Red Copper 5 Minute Chef Reviews

Red Copper 5 Minute Chef

Overall Rating

3.0

46 Customer Reviews

Summary

The Red Copper 5 Minute Chef is a specialty cooking device that features a coated copper construction that can cook meals without flipping or folding. See how customers are reviewing this product.

Write a Review

Customer Reviews

3.0 Stars out of 46 Reviews
5 Star:39% 4 Star:4% 3 Star:8% 2 Star:10% 1 Star:36%
46% Recommend This Company
Start your review of Red Copper 5 Minute Chef:
Sort Reviews By

Posted on Dec 17, 2019

Red Copper 5

By Lori M., North Carolina, Verified Reviewer

Have made several omlets with this product...and each time my husband complains of a bad taste. I've noticed the taste also...makes me wonder if it's doing something bad to the body. At first I thought that we just had to cook the new off of it, but after several uses it still makes the food taste funny.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Posted on Dec 12, 2019

Wonderful

By Jim H., Nevada, Verified Reviewer

I use it mostly for cooking eggs. They come out perfect. Cooked sausage first and then the eggs. I also used it to cook a steak, omelet, and some veggies.

For a single guy, it fits my needs perfectly.

The price listed in the review is way too high. Seen it at Walmart for less than $20.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Nov 2, 2019

Love it

By Gail L., Harrisburg, PA, Verified Reviewer

I was lucky to find this at a local discount store for a great price. Had it a few months. I use it daily. I make a pancake or an egg in it for breakfast. No grease and no stick. Made sausage and turkey bacon in it too. A little narrow for bread, but have made grilled cheese by squeezing in the sides of the bread. Great for chicken breasts. Made homemade pizza in it for dinner last night. Great for one person. I wish I had bought a second one because you can only cook one thing at a time, so you have to juggle the order of cooking if you need to make more than one thing. Bottom line, great for small portions, one person, dieters who want to cook without oil, safe for cooking in a camper, small apartment, no flame. Quality seems very good after about 5 months of heavy use.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Posted on Oct 16, 2019

Quite surprised

By Sue M., Cairns, Australia, Verified Reviewer

After seeing my neighbor using his Red Copper 5 Minute Chef with ease (he's male!) I decided to purchase for myself. What a good decision...love it. My youngest Grandson loves his omelets and reckons this is the "bee's knees"!

The only downside is the omelet bloody deflates, but still tastes delicious.

I purchased mine from "Big W", and have had absolutely no issues with it. So easy to use and clean if you read and follow the instructions.

I have read other reviews of the unit exploding, and have come to the conclusion that the lid is been locked whilst cooking. The instructions explicitly say "DO NOT LOCK LID DOWN WHILE COOKING"! Another thing, don't buy this item off eBay and don't buy "copycat" products. Make sure you buy the genuine article!

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Mar 14, 2019

Leggit

By Margie C., Woodcroft, South Australia, Verified Reviewer

I received my Copper pro yesterday and made my first omelet last night, it was FANTASTIC, beautifully cooked and no mess, and for someone like me in a wheelchair and living alone it's going to be fantastic. THANK YOU.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 1 Person Has Voted

Posted on Mar 13, 2019

Works perfectly if you use it correctly!

By Thomas D., Glasgow, Scotland, Verified Reviewer

If you follow instructions to the letter, you shouldn't have any problems. You MUSTN'T lock the lid during cooking, it's only to be locked for storage purposes. If you want to flip the unit during cooking, simply ensure you have a firm grip on the top and bottom of the handle when doing so.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 4 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 23, 2019

A terrible mess?

By Robert E., London, United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

Three trial uses. Sausages twice, chicken burger once, 5 minute is ridiculous, 25 minimum. After use, allow for one hour of cleaning the puddles of grease, and burnt bits in the awkward grooves. It has not melted, but is a bore to use. Better to boil an egg!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 3 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 21, 2019

Smell

By Eliizabeth W., Manchester, United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

I have purchased the 5 Minute Chef from Argos two weeks ago, used it about eight times and wiped clean after each use and it is now smelling fishy, even though I’ve not cooked fish on it. I can’t get rid of the smell no matter what I do. It’s totally unusable, advice needed.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 16, 2019

Beware of FAKES

By John J., Weymouth, United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

I just bought one from eBay. It looked like a good item. It worked well the first two times and did a good job. However, on the third use, the casing MELTED while cooking a burger. I believe it was a FAKE COUNTERFEIT item and electrically unsafe. I am trying to get my money back!

