About Red Copper 5 Minute Chef

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Jul 29, 2017

Claiming to be able to cook your meal in five minutes or less, the Red Copper 5 Minute Chef is a double sided powered countertop device coated on the inside with 100 percent pure copper. It is designed to make cooking as simple as possible with a non-stick, scratch resistant body that hopefully eliminates some of the mess that comes along with traditional pans.

Bulbhead (the manufacturer of the product) bill it as a convenient alternative to traditional fry pans. The company is a division of Telebrands, who manufactures hundreds of different As Seen On TV products, including many we’ve previously covered here at HighYa. They held a C+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, as of 7/25/17.

So, what can you actually make with it?

In the product’s commercial, we are shown a variety of foods being cooked in the Red Copper 5 Minute Chef. Main courses like omelets, pizza, steaks, pork chops and fried chicken are shown, as well as desserts like chocolate cake and fruit pie.

Unfortunately, customer service had no information on the exact size of the cooking area when we asked. Judging from the commercial alone, it looks large enough to fit a standard steak or chicken breast, but smaller than an average toaster.

Now that we know what can be made in the pan, how much will it actually cost you to add one to your kitchen?

5 Minute Chef Pricing & Returns

Currently, the 5 Minute Chef is available on the product’s main website. It comes in two packages; the regular and a deluxe version. The biggest difference between the two is the double coating offered on the latter, which customer service told us means the product will be more resistant to scratches on the cooking surfaces.

Here’s the breakdown:

Standard 5 Minute Chef Package - $39.99 (free shipping & handling)

  • 1 - Red Copper 5 Minute Chef
  • 1 - Spatula
  • 1 - Recipe Guide

Deluxe 5 Minute Chef Package - $49.98 (free shipping & handling)

  • 1 - Deluxe Red Copper 5 Minute Chef
  • 1 - Spatula
  • 1 - Recipe Guide

With both of these, you’ve got the option to upgrade your order to a double offer, making your total $69.98 (or $89.96 for the deluxe). If you opt for this, you’ll also receive a Red Copper Flipwich, a product we’ve previously covered.

As for the return policy, Telebrands offers a 30-day satisfaction guarantee on all products, excluding shipping & handling fees. To initiate a return, you’ll need to reach out to customer support at 1-855-668-1655.

5 Minute Chef vs. Other Specialty Cooking Solutions

The Red Copper 5 Minute Chef certainly seems like a convenient solution for cooking those busy weeknight meals, but is it the best one? And do other products exist that offer similar functions?

While we didn’t find any products that were branded similarly to the 5 Minute Chef, we did notice that there were a large amount of omelet makers that appeared to be very similar functionality-wise to the product in question.

For instance, one product, the Dash DOM001RD Nonstick Omelette Maker, features an almost identical design, though it lacks the copper finish found on Bulbhead’s offering. That being said, it is still non-stick, and is actually cheaper, sitting at $28 on Amazon as of this writing.

We also found a variety of unpowered products, many of which were meant for stovetop or microwave usage. With these products, you might be able to achieve similar results, which is noteworthy due to the meaningfully lower prices they carry.

However, many of these (especially the microwavable products) might not be ideal if you are looking to cook more than just eggs, as the microwave is unsuitable for cooking most meats, as well as many fruits and vegetables. Finally, we found some double sided omelet makers that had more surface area than the 5 Minute Chef, which might be ideal if you are cooking for two or more. Some of these options also included temperature control functionalities, which is another notable feature not included with the Red Copper product.

Ultimately, when searching for the perfect new addition to your cooking equipment, consider the following questions:

  • Does the product fulfill a need I have that my existing cookware does not?
  • Does it have the functionality I need the most?
  • Is the price fair and competitive?
  • Do customers seem to be enjoying the product?
  • Does it feature a solid, easy to understand return policy?
  • Is the material it is made from sturdy? Will it last a long time?

Keeping these questions in mind when shopping can help you align your needs with a suitable product, hopefully saving time and money over the long run in the process.

Parting Thoughts On The 5 Minute Chef

Looking at what we’ve learned about the Red Copper 5 Minute Chef, it’s clear that the device is unique in its own right. While other cookware options exist that are similar, no products (that we encountered during our research, anyway) provided the same exact form factor or functionality.

