About Pure Garcinia Cambogia

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Jan 28, 2014

According to the Pure Garcinia Cambogia website, their weight loss extract contains 60% HCA, which has been clinically shown to be “the key to fat reduction.” The company claims that their supplement is 100% pure and natural, and is completely free of fillers or harmful ingredients (see more about this in the final section).

Pure Garcinia Cambogia is based out of Pasadena, CA, and has an F rating with the Better Business Bureau, which is based on 13 closed complaints over the past three years. With such a generic company name it was difficult to locate any legitimate online reviews, though the most common complaints regarding generic garcinia cambogia appear to be high price and failure to work as advertised.

How Pure Garcinia Cambogia Works

Similar to Garcinia Cambogia Premium and Whole Body Garcinia Cambogia, Pure Garcinia Cambogia contains 60% (HCA), which is claimed to help boost metabolism and reduce visceral fat. According to the Pure Garcinia Cambogia website, in order to start realizing these benefits you’ll need to take just two capsules per day, each of which is 100% natural and pure, and contains the following ingredients:

  • Calcium 50mg
  • Chromium 200mcg
  • Potassium 50mg
  • Garcinia Cambogia Extract 60% HCA 1,000mg

Important Note: While each bottle of 60 capsules is manufactured in the U.S. in a GMP certified lab, keep in mind that calcium (a primary ingredient in Pure Garcinia Cambogia) has been shown to reduce any purported benefits provided by HCA.

In addition, despite the two clinical trials referenced on the Pure Garcinia Cambogia website here and here, there have been a wide variety of scientific papers published on the National Institutes of Health website that make it fairly clear the science behind many of these claims remains suspect. For further reading, also see our in-depth article titled Can Garcinia Cambogia Really Help You Lose Weight?

Pure Garcinia Cambogia Pricing & Refund Policy

Pure Garcinia Cambogia is currently available only from the manufacturer, in four different purchasing options:

  • Buy 1 Bottle – $48
  • Buy 2 Bottles, Get 1 Free - $98 ($32.67 each)
  • Buy 3 Bottles, Get 2 Free - $148 ($29.60 each)
  • Buy 4 Bottles, Get 3 Free - $195 ($27.86 each)

As of the time of this writing, shipping was free on all packages.

Pure Garcinia Cambogia comes with a 30-day money back guarantee, though you’ll need to contact customer service at (888) 492-0802 or Support@PureGarciniaCambogia.com to obtain a Return Merchandise Authorization (RMA) number beforehand. For complete details, see “Return Policy” here.

Bottom Line: Is Pure Garcinia Cambogia a Scam?

While Pure Garcinia Cambogia does appear to be a legitimate product, there are some significant concerns regarding the quality of the supplement. Here’s why:

First and foremost, it’s ironic that the company wrote the following on their How it Works section: “The problem is when manufacturers attempt to put out an inferior product and reduce its effectiveness.” This is because calcium, one of the primary ingredients in Pure Garcinia Cambogia, has been shown to significantly reduce any benefits provided by hydroxycitric acid (HCA). And frankly, any company worth their salt would know this.

Second, many of the claims cited in the studies listed on the Pure Garcinia Cambogia website have been overblown, and/or are based on incomplete science. For a fairly brief overview of this, please see our Garcinia Cambogia article.

Finally, it’s once again ironic that the company writes, “How many Garcinia Cambogia supplements have you seen being sold by companies that did not exist only a few months ago? A simple Google search will yield you 50+ companies who tout their product as the best.” This is because the company’s URL was only registered in October 2012, which was right around the time Dr. Oz first touted the benefits on his TV show.

Ultimately, as with any nutritional supplement, be sure to consult with your physician if you’re thinking about taking Pure Garcinia Cambogia extract.


Read 22 Pure Garcinia Cambogia Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 1 4 star: 0 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  21
Bottom Line: 5% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 22
Sort reviews by:

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Does not work

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Jun 30, 2015

    Saw this company on Facebook. Ordered two bottles. Followed all the instructions. After finishing both bottles I did not experience any of the results promised on their website. I did not lose a single pound. This product does not work.

