About Red Copper 5 Minute Chef

By HighYa Staff
Published on: Jul 29, 2017

Claiming to be able to cook your meal in five minutes or less, the Red Copper 5 Minute Chef is a double sided powered countertop device coated on the inside with 100 percent pure copper. It is designed to make cooking as simple as possible with a non-stick, scratch resistant body that hopefully eliminates some of the mess that comes along with traditional pans.

Bulbhead (the manufacturer of the product) bill it as a convenient alternative to traditional fry pans. The company is a division of Telebrands, who manufactures hundreds of different As Seen On TV products, including many we’ve previously covered here at HighYa. They held a C+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, as of 7/25/17.

So, what can you actually make with it?

In the product’s commercial, we are shown a variety of foods being cooked in the Red Copper 5 Minute Chef. Main courses like omelets, pizza, steaks, pork chops and fried chicken are shown, as well as desserts like chocolate cake and fruit pie.

Unfortunately, customer service had no information on the exact size of the cooking area when we asked. Judging from the commercial alone, it looks large enough to fit a standard steak or chicken breast, but smaller than an average toaster.

Now that we know what can be made in the pan, how much will it actually cost you to add one to your kitchen?

5 Minute Chef Pricing & Returns

Currently, the 5 Minute Chef is available on the product’s main website. It comes in two packages; the regular and a deluxe version. The biggest difference between the two is the double coating offered on the latter, which customer service told us means the product will be more resistant to scratches on the cooking surfaces.

Here’s the breakdown:

Standard 5 Minute Chef Package - $39.99 (free shipping & handling)

  • 1 - Red Copper 5 Minute Chef
  • 1 - Spatula
  • 1 - Recipe Guide

Deluxe 5 Minute Chef Package - $49.98 (free shipping & handling)

  • 1 - Deluxe Red Copper 5 Minute Chef
  • 1 - Spatula
  • 1 - Recipe Guide

With both of these, you’ve got the option to upgrade your order to a double offer, making your total $69.98 (or $89.96 for the deluxe). If you opt for this, you’ll also receive a Red Copper Flipwich, a product we’ve previously covered.

As for the return policy, Telebrands offers a 30-day satisfaction guarantee on all products, excluding shipping & handling fees. To initiate a return, you’ll need to reach out to customer support at 1-855-668-1655.

5 Minute Chef vs. Other Specialty Cooking Solutions

The Red Copper 5 Minute Chef certainly seems like a convenient solution for cooking those busy weeknight meals, but is it the best one? And do other products exist that offer similar functions?

While we didn’t find any products that were branded similarly to the 5 Minute Chef, we did notice that there were a large amount of omelet makers that appeared to be very similar functionality-wise to the product in question.

For instance, one product, the Dash DOM001RD Nonstick Omelette Maker, features an almost identical design, though it lacks the copper finish found on Bulbhead’s offering. That being said, it is still non-stick, and is actually cheaper, sitting at $28 on Amazon as of this writing.

We also found a variety of unpowered products, many of which were meant for stovetop or microwave usage. With these products, you might be able to achieve similar results, which is noteworthy due to the meaningfully lower prices they carry.

However, many of these (especially the microwavable products) might not be ideal if you are looking to cook more than just eggs, as the microwave is unsuitable for cooking most meats, as well as many fruits and vegetables. Finally, we found some double sided omelet makers that had more surface area than the 5 Minute Chef, which might be ideal if you are cooking for two or more. Some of these options also included temperature control functionalities, which is another notable feature not included with the Red Copper product.

Ultimately, when searching for the perfect new addition to your cooking equipment, consider the following questions:

  • Does the product fulfill a need I have that my existing cookware does not?
  • Does it have the functionality I need the most?
  • Is the price fair and competitive?
  • Do customers seem to be enjoying the product?
  • Does it feature a solid, easy to understand return policy?
  • Is the material it is made from sturdy? Will it last a long time?

Keeping these questions in mind when shopping can help you align your needs with a suitable product, hopefully saving time and money over the long run in the process.

Parting Thoughts On The 5 Minute Chef

Looking at what we’ve learned about the Red Copper 5 Minute Chef, it’s clear that the device is unique in its own right. While other cookware options exist that are similar, no products (that we encountered during our research, anyway) provided the same exact form factor or functionality.

Deciding whether or not to purchase the 5 Minute Chef will likely come down to what you already own in your kitchen, as well as how willing you are to experiment with new cookware in general. If you feel as though the examples shown in the commercial are compelling, it may be well worth it to add the product to your collection.

That being said, if you cook for the whole family each night, the smaller form factor here might not be what you’re looking for. You’ll also need to consider the speed of what you put in the 5 Minute Chef. If you’re cooking more than one thing at once (such as a steak and some peppers, as shown in the product’s commercial, you’ll have to time it just right in order to avoid cold meals while waiting for everything to finish.

Finally, weren’t able to find any verifiable, real world customer reviews to speak of, so we’d recommend keeping the return policy in mind going into a potential purchase, just in case you decide that the device isn’t for you.

