About Power Smokeless Grill

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Published on: Jul 2, 2018

Using AirFlow Technology with a built-in smoke extracting fan, the Power Smokeless Grill promises to help you cook just about anything—eggs, pancakes, bacon, steaks, seafood, chicken, burgers, vegetables, Paninis; you name it—while virtually eliminating all hot, smoky air.

Additional features include a heavy-duty die-cast aluminum construction, an extra-large (13.5" X 8") cooking surface covered in Cerami-Tech non-stick coating, and a removable heating element that delivers 1,200 watts of cooking power for temperatures up to 450°F, with no hot spots.

Its grill and griddle plates are interchangeable, the drip tray/collection pan catches excess fat while you're cooking, and you can keep an eye on your food using the stainless tempered glass cook-n-look lid. The power cord is also detachable for easier storage.

Except for the cord, base, fan, and heating element, all of Power Smokeless Grill’s parts are detachable and dishwasher safe for easy cleanup.

Together, the manufacturer advertises that you can grill your favorite foods to perfection all year round, regardless of the weather. In fact, they explicitly claim that Power Smokeless Grill will deliver "the convenience of indoor grilling, with outdoor results."

Advertising claims aside, let’s help you figure out if it’s worth handing over your hard-earned money for this model, or if you should consider versions from third-party manufacturers—starting with its basic functionality.

How Does the Power Smokeless Grill Work?

We didn’t test it ourselves, but according to the website, you’ll start by removing Power Smokeless Grill’s drip tray, heating element, and grill plate. Then, add about two cups of water to the water tray/collection pan and reassemble.

After making sure the unit is resting on a flat surface (otherwise, it can cause the grease to leak out) and inserting the detachable power cord, you’ll touch the ‘Fan’ button to turn it on, and then the ‘Power’ button to activate the heating element.

Using the LED smart temperature control, you’ll press the up or down arrows to toggle the heat settings, and you’re ready to start adding your favorite foods and grilling indoors.

As Power Smokeless Grill grills your food, Turbo Speed Smoke Extractor Technology is said to create a “vacuum-like environment, which pulls smoke down through the vent into the unit, so the smoke does not escape into the air.” Instead, it’s channeled into the water contained in the collection tray.

At the same time, we’re told food particles like grease and other airborne molecules are trapped, while the water helps cool the smoke and eliminates almost all of it from the system. This way, they advertise it won’t smoke up your kitchen, or the air in the rest of your home.

When you’re done, press the ‘Fan’ and ‘Power’ buttons to turn each off.

Although the grill and griddle plates, lid, drip pan, and water tray are dishwasher safe (you can also hand wash), the manufacturer emphasizes that you’ll want to let Power Smokeless Grill cool down before cleaning.

Smokeless Power Grill PartsHere, we can see each of Power Smokeless Grill’s parts, which are removable for quick and easy cleaning. Credit: Tristar Products, Inc.

If cleaned in the dishwasher, they point out you’ll want to avoid using lemon-scented detergent, while hand-washers should never use scouring pans, abrasive pads, or harsh cleaners. Instead, they recommend using a nylon bristle brush or plastic scrubbing pad.

The base unit should be washed using a damp cloth, warm water, and mild cleaning liquid. The electric fan is removable if you require a more thorough cleaning.

Outside of these, the manufacturer points out that you should always avoid using metallic utensils, as well as cutting food on the grill plate using sharp metal utensils like knives and forks.

Always use potholders or kitchen mitts when handling the unit, and keep your fingers, face, and unprotected skin away from its hot surfaces while cooking.

How Much Does the Power Smokeless Grill Cost & Where Can You Buy?

If purchased directly from Tristar, Power Smokeless Grill is priced at three payments of $39.95, plus free S&H, for a total of $119.85. In addition to the grill and lid, you’ll also receive two recipe books.

During checkout, you can add a 9.5” Copper Chef Pan, 2-piece Copper Chef knife set, Grill & Bake Mats, or 4-piece utensil set for a total of three payments of $59.95.

Tristar Products offers a 60-day money back guarantee on all Power Smokeless Grill purchases, less S&H. To request one, customer support can be reached at 973-287-5108.

Just keep in mind that at more than 15 pounds, it might cost more than a few dollars to ship the grill back to the manufacturer.

Note: During our research, we also found Power Smokeless Grill available on Amazon for $124.99, which was eligible for free shipping for Prime members. Several customers also responded that this model doesn’t feature the griddle plate or cookbooks.

What Can We Learn From Power Smokeless Grill Customer Reviews?

