it is past the 60 days. The warranty does not cover your shipping and handling. 3-4 weeks is too long and to have to wait longer then that and deal with attitude is not worth it. Please do your research and also make sure you use a credit card that will fight to get your money back is something goes wrong. I like discover they will help you. I hope this helps but always remember if they are selling it someone has a review whether good or bad somewhere.

    I have learned that the hard way. These company will take your money very easily and give you a very difficult time giving back your money if something goes wrong. I hope this has been helpful and again to all of you who are having a difficult time with this product, I am very sorry and i know the frustrations of being in that position.

    Money does not grow on trees for most of us. If you cannot talk to a living person or they tell you that after the order they will give you their customer service number that is a huge red flag. You should get the customer service number before you spend a dime. I hope this helps but check reviews for everything you want to buy so you truly know what to expect. Blessings to all of you. I hope you resolve your issues with this product. Do not be afraid to reach out to your credit card company they should be there to help you.

    Discover will fight for you and there are others. I am just glad i declined before the order was complete. I would be 271 dollars in debt for something I could get from Walmart. Once again check reviews on YouTube, amazon and just type the name of what you are buying and put customer reviews. You will find your answer so on your computer. Also there is a reason why you see these info commercials at night. You should be sleeping and probably are tired or not really focused or going to work. That is why they do it that way.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Can't get an honest answer.

    • By Tina,
    • Houston, TX,
    • Jul 1, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I have not been able to receive my product – going on six weeks now and was told by Evelyn last week it would ship yesterday. Well I called today and Lisa number six said it is still on back order and that there was no one else I could speak to because she was the boss of the entire call center? Lies, lies, lies.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • May not get it.

    • By Don M,
    • Central California,
    • Jul 1, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered the pressure cooker on May 8th, and was told it would be delivered in 2 to 3 weeks. When 3 weeks passed, I called to check on my order. I was told that the item had to be back ordered, but would ship on June 2nd, and would be express shipped at no additional charge to me. On June 4th, I called to check the status again, and was told that the item would be shipped "in a few days" and would take 7 to 10 days to arrive. I hope it ends up worth the wait. If you order one, be prepared for a couple of months before you get it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-11 of 692

Write a Review for Power Pressure Cooker XL!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Power Pressure Cooker XL