About Power Smokeless Grill

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Published on: Jul 2, 2018

Using AirFlow Technology with a built-in smoke extracting fan, the Power Smokeless Grill promises to help you cook just about anything—eggs, pancakes, bacon, steaks, seafood, chicken, burgers, vegetables, Paninis; you name it—while virtually eliminating all hot, smoky air.

Additional features include a heavy-duty die-cast aluminum construction, an extra-large (13.5" X 8") cooking surface covered in Cerami-Tech non-stick coating, and a removable heating element that delivers 1,200 watts of cooking power for temperatures up to 450°F, with no hot spots.

Its grill and griddle plates are interchangeable, the drip tray/collection pan catches excess fat while you're cooking, and you can keep an eye on your food using the stainless tempered glass cook-n-look lid. The power cord is also detachable for easier storage.

Except for the cord, base, fan, and heating element, all of Power Smokeless Grill’s parts are detachable and dishwasher safe for easy cleanup.

Together, the manufacturer advertises that you can grill your favorite foods to perfection all year round, regardless of the weather. In fact, they explicitly claim that Power Smokeless Grill will deliver "the convenience of indoor grilling, with outdoor results."

Advertising claims aside, let’s help you figure out if it’s worth handing over your hard-earned money for this model, or if you should consider versions from third-party manufacturers—starting with its basic functionality.

How Does the Power Smokeless Grill Work?

We didn’t test it ourselves, but according to the website, you’ll start by removing Power Smokeless Grill’s drip tray, heating element, and grill plate. Then, add about two cups of water to the water tray/collection pan and reassemble.

After making sure the unit is resting on a flat surface (otherwise, it can cause the grease to leak out) and inserting the detachable power cord, you’ll touch the ‘Fan’ button to turn it on, and then the ‘Power’ button to activate the heating element.

Using the LED smart temperature control, you’ll press the up or down arrows to toggle the heat settings, and you’re ready to start adding your favorite foods and grilling indoors.

As Power Smokeless Grill grills your food, Turbo Speed Smoke Extractor Technology is said to create a “vacuum-like environment, which pulls smoke down through the vent into the unit, so the smoke does not escape into the air.” Instead, it’s channeled into the water contained in the collection tray.

At the same time, we’re told food particles like grease and other airborne molecules are trapped, while the water helps cool the smoke and eliminates almost all of it from the system. This way, they advertise it won’t smoke up your kitchen, or the air in the rest of your home.

When you’re done, press the ‘Fan’ and ‘Power’ buttons to turn each off.

Although the grill and griddle plates, lid, drip pan, and water tray are dishwasher safe (you can also hand wash), the manufacturer emphasizes that you’ll want to let Power Smokeless Grill cool down before cleaning.

Smokeless Power Grill PartsHere, we can see each of Power Smokeless Grill’s parts, which are removable for quick and easy cleaning. Credit: Tristar Products, Inc.

If cleaned in the dishwasher, they point out you’ll want to avoid using lemon-scented detergent, while hand-washers should never use scouring pans, abrasive pads, or harsh cleaners. Instead, they recommend using a nylon bristle brush or plastic scrubbing pad.

The base unit should be washed using a damp cloth, warm water, and mild cleaning liquid. The electric fan is removable if you require a more thorough cleaning.

Outside of these, the manufacturer points out that you should always avoid using metallic utensils, as well as cutting food on the grill plate using sharp metal utensils like knives and forks.

Always use potholders or kitchen mitts when handling the unit, and keep your fingers, face, and unprotected skin away from its hot surfaces while cooking.

How Much Does the Power Smokeless Grill Cost & Where Can You Buy?

If purchased directly from Tristar, Power Smokeless Grill is priced at three payments of $39.95, plus free S&H, for a total of $119.85. In addition to the grill and lid, you’ll also receive two recipe books.

During checkout, you can add a 9.5” Copper Chef Pan, 2-piece Copper Chef knife set, Grill & Bake Mats, or 4-piece utensil set for a total of three payments of $59.95.