On Amazon, more than 20 customers had given Power Smokeless Grill an average rating of 4.7 stars. There, common compliments related to versatility (it can cook a wide variety of foods), effectiveness (significantly reduced smoke, good tasting results, actual grill marks, etc.), and quality construction.

The single complaint related to difficulty obtaining a replacement for a damaged lid.

Power Smokeless Grill vs. Other Indoor Smokeless Electric Grills

Although we encountered plenty of third-party electric grill/griddle combos during our research on sites like Amazon and Google Shopping, there were meaningfully fewer smokeless models.

Of these, many shared the same core features advertised by Power Smokeless Grill, including countertop functionality, drip pans, non-stick grilling surfaces, adjustable temperatures, dishwasher safe grills/griddles, quickly disassembly for easy cleaning, and even heating and temperature distribution. Here were some of the more popular search results:

Model Price Cooking Surface Dimensions Standout Features
Power Smokeless Grill $120 13.5" X 8" 1,200 watts, interchangeable grill/griddle plates, heats up to 450°F
Gotham Steel Smokeless Electric Grill $60 (Original), $70 (Large) 12" x 10" (Original), 14" x 9" (Large) Only 4 temp settings (warm, low, medium, high), no griddle plate
Philips Smoke-less Indoor Grill $230 21.8” x 13.5” (total – no dimensions listed for grilling surface) 1,660 watts; patented design for faster, even heating
Chefman Electric Smokeless Indoor Grill $50 13.5” x 8.5” 1,120 watts, overheat auto shut-off protection, 3 heat zones on grilling surface (low, medium, high)
Chef’s Choice Indoor Smokeless Electric Grill $150 14 5/8" x 9 5/8" 1,500 watts, cast iron grill plates

As with most other products, choosing the best option is going to start out by deciding on a comfortable budget. After all, as we can see from the examples above, some models are priced almost five times higher than others.

Sharone Stela at TheIndoorGrill.com explains that the number of features you’ll have access to with any smokeless grill is often proportional to your budget. This typically includes the overall size (and therefore the cooking capacity), as well as higher-end features like automatic temperature control and wattage:

“Wattage is the main factor for cooking food, and an indoor grill’s price also depends on its wattage. Lower wattage is cost-effective, but this also means it takes longer to cook food. On the other hand, higher wattage models will cook food quickly, but are costly.

From my practical experience, I can tell you that 1,200 watts is perfect for indoor grilling.”

Another factor to consider is that some models feature incremental heating, which can provide a broader range of cooking temperatures, depending on your needs. On the other hand, models like Power Smokeless Grill only feature four different heat settings (warm, low, medium, and high).

From a non-stick perspective, many models will feature traditional PTFE-based coatings, while others, like Power Smokeless, use a ceramic alternative. In general, customers of other brands often report that ceramic coatings are initially better, but tend to lose their non-stickiness faster than PTFE.

Related: Is Non-Stick Cookware Harmful to Your Health?

Pulling all of these details together, where are you left when it comes to Power Smokeless Grill.

Should You Place an Order for Power Smokeless Grill?

At about $120, Power Smokeless Grill comes in at a middle-of-the-road price point compared to popular competitors, is manufactured by a company who’s been in business for a couple of decades, and features the same Cerami-Tech coating as the Cooper Chef cookware line, including the original Pan, Copper Crisper, and Brooklyn Brownie Copper Pan (to name just a few).

In addition, it comes with many essential features like a see-through tempered glass lid, adjustable temperature, removable parts (many of which are dishwasher safe), as well as 1,200 watts of cooking power.

Tristar also seem to stand behind the smokeless grill with a 60-day refund policy if you’re dissatisfied. Just remember that it’s about 15 pounds, which might be expensive to ship back, depending on your location.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

34 Consumer Reviews for Power Smokeless Grill

Average Consumer Rating: 2.0
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 5 4 star: 3 3 star: 0 2 star: 6 1 star:  20
Bottom Line: 26% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 34
Sort reviews by:

  • Great grill

    • New Jersey,
    • Mar 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I own a Traeger wood pellets grill, I bought your grill about 2 or 3 weeks ago. I have cooked steak, fish, and hot dogstoo, and I love a great hot dog, I have put your grill to the test. And it is the very thing you said it was. I love my power smokeless grill. It's great.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    No free air fryer

    • Baytown, TX,
    • Mar 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The television ad offered a free air fryer with purchase. I ordered online and received the grill in about ten days, but there was no air fryer in the shipment. I called customer service and was told the TV commercial and the website were two different things, so the air fryer was not included. I like the grill, but the offer of a free air fryer sounds like false advertising.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    NO STICK NO WAY

    • Queens, NY,
    • Mar 7, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This grill basically does as the manufacturer claims.

    Does it grill to perfection? YES.

