Power Pressure Cooker XL Test

For more product tests and shopping tips: Click here to subscribe to HighYa’s YouTube channel.

During our testing, we cooked four different dishes listed in the included recipe book:

Pot Roast Recipe

We were instructed to sauté vegetables directly in the cooker, but the recipe book provided no direction on exactly how to do this. We ended up choosing the chicken or meat program, waiting for the inner pot to heat up, and sautéed our veggies reasonably well.

After the cooking was complete, we found that the flavor was good, but definitely not perfect. The vegetables were a little overcooked and the meat a bit undercooked (it didn’t fall apart like most pot roasts should).

5 lb Frozen Chicken

Our frozen chicken ended up looking more boiled than roasted, and not very appetizing in appearance. After cutting into the chicken, we found the meat closer to the bone was completely raw, so we put it in for another 20 minutes.

It turned out this was probably too long, as the chicken came out dry and didn’t taste all that great. Despite this, it still wasn’t roasted.

Creme Brulee Recipe

The results were fairly impressive and tasted very good. However, although crème brulee might cook a little faster in the Power Pressure Cooker XL, you’re limited to cooking only 3-4 servings at a time, depending on the size of your ramekins, compared to an oven where space isn’t a concern.

Cooking Rice in the Power Pressure Cooker XL

Now that we figured out how to sauté in the XL, cooking the onions before adding the rice was a snap. After 6 minutes (in addition to the time to reach pressure, of course), the rice had good flavor with no sticking or burning—unlike what many HighYa readers have reported—but was a little underdone.

Our Takeaways

Overall, based on our testing, we came away with the following:

  • It takes 17–20 minutes for the Power Pressure Cooker XL to come to pressure before the cooking begins, so be sure to factor this into your overall preparation time.

  • We found that it can be confusing (even a bit counterintuitive) as to which settings you should use for which dishes. For example, sautéing something required the chicken or meat setting, while cooking the frozen chicken used the vegetable and the stew setting. So, if you’re cooking a recipe not found in the included book, you’ll probably have to experiment a lot to see which functions work best for different foods.

  • We didn’t encounter any burning or sticking during our testing, although the inner pot does become stained fairly easily.

  • Speaking of which, the inner pot and lid really hold on to some of the more flavorful smells, even after repeated washing, scrubbing, and thoroughly airing them out. We found that soaking them in warm water for a couple of hours seemed to work best.

In the end, based on our experience, we think the Power Pressure Cooker XL might help you save some time on certain dishes—as long as you’re already fairly comfortable using pressure cookers. If not, the pressure cooker seems to have quite a bit of a learning curve, and it’ll probably take a lot of experimentation before you feel fully comfortable.

Also, we didn’t find the Power Pressure Cooker XL to be universal or one-touch, and when cooking, it wasn’t always “up to 70% faster.”

One additional thing we experienced during testing: We found that XL’s pressure seal/vent valve was really loose and moved with even just the slightest touch of a finger. As a result, it doesn’t always stay in the position you set it in, which can quickly become frustrating.

Not only this but since the valve quickly releases hot steam, it could potentially be dangerous if your skin (especially your face) is over the vent when you accidentally touch it—or even just lightly bump the pressure cooker itself.

For these reasons, perhaps more than anything else, we found this to be Power Pressure Cooker XL’s biggest design flaw. Perhaps in future updates, the company will implement a design that locks this vent more firmly into place.


Customer Reviews

Start your review of Power Pressure Cooker XL:
  • 692 Customer Reviews
  • 38% Recommend This Company
2.4 out of 5
5 star: 23% 4 star: 9% 3 star: 6% 2 star: 9% 1 star: 51%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • SCAM! Disputing charge and reporting them to the BBB

    • By Zup,
    • Riverside CA,
    • Aug 13, 2014
    Overall Experience:

    First they charged my card $30.0 too much. I called and they refused to issue a credit until it arrived. Delayed on back order. Finally here and they issued a credit for the correct amount after I insisted.

    It takes over 20 minutes to pressurize - FALSE ADVERTISING.

    Finally used it and it is defective, we had to toss out a $20.00 roast. I called for a refund an a supervisor (Camile ID G40) refused to issue a refund. I watched the infomercial and it is all a scam.

    DO NOT PURCHASE THIS PRODUCT - IT IS A SCAM!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do not buy. Complete scam

    • By Dorian Johnson ,
    • Phoenix, AZ,
    • Jul 4, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    Ordered one unit for three payments of 33, got charged 3 times of 147, for over $450. Tried to cancel the order and no one speaks good English and can't do anything about it. Said I need to call my bank. The bank says I need to get the company to cancel. 

    Do not order one of these. Go to a reputable retail store.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Horrible and I will never order from them again.

