About Probiotic America

Manufactured by Probiotic America, Perfect Biotics is a digestive health supplement that’s claimed to designed around “the latest scientific research and cutting-edge technology” to help relieve your chronic fatigue, gas, and bloating.

According to the Probiotic America website, Perfect Biotics is formulated around providing users with an 80/20 “gut equilibrium” between good and bad bacteria, so that you’ll experience increased energy, improved metabolism, and many other digestive benefits.

In addition, when compared to the competition, Probiotic America’s claims to raise their bacteria cultures in a Wisconsin laboratory, encapsulate and third-party test it in Utah, and then test it a third time upon arriving at the company’s distribution center in Southern California. And because they’re cutting out the middlemen—and the length of time spent on store shelves, Perfect Biotics is claimed to arrive at your door with maximum freshness and maximum purity.

Ultimately, Probiotic America dubs its Perfect Biotics supplement “the most powerful probiotic on the market.” But is this necessarily true, and are Probiotic America’s products worth the price? Consider the following:

What Ingredients Does Probiotic America’s Perfect Biotics Contain?

Probiotic America claims that Perfect Biotics contains a patented formula of 15 high-quality bacteria strains with 30 billion CFUs (colony-forming units), each with their own unique set of benefits:

  • Lactobacillus Salivarius – Claimed to protect against cavities and gingivitis.
  • Lactobacillus Casei – May help inhibit the inflammatory response.
  • Lactobacillus Plantarum – Possibly helps heal injuries.
  • Bifidobacterium Infantis – May help improve your immune system.
  • Bifidobacterium Bifidum – Can help prevent the overgrowth of candida (yeast).
  • Lactococcus Lactis – Helps metabolize (break down) carbohydrates.
  • Lactobacillus Paracasei – May help relieve symptoms associated with atopic dermatitis (eczema).
  • Streptococcus Thermophilus – Possibly helps fight respiratory infections.
  • Lactobacillus Acidophilus – May help reduce blood pressure and cholesterol levels.
  • Bifidobacterium Breve – Can reduce gas and other bowel, stomach, and intestine irritation.
  • Lactobacillus Brevis – May help prevent kidney stones.
  • Bifidobacterium Lactis – Can improve digestive comfort.
  • Lactobacillus Bulgaricus – May help “draw away toxins.”

Perfect Biotics is claimed to be made in the USA in a GMP facility, without soy, lactose, or gluten. According to the company, most users notice a difference after 4-6 weeks of regular use.

Do Probiotics Provide Any Health Benefits?

Before discussing Perfect Biotics specifically, it’s important to note that for the most part, probiotics have a fairly large amount of clinical data showing them to be effective for numerous conditions. These include reducing irritable bowel syndrome symptoms (as well as gas and bloating), increased immune system response, decreased allergic responses, and much more.

For an in-depth look at probiotics and their benefits, be sure to read through our article titled Everything You Wanted to Know About Probiotics, but Didn’t Know to Ask.

Are Perfect Biotics’s Ingredients Effective?

With this said, even though lactobacillus and bifidobacteria have been shown to provide some benefits for the majority of people who use them, this doesn’t necessarily mean your health will significantly be improved, or that you’ll experience everything claimed by Probiotic America.

For example, although one of Perfect Biotics’s claimed benefits is increased carbohydrate metabolization, this doesn’t mean you’ll be able to eat all the bread you want, or that you’ll lose weight if you don’t. Also, although one study may have shown some probiotic strains could help promote healing, this doesn’t mean you’ll experience a noticeable reduction in healing time if you were to sustain a severe injury tomorrow.

In short, you’re much more likely to experience relief from constipation, gas, bloating, and other types of digestive upset, and possibly from eczema, using probiotics (Perfect Biotics or otherwise) than you are some of the others claimed on the supplement’s website.

Is Probiotic America “The Most Powerful Probiotic on the Market?”

Perhaps because of the benefits experienced by so many users, probiotics such as Perfect Biotics have flooded the market over the past couple years, including other popular options such as ProbioSlim, Whole Body Keybiotics, Essential Cultures, and many more.

