Read 329 PrettyLitter Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 4.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 269 4 star: 15 3 star: 3 2 star: 15 1 star:  27
Bottom Line: 86% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 329
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy

    This litter was great...for two weeks. I purchased two bags for my two-cat household and followed all recommended directions for use (2 inches of litter which I measured to double check, only scoop feces, stir the urine areas to mix, clean the box daily). I even swept up litter that got kicked out of the box and put it back in to ensure less loss of litter.

    I loved it for the first 1.5 weeks then noticed an increase in urine odor and slight blue tint. After another three days, all of the litter had turned into blue slush that no longer absorbed any urine and my entire house reeked of cat urine. Not a pleasant smell to come home to after work.

    I attempted to call the company to discuss the issue, but there was no answer. I emailed the customer service department and after three days have yet to receive a reply. I attempted to leave a review on the company's website but, surprise, the link is not activated so no reviews can be left.

    I am extremely disappointed in this product and the fact that it only works as advertised for half of the time it is supposed to. I would have been willing to pay the high cost per month had it functioned as advertised but am unwilling to shell out the exorbitant price to buy four bags per month, which it appears I would need to do since two bags only last half a month.

    Bottom line - don't fall for this company's false advertising, save your money and buy something else.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (4)
    View all 4 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 14, 2017

      Jenn

      It changes color if there is something wrong. Are your cats okay?

    • Dec 15, 2017

      Erin Ressler

      Follow Up: I received an email back from Pretty Litter and the customer service representative openly admitted that the company's advertisements and recommendations are blatantly false. She stated "We try to tell our customers as much as possible that no matter how many bags you have, as long as it reaches the recommended two inches of depth, it will last a month for one cat alone. Since two cats are using the box, it is the reason why the bags are only lasting two weeks because the litter won't last that long for two cats in two inches of depth."

      So even though when you go to order this litter for two cats and the website clearly states, "Two Cats. Two Bags. One Month." Apparently, this is a complete lie per the company's representative. What horrible business practices that make blatantly false claims about their faulty products!

    • Dec 20, 2017

      Erin Ressler

      Jenn, thank you for your concern but my cats are perfectly fine. This was not a simple color change but a complete lack of function of the litter. It turned solid blue and a slushy consistency. Per the Pretty Litter website FAQ section, they admit that a solid blue color and slushy consistency of the litter indicates that it is no longer absorbing urine and has nothing to do with the health of the animal.

    • Oct 5, 2018

      Patricia K.

      The product doesn't work and customer service isn't good. Not a good product. I'm surprised you gave it two stars. I think we should all start a lawsuit. Anyone know a good class action lawyer?


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Awful customer service and a crap product

    • Orlando, FL,
    • May 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This litter isn't even close to anything they claim it is. It's super lightweight, so it tracks EVERYWHERE. The urine doesn't clump so your poor cat box just gets more and more urine added to it, and it doesn't "mix" in as they claim. The smell is awful, and it absolutely does NOT last for a month. After three weeks, my cat started using my rugs to pee instead of the box full of pee. When I reached out to the company, I got no response except to bill me and send me another bag. I was asking to cancel my subscription. I think it might seriously hurt your cat. Don't waste your time or money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 1, 2018

      Marissa S., Supervisor of Customer Experience

      Thanks for sharing your experience, Kelly. PrettyLitter shouldn't be tracking more than any other litters, but (as you mentioned) our product is very lightweight, so it can sometimes be kicked out of the box.

      PrettyLitter was designed to solve for all the pain points of owning a litter box- a lightweight litter that has health monitoring, low dust, and the best odor control. We take product complaints seriously and will be sure to record your feedback about the tracking and odor control.

      Smelling an odor from your PrettyLitter is a sign that it's time to change your litter, which should occur at the end of the month. Saturation and odor control issues that occur before the end of the month usually mean you don't have enough depth of PrettyLitter to absorb the urine. This significantly decreases the life of the litter and the effectiveness of odor control and health monitoring. We suggest at least 2 inches of depth in your litter box for optimum use.

      If you'd like to give us another try, please reach out to our support team at meow@prettylitter.com. We'd love the chance to give you the experience you were expecting!

    • Oct 5, 2018

      Patricia K.

      Their customer service is bad. The product doesn't work. I wish I read these reviews before I purchased.


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Knew it was too good to be true!