If you’re looking for a highly specialized, fast-cooking product for easy, quick meals for one, the Red Copper 5 Minute Chef might just fit the bill.

Have you used the Red Copper 5 Minute Chef before? Leave a review below and share your valuable experience with other HighYa readers!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 42 Red Copper 5 Minute Chef Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 15 4 star: 2 3 star: 3 2 star: 5 1 star:  17
Bottom Line: 43% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 42
Sort reviews by:

  • 19 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Awful!

    It looked like a good product. Very misleading.

    I used it to TRY to make an omelet. Both times about 1 minute into cooking I heard a hissing sound, and the top of the cooker blew up. I had eggs everywhere. Has anyone else had this happen? I would like to know.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 29, 2017

      Paula

      Hi, Carin. I had the same exact thing happen to me. The first time I used it to make an omelet, it worked fine except there were some hissing and steam coming out the side, but I thought that was to be expected. The second time I used it to make another omelet, the same hissing and steam continued and this time the unit blew right open. It even blew the lock open and I did have it locked. I think I'm going to return it.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Explodes

    I have made three omelets with this appliance. The first time was good. The next two times the steam built up in the appliances after the first 2 minutes and popped open and exploding the omelet out of the appliance. I avoided being burned by jumping back. How do I get my money back?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 20 people found this review helpful

    It explodes!

    • Bloomfield, NE,
    • Dec 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got this for Christmas yesterday and made steak omelets with it this morning. When it was just about to the end of the cooking cycle, the lid literally BLEW open and the omelet shot out all over the floor and the side of my fridge. Hot bits of it landed on my hand and burned me, not at all impressed! Thinking perhaps I didn't fully read the instructions, I tried it again after a reread with the same result! I'll be calling this company with a full verbal review of their dangerous product!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 21 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Exploding omelet maker

    I would like to see the product removed. It is dangerous.

    It was a Christmas gift and Christmas morning I made four omelets, and each one exploded out. The first one hit me in the chest. It could have been my face. THIS IS A DANGEROUS PRODUCT.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 29, 2017

      Eileen Finn

      Thank you very much for your honest review, as well as everyone else’s reviews. Obviously, I can’t comment on everyone's review, so I’m commenting on yours. My mom is elderly and I was going to buy this for her. Your review and other reviews convinced me that this is definitely not the right product for someone approaching 80 years old.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Sorry I bought it

    • Jackson, GA,
    • Jan 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought this 5 Minute Chef omelet maker as a gift for our son for Christmas. The first time he used it, it explored everything everywhere when he opened it. He was burned, and the kitchen had to be cleaned up. I will be returning this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Exploding cookware is dangerous

    It worked fine the first time I used it to prepare an egg omelet. However, the second time I used the 5 Minute cooker to prepare an omelet (same amount and recipe), the built up pressure in the cooker popped the cover open tossing the half-cooked omelet all over me and the countertop. I cannot believe there has not been a safety recall on this item. With the return window for the product expired, we are stuck with a cooker that we are afraid to use.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 24 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Dangerous!

    • Melbourne, Australia,
    • Jul 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was excited to get my 5 Minute Chef and cooked an omelet straight away. Three minutes later I had a lovely omelet. I decided to cook another omelet and about one minute into cooking it, the lid of the 5 Minute Chef started melting. In seconds there was a gaping hole in the lid, and the underneath had also started melting. Luckily I was standing by watching as it would have caught fire and caused damage to my kitchen. This product is faulty and dangerous and should be recalled. I now know where they got the name from as mine literally lasted "5 minutes" before melting!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 26, 2018

      Marie M.

      I bought this from the manufacturer. It cost £40. It's not fake. It melted on first use. Do not buy it, it's very dangerous.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 23 out 23 people found this review helpful

    5 Minute Red Copper crap!

    • Australia,
    • Jul 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We recently bought 2, one for me and one for my elderly mother! What a heap of rubbish, certainly not worth buying, nothing cooks through properly even when left for a heck of a lot longer than 5 minutes as claimed! Mine is going straight into the rubbish bin and I won't buy from this company again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Melted on first use

    • Ireland,
    • Jul 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received my Red Copper on July 4th. I was so excited to have an omelet hassle-free. On the first use, it melted and set off fire alarms with the amount of smoke. I emailed Tomtop.com as that's where I purchased it. I've sent detailed photos and a video, and I still has not received a replacement or refund. It's shocking because this is dangerous and my situation could have turned out a lot worse. Do not buy this item, next time it could be worse.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Dangerous

    • Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia,
    • Aug 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    First time I used it holes melted through both sides, exposing elements. It also started to melt on inside around copper plate.

    I sent photos to ACCC asking them to recall this product as it is very dangerous. ACCC just send back an automated reply, they are Public Servants, so I guess they are to busy going to meetings to arrange their next meeting instead to protecting the Australian public from dangerous overpriced electrical goods produced in China.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Bad

    • Australia,
    • Aug 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    After using the Red Copper Chef only twice and following all instructions carefully, the appliance melted on both the top and the bottom. This is definitely not an item anyone should consider and is a total waste of money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 42

Write a Review for Red Copper 5 Minute Chef!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review