The point is that you have a wide variety of options from which to choose, so it’s important that you research several probiotics before handing over your hard-earned money (HighYa is a great place to start!).

With this said, many of Probiotic America’s competitors manufacture supplements with 10 million (or more) bacteria CFUs, so Perfect Biotics isn’t necessarily the most powerful available (important note: Perfect Biotics from Probiotic America does not appear to be related in any way to PerfectBiotics from Perfect Origins).

Does Probiotic America Cause Any Side Effects?

According to WebMD, most people who take probiotics do not experience any side effects, and those that do are generally mild. These include digestive upset, bloating, or gas, although these should subside within a couple days as your body adjusts to the increased bacteria levels.

SEE ALSO: The Side Effects of Probiotics: What to Watch for, When to Talk To Your Doctor and When You Should Say No

Are Customers Finding Relief with Probiotic America?

Perfect Biotics is manufactured by Probiotic America, LLC based out of Woodland Hills, CA.

The company appears to be very new, as their trademark was filed in October 2014 and their website URL was registered in January 2015. As such, Probiotic America wasn’t listed with the Better Business Bureau at the time of our research, and no online customer reviews were available.

However, more than 200 HighYa readers have provided feedback on the popular probiotics noted above, and gave them an average rating of almost 4 stars. Common compliments included reduced gas and bloating, increased regularity, and an improved metabolism. On the other hand, the most common complaint was failure to work.

Granted, this may not be what you’ll experience with Probiotic America’s supplement, but it’s always helpful to know what consumers are saying about the competition.

Probiotic America Pricing & Refund Policy

Perfect Biotics from Probiotic America is priced as follows:

  • 1 Bottle: $46.99 plus $4.95 S&H
  • 3 Bottles: $119.82 plus free shipping
  • 6 Bottles: $221.94 plus free shipping

Since writing our original review, Probiotic America released a second product named Perfect Digest (more about this in the next section), which is priced as follows:

  • 1 Bottle: $29.95
  • 3 Bottles: $76.37
  • 6 Bottles: $141.96

Note: According to Probiotic America’s Terms & Conditions, an autoship program is available that provides regular shipments (once per month) of Perfect Biotics to your door. However, we were not presented with an autoship option when checking out, and no additional information is provided on the supplement’s website.

All Probiotic America purchases come with a 90-day refund policy, although you will be required to send the empty bottles back to the manufacturer. In order to request a refund or cancel your autoship enrollment, you’ll need to contact customer service at (866) 803-9895.

What’s Different Between Perfect Biotics & Perfect Digest?

Instead of supplying your body with beneficial bacteria like Probiotic America, Perfect Digest supplies a blend of 16 different enzymes:

  • Amylase 20,000 DU
  • Diastase 20,000 DP
  • Bacterial Protease 50,000 HUT
  • Glucoamylase 50AGU
  • Fungal Protease 20,000 HUT
  • Alpha-Galactosidase 500 GALU
  • Lactase 750 ALU
  • Cellulase 1,500 CU
  • Beta-Glucanase 50 BGU
  • Lipase 2,400 FIP
  • Xylanase 1,000 XU
  • Pectinase 50 endo-PGU
  • Acid Protease 20 SAPU
  • Phytase 10 FTU
  • Invertase 500 SU
  • Hemicellulase 500 HCU

By taking one capsule daily, Perfect Digest claims to help breakdown food and support healthy digestion, leading to reduced gas and bloating, along with increased nutrient absorption from food. Is there any evidence these enzymes will accomplish this?

First, enzymes digest food by attaching themselves to particles and breaking them down so that you’re body can absorb the nutrients they contain. To this extent, different enzymes are responsible for breaking down different kinds of food; amylase for carbohydrates, bacterial protease for proteins, lactase for milk products, lipase for absorbing fat, and so forth.