    Is it smokeless? YES.

    Is it no-stick? NOT FOR LONG.

    The Power Smokeless Grill cooks great, is actually smokeless, however, after a number of uses the non-stick surface no longer performs as when new. Food, especially fish, will stick to the grill, even after using safe utensils, and even after using a light coat of olive oil. For the first several uses, the no stick surface performs exactly as in the infomercial but then gets increasingly worse. Once the grill cools down, cleaning is not difficult as the stuck-on food can easily be removed...but not while the grill is still hot. Any seasonings on food will stick to grill. And don't even try that demonstration with cheese! The same problem exists with their pressure cooker, cooks great, but the inner pot's non-stick surface wears off quickly.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Excellent product

    • Perth Amboy, NJ,
    • Feb 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought this a couple of weeks ago after returning a Gotham Grill that was smoking all over and after 2 uses I ordered this one and was a bit of a skeptic at first. I used it several times, the fan works great. I have grilled steak, chicken, and ribs and they all come out great and there is barely any smell in the house. I definitely recommend this product, already told a friend who bought one too.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Love it!

    • Colorado,
    • Feb 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have read multiple reviews about this product and am very surprised that they are mostly negative. We decided to try it out ourselves and I absolutely love it. Worked as advertised right out of the box with no problems. We use it at home and in our RV. The nonstick grill and griddle are wonderful, and it all cleans up very easily. The fan is quiet and removes all the smoke as advertised. I have cooked salmon, burgers, and steak so far. The meat is always flavorful, juicy, and cooked to perfection. I usually depend on reviews prior to making my purchases but am glad I decided to check this grill out myself. I suggest you check it out yourself.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Never received cook books

    • Stone Mountain, GA,
    • Feb 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the Power Smokeless Grill at the beginning of December 2018. I received the grill but not the cookbooks so I called customer service and they told me it will take two to three weeks to get them and still no cookbooks. I have called them three times about the books and they are still telling me today, 2/9/19, that I will receive them in two to three weeks. I know now that I'm really not getting these books because they have told this same lie three times. Be careful when you order because they will lie to you not to trust them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 19, 2019

      Cynthia H.

      This is a review of the grill, not the cookbook. You can use Pinterest. How does the grill perform?

    • Feb 27, 2019

      Jerry M.

      I have the same problem as Tijuana H. Been lied to at least 5 times about the books. Would not recommend.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Worthless piece of junk

    • New Mexico,
    • Feb 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought on Sat, used on Sunday. House filled with smoke. The fan never did come on, which evidently is a prominent problem. Called customer service and they were more interested in some other items to sell to me. Returned item tonight for a refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Horrible

    • Raleigh, NC,
    • Feb 9, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was unhappy with it because it burns your food if you put it to 320-350 degrees as recommended, which is needed to make chicken. But I get burned chicken regardless if turning often...horrible! You don’t get the grill look as it claims. It’s a burning look you will get if you follow instructions. Only because I didn’t want the hassle of sending it back I kept it and work on a lower degree good, but once get the hang of turning every 2 minutes the food is ill taste great. Not an easy clean up unless you clean while hot.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful

    It's a lie!

    • Augusta, GA,
    • Feb 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was convinced to order the 1500 smokeless grill because I was told it heats up faster and cook time would be less than the standard one. First, my grill didn't come with the stand-up lid. I had to send my lid in to get a new lid that would stand up. Second, the grill would not heat up past 300 degrees. It did not cook the food and it sure didn't taste like grilled food. I tried cooking a steak and I was only able to cook it at 250 degrees it didn't cook the steak it didn't give it the grill feature, and it didn't stay warm at all. It was lukewarm the entire time and when I took it off the grill it went ice cold. The thing that really annoyed me is I set the grill to 400 degrees and put hotdogs on there I had them on the smokeless grill for 45 minutes and they were still as cold as if I took them out the fridge. The only difference is they had plumped up but didn't cook.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Bought 3

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Jan 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Well, I never got to use my grill, bought one shortly after Christmas at Target. I tried it the first time today and it wouldn't turn on. I returned and purchased another two and neither would even power on.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 27 out 30 people found this review helpful

    Bad product

    • Oklahoma,
    • Jan 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    After I unboxed the grill, I plugged it in to see how it works. The fan is so loud, it sounds like a jet taking off. So I called customer service. I requested a paid shipping label to be mailed to me. Day seven, no label. I called again and was told it may take ten days. Day ten, no label. Now I have decided I don't want the thing. Trying to get a hold of customer service again. Recording saying they are not open. I don't have time for this. I want a refund now.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 34

Write a Review for Power Smokeless Grill!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review