    • By William Davis,
    • Woodbridge, VA,
    • Jul 2, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    This company is a scam. I ordered and paid in full on April 29th. It is now June 19th. I have called three times to check the order and each time I was informed that the order was back ordered and my order was being expedited. Today I spoke with someone named George who apologized for the delay. I told him to cancel my order and refund my money immediately. He stated that the account was not charged and the money was placed in the account because they couldn't fulfill the order. When I told him the money was not in the account he hung up on me. This is company is a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Rip off,scam

    • By Vila A Pruner,
    • Arizona,
    • Jul 2, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    These people don't tell you they have no stock on hand until you call to ask where your order is. When I called after eight weeks to cancel the order they conned me into not doing so by giving me a $45 discount. Took nearly four months to get, then it was broken. They can't fix it so offered to replace but guess what? Once again on back order. Say it's against their policy to refund if they've given a discount. I have returned and filed fraud charges with my credit union to get my money back. We all need to contact the Connecticut State's Attorney General to get them stopped. Exact same item available at Walmart online for $75. Different brand - exact same item. Free shipping if sent to the store. Oh, while I was complaining they hung up on me. Big mistake.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Delivery time

    • By Drusilla H Eubanksu,
    • Humble TX,
    • Apr 27, 2014
    Overall Experience:

    Can't track the order or talk to any body. Is this a RIP OFF?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not happy with the pro

    • By Cheryl ,
    • Illinois,
    • May 1, 2014
    Overall Experience:

    So after a long wait I get my box. No books included so how can I use it without the books. I call them they said they will send them. Then I look at the pro which I paid more for and there are no preset buttons like they said there were. Really mad now, might return and get the cheaper one. Very unhappy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Piece of junk

    • By Barb,
    • Des Plaines, IL,
    • Aug 13, 2014
    Overall Experience:

    Took forever to arrive, well over a month. I have to fight with the lid to get it on and off. The meat was tough the first time I cooked it, I don't think it was even under pressure, I had to cook it another 30 minutes. For the money you would think it would have a smooth no stick surface, but no, I had to scrub burnt stuff off the first time I used it. The cookbook they claim is a $20 value is a joke. It is a paperback with about 20 pages. If I didn't get it as a gift I would send it back. Do Not buy this junk!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Sorry i ever bought it. Bad experience

    • By Lucinda,
    • PA,
    • Aug 15, 2014
    Overall Experience:

    Waited 4 weeks to find out it was back ordered. No one called me I had to call them. When I complained they had it shipped in three days. Shipped me the wrong one, not what I ordered. Used it one time for canning and could not adjust the time for the canning process. Called and spoke to 6 employees, was hung up on at least 3 times, after all was said and done I was on the phone over two hours. Makes me so mad, I was looking forward to canning my vegetables. I paid for shipping to have it arrive and now I have to pay to ship it back, what a racket. Not worth the money or the hassle.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not delivered when promised; inner pot burned on second recipe

    • By Lee Downs,
    • Airville, PA,
    • Aug 6, 2014
    Overall Experience:

    I have spoken to Customer Service on several occasions concerning the long wait for the machine to arrive; then upon arrival, the second time I used the machine, the pasta burned the bottom of the pot. They tried to get me to pay to ship it back and then pay for the shipping on the new replacement. I refused and they did send me a return label which was prepaid. I am still waiting for the new inner pot to be sent to me and they now say they have not gotten it back. They sent me a parcel post return label without a tracking number.

    Again, I asked to speak to a supervisor and they hung up on me. This company is just after your money and do not produce the product they advertise; they overcharge on shipping; I had to pay $29.99 for shipping.

    DO NOT BUY THIS UNIT!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Lousy Customer Service and Shipping

    • By Colin,
    • North Carolina,
    • Jun 20, 2014
    Overall Experience:

    This company is terrible. I ordered one of these on April 29, 2014 and here it is June 20, 2014 and the status on their tracking says it is still being processed and has not shipped. I have called at least twice and get the same "it's on back order and will be in this week" that everyone is getting.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Not Happy So Far.

    • By Ann Marie,
    • Northbridge, MA,
    • Jun 18, 2015
    Overall Experience:

    I ordered the pressure cooker on July 13, 2014 and it said I would have the pressure cooker in 2-3 weeks. Here it is Aug 8th and it hasn't arrived yet. I did call the company and spoke to someone that was difficult to understand. I was told it would ship soon. Duh...soon? I should have canceled my order then. Called back the next day ready to cancel my order and was told my order shipped? So now when I check it on line, it says I should have it by Aug 14th. I am not feeling too good about this especially after reading all the other reviews. In this day and age, it should not take five weeks to get a product, especially after shipping is $29.99!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-11 of 692

Write a Review for Power Pressure Cooker XL!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Power Pressure Cooker XL