About Quip Toothbrush

Quip Toothbrush is an online subscription service that promises to help you simplify your oral health. How?

First, Quip’s attractively designed electric toothbrushes include only the features you need and exclude those you don’t. You’ll have just one mode (a 2-minute timer with 30 second intervals), gentle vibrations with no harsh rotations, a slim design that’s travel-ready, and replaceable heads with soft, round tip bristles.

Second, Quip’s subscription plans (more about this soon) come with anti-cavity fluoride toothpaste that includes “only the ingredients your teeth need.” And since you’ll only need a pea-sized portion, the company claims one tube can last you up to 3 months.

Finally, Quip claims they’ve partnered with dentists to provide proper oral care advice, which can help improve your routine, technique, upkeep, and more.

Although Quip Toothbrushes are the result of “years of research and design,” does this mean they’re worth the price? Should you opt for a single purchase, or for monthly refills? What are customers saying? In this Quip Toothbrush review, we’ll take an in-depth look at what you might expect, so you can make a more informed decision.

What Features Does a Quip Toothbrush Provide?

The “Why” Behind Quip

According to their website, Quip is out to simply the process of caring for your teeth. Instead of focusing their research and development on bristle angles or other features that might provide 0.25% better performance, Quip claims they wanted to address the core factors that lead to teeth problems; namely:

  • Brushing too hard
  • Not brushing long enough
  • Not brushing twice a day
  • Not replacing your brush often enough

As a result, they “set about creating a more honest, accessible and simple oral care line that would cut out the excess to help focus on the basics that really matter.”

Quip Toothbrush Features

Powered by a single AAA battery that will last up to 3 months, Quip’s motor features the same vibration frequency (15,000 RPM) that you’ll find with most standard vibrating toothbrushes. Quip also uses a single pulse every 30 seconds to remind you to change quadrants (upper left, bottom left, upper right, bottom right), although this isn’t necessarily unique among electric toothbrushes. It also features a 2-minute timer to remind you to stop brushing, so you don’t damage your teeth or gums.

The base/handle of each Quip Toothbrush is available in either durable matte-finished ABS plastic or precision CNC'd aluminum. Quip’s soft brush head (there are no medium or firm options, which the company claims can damage your teeth and gums) attaches to each base and features 1,200 DuPont nylon bristles inserted into 34 tufts.

All Quip Toothbrushes also come with a travel cover that mounts to any glossy surface via a reusable suction strip, which also doubles as a storage container.

What’s the price for all these features?

How Much Do Quip Toothbrushes Cost?

Quip Toothbrushes are available in 6 colors: Silver Metal, Slate Metal, Copper Metal, Gold Metal, Green Plastic, and Blue Plastic. Each purchase includes the option to sign up for automatic brush and toothpaste refills, or just the toothbrush itself at a slightly higher price.

Starter Sets

Includes Quip Toothbrush, 1 replacement head, regular and travel size toothpaste:

  • Plastic Handle: $25 ($40 without refills)
  • Metal Handle: $40 ($55 without refills)

Brush and toothpaste refills cost $10 refill and are shipped once every 3 months. Alternately, you can pay for a year in advance, with free refills for a year: $65.

Brush Sets

Includes Quip Toothbrush only (no toothpaste):

  • Plastic Handle: $30 ($35 without refills)
  • Metal Handle: $45 ($50 without refills)

Brush refills are sent every 3 months and priced at $5. Prepaying for refills a year in advance will cost you $55.

Group Sets

Electric Couple Set – Includes 2 quip electric brushes, 2 refill heads, and small and large toothpastes: $75 ($100 without refills)

Electric Family Set – Includes 4 quip electric brushes, 4 refill heads, and small and large toothpastes: $150 ($200 without refills)

Additional Items

  • Toothbrush Head: $5 (same price, with or without refills)
  • Toothpaste 4.7oz: $5 (same price, with or without refills)
  • Travel Cover Mount: $5
  • White Plastic Manual Toothbrush: $10 ($5 refills every 3 months)

Keep in mind that refill plans are optional, ship free, and can be canceled at any time, although they cannot be paused. Without a refill plan, shipping will cost you $5.

The company provides a lifetime guarantee on all Quip Toothbrushes that are associated with an active refill plan, along with a 30-day refund policy.

