Pressure Pro Pressure Cooker Review: Good Cooker or Just Hype?

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Feb 12, 2014

Pressure Pro Cooker is a 1-touch automatic pressure cooker that’s claimed to lock in moisture, make every meal tender and delicious, and to cook family favorites in minutes with a simple touch of a button. In fact, Pressure Pro Cooker claims to help you cook food up to 10X faster than traditional methods, and even to “make great meals in 5 minutes.”

In order to accomplish this, the Pressure Pro Cooker is claimed to work over 3 steps:

  1. Load your ingredients, whether fresh or frozen, into the family-sized, 6-quart capacity pot.
  2. Select your one-touch setting and Pressure Pro Cooker does the rest.
  3. Enjoy a moist, delicious meal.

On top of this, Pressure Pro Cooker is claimed to help you can all your favorite fruits and veggies, and to replace your oven, smoker, rice steamer, microwave, and slow cooker, while only taking up 14” of counter space. And when you’re finished cooking, the Pressure Pro Cooker claims to be dishwasher safe for easy cleanup.

But is using the Pressure Pro Cooker really this easy to use, and will it provide good value for your money? Consider the following:

Will Pressure Pro Cooker Really Help You Cook 10X Faster?

Ultimately, other than the 1-touch settings (more about this next), there doesn’t seem to be much about the Pressure Pro Cooker that’s different from the competition. Here’s what we’re told:

After adding your food, Pressure Pro Cooker’s digital brain is claimed to calculate the quantity of the food inside, if it’s fresh or frozen, and the proper pressure and temperature to cook it. Then, as it heats up, all the liquid and flavor is locked inside with the superheated, pressurized steam, which accelerates the cooking process up to 10X faster, while maintaining the perfect temperature from the center to the edge.

But here’s the reality: Any pressure cooker works by “by boiling a liquid such as water or broth inside the closed pressure cooker. The trapped steam increases the internal pressure and temperature.” And whichever brand you’re considering, “Pressure cookers are used for cooking food faster than conventional cooking methods, which also saves energy.”

With this said, there’s nothing available on the Pressure Pro Cooker website proving that it will really cook your food 10X faster, while still retaining the moisture and flavor of traditionally cooked foods.

What Are Pressure Pro Cooker’s 1-Touch Settings?

We’re not told much about Pressure Pro Cooker’s 1-Touch settings, although the product’s commercial indicates it has rice/risotto, soup/stew, beans/lentils, fish/seafood, canning, and rare/medium/well-done meat presets.

Other Pressure Cooker Options

Pressure cookers have been around for decades, and although not all will feature the 1-touch settings found on Pressure Pro Cooker (many will), the point is that you have options. To see for yourself, simply type the phrase “pressure cooker” or “pre-set pressure cooker” into your favorite search engine.

In fact, pressure cookers are so popular that you’ll almost certainly be able to find several options at local retailers near you. We’ve also reviewed many popular pressure cooker options here at HighYa, including the Wolfgang Puck Pressure Oven and Power Pressure Cooker XL.

Customer Feedback for Pressure Pro Cooker Isn’t Good

Since writing our original Pressure Pro Cooker review, 45 HighYa readers have chimed in about their experiences with the product, and have given it an average rating of 3 stars. Common compliments are that Pressure Pro Cooker provides good results and that it’s easy to use.

On the other hand, some of the most common complaints appear to revolve around failure to work as advertised and poor quality (cracked pressure releases, suddenly stops working after just a few weeks, E4 errors, etc.).

There were also several customer reviews on Amazon.com, Walmart.com, and more with similar ratings, compliments, and complaints as those found here on HighYa.

From a company perspective, Pressure Pro Cooker is manufactured by Harvest Cookware. However, the company wasn’t listed with the Better Business Bureau, and there wasn’t any additional information available about them elsewhere online. In fact, it appears that the Pressure Pro Cooker is Harvest Cookware’s only product.

Pressure Pro Cooker Pricing and Refund Policy

Available in red or black, the Pressure Pro Cooker is priced at 3 payments of $33.33 plus $29.95 S&H, bringing your total to $129.94.

At the bottom of the Pressure Pro Cooker website, a disclaimer states that you’ll also receive “Grandma's Secret Cookbook full of scrumptious recipes PLUS a ceramic knife set including a 5-inch slicing blade, 3-inch paring knife and never-dull ceramic peeler, a $75 value yours FREE! (Just pay separate P&H).” However, there’s no mention how much this extra P&H fee will be, and there isn’t an order total provided to let you know either.

Important note: Just below the Quantity box on the ordering screen, you’ll see an option for InsureShip shipping insurance. Unless you uncheck this box, you’ll automatically be charged an additional $2.99.

Pressure Pro Cooker comes with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges. This means you could be out upwards of $50 in lost S&H charges by the time you send the pressure cooker back to the manufacturer.

With this in mind, in order to request a refund, you’ll need to contact customer service at 877-372-7631.

Can Pressure Pro Cooker Help You Easily Create Delicious Meals?

Despite Pressure Pro Cooker’s mixed online customer reputation, most seem to have been pleased with its performance—when it worked that is, which seems to be a major problem. In other words, even if your Pressure Pro Cooker works out of the box, dozens of online reviewers claimed that it won’t last much longer.