Tristar Products offers a 60-day money back guarantee on all Power Smokeless Grill purchases, less S&H. To request one, customer support can be reached at 973-287-5108.

Just keep in mind that at more than 15 pounds, it might cost more than a few dollars to ship the grill back to the manufacturer.

Note: During our research, we also found Power Smokeless Grill available on Amazon for $124.99, which was eligible for free shipping for Prime members. Several customers also responded that this model doesn’t feature the griddle plate or cookbooks.

What Can We Learn From Power Smokeless Grill Customer Reviews?

On Amazon, more than 20 customers had given Power Smokeless Grill an average rating of 4.7 stars. There, common compliments related to versatility (it can cook a wide variety of foods), effectiveness (significantly reduced smoke, good tasting results, actual grill marks, etc.), and quality construction.

The single complaint related to difficulty obtaining a replacement for a damaged lid.

Power Smokeless Grill vs. Other Indoor Smokeless Electric Grills

Although we encountered plenty of third-party electric grill/griddle combos during our research on sites like Amazon and Google Shopping, there were meaningfully fewer smokeless models.

Of these, many shared the same core features advertised by Power Smokeless Grill, including countertop functionality, drip pans, non-stick grilling surfaces, adjustable temperatures, dishwasher safe grills/griddles, quickly disassembly for easy cleaning, and even heating and temperature distribution. Here were some of the more popular search results:

Model Price Cooking Surface Dimensions Standout Features
Power Smokeless Grill $120 13.5" X 8" 1,200 watts, interchangeable grill/griddle plates, heats up to 450°F
Gotham Steel Smokeless Electric Grill $60 (Original), $70 (Large) 12" x 10" (Original), 14" x 9" (Large) Only 4 temp settings (warm, low, medium, high), no griddle plate
Philips Smoke-less Indoor Grill $230 21.8” x 13.5” (total – no dimensions listed for grilling surface) 1,660 watts; patented design for faster, even heating
Chefman Electric Smokeless Indoor Grill $50 13.5” x 8.5” 1,120 watts, overheat auto shut-off protection, 3 heat zones on grilling surface (low, medium, high)
Chef’s Choice Indoor Smokeless Electric Grill $150 14 5/8" x 9 5/8" 1,500 watts, cast iron grill plates

As with most other products, choosing the best option is going to start out by deciding on a comfortable budget. After all, as we can see from the examples above, some models are priced almost five times higher than others.

Sharone Stela at TheIndoorGrill.com explains that the number of features you’ll have access to with any smokeless grill is often proportional to your budget. This typically includes the overall size (and therefore the cooking capacity), as well as higher-end features like automatic temperature control and wattage:

“Wattage is the main factor for cooking food, and an indoor grill’s price also depends on its wattage. Lower wattage is cost-effective, but this also means it takes longer to cook food. On the other hand, higher wattage models will cook food quickly, but are costly.

From my practical experience, I can tell you that 1,200 watts is perfect for indoor grilling.”

Another factor to consider is that some models feature incremental heating, which can provide a broader range of cooking temperatures, depending on your needs. On the other hand, models like Power Smokeless Grill only feature four different heat settings (warm, low, medium, and high).

From a non-stick perspective, many models will feature traditional PTFE-based coatings, while others, like Power Smokeless, use a ceramic alternative. In general, customers of other brands often report that ceramic coatings are initially better, but tend to lose their non-stickiness faster than PTFE.

Related: Is Non-Stick Cookware Harmful to Your Health?

Pulling all of these details together, where are you left when it comes to Power Smokeless Grill.

Should You Place an Order for Power Smokeless Grill?

At about $120, Power Smokeless Grill comes in at a middle-of-the-road price point compared to popular competitors, is manufactured by a company who’s been in business for a couple of decades, and features the same Cerami-Tech coating as the Cooper Chef cookware line, including the original Pan, Copper Crisper, and Brooklyn Brownie Copper Pan (to name just a few).

In addition, it comes with many essential features like a see-through tempered glass lid, adjustable temperature, removable parts (many of which are dishwasher safe), as well as 1,200 watts of cooking power.