Pro tip: According to Quip’s website: “We charge shipping ($5 for a single brush plan, $10 for a couple plan and $15 for a family plan) to cover the return shipping cost and deduct it from your credit card refund unless you ship using your own means.”

In order to request a refund, customer service can be reached at help@getquip.com or via online chat.

Although Quip isn’t the lowest priced electric toothbrush on the market, it’s certainly near the bottom. Outside of price though, what are customers saying about its performance?

Quip Toothbrush Reviews

Quip had been on the market for well over a year at the time of our research, and featured on many high-profile websites, including TechCrunch, Engadget, Popular Mechanics, and more. In most of these instances, they were high-level overviews or only provided insight into the company’s business model.

However, the author of this Fast Company article (and her husband) had a chance to try out a Quip Toothbrush and found: “As a user of one of the fancier models of the Sonicare electric toothbrushes, the Quip brush didn't feel as powerful or as satisfying to me. However, my husband, who uses a manual toothbrush, found the brush to be a step up from his everyday routine.”

Stephen Pulvirent over at Bloomberg had an opportunity to use a Quip Toothbrush for a while, and claimed that it looked great and that he “genuinely enjoyed” using it. He didn’t love the taste of the toothpaste though, and noted that the plastic model “felt hollow and a little too lightweight.”

In the end, the author felt that Quip’s toothbrush is “practical, reasonably priced, and still gives you that much-needed dose of mild, self-satisfied futurism.”

Finally, Dave Lee provides us with a quick but informative video review of his experience with Quip’s subscription service. He noted that he didn’t like Quip’s first generation toothbrushes, but that these second gen versions seemed to be a big upgrade.

Overall, he felt that the metal handle was nicely weighted, the head felt secure when attached, it has a stronger head vibration, and that they did a “really good job” on the aesthetics. In the end, he claimed to have had a “really solid brushing experience.”

Who Founded Quip?

Quip was founded by industrial designer Simon Enever and product designer Bill May, who wanted to help people take better care of their teeth by simplifying the process. Simon came from NY-based design agency ECCO, whereas Bill previously worked for Lifetime Brands.

Prior to launching as Quip, it appears the company initially attempted to raise funding through an Indiegogo crowdfunding campaign under the brand name byDefault, which didn’t meet its goal of $60K.

Is Quip a Serious Electric Toothbrush Contender?

When it comes down to it, Quip is upfront and honest about the results you might expect: “The truth is, a correctly used, soft bristle $5 manual toothbrush is just as effective as a $25 quip electric toothbrush which is just as effective as a $250 electric one! The issue is, us humans aren't the best at using them!”

And this is where the company seems to shine. Based on what we learned during our research and from customer reviews, they seem to offer a quality product at a reasonable price, along with a convenient refill program that can be easily canceled at any time. They also come with mostly positive online customer feedback.

To top everything off, Quip’ toothbrushes come with a 30-day refund policy, so you’ll only be out of few dollars in S&H for giving them a try.

Tell us about your Quip experience by writing a review below!

Want to Learn Expert Tips for Online Safety?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our Complete Online Safety e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

52 Consumer Reviews for Quip Toothbrush

Average Consumer Rating: 2.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 14 4 star: 4 3 star: 3 2 star: 9 1 star:  22
Bottom Line: 37% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 52
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Absolutely terrible customer service and bad toothbrushes

    I ordered their two brush and toothpaste set with a 50% off promo code. Throughout the order process, the discount was displayed, showing me 50% off. Instead of being $75, my total came to half off at $37.50. The toothbrushes came, and my credit card was charged the full $75.

    I called to address this issue, but an automated service told me I had to email my question (while their phone number is available on their website, they have absolutely no over the phone customer service, they force you to send an email, so they do not have to directly deal with customer concerns). So I wrote and explained my issue. They acted like it was my fault that their website accepted what they said was an expired promo code. They told me it was not possible that their website accepted the promo code. Well, it was possible, I even supplied screenshots of the purchase process because they promo code continued to work for me. This discussion went back and worth, but they would admit to no fault at all. They didn't accept any blame and insisted that this was my problem.

