• 46 Customer Reviews
  • 46% Recommend This Company
3.0 out of 5
5 star: 39% 4 star: 4% 3 star: 8% 2 star: 10% 1 star: 36%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Dangerous!

    • By Darryl S.,
    • Melbourne, Australia,
    • Jul 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was excited to get my 5 Minute Chef and cooked an omelet straight away. Three minutes later I had a lovely omelet. I decided to cook another omelet and about one minute into cooking it, the lid of the 5 Minute Chef started melting. In seconds there was a gaping hole in the lid, and the underneath had also started melting. Luckily I was standing by watching as it would have caught fire and caused damage to my kitchen. This product is faulty and dangerous and should be recalled. I now know where they got the name from as mine literally lasted "5 minutes" before melting!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • 5 Minute Red Copper crap!

    • By Janelle M.,
    • Australia,
    • Jul 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We recently bought 2, one for me and one for my elderly mother! What a heap of rubbish, certainly not worth buying, nothing cooks through properly even when left for a heck of a lot longer than 5 minutes as claimed! Mine is going straight into the rubbish bin and I won't buy from this company again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Exploding omelet maker

    I would like to see the product removed. It is dangerous.

    It was a Christmas gift and Christmas morning I made four omelets, and each one exploded out. The first one hit me in the chest. It could have been my face. THIS IS A DANGEROUS PRODUCT.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Awful!

    It looked like a good product. Very misleading.

    I used it to TRY to make an omelet. Both times about 1 minute into cooking I heard a hissing sound, and the top of the cooker blew up. I had eggs everywhere. Has anyone else had this happen? I would like to know.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • It explodes!

    • By Kelly Skrivan,
    • Bloomfield, NE,
    • Dec 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got this for Christmas yesterday and made steak omelets with it this morning. When it was just about to the end of the cooking cycle, the lid literally BLEW open and the omelet shot out all over the floor and the side of my fridge. Hot bits of it landed on my hand and burned me, not at all impressed! Thinking perhaps I didn't fully read the instructions, I tried it again after a reread with the same result! I'll be calling this company with a full verbal review of their dangerous product!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Exploding cookware is dangerous

    It worked fine the first time I used it to prepare an egg omelet. However, the second time I used the 5 Minute cooker to prepare an omelet (same amount and recipe), the built up pressure in the cooker popped the cover open tossing the half-cooked omelet all over me and the countertop. I cannot believe there has not been a safety recall on this item. With the return window for the product expired, we are stuck with a cooker that we are afraid to use.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I love mine

    Being a single person and usually cooking for one, I found the Red Copper 5 Minute cooker just right for cooking the right amount for myself. I might want something larger if I were cooking for many. I found it great for quick snacks etc. I love mine and use it often. I have friends that ask where I purchased it and are ordering one for themselves.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Melted on first use

    • By Liz D.,
    • Ireland,
    • Jul 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received my Red Copper on July 4th. I was so excited to have an omelet hassle-free. On the first use, it melted and set off fire alarms with the amount of smoke. I emailed Tomtop.com as that's where I purchased it. I've sent detailed photos and a video, and I still has not received a replacement or refund. It's shocking because this is dangerous and my situation could have turned out a lot worse. Do not buy this item, next time it could be worse.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Tired of cleaning up egg that blows everywhere!

    • By Jerry Lawson,
    • Bunger, TX,
    • Oct 10, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I drive a truck over the road and could use a handy gadget to cook quick meals. It’s very compact and has great potential, however, every time I cook an omelet, when I unlatch the top, there is egg EVERYWHERE!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Red Copper 5 Minute Chef

    • By Diane Gouge,
    • Yuma, AZ,
    • Oct 29, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had my 5 Minute Chef for about three weeks. I have made omelets with peppers, onions, and eggs, delicious and cooked to a T. I can't fill it well too full, or it will hiss and pop open or explode when you go to open it. I have made the stuffed chicken breast, and it came out great, but I used too large a piece of chicken the first time and it took way longer to cook. This cooker is perfect for one person, the best little gadget for those of us that live alone. I use mine every day and most times several times a day. Make sure you have all 8 rubber feet as the company has no way of sending replacement feet.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Explodes

    I have made three omelets with this appliance. The first time was good. The next two times the steam built up in the appliances after the first 2 minutes and popped open and exploding the omelet out of the appliance. I avoided being burned by jumping back. How do I get my money back?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • It explodes!

    My wife was making an omelet and followed the recipe book. In about three minutes it started making a hissing noise and exploded sending the omelet in her face. Why hasn't there been a recall on this product? People have been complaining about them for quite some time, and nothing is being done. Why?

    I would never recommend this product to anyone for fear they could get hurt using it. I took this back to the store where I purchased it and told them why I was returning it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Disappointed

    • By Judy M.,
    • Australia,
    • Jun 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got an electric shock from this cooker. It could have been my fault for using a metal fork. So disappointed. A warning should be included not to use metal while it is turned on. The spatula supplied is so flimsy, it wouldn’t even lift an omelet.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Dangerous

    • By Tom W.,
    • Mathoura, Australia,
    • Aug 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have used it three times, the bottom melted, the element exposed and nearly caught on fire. If my wife had not been in the kitchen with it, I honestly think that this would have caused a fire. I would not consider telling my friends to buy one.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Sorry I bought it

    • By Marty Adcock,
    • Jackson, GA,
    • Jan 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought this 5 Minute Chef omelet maker as a gift for our son for Christmas. The first time he used it, it explored everything everywhere when he opened it. He was burned, and the kitchen had to be cleaned up. I will be returning this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • For me, this unit was worth every penny!