But does this necessarily mean that adding more enzymes to your diet—or taking an enzyme supplement like Perfect Digest (or any of the other supplements we’ve reviewed, like Prolazyme and Zymbiotix)—will provide any benefits claimed by the company? Here’s how a 2013 US News article puts it:

“In considering whether taking supplemental digestive enzymes may be beneficial, one should recognize that the term ‘digestive enzymes’ is a catchall that includes a variety of compounds with different purposes—similar to “vitamins’ or ‘probiotics.’ Just as we can’t draw sweeping generalizations about whether taking vitamins is beneficial (it would depend on which vitamin in which individual), so too with digestive enzymes: It depends on which enzyme and in what population.”

For example, do you have a pancreatic insufficiency? Lactose intolerance? A high fiber diet? In any of the instances, taking specific enzymes could aid in the digestion process. But overall, there’s a lack of clinical evidence showing that general enzyme supplementation can reliably provide improved digestion in all individuals.

Who is Dr. Cary Nelson?

Dr. Cary Nelson is a board certified physician who graduated from the University of Guadalajara in 2000, and who has specialized in family medicine and aesthetic medicine for the past 12 years. In that time, Dr. Nelson has been the recipient of numerous awards, including a Patients’ Choice Award five years in a row, a Top 10 Doctor in the city of Torrance, and more.

Today, Dr, Nelson uses his training in laser techniques, skin rejuvenation, and anti-aging to help his patients achieve the look their desire. Because of this, most patients seem pleased with the care he provides, whether at his South Bay Family Medical Group practice or at Torrance Memorial Medical Center.

Despite his background in medicine, Dr. Nelson suffered from digestive health issues for much of his life. In fact, he claims that these problems were so common that he thought it was “just the way [his] body worked.”

It wasn’t until he was an adult that Dr. Nelson began supplementing his diet with probiotics, which he claims opened his eyes, improved his digestion, and turned him into a much happier and healthier person. Now, with Probiotic America, he’s able to focus on formulating “cutting edge probiotic supplements” based on “the latest nutritional breakthroughs” that could very well help you bring your digestive system back into balance. After all, like Dr. Nelson, you might not even realize that you’re suffering in the first place!

Should You Purchase Probiotic America’s Supplement?

Chopping to the Point: Overall, probiotics have helped millions of people find relief from a variety of “gut” issues, including gas, bloating, IBS, diarrhea, and much more. Because of this, many of the strains contained in Probiotic America could possibly help you experience the same.

However, it’s important that you put your expectations into perspective. In other words, if you think taking Perfect Biotics will automatically send your immune system through the roof; that your stomach problems will be a thing of the past; or that you’ll have perfect oral health, you’re bound to be disappointed. On the other hand, if you want relief from mild to moderate bloating and gassiness, probiotics such as Perfect Biotics may help. Just be sure to speak with your physician first.

Finally, because there are so many probiotics from which you can choose, including multiple ones at your local pharmacy—many of which are priced lower than Perfect Biotics, you might want to search near your home first. And don’t worry; many modern probiotics manufacturers include proprietary technology to ensure your bottle contains the maximum number of CFUs, regardless of how long it’s been sitting on a store shelf.

SEE ALSO: Probiotics 101: Their Benefits, How They Work, & Foods That Contain Them

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

868 Consumer Reviews for Probiotic America

Average Consumer Rating: 4.7
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 652 4 star: 173 3 star: 19 2 star: 9 1 star:  15
Bottom Line: 96% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 868
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • Experience with ulcerative colitis

    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Nov 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I’ve dealt with ulcerative colitis since the age of 16, and the Probiotic America Complete Biotics makes a huge difference in reducing my UC symptoms and helps my digestion. I've been taking it for about half a year now.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Our family story

    • Jackson, WY,
    • Nov 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have a member of our family who suffers with Crohn's disease. Since being diagnosed 3 years ago, our family now uses the Perfect Digest and the Biotics Slim every day. It has helped my daughter along with other nutrition changes. It has kept her from having to turn to the pharma industry or surgery. So grateful.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Great product

    • Nebraska,
    • Nov 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been taking Probiotics for awhile not and I'm amazed at how great I feel. I honestly didn't know if I would notice a difference, but my stomach hasn't hurt in months when typically it would be 3-4 nights a week I would end up with an upset stomach. I now have my husband take it, and I will continue to take it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Preventing C. Diff