    So, in the end, I could only do a standard return, this meant that I could return the products, but they would deduct $10 from my return in order to cover their shipping costs. Despite my many objections, they insisted this was all they could do. Again, this was completely Quip's error, but I had to pay for it. They are a dirty company with the lowest quality of customer service. DO NOT give your money to Quip!

    AND not only was the customer service experience terrible, but the toothbrushes were terrible! There is a reason you don't see more toothbrushes made out of thick and stiff silicone, it's just not good for teeth and gums! Dentists recommend soft and extra soft bristles because you don't want to hurt your mouth with something so abrasive!

    Again DON'T BUY these toothbrushes! DON'T support Quip!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Deplorable customer service

    • New York City, NY,
    • Nov 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    My Quip says "delivered," but it never arrived. Customer service is leaving the burden on me to find out what happened with USPS. I do not think it is my responsibility to file a complaint with the Post Office for a product that wasn’t delivered. Quip should be responsible for following up. After several emails with Quip, they have stopped responding. After waiting for a response and never receiving one after several emails, I had to put the charge in dispute with my credit card company. Very disappointed!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Sorry product

    I'm so sorry I got sucked into this product. It sounded so nice online. Nice looking toothbrush, timely refills, stick it on a surface to have it handy. So sorry. This toothbrush does not clean my teeth. The bristles feel like plastic. I prefer the bristles on my Sonicare. After trying the brush for about a week, I had to follow up my brushing with my Sonicare. I wish I could get my money back, but I threw everything away.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    What a waste

    • Boston, MA,
    • Nov 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hands down one of the worst experiences I’ve ever had, the brush surpassed by only their horrid customer service. They insist on using subpar shipping (DHL e-commerce), which is so bad they even warn you on their FAQ page. Every single refill says one was delayed and required follow up. Half the time the battery wouldn’t be included either. Every single time I was told to just wait longer.

    The first brush stopped working after two months, the second after four. The brush heads would fall off every time I tried to brush. Instead of wasting my time contacting them yet again, I cut my losses and put them in the trash where they belonged.

    I’m sure the default follow up here will be how my experience is not indicative of what they usually see along with some excuses, yet another shining example of their customer service; make excuses and hope the problem goes away. Well, in this case, they’re right, I’m gone and have no intention of wishing this brush on anyone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Not what I was hoping for

    • Massachusetts,
    • Nov 2, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Quip's ads really won me over - this thing looked so sleek and stylish, and I needed a travel electric toothbrush for my extended trips abroad that didn't involve so many cords.

    To be fair, it is certainly stylish. And the timer is great. However, the vibrations felt so light, I just didn't feel like my teeth were really getting clean. The power feels wimpy compared to my Sonicare.

    I know with Sonicare they say not to manually move the brush around, just lightly glide it across your teeth while the brush pulses. I tried to figure out if maybe I was using Quip incorrectly - maybe with this model you are supposed to do more traditional tooth-brushing movements, but I couldn't find any info.

    The design is also lacking once you look past the sleek looks. The rounded bottom means that this brush can't sit upright. However, the back of the brush has a raised tongue compressor, so if you try to set it down on the sink, it'll just roll over to the side.

    The biggest issue is the vibrations though - I just can't get over feeling like my teeth aren't really as clean as they should be after using it. I still take it on overnights and small trips, but it definitely doesn't instill enough confidence to make it a fulltime toothbrush replacement.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Great when switching from manual!

    • Nashville, TN,
    • Oct 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've always used a manual toothbrush because I felt that electric toothbrushes were too harsh on my teeth. Not only that, but I travel often for work, so electric brushes are too bulky to me. Quip solved both of those issues for me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Unimpressed

    • San Luis Obispo, CA,
    • Oct 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    The short answer is, don’t waste your time. My teeth did not feel clean, and I returned it pretty promptly. For reference, I only bought it due to my electric toothbrush jumping off the counter and ceasing function.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 18, 2017

      Laura, Community Manager

      Hi Rebekah,

      We are so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your QUip!

      We can see that our help team has provided further information on some misconceptions regarding stronger vibrations equaling a better clean.

      We choose to keep Quip on "sensitive" mode because the level of "buzz" your brush has is not what effects your oral health, it matters how well you brush. So we found that people (and their gums) often prefer a more gentle, comfortable and quiet brushing sensation. However, it all comes down to personal preference as the best brush for you is one that encourages you to brush two times a day, for a full two minutes using fresh soft bristles.