    • Houston, TX,
    • Jul 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have two cats and have only been using PrettyLitter for two weeks tomorrow. My cats seem to like it, I love the convenience of not having to run out for litter every week and the daily scooping is a breeze. However, it has only been two weeks and the litter box smells of urine, which I never had an odor with regular litter. Plus it does cost more than what I always paid for litter. For me, it will never last a month. I knew it was too good to be true.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 13, 2018

      Marissa S., Supervisor of Customer Experience

      Thanks for reaching out and sharing your experience, Diane! We'd love the opportunity to help. Odor issues are usually caused by not having enough depth of PrettyLitter in your litter box. We recommend filling each litter box to a minimum of two inches per cat. That usually means one bag per cat, but it can vary! There are many different sizes of the litter box, and it sounds like yours might be on the larger size (which makes sense if your cats share).

      We want to make sure you get to experience PrettyLitter's advanced odor control technology as intended, so please email us at meow@prettylitter.com (attn: Cassie) and we'll make this right for you! We look forward to hearing from you soon!

    • Oct 5, 2018

      Patricia K.

      The product doesn't work as advertised, and everyone has to change it in two weeks. Their customer service isn't good. Not a good product. I'm surprised you gave it two stars.


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Nope

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Sep 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had good results at first. My kitty prefers this litter. But I don't. First of all, even when the bag would last me almost through the month (three weeks), it tracks all over the darn house. I have hardwood floors so this is not okay. Second, after about five months of using this litter, a bag only lasts me two weeks tops. I have two inches in his box, and still, it is blue jelly by the end of week two. And my house reeks. I recently changed the litter and went out of town for a week, leaving very clear instructions for his sitter. When I got back home, I was overwhelmed with the smell.

    For me, the pine and corn litters work way better at controlling odor and not tracking. Sadly, my cat is bougie and likes this dusty, sandy consistency on PrettyLitter, so I have to retrain him to use the stuff that doesn't stink and leave a mess all over my house. This stuff is way too expensive to track like it does, even if the smell wasn't an issue. Bummer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 5, 2018

      Patricia K.

      Experienced the same thing! The product doesn't work and customer service isn't good. Not a good product. I'm surprised you gave it two stars.

    • Oct 17, 2018

      Marissa S., Supervisor of Customer Experience

      Thanks for sharing your experience with us Tam. It sounds like you we're experiencing saturation, which we know is never fun. We'd love the opportunity to make PrettyLitter work for you. Please send us a email at meow@prettylitter.com (attn: Cassie) and we will be happy to help you out. We can also help you figure out the perfect number of bags for your furry friend. Looking forward to hearing from you!


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Couldn't believe it!

    • Naples, FL,
    • Apr 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    When I heard that one bag would last for a month, I couldn't believe it. I ordered it anyway and I have been amazed that the product works exactly as they describe. As long as you remove the solid waste daily and stir the litter, there is absolutely zero odor. I am a believer and will use this litter from now on.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Bags of litter are too small!

    • Federal Way, WA,
    • Dec 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I would have given this 5 stars, but the bag is just way too small. I bought a small litter box, and one bag barely leaves 1.5 inches of litter. It would leave the 2 inches of litter if you had a "mini" litter box I guess. They offer a second bag a month for another $21 if it isn't deep enough. But $42 a month for cat litter is just way too much. I will likely have to cancel until they offer a realistic size bag of cat litter for $21.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 5, 2017

      Marissa S., Supervisor of Customer Experience

      Thanks for reaching out, Rachel. Your feedback means the world to us. We're delighted to hear you love the product aside from the bags being smaller than you'd like. I'm sorry to hear you aren't getting enough depth in your litter pan. We have recorded your feedback and thank you for taking the time to share it with us. We want you to be able to try this product at the optimum 2 inches of depth. I'd be happy to help you dial in the best usage for your household and litter box size. Go ahead and reply to the email I sent you and I'll be more than happy to help! I look forward to hearing from you soon.

    • Oct 5, 2018

      Patricia K.

      I actually had the bigger bags for my boxes, yet the product tracked everywhere and didn't work. Their customer service isn't good. It is not a good product. I'm surprised you gave it two stars.


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Scam alert!

    Litter comes in cardboard USPS Priority ENVELOPE! You get enough for an 8" x 10" litter box. Cancelling is very difficult! Limited hours to call. After ordering, they send you an email that if you need a second bag, they'll send you one for free the first month only! So you need to AT LEAST DOUBLE THE COST per month.

    I'm furious that it is even legal to scam people this way. I'm demanding a refund if I can ever get a hold of someone. Note that links to social media don't work and it is difficult to find reviews on this product (not sold in stores?). SCAM! At least $50 a month per cat; cheaper to go to the vet and have urine checked every 3 months.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 5, 2018

      Patricia K.

      I had horrible customer service. Same issue too. It took them three months to charge back a double charge AND apply the coupon discount they didn't do the first try. Also, the litter didn't work as advertised. They should be sued. Do you know a good class action lawyer?


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    I really wanted this to work

    • Burlingame, CA,
    • Dec 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wish PrettyLitter would have worked for us, but unfortunately, I gave it multiple tries and it's still a "no go."