    • Tennessee,
    • Oct 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    In March of 2015, my husband (who has a very complex medical history) contracted C. Diff following an episode of pneumonia. He spent the next 6 and 1/2 months either in the hospital or at a rehab center trying to regain his strength (with only 2-3 weeks at home after each discharge from a rehab facility). The cause of C. Diff (for the uninitiated) is a failure to maintain a proper balance of good and bad bacteria in the gut, usually brought on by the indiscriminate use of antibiotics when the cause of an infection is unknown.

    Having been introduced to Perfect Biotics earlier that year, I decided to order some for my husband "to see if it would work for him." During our hospital follow-up visit, I took one of the bottles in to show the GI specialist. He said it couldn't hurt him, and it might very well break the cycle of re-infestation of the C. Diff.

    To make a long story short, my husband has not had another episode of C. Diff since he began taking Perfect Biotics in October 2015 (and he has had several episodes of pneumonia and the flu just in the last 12 months). Of course, they don't give him Perfect Biotics in the hospital or in any inpatient rehab facility, so upon discharge, I usually increase the dosage for a few weeks...especially after a course of antibiotics for a case of pneumonia.

    We will never be without Perfect Biotics again. It has been a life saver in more ways than one.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Good

    • Cloverdale, OH,
    • Oct 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This probiotic has cured my IBS-c/d a few years ago. I quit taking it for a couple years, but now I am taking it in hopes it restores me from a 40-day round of antibiotics. I have seen lots of improvement in my mood, sleep, and digestion since I was poisoned with the antibiotics.

    One problem I have with it is that my metabolism is too fast already, and I am wondering if the probiotic is the cause of some of this. I am 5'8" 155lbs and eat like a horse. I am wondering if you have some suggestions.

    I have been taking the it everyday for a strong 6 months. I did a bone broth fast for a 3-day weekend, so I took 2 a day during the fast and for about 2 weeks after. I am trying to eat as healthy as I can to get through this. I hope I never need antibiotics again because this has been one of the toughest fights I have had in life.

    Also, how long until you would think it will take to reach a total restore in my gut? I took the probiotic while I was on the antibiotic and a few weeks afterword, but stopped with the pro too soon. I believe my gut was overrun by terrible yeast and bacteria. I had a cortisone shot to help with allergies and that was a total failure for my health too. Antibiotics I was done with around Christmas of 2017 and the cortisone was on 5/8/18. It was just in the last few weeks that I started sleeping halfway decent. Any ideas or questions are welcome.

    I don't have my order number handy but may be able to find it if necessary. I have ordered from you many times over the years. Antibiotic was #56 Ciprofloxacin HCL 500MG. I also have terrible anxiety but that is improving too, but not gone. I could give you details about this mess all day. You have a wonderful product!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Positive effects of Perfect Biotics and Perfect Digest

    I can’t remember how I stumbled upon an ad for these products. I was not well at the time and ended up ordering both Perfect Biotics and Perfect Digest. That was over a year ago. The two together worked wonders. My Fibromyalgia got better. I had more energy. And although I still battle some blood sugar issues, they are better when I take both products. My immune system is strong. When others are falling ill, I seem to fight off the infections from which others suffer. I need to order more.

    This will be my third six-week reorder for the Perfect Biotics. With my last order, I did not have the cash for the Perfect Digest. I do regret this and will correct on my next order.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 29, 2018

      Lorelai, Customer Advocate

      Hello Michelle,

      My name is Lorelai with Probiotic America. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am so excited to hear that you have seen an improvement in your health since using Perfect Biotics and Perfect Digest. If you have any questions please email me at lorelai@probioticamerica.com Thank you!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Probiotic America products have changed my life

    • Tallahassee, FL,
    • Dec 29, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been taking Probiotic America products for two years. I have tried nearly all of their products over this period of time and after many periods of trials, I found that Perfect Biotics (probiotic), Perfect Flora (preflora) and the GI Secure (powder) is the best daily combination for me to take (I suggest you embark on your own trials to see what combination works best for you). I also take a multivitamin and Omega3 (Whole Foods) with my Probiotic America products. I currently take this combination with my breakfast, but, I don't think it would matter when a person took them so long as they are taken at the same time each day and ALWAYS WITH A MEAL.