      We hope this helps explain why we chose sensitive vibrations. We sorry to hear you didn't enjoy the Quip sensation and thank you for giving Quip a try!

    • Oct 19, 2017

      Rebekah Akins

      I use my electric toothbrush on sensitive, my teeth feel nice and clean. Nice try though!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Save your money

    • Paris, France,
    • Oct 17, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This product is all style and zero substance.

    My husband and I ordered two toothbrushes for ourselves plus a year's worth of toothbrush heads (we put too much blind faith in this product and the filtered reviews that appear on its website).

    Upon receipt, we followed the instructions to mount the holders, and both fell from the wall within days. On top of that, the bottom of the holder that you are meant to remove to drain it from time to time, also fell out multiple times. We've since installed totally new holders only to have them fall again. We don't even bother trying to use the bottoms because they just fall out and drop our toothbrushes into the sink.

    Beyond the holder, the toothbrush itself is incredibly faulty. The head on my Quip Toothbrush would not attach to the base all the way and about a week in it just stopped working.

    We contacted customer service, and they did not respond. We had to follow up again, and then they asked us to send detailed photos of the problem and acted as though they didn't know what was wrong and as if they hadn't had never encountered this problem before. After constant follow up from our end and useless photo taking, before agreeing to send a replacement, we had to send them a photo that showed we had cut the ring on the current base to prove we wouldn't use it again. I find this completely absurd.

    First, your product breaks on me. I have to jump through hoops and follow up multiple times to get assistance. Then I have to prove to you that I won't be using your crap broken product again in order to get a replacement? Never mind the fact we'd thrown out our other toothbrushes, so I was using the Quip as a regular toothbrush for a month while I waited to get a replacement.

    On top of this, I talked to the only other person who I know that also owns a Quip and she had the EXACT SAME PROBLEM with the brush. So I am 100% sure that this is a known issue with the Quip and rather than apologizing to me when I had the problem, they made me send photos of the toothbrush from all different angles to prove something was wrong.

    Horrible customer service. Horrible product. So much regret. Just don't do it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 18, 2017

      Laura, Community Manager

      Hi Kelly,

      We are so sorry to hear that you experienced some trouble with your Quip.

      We reply to all emails within 24 hours, and eight hours on average. We do our best to do the same on weekends. We believe we have found your email thread which we responded to within our normal reply time. If you are not seeing our initial reply in your main inbox, we always recommend checking your spam or promotions folder in the case our response has landed there.

      The troubleshooting and the photos that are requested are done so that we can do our best to address the issue as quickly as possible. Also, to make sure that this does not happen again and to address the problem as fast and thoroughly as possible. Not to acquire proof of a problem.

      In the case that we cannot identify the exact issue through troubleshooting/photos, we simply ask to cut the o-rings on your Quip. We understand that international shipping can be costly, so we do not ask our customers from overseas to send their Quip in for a replacement. This will not stop the functionality of your Quip while your free replacement is being sent as it can be used as a manual toothbrush.

      International shipping is an estimate of 15 business days and we, unfortunately, are not able to control the end delivery time as this will rely on both US and International shipping carriers, as well as customs. Looking at the tracking for your replacement, we can see that it did arrive in France within the 15 business days.

      We can assure you that Quip, which is manufactured in the same facilities using the same parts and processes as major brands, has no known issues. We have hundreds of thousands of members and so you would see far more than 20 comments on review websites like this if there were a common issue.

      We again are so sorry that you experienced any issues with your Quip and for any misunderstanding while troubleshooting. Our team at help@getquip.com are always happy to help.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Waste of money, time and energy

    • New York,
    • Oct 14, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered this toothbrush with all the same thoughts in mind as the other reviews, and I even recommended it to my sister who bought 2! She ordered it with $10 extra for 2-3 days priority because she was leaving the country and guess what? It's been 4 days and still no toothbrush, and she has left the country! Now they won't even refund the $10 she paid for them to send it to her in 2-3 days.

    Bad, false advertising because now they don't want to refund my sister the $10. I will be returning her toothbrushes! I've already complained to the Better Business Bureau!