Tristar also seem to stand behind the smokeless grill with a 60-day refund policy if you’re dissatisfied. Just remember that it’s about 15 pounds, which might be expensive to ship back, depending on your location.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

24 Consumer Reviews for Power Smokeless Grill

Average Consumer Rating: 1.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 2 4 star: 2 3 star: 0 2 star: 4 1 star:  16
Bottom Line: 21% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 24
Sort reviews by:

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Bad product

    • Oklahoma,
    • Jan 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    After I unboxed the grill, I plugged it in to see how it works. The fan is so loud, it sounds like a jet taking off. So I called customer service. I requested a paid shipping label to be mailed to me. Day seven, no label. I called again and was told it may take ten days. Day ten, no label. Now I have decided I don't want the thing. Trying to get a hold of customer service again. Recording saying they are not open. I don't have time for this. I want a refund now.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Worthless, poor quality

    • Grand Rapids, MI,
    • Jan 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought the Power Smokeless Grill at Bed Bath & Beyond for $120. I got it home and opened it up and found a defective cover gasket. I packaged it all back up and took it back and exchanged it for another one. I got the second one home and got it unpacked and tried grilling hamburgers. After 15 minutes the thin burgers weren't even half done so I finished them in a frying pan on the stove. We were at a condo so didn't have access to my gas grill at home. This thing is a joke. No wonder there is no smoke because there is no grilling. Don't bother buying this junk!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Indoor grill

    • Wooster, OH,
    • Jan 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    First I made T-bones, oh so juicy and with grill marks. Tasted like it was grilled on a gas grill. Then boneless skinless chicken.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Worked one time

    • Homosassa, FL,
    • Jan 11, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I made the best pork tenderloin the other day when I got this as a gift for Christmas. Well, guess what? I guess it is a $200 pork tenderloin because this grill did not work after that. I cared for it, I took very good caution cleaning it and storing it, and when I pulled it out tonight to do my baby back ribs, nothing. I’m seriously disappointed. Eric, you need to call me or at least write to me. I have been telling my friends how amazing this thing is but apparently it is crap. I am really mad right now. And yes, I checked all of my outlets and tried to plug this thing in everywhere and nothing.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Won't stay hot

    • Chipley, FL,
    • Jan 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got this for Christmas and grilled pork chops. I set the temperature on the highest setting and it heated up nicely. After a few minutes, it did not stay hot. The temperature light stayed on but the heating element cooled down and would not finish cooking the pork chops. I took my kitchen thermometer and checked the temp of the grill and it would not even reach 300. The smokeless part did work nicely. I tried using it again cooking fried eggs and pancakes and it wouldn't even cook that. I was disappointed as I was really hoping that this worked like advertised. My daughter also got her husband one for Christmas and they also have some of the same problems of it not staying hot. They are also returning.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Don't buy this grill from the TV hustlers

    • Mesa, AZ,
    • Jan 4, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've been watching TV on and off for 60 years and vowed never to buy anything from the TV hustlers but the Smokeless Grill wasn't expensive, and I thought I'll buy it online rather than calling the 800 number. That way I won't have to be hustled for all the add-ons.

    WRONG!

    Even doing the order online you still have to respond yes or no to a half dozen items. The last question gives you a choice of three different "free" items with NO way to bypass all three. So even though we didn't need it, we got the free Crock-Pot.

    When we clicked on to process the order, we discovered that we had been charged a $29.95 handling fee for the pot. That's the same price as they had valued the pot.

    At the top of the webpage, there was an 800 number offering a $20 cash back off our order. After 20 minutes of hearing "we're sorry and we value your business, a live customer representative will be with you shortly," I bailed on that hustle.

    So, now what? Their email address goes to a 404 page, nobody answers the phone, and the order is somewhere in nowhere land waiting to be processed by PayPal.

    Buyer beware. Yes, I'm probably stuck with this piece of crap, based on the reviews I'm seeing, but there's no reason why someone else should fall victim.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 5, 2019

      D L.