    I have the three products on an auto-subscription and receive a discount. Personally, I feel better today than I have in over 25 years. I now regularly exercise (OrangeTheory), eat much healthier and no longer worry about having the problems associated with an unhealthy gut. Also, I recommend watching the Perfect Biotics video; it's about 58 minutes long.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    It's helping

    I don't have so many bouts of diarrhea as I used to have. Since I had my gallbladder out, my doctor recommended I start taking a probiotic to bring this condition under control. I would definitely recommend this product to my friends.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 13, 2017

      Lorelai, Customer Advocate

      Hi John! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! It is so great to hear that our Probiotic America supplement was able to get your condition under control. This is great news! Thank you for letting us know about your experience. If you ever have any questions, please feel free to email me at Lorelai@probioticamerica.com.

    • Apr 20, 2018

      Shyamala badrinath

      Interesting!

    • Jul 17, 2018

      Denise M.

      I need to place an order.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Good review

    I have been diagnosed with IBS constipation. I have been using Perfect Biotics for many months now and have found them to be very helpful to keep my stomach calm! I continue to eat a serving of yogurt (Chobani Greek Plain Non-Fat Yogurt) a day and am very careful to drink 8+ glasses of water a day.

    When I occasionally have a stomach upset, I simply increase my yogurt consumption.

    Since Perfect Biotics plus yogurt works so well for me, I have not tried any of your other products. Perfect Biotics is working, so I am not willing to change what is working! Thank you!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 13, 2017

      Lorelai, Customer Advocate

      Hi Virginia! I'm Lorelai from Probiotic America! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review about your experience. It is so great to hear that Perfect Biotics has helped calm your stomach down while suffering from IBS. It sounds that you've found the perfect personal formula for your stomach issues. We truly appreciate having you as a part of the Probiotic America family. Please feel free to email me directly at lorelai@probioticamerica.com if you ever have any questions!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    The best probiotics!

    • Johnstown, PA,
    • Nov 2, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Perfect Biotics are the best; you won't be disappointed. They revive your gut! I have been taking them for over a year, and they really work. You will feel like a new person! They worked so good for me that my wife is taking them also. She said she feels so much better; no gas, no bloating!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 13, 2017

      Lorelai, Customer Advocate

      Hi John! Wow! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so glad that Perfect Biotics has been able to help you, and your wife's gut health! This is so great to hear. If you ever have any questions, please feel free to reach out to me at lorelai@probioticamerica.com. Thank you!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    A proper probiotic

    I ran across Perfect Biotics by a fluke. I had been plugging some of my various Gastrointestinal symptoms into the Google Search bar and an add popped up. I normally quickly disregard these adds, but for some reason, I clicked on it and the next thing I knew I was purchasing my first order of Perfect Biotics. It was a little spendy, and I was a little skeptical, but figured it was worth a shot.

    Over the next few months of taking these probiotics, I noticed improvement, but you know how it goes and how quickly we forget about our issues if we don't have them anymore. It wasn't until I inadvertently stopped taking probiotics that I realized how much of a positive effect they were having on my digestion! My gas and bloating improved significantly while I was taking Perfect Biotics and I am about to get back into my daily routine of taking them and looking forward to feeling so much better.

    Yes they are a little bit expensive, but YES, they are worth it!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 13, 2017

      Lorelai, Customer Advocate

      Hi Shannon! We are so glad you happened to stumble across our ad and decided to take a chance on Perfect Biotics! It sounds like this worked out perfectly for you, we are so glad to hear that. Thank you so much for being a part of the Probiotic America family! If you ever have any questions, you can e-mail me at lorelai@probioticamerica.com. Thank you!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 868

Write a Review for Probiotic America!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review