Beware of fakes!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Jan 10, 2019

Rubbish

By Lorna F., United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

I have had this machine for only two months and it has just melted. I was happy with it until it melted today. I bought it from eBay and the listing has been taken off now, so I cannot get a refund.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 14, 2018

Dangerous product, do not use

By Robert B., Manchester, United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

When the item from eBay arrived, it rattled, so I opened it up to find the live power cable was next to the heating element, which means when the power is on the plate it is live and can electrocute you.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 13, 2018

Copper pro double grill

By Betty H., New Zealand, Verified Reviewer

I have recently purchased a Copper pro double grill and I am absolutely thrilled with it. I've cooked cakes, pies, rissoles, pikelets, chicken, pizzas, sausages, and lots other things, and (I'm being completely honest here) I haven't had one failure with the things I've cooked. I have to cook my husband separate food to what I have so it makes things so much easier. I'm thinking of buying a second one so I can cook our meals together. It's a matter of adjusting times of cooking for different items. There is nothing wrong with this product. I love it.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Nov 13, 2018

Excellent

By Kelly C., London, United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

I'm confused why there are so many bad reports on this item. Maybe I'm just lucky. I love my Chef. Being disabled and chair bound I can't cook for myself. I can have my Chef on a table in front of me and cook myself a meal. I even cook cookies with my grandchildren, no problem. Yes, things like cookies can take a little longer to cook, but who doesn't like cookies hot straight from the oven? Mine has given me a little independence, which is why I've given 5 stars. Easy to use and easy to clean.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Oct 9, 2018

Not good

By Steve L., Arkansas, Verified Reviewer

I bought two, thinking it would be perfect for a retired couple like us. Everything works great EXCEPT one glaring fault.

It is impossible to clean properly. Since it has many ridges and corners and voids, and it is NOT DISHWASHER SAFE, it is impossible to keep properly clean.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 9 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 14, 2018

Huge problem of fakes on eBay

By Diggory D., Hampshire, United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

The first important thing to take note of here is that there are a large number of fakes, mainly from eBay. It is almost impossible to tell a fake apart from the real thing. One should take into consideration that majority of reviews here suggesting that the grill burns up will be that of a fake grill as was my experience. I thought I was getting a good deal by paying half price on eBay. The product works amazing until the top started melting away. It is important to say at this point the real thing would be absolutely amazing for one or two people, that is my opinion. The only problem, however, is that I am not sure I want to pay £40 plus delivery. It would be extremely useful to find some comments from the original manufacturer.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Sep 6, 2018

Waste of time and money

By Pete F., United Kingdom, Verified Reviewer

The first time using it the black plastic part of both the top and bottom melted, and once it had cooled down it now refuses to close. It looks the part but clearly is not fit for purpose and I will be sending it back to the supplier I purchased it from in the morning.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 10 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 25, 2018

Dangerous

By Tom W., Mathoura, Australia, Verified Reviewer

I have used it three times, the bottom melted, the element exposed and nearly caught on fire. If my wife had not been in the kitchen with it, I honestly think that this would have caused a fire. I would not consider telling my friends to buy one.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 17 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 19, 2018

Bad

By Cheryl W., Australia, Verified Reviewer

After using the Red Copper Chef only twice and following all instructions carefully, the appliance melted on both the top and the bottom. This is definitely not an item anyone should consider and is a total waste of money.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 8 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 16, 2018

Don't cook hash browns on it

By Cary M., Gatesville, TX, Verified Reviewer

I am very, very, very disappointed in this product. It did not cook the hash browns the why it should be cooked! It took over 30 minutes for them to cook and it was done by reading the instructions. It does make a good omelet. I would not recommend cooking steaks either. The surface is not big enough, nor is it deep enough! I would not pay $39.99 for it either. I bought mine at Walmart on sale for $20. Now I know why, and I'm probably going to take it back!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 5 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 15, 2018

Dangerous

By Sue M., Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia, Verified Reviewer

First time I used it holes melted through both sides, exposing elements. It also started to melt on inside around copper plate.