Because of this quality concern, as well as the product’s ultra-high, non-refundable S&H charges, we might recommend searching for local pressure cooker options before placing your Pressure Pro Cooker order.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 54 Pressure Pro Pressure Cooker Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 12 4 star: 10 3 star: 3 2 star: 4 1 star:  25
Bottom Line: 43% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 54
Sort reviews by:

  • 25 out 28 people found this review helpful

    What happened?!

    • Toronto CA,
    • Mar 25, 2014

    Order product in February rechecked and advised it would arrive in 7 days. Still not here. What Happened?!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 20 out 25 people found this review helpful

    No Warrantee and cant get service

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Jun 26, 2015

    I got my unit in Mid February and it is now early April so I've had it 1.5 months. I've enjoyed using it but It stopped working in mid cooking yesterday with an error code of E1. Manual says this indicates the temperature sensor needs replacement but not how to do it.

    I called Customer Service but they were not helpful as they seem to be set up only to take & track orders. They told me the warrantee was only for 30 days. I guess I now have a useless item.

    I'm still within 60 days so I may challenge the charge on my card as receiving a defective product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 17 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Never came

    • Hillister, TX,
    • Jun 20, 2014

    Waited 3 months and it never came. So I finally called to cancel order and they say, "Oh we will give you a 30 dollar discount if you don't cancel your order." I was like forget it, I'll just go find one in a store.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Haven't received

    • Summit, SD,
    • Jul 2, 2014

    Ordered May 5, promised two to three week delivery. Every time I call they say it will be delivered in two weeks. Offered me a $50.00 discount but the price was higher when I ordered. Have contacted the State Attorney General.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 15 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Customer Service and Supervisors not service oriented

    • San Francisco, CA.,
    • Jul 4, 2015

    I bought the Pro and first of all, the shipping is way out of line. After using the item three times and not liking the product, I contacted customer service and to my surprise the English with them is very difficult to understand. So "Paul" said that he would give me a refund of 45.00 and to my available I am now unable to return the item. I would strongly suggest not buying the product just because of the customer service.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Bad customer service

    • Cecilia KY,
    • Aug 19, 2014

    First of all, I did not order the product, but looking at my checking account one day and there was a charge I did not recognize and it was from Pressure Pro. I had inquired about one and the amount of canning jars it would hold, but never ordered one. They also charged a great amount to ship it and it cost me out of pocket to ship it back, $25.00. Very upset that this all happened and still do not know how they got my banking information, they claim I ordered it, but I did not.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 16 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Never got to use it...

    • Bowdoinham, Maine,
    • Sep 16, 2014

    I got my new cooker and was all excited to try it out. I bought a very nice hunk of brisket for it's maiden voyage. Put the meat in to brown it before cooking. Turned it on and it started right up. About 2 minutes later it just died, all lights went out and that was the end of it. I called customer care and they said it had blown an internal fuse and that I needed to send it back. What a gimmick, I am still sitting on my $130.00 piece of junk metal. Very unhappy with this junk. I did not even get one meal from it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Don't recommend it until you've used it for a few weeks.

    • Aurora Missouri,
    • Oct 8, 2014

    First off, I read directions thoroughly before using things the first time. The instruction manual refers to information on page nine, where the information doesn't exist, nor does it exist elsewhere in the manual. The pressure setting, according to the "service representative" needs to be changed for different functions, though the manual doesn't indicate that. The East Indians answering technical questions, probably in India, are courteous but difficult to communicate with.

    My wife was put on hold while an answer was sought and after a five minute wait, the phone was disconnected. We used it five times the first two weeks and were impressed until it quit and wouldn't work in any mode. The warranty requires you to pay postage both ways, totaling $50. At this point, I'm questioning whether or not it's worth depending on the warranty with high shipping prices over the warranty period or simply returning now for a refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Horrible product

    • Texas,
    • Oct 28, 2014

    When I first opened the box to the power pressure cooker I was a little confused since it wasn't the one on TV. I was told I got an upgrade from a regular power cooker to a pro. Okay, I guess I thought I got the elite since that's what was on my statement. I loved it the first two weeks and so did my husband. After a couple of great weeks it stopped pressure cooking, no matter what we do, it won't do what it needed to do. We've cleaned it and everything. This is a waste of money and further more the pro is at Wal-mart for 79.99 I feel like such a fool!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    No warranty.

    • Georgia,
    • Dec 15, 2014

    I received one as a Christmas gift somewhat like that one that is now being advertised a couple of years ago made in east Indian. After a few uses it cracked on one side. Called the company to see what could be done to either fix or replace it. Oh, very rude people when I explained the crack to them and they were telling me that it was not their fault and there was nothing that they do. "PERIOD"

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Not what company claimed

    • California,
    • Jul 9, 2015

    My husband saw ad and was mislead to believe this had a steel liner. What arrived was a coated liner. He called and they sold him a more expensive model they claimed to be steel. It was a Teflon type coated steel. They said he could return but would lose both ways shipping/handling (about $60). They finally agreed to cover return shipping but not original shipping.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 54

Write a Review for Pressure Pro!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review