    PrettyLitter is super lightweight and the main reason why I purchased it was so I can monitor my cat's health. Since there were so many reviews saying how there are no odors, I was really looking forward to trying it. Unfortunately, the litter box ended up smelling like pee after just a few pees. I contacted customer service and ended up going in a circle instead with no real resolution.

    I really tried to like and try this product, but I can't stand the smell and noticed my cat was going to the bathroom less.

    I would try it out for yourself though, maybe it's just my cat! There are others who love this product, so you should try it and see if it'll work for you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 5, 2018

      Patricia K.

      The product doesn't work and customer service isn't good. It is not a good product. Tracks everywhere and lasts two weeks at best. I'm surprised you gave it two stars.


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Never again

    • Charlotte, NC,
    • Apr 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have a regular size litter box for one cat. I ordered the recommended size, and it arrived yesterday. It was less than one inch deep in my litter box. For kitty litter "to work" there must be over two inches of litter in the box. "Otherwise, the urine pools at the bottom and shortens the life of the litter." The company claims that one bag is enough to fill a medium sized litter box two inches deep. My litter box is regular/normal size. Nothing fancy at all. There was a note on the card that said to call if you did not have at least 2 inches of litter for one cat and "they would take care of it." I called, and the representative said they could send me another four pounds of litter out to me for free. When I asked about that not being enough since it was LESS than one inch, she told me that they have a six-pound bag. She asked me to hold, came back on the line, told me that she had already processed my "payment" and changed my subscription to $39 per month. I was charged for the six-pound bag so that there would be enough litter in the box.

    I was not asked before my card was charged. This is unacceptable. I also will not pay $40 for cat litter for one month. The litter changes color if there is a potential color but they do not tell you what the potential issue may be just to take the cat to the vet, with no other help to explain the abnormalities in the cat to the vet. I am not impressed. Actually, very disappointed in this company. It is very misleading. "They will take care of it" means that they will charge you another $20 without permission.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • May 13, 2018

      Marissa S., Supervisor of Customer Experience

      Thank you for sharing your experience Sarah. It seems like this was a rare and unfortunate circumstance where our support team missed the mark. This is not the service we aim to provide, and I apologize. I'd like to make this right and see what we can do to get you the PrettyLitter you need so you can give our product a proper try. Please send an email at meow@prettylitter.com (Attn: Cassie) and I'll be happy to reach out to you directly.

    • Oct 5, 2018

      Patricia K.

      Customer service is bad and the product doesn't work. Bottom line, Its a scam.


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Disappointing

    • Virginia,
    • Jun 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered this litter for my three-month-old kitten because of all the great reviews I had read, but it turned out to be very disappointing.

    At first, the litter was great. No odor and being flushable was very nice. As for the dust, it was there and it was bad, and even though I do have a covered litter box, I could see the dust while scooping. After ten days, the urine odor became so bad that my nose felt like it was burning from the scent. Because the urine doesn’t clump but gets sifted back into the litter, the odor was staying in the litter.

    I immediately canceled my subscription before they could charge me for another bag. I didn’t complain to the company because I was afraid it would be a hassle to unsubscribe, but there was no hassle with unsubscribing. Would I recommend? No!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Love the concept, but...

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Sep 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I love the idea of this type of long-lasting, clean-smelling, low-dust litter. There are a number of non-clay litters that promise this, clumping and otherwise. I've just about tried them all. The other litter claiming 30+ days in between litter box changes is America's Best. It actually has every attribute claimed by PrettyLitter, plus it clumps nicely. But, it is beyond dusty, coating EVERYTHING within the vicinity with red dust every time my boy sifts the stuff. YUK.

    Another one actually is Nature's Miracle (and it's economical) corn-based litter. The issue there is that it sticks to the side of the box. So, when I saw this crystalline powder and all these promises, including spending no more than I currently do, I got excited to try it. Suffice it to say, it is not economical in the least when the 3-4 lb bag can't provide the requisite two to three inches of kitty litter for a large litter box. I would either need two bags or a very small litter box. My boy is big. He's not a monster (despite what I call him).

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 24, 2018

      Marissa S., Supervisor of Customer Experience

      Thanks for your review Tee. We'd love the opportunity to make PrettyLitter work for you! Everyone's household is different and we are more than happy to find out which type of subscription will work best for you and your lifestyle! Please send us an email at meow@prettylitter.com (Attn: Cassie) and we will make this right for you. Looking forward to hearing from you!

    • Oct 5, 2018

      Patricia K.

      The product doesn't work and customer service isn't good. Not a good product. I'm surprised you gave it two stars.


Showing 23-33 of 329

Write a Review for PrettyLitter!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review