    One thing I did notice, that I was more susceptible to a cold. It was as if my immune system was weakened by this supplement. I got a cold a few times while taking them.

    Bottom line: This Garcinia Cambogia supplement does not work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy

    • Portage, IN,
    • Aug 12, 2015

    Been taking Garcinia Cambodia for a month. Twice a day 30 minutes before meals. No weight loss, no energy, had strange pain in my head for the first week. Stuff doesn't work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Does Not Work

    • Ennismore, ON,
    • Jul 1, 2015

    I tried as per the instructions, and lost nothing. I am also trying to get a refund as promised, if I tried for 30 day (full refund if not satisfied) the web site does not exist and the phone number is not in service. How are you supposed to get your money back? Beware. I am still trying to locate this company for a refund and will not give up till I get one. For the product does not promise what is claimed. Next time I will stick to HCG diet for I know it works.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Does not work

    • United States,
    • Jul 2, 2015

    I clicked on this product from Facebook, and I begun getting calls almost immediately. I told the woman I really didn't want the pills, but almost felt harassed to get them. She called me back several times. I was promised a 30 day supply for 9.99. I took the pills as directed for 14 day as directed. Nothing happened. I experienced horrible headaches. I called the company, and she told me that I had to send the pills back, even though they told me the pills were for a 30 day supply. Beware, I sent the pills back and they still took 80 dollars out of my account. I asked them to please not charge me for the pills, and used my money to send them back, and they still charged me. I am very upset. Do not buy this product. I will call until I get my money back. Big scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    The Only Thing You Lose is Money

    • New York,
    • Aug 25, 2014

    Buyer Beware this is a marketing scam that preys on people.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    No refunds?

    • Georgia,
    • Nov 18, 2014

    I was very excited to find the "free" trial. When ordering I mistakenly pushed the wrong button (or so, I was informed that is what happened). I was expecting two charges for shipping and handling. My first charge was for $7.95, and the second charge was for $ 89.74. The phone number listed with the second charge was for a different company. I was lucky enough to have a very nice and helpful man answer the phone. Letting me know I wasn't the only person who had this trouble. I did speak to a customer service person, who was kind enough to give me a 45% refund. Even though they DO NOT give refunds. I did let her know the phone number on the second charge was wrong, and maybe she should inform someone of this mistake. I just got a very bad feeling from this whole experience. And, I am very doubtful that this actually works. If it was such a great product, they would have no problem giving full refunds and making happy repeat customers. Instead, they have a one time very unhappy customer. Customer service #1- 877-635-0841.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 8 people found this review helpful

    It's a Scam

    • Nov 20, 2014

    The two bottle are not for less than $10. You will be charges another $90 each for the bottle. It's in their terms and conditions. Very small print. It's just scams you into paying $200 for two bottle that don't work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    I got scammed with this.

    • Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada,
    • Jul 17, 2015

    Watch where you buy online because I got scammed into paying $250.00. The customer service was no help. Please don't fall into the same scam as I did with this Pure Garcinia Cambogia.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Stay away

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Apr 28, 2015

    I have never felt so scammed before in my life! Silly me for believing this was a legitimate company! I assumed all was good when I just got billed for the shipping. Then about a month after I had the bottles, they charged me $78 per bottle. And I thought it was a "free" sample! What a scam! Customer service was no help and blamed it on me. I have no clue where they hid there "terms and conditions" but there's no refund! What a joke! Please stay away! I will do it the old fashioned way!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    They're a rip off.

    • Stilwell, OK,
    • May 24, 2015

    They took my money and I have never seen a single bottle of pills. Now their phone numbers don't work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Never received products

    • West unity ohio,
    • Jun 15, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    Paid for products but never received. Company is a fraud. I tried calling and left messages but now even their number is no good.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 22

Write a Review for Pure Garcinia Cambogia!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review