I sent photos to ACCC asking them to recall this product as it is very dangerous. ACCC just send back an automated reply, they are Public Servants, so I guess they are to busy going to meetings to arrange their next meeting instead to protecting the Australian public from dangerous overpriced electrical goods produced in China.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Aug 11, 2018

Food sticks.

By Vern P., Mount Morgan, Queensland, Australia, Verified Reviewer

It is a brilliant cooker. But after about a month the food sticks to the surfaces, and I cannot find a way of stopping the sticking. I have tried spraying the surface with oil, but to no avail. It is very disappointing because the food turns out very tasty.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 7 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 26, 2018

Melted on first use

By Liz D., Ireland, Verified Reviewer

I received my Red Copper on July 4th. I was so excited to have an omelet hassle-free. On the first use, it melted and set off fire alarms with the amount of smoke. I emailed Tomtop.com as that's where I purchased it. I've sent detailed photos and a video, and I still has not received a replacement or refund. It's shocking because this is dangerous and my situation could have turned out a lot worse. Do not buy this item, next time it could be worse.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 18 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 10, 2018

5 Minute Red Copper crap!

By Janelle M., Australia, Verified Reviewer

We recently bought 2, one for me and one for my elderly mother! What a heap of rubbish, certainly not worth buying, nothing cooks through properly even when left for a heck of a lot longer than 5 minutes as claimed! Mine is going straight into the rubbish bin and I won't buy from this company again.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 24 People Have Voted

Posted on Jul 9, 2018

Dangerous!

By Darryl S., Melbourne, Australia, Verified Reviewer

I was excited to get my 5 Minute Chef and cooked an omelet straight away. Three minutes later I had a lovely omelet. I decided to cook another omelet and about one minute into cooking it, the lid of the 5 Minute Chef started melting. In seconds there was a gaping hole in the lid, and the underneath had also started melting. Luckily I was standing by watching as it would have caught fire and caused damage to my kitchen. This product is faulty and dangerous and should be recalled. I now know where they got the name from as mine literally lasted "5 minutes" before melting!

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 25 People Have Voted

Posted on Jun 21, 2018

Disappointed

By Judy M., Australia, Verified Reviewer

I got an electric shock from this cooker. It could have been my fault for using a metal fork. So disappointed. A warning should be included not to use metal while it is turned on. The spatula supplied is so flimsy, it wouldn’t even lift an omelet.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 17 People Have Voted

Posted on May 18, 2018

5 Minute Chef

By Arline Bennett, McConnelsville, OH, Verified Reviewer

I got this for Mothers Day yesterday, and I love it. It's only me here to eat, I have cooked in it four times and love it. People need to understand you do not latch it. It could cause problems read directions on the latching it. I fixed homefries and then fried two eggs and they turned out great. I fixed salmon patties and could not believe how moist they came out. The only thing is you have to shape them to the pan. Not the whole length.

I also fixed an Onion burger in it but had to cut the sides off about 1/4 inch, but didn't matter, it was still delicious. It cleans up with ease the 1/4 in I cooked also and gave to my fur baby, she loved it. I liked to get another one just to do the potatoes in while I'm doing an omelet. I did a grilled a cheese, bought the oval Italian fresh bread so I didn't have to cut too much off, turned out great, can't wait to bake in it. I couldn't have gotten anything better for a Mother's Day gift.

Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 11 People Have Voted

Posted on Apr 28, 2018

It explodes!

By Anthony Priore, Springfield, NJ, Verified Reviewer

My wife was making an omelet and followed the recipe book. In about three minutes it started making a hissing noise and exploded sending the omelet in her face. Why hasn't there been a recall on this product? People have been complaining about them for quite some time, and nothing is being done. Why?

I would never recommend this product to anyone for fear they could get hurt using it. I took this back to the store where I purchased it and told them why I was returning it.

Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Helpful Review? 17 People Have Voted
Showing 1-27 of 46

Our Promise to You

In order to safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.