    • By Brad A.,
    • Cape Cod, MA,
    • Feb 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just got this in the mail and thought I'd try cooking bacon just for the halibut, and the Red Copper 5 Minute Chef did an excellent job! I decided to try a large egg with bits of the bacon I just cooked along with some cheese. It was better than you can get at any restaurant! It's really easy to clean also! The cooking area is as slippery as silicone on a sheet of ice!

    I also took a tip from an Amazon viewer who suggested that it's best to unlock the unit before flipping when cooking eggs so it won't "explode" on you. You have to release the steam from this unit!

    I'm a widower and only need to cook for one, so the 5 Minute Chef is just what I needed!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Love mine

    • By Tig Aalbers,
    • Alberta, Canada,
    • Nov 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought 2, one for myself and one for my husband's truck; perfect for single meals. I see that people are having problems with omelets. If you put something in it with high water content, yes, there will be a steam buildup. I've never had this issue myself. No regrets on getting ours at all.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • 5 Minute Chef

    I ordered 2 of these with the free sandwich maker. I absolutely love them. At lunch or breakfast, I can prepare my husband and myself a quick meal. I have not experienced any of the negative experiences that have been described by some. Tonight I cooked cornbread in my two cookers. It turned out wonderful and cooked in no time flat.

    I would highly recommend this product to anyone. I have nothing to say but that I am very pleased and would reorder the 5 Minute Chef. They heat up so quickly, and you can cook your meal quicker than you could heat up your oven. Love them and highly recommend.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Red Copper 5 Minute Chef

    I bought this, and my entire family likes it. They are going to purchase one. It fits our needs. I really like the way it cooks whatever I want. I would really like to have a bigger one also. I have the double coated one.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • 5 Minute Chef

    • By Arline Bennett,
    • McConnelsville, OH,
    • May 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got this for Mothers Day yesterday, and I love it. It's only me here to eat, I have cooked in it four times and love it. People need to understand you do not latch it. It could cause problems read directions on the latching it. I fixed homefries and then fried two eggs and they turned out great. I fixed salmon patties and could not believe how moist they came out. The only thing is you have to shape them to the pan. Not the whole length.

    I also fixed an Onion burger in it but had to cut the sides off about 1/4 inch, but didn't matter, it was still delicious. It cleans up with ease the 1/4 in I cooked also and gave to my fur baby, she loved it. I liked to get another one just to do the potatoes in while I'm doing an omelet. I did a grilled a cheese, bought the oval Italian fresh bread so I didn't have to cut too much off, turned out great, can't wait to bake in it. I couldn't have gotten anything better for a Mother's Day gift.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Dangerous

    • By Sue M.,
    • Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia,
    • Aug 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    First time I used it holes melted through both sides, exposing elements. It also started to melt on inside around copper plate.

    I sent photos to ACCC asking them to recall this product as it is very dangerous. ACCC just send back an automated reply, they are Public Servants, so I guess they are to busy going to meetings to arrange their next meeting instead to protecting the Australian public from dangerous overpriced electrical goods produced in China.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Huge problem of fakes on eBay

    • By Diggory D.,
    • Hampshire, United Kingdom,
    • Sep 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The first important thing to take note of here is that there are a large number of fakes, mainly from eBay. It is almost impossible to tell a fake apart from the real thing. One should take into consideration that majority of reviews here suggesting that the grill burns up will be that of a fake grill as was my experience. I thought I was getting a good deal by paying half price on eBay. The product works amazing until the top started melting away. It is important to say at this point the real thing would be absolutely amazing for one or two people, that is my opinion. The only problem, however, is that I am not sure I want to pay £40 plus delivery. It would be extremely useful to find some comments from the original manufacturer.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Happy with this machine

    I purchased this 5 Minute Chef because it looked easy to use. It is. I love this little cooker. It's great for one person, cooks quickly, and has easy cleanup. I wish there were more ideas for other recipes. So far I've cooked omelets, fried eggs, corn dogs, scrambled eggs and am very happy with the results. I purchased 6 for Christmas gifts this year. I would recommend it to friends.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Waste of time and money

    • By Pete F.,
    • United Kingdom,
    • Sep 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The first time using it the black plastic part of both the top and bottom melted, and once it had cooled down it now refuses to close. It looks the part but clearly is not fit for purpose and I will be sending it back to the supplier I purchased it from in the morning.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Good deal!

    I bought this to make omelets and am very pleased. I could never make one any other way. Best kitchen aid I have bought. I would gladly recommend it to anyone. I am going to try to cook a couple of small steaks this morning. I don't have a recipe, but think I can figure it out. I suggest they come up with a complete recipe book for this item.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Not good

    • By Steve L.,
    • Arkansas,
    • Oct 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought two, thinking it would be perfect for a retired couple like us. Everything works great EXCEPT one glaring fault.

    It is impossible to clean properly. Since it has many ridges and corners and voids, and it is NOT DISHWASHER SAFE, it is impossible to keep properly clean.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • I love it

    I bought one because of the TV commercial. I took it home, and the first thing I made was scrambled eggs. They came out fluffy and well cooked. Then I tried making cornbread using a box of Jiffy Mix. I had to make it in two batches. They each came out nice and brown and tasty. I ended up giving it to my daughter and son-in-law for Christmas. They tried it and loved it. They are on back order from Amazon, so I have to wait ten days to get a replacement.

    I will be using it when it comes. I will be experimenting with making more things when I get my hands on one again.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-27 of 46

Write a Review for Red Copper 5 Minute Chef!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Red Copper 5 Minute Chef