      I had the same experience. Customer service is horrible. I finally got through to them for a return authorization, they claim they're going to email it to me but I have not received the RA. I also emailed them on three different occasions and the email was returned.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 17 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    And also...

    • Texas,
    • Jan 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    OH, and I was supposed to get a $50 Walmart gift card for signing up to the savings club, which I did. No card came and I canceled the gift club.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Previous review
    • Dec 26, 2018

    No power

    I ordered on October 16th. It arrived and I plugged it in and nothing. I called for a return label. Finally, I received a return label. Sent it back. I received a replacement on the 2nd week of December 2018. Nope. No power. I tried several outlets. Nothing. I called for a return label and refund. They said they will refund when they receive the product.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 11 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Grill is great...just a little something

    • Georgia,
    • Dec 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The grill is great and mine IS SMOKELESS. I have had it for about 3 months and it works great, but it's so powerful that my outlets trip. But as far as cooking goes as advertised, it's pretty good. I haven't steamed with it yet, and by the way, I cannot cook with the lid on because after a minute or so it will turn itself off and not come back on for a long time.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 43 out 43 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • New Jersey,
    • Dec 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The Power Smokeless Grill turned out to be a scam. Very disappointing experience. They offer "free" copper pans (your choice) that they never send you. When I called customer service, they told me that I never paid the ~$15.00 additional shipping and handling fee. What they did tell me was that I instead purchased the 3-year extended warranty. Which I never did. SCAM!

    Also...the unit itself is not great. It heats and cooks fine, however, the touch button for the fan does not work consistently, therefore, NO SMOKELESS FEATURE.

    My Power “Smokeless” Grill will be returned today!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 50 out 54 people found this review helpful

    Horrible and dangerous...

    • Oakwood, GA,
    • Dec 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased this grill from Walmart in Denver, North Carolina because I travel for work and thought it was a great idea to be able to cook on it in my hotel room. WRONG...It smoked up the entire room in a matter of minutes and set off alarms. I tried it once again in my own home, the same thing happened. Well, back on the road, I thought do I dare...I started cooking some hamburgers and it was smoking so horrible, I removed my burgers and unplugged it and took it out the door. Once it cooled, I took it apart and noticed the drip pan was stuck to the bottom. It had gotten so hot on the bottom it melted the drip pan and the plastic was smoldering. This could have had the potential to burn down the place I am staying. EXTREMELY UNSAFE and WAY TOO SMOKEY. It should be recalled for a fire potential. I am taking it back to Walmart tomorrow in hopes of a refund, and hopefully, they will discontinue the sale of these.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 2, 2019

      Barry N.

      What plastic pan? I clean mine all the time and it is metal. I have used mine for a year now and have had no smoke problems in any way. In fact, I sent out four units to my children as Christmas gifts along with a side order for Omaha steaks packages. They say they love them. Are you sure you pans are plastic? I also got mine from Walmart.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 41 out 41 people found this review helpful

    Grills when it works, smokeless when outside the house

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Dec 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought the smokeless grill by looking at the advertisement, great sales pitch for an average product.

    I used it indoors only, but it tends to smoke, the fans do an OK job to pull some smoke with the covers on.

    My issue is with the power supply, it has a trip switch which is activated when the grill plate is assembled, but the grill plate does not have the weight to keep the switch pressed. Which means, if I have light food to be grilled, or if I don't put the lid on soon, I will have to hold the side pressed the entire time when the cooking goes on. WTH!

    I once cooked some shrimp and came after 10 minutes, only to find that it's not even warm, meaning the switch had already tripped. I put a bunch of beef steaks on it, it cooks well and the switch says down well. I find this design BAD, though it's for safety, it should have been lighter. I tried to fix it by trying to do some DIY to keep it pressed, but the best that worked for me is to put a heavy item on the electrical point, not ideal!

    My recommendation - WILL NOT BUY THIS, nor RECOMMEND. But if you have nothing to do and can hold the switch down, suit yourself.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 24

Write a Review for Power Smokeless Grill!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review