    Now, I got my toothbrush and started using it and wow, what a BAD toothbrush. It barely vibrates, and it doesn't remove the stains on my teeth that my own Sonicare removes. I will be returning this and definitely not recommending it to ANYONE! DO NOT BUY unless you want to waste your time and energy and money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 18, 2017

      Laura, Community Manager

      Hi Julie,

      We are so sorry to hear you had some trouble with your shipment. As we state directly on our shipping page during checkout, priority shipping is an estimate of 2-3 business days. This is also included on our help page which is available both before and after ordering.

      We can see you had placed your order the Sunday before Columbus Day which is a postal holiday so your order was picked up on the first business day back (Tuesday). We, unfortunately, cannot control the end delivery time as this will rely on the shipping carrier directly. We can also see that our help team refunded your $10 priority shipping for you because your package had arrived on the fourth business day.

      Regarding the vibrations of Quip, unfortunately, there are many misconceptions in oral care that we are trying to correct. One of the worst is “the more power, the better the clean”. There is actually no difference in how well a toothbrush can clean your teeth between a manual, gently vibrating, vigorously vibrating or rotating toothbrush if they are all being used correctly and have soft bristles.

      As we mention on our website and in our welcome materials, the key to maintaining good oral health is solely based on your technique, routine and electric brushes are recommended by dentists because they help encourage and guide better brushing.

      We certainly cannot speak to personal preference, as the best brush for you is one that encourages you to brush two times a day, for a full two minutes with fresh soft bristles.

      We are sorry to hear that Quip didn't work out for you, and thank you for giving it a try.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Great, when it works

    • Washington, DC,
    • Oct 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This thing is amazing. It is beautiful, slim, sleek, and modern. It works great for traveling since it has a great travel tube with it. I love that I can stick it onto my mirror (it can be removed and replaced an endless amount of times) to keep the bathroom table area clean.

    I recently changed my brush head and noticed it was going a bit...weird. It would vibrate while the brush head was not on. When I would place it back on, it would not vibrate. Then it just stopped working. So I thought, maybe the battery died. I went out and purchased batteries and replaced them. Still, it doesn't work. Hey, at least I have a really sleek looking manual brush.

    I am planning on contacting Customer Service today and hopefully get to a resolution because I really do like the brush itself and just bought my husband one and he loves it too.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 18, 2017

      Laura, Community Manager

      Hi M,

      We are so sorry to hear you are having some trouble with your Quip!

      We are happy to hear that you have been enjoying it so far. Our team at help@getquip.com would be happy to assist you with the issues you are experiencing and help you utilize your plan's lifetime guarantee!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 10 people found this review helpful

    $55 toothbrush stopped working after 5 weeks

    • Sep 22, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've had the toothbrush for 5 weeks. This morning, I pressed the button and nothing happened. I pressed the button 25 more times and nothing happened. I spent $55 on a toothbrush and it lasted FIVE WHOLE WEEKS. Is this some kind of joke? I've used the $6 disposable electric toothbrushes for years, and not one of them has ever stopped working.

    I just filed a complaint with Quip, but after reading these comments, I assume they are going to ask for photos. How about a video of it NOT working?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 24, 2017

      Laura, Community Manager

      Hi Becca!

      So sorry to hear you had an issue. We have been shipping Quip to hundreds of thousands of people over the last two years, so we hope you can understand that you and the 20 others on here are a small list that has, unfortunately, had an issue. Luckily your lifetime guarantee (if you are on a plan, which it sounds like you are) has you covered and we can't wait to help!

      We actually don't have a $55 toothbrush model. Quip plastic brushes start at $25 and the premium metal options at $40. It sounds like you may have chosen to prepay for a metal handle plus a whole year of refills for the $55.

      As mentioned, issues are extremely rare, so like any company, we need to make sure we understand what has happened otherwise, we will not know how to fix it properly. Most companies ask you to send your product back for inspection, but we know that can be a hassle, so we instead ask you a couple of questions and for a photo. We have found that most of the time issues come from accidental misuse or misunderstanding, meaning we can often fix remotely and, more importantly, can ensure the issue never happens again.

      We can't wait to get you back with a working Quip!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 52

Write a Review for Quip Toothbrush!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review