Raise Reviews

Raise

Overall Rating

1.6

11 Customer Reviews

Summary

Raise is a peer-to-peer marketplace that allows users to buy and sell gift cards. Learn how customers are reviewing this service.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

1.6 Stars out of 11 Reviews
5 Star:9% 4 Star:9% 3 Star:0% 2 Star:0% 1 Star:81%
18% Recommend This Service
Start your review of Raise:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Dec 24, 2020

Terrible customer service!

By Mike A., California, Verified Reviewer

No card came, impossible to contact them. Turning them into BBB and starting Amex Dispute. USPS is investigating them as well.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Pros and Cons

No “pros” were specified in this review

Customer service

No card came

Posted on Sep 25, 2019

Card invalid but refund denied

By Judy V., California, Verified Reviewer

After purchasing a $2,000 Princess Cruises card on the site, I went to utilize it to pay for my cruise which had to be paid for by that evening. The card would not go through and when I checked the balance on the site it said the card number was invalid. I waited some time and tried repeatedly with the same outcome. Thus, I had to pay for my cruise with a credit card. I filled a card problem with Raise and received no response. I called and a half-hour of waiting on hold repeatedly, I was told it would be resolved. After no response, I emailed regarding the fact that it had not been resolved but received no response from the company. So, I phoned again and after 41 minutes of waiting on hold again, was told that my refund for this invalid card was denied even though they state a Money-Back Guarantee on invalid cards. The reasoning is that now they have supposedly added the funds to the balance of the card, but even if that is true, it was not valid when I needed to use it. Having a balance now does not help me in any way. They did not provide me with the product I purchased and did not stand behind their Money-Back Guarantee. I as the customer received an invalid card, had to email and call repeatedly due to their mistake, had to have both their gift card cost and the cruise payment charged to my card at the same time due to their error and now I am denied the promised refund. That is fraud and false advertising. Don’t believe their guarantee.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Jul 18, 2019

Do not sell gift cards to Raise!

By Selah T., Sacramento, CA, Verified Reviewer

Do not sell your gift cards to Raise, they will not pay you back! I have complained to the BBB and the FTP already but I feel compelled to write on this platform to warn other consumers.

On June 21, 2019 - I listed a gift card on Raise, it sold pretty quickly and I was given a withdrawal receipt once I withdrew. They claimed that it was going to be in my PayPal account within 48 - 72 hours. I waited and nothing.

I reached out to support@raise.com and reached a person by the name of Rhys - who claimed she couldn't help me at all unless I called. I told her I couldn't call because I was in an area with poor cell reception and even downloading those Google call apps did not work for toll-free numbers.

She never responded, I emailed her over and over again with no response.

Finally, I got really frustrated and tweeted Raise and messaged on Instagram. Raise responded via Instagram and we have been going back in forth for the last 4 days with nothing being resolved.

They keep letting me know that it was sent in PayPal but I spoke with PayPal via chat and they saw nothing pending.

The Instagram person stopped responding.

So I filed a BBB and FTC complaint.

So I sold a giant corporation my gift card I got from my birthday that I couldn't use because I am in the military and they took my money and will not return my emails.

They are scammers. I will continue to spread awareness and file as many complaints as possible to make sure I am heard. Just because you are a corporation does not mean you get to treat your consumers like idiots.

Tip for consumers: Use them to buy gift cards but do not sell your gift cards to them.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Mar 20, 2019

Customer service is awful

By Sam J., Washington DC, Verified Reviewer

Customer service is awful. Very rude and unprofessional. Called around 7 pm EST on 3/14/19 and female said she was the only person in the department and no one else to speak to and then hung up on me and deactivated my account. All because I asked to change the phone number. She said I had another account? Wrong. Wouldn't listen to a word I said after she made that assumption and repeatedly cut me off when I tried to speak. I would not trust this company.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 20, 2019

Really bad

By Bonnie C., Minnesota, Verified Reviewer

I purchased a Caribou Coffee gift card in October 2018. I went to use it over Thanksgiving and was told there was no money on the card. Raise initially gave me a refund, then in January, they sent me an email saying they were taking the refund back. I talked to two people who pretty much accused me of being dishonest. In the end, they can only refund me if I can provide "evidence" that I did not use the card! Closing my account!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 16, 2019

Irresponsible customer service

By Yuanxi Z., North Carolina, Verified Reviewer

I got two Chipotle gift cards from Raise. After a while, they stopped working even though there is a balance. Raise supervisors would not do anything to help, rather want me to wait. I will never buy gift cards here again.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 12, 2018

Worst customer service possible.

By Vipin G., Virginia, Verified Reviewer

DO NOT refer anyone for credit, Raise doesn't provide that credit!

I referred four people and none of them or me received reference credit.

So I called them and provided all the details "Email address and phone number of referred people." They said they cannot verify the email.

Now one of the refereed people made a call and provided my details "Email and phone number" and customer service provided the same response to him, that they cannot verify my details.

I am not sure if anyone wants to work with such a system, won't be surprising if they compromise all data!

It's just $5 and no one wants to spend time for that, but just imagine how much money the company will be saving by false advertisements. If you are in the same boat, please like and share so people are aware of this issue.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Aug 21, 2018

Good app

By Matthew L., Oregon, Verified Reviewer

I have been a little skeptical about the Raise app and website, but I have had pretty good luck thus far. I started small with some small gift cards (PlayStation and Red Robin), and they turned out to be legit and usable online and in-store. (It was a minor pain to use the printed out the certificate at Red Robin, but not that bad). iTunes worked well too. The best was Hotels.com; I was able to pay for a Disneyland hotel with a 6% discount using the cards I purchased (all worked). A total savings of $68.50 and the hotel was roughly $1,000. It's not bad for a free app. I don't have any complaints thus far, and I expect to regularly use it at stores that have decent 5-10% price discounts.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Posted on Aug 1, 2018

Not good

By Kelly J., San Diego, CA, Verified Reviewer

I won't say it's a total scam, but it's close. I bought 10 gift cards. Four were invalid. Takes them a week to investigate and they won't issue a refund. Overall, a poor customer service experience. I do not recommend them. Totally not worth the 2% savings.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 2 People Have Voted

Posted on Mar 13, 2018

Guarantee is bull crap

By Brooke Burdick, California, Verified Reviewer

Be careful when buying from here. I purchased a gift card that was "guaranteed," as their website states. However, I went to use the gift card in-store (as was specified as ok to do on the gift card), and the store refused it. They said they no longer will accept third-party gift cards because of issues with fraud. Store policy. I had to pay with my debit card to get the items I spent an hour shopping for.

When I called Raise to have them refund me, they refused. They said I could still use it online. I didn't buy it so I could shop online! I bought it specifically for in-store use, as it said I was able to do. I was told I could sell the gift card if I didn't want to use it. Ummm, excuse me? What a crock of... I am NEVER buying from here again.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Dec 6, 2017

Great way to save on gift cards!

By Brayden, Indiana, Verified Reviewer

Raise is a great way to save money on gift cards to places you make everyday purchases at.

I have saved over $300 by using this site just in the last year. After buying it is a quick and easy delivery and very easy to redeem just like any other gift card.

Great for the holidays.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Showing 1-11 of 11

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.