Deciding whether or not to purchase the 5 Minute Chef will likely come down to what you already own in your kitchen, as well as how willing you are to experiment with new cookware in general. If you feel as though the examples shown in the commercial are compelling, it may be well worth it to add the product to your collection.

That being said, if you cook for the whole family each night, the smaller form factor here might not be what you’re looking for. You’ll also need to consider the speed of what you put in the 5 Minute Chef. If you’re cooking more than one thing at once (such as a steak and some peppers, as shown in the product’s commercial, you’ll have to time it just right in order to avoid cold meals while waiting for everything to finish.

Finally, weren’t able to find any verifiable, real world customer reviews to speak of, so we’d recommend keeping the return policy in mind going into a potential purchase, just in case you decide that the device isn’t for you.

If you’re looking for a highly specialized, fast-cooking product for easy, quick meals for one, the Red Copper 5 Minute Chef might just fit the bill.

Have you used the Red Copper 5 Minute Chef before? Leave a review below and share your valuable experience with other HighYa readers!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 42 Red Copper 5 Minute Chef Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 2.8
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 15 4 star: 2 3 star: 3 2 star: 5 1 star:  17
Bottom Line: 43% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 42
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Leggit

    • Woodcroft, South Australia,
    • Mar 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received my Copper pro yesterday and made my first omelet last night, it was FANTASTIC, beautifully cooked and no mess, and for someone like me in a wheelchair and living alone it's going to be fantastic. THANK YOU.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Works perfectly if you use it correctly!

    • Glasgow, Scotland,
    • Mar 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    If you follow instructions to the letter, you shouldn't have any problems. You MUSTN'T lock the lid during cooking, it's only to be locked for storage purposes. If you want to flip the unit during cooking, simply ensure you have a firm grip on the top and bottom of the handle when doing so.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 5 people found this review helpful

    A terrible mess?

    • London, United Kingdom,
    • Jan 23, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Three trial uses. Sausages twice, chicken burger once, 5 minute is ridiculous, 25 minimum. After use, allow for one hour of cleaning the puddles of grease, and burnt bits in the awkward grooves. It has not melted, but is a bore to use. Better to boil an egg!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Smell

    • Manchester, United Kingdom,
    • Jan 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have purchased the 5 Minute Chef from Argos two weeks ago, used it about eight times and wiped clean after each use and it is now smelling fishy, even though I’ve not cooked fish on it. I can’t get rid of the smell no matter what I do. It’s totally unusable, advice needed.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Beware of FAKES

    • Weymouth, United Kingdom,
    • Jan 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just bought one from eBay. It looked like a good item. It worked well the first two times and did a good job. However, on the third use, the casing MELTED while cooking a burger. I believe it was a FAKE COUNTERFEIT item and electrically unsafe. I am trying to get my money back!

    Beware of fakes!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Rubbish

    • United Kingdom,
    • Jan 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had this machine for only two months and it has just melted. I was happy with it until it melted today. I bought it from eBay and the listing has been taken off now, so I cannot get a refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Dangerous product, do not use

    • Manchester, United Kingdom,
    • Nov 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    When the item from eBay arrived, it rattled, so I opened it up to find the live power cable was next to the heating element, which means when the power is on the plate it is live and can electrocute you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Copper pro double grill

    • New Zealand,
    • Nov 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have recently purchased a Copper pro double grill and I am absolutely thrilled with it. I've cooked cakes, pies, rissoles, pikelets, chicken, pizzas, sausages, and lots other things, and (I'm being completely honest here) I haven't had one failure with the things I've cooked. I have to cook my husband separate food to what I have so it makes things so much easier. I'm thinking of buying a second one so I can cook our meals together. It's a matter of adjusting times of cooking for different items. There is nothing wrong with this product. I love it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Excellent

    • London, United Kingdom,
    • Nov 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm confused why there are so many bad reports on this item. Maybe I'm just lucky. I love my Chef. Being disabled and chair bound I can't cook for myself. I can have my Chef on a table in front of me and cook myself a meal. I even cook cookies with my grandchildren, no problem. Yes, things like cookies can take a little longer to cook, but who doesn't like cookies hot straight from the oven? Mine has given me a little independence, which is why I've given 5 stars. Easy to use and easy to clean.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Not good

    • Arkansas,
    • Oct 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought two, thinking it would be perfect for a retired couple like us. Everything works great EXCEPT one glaring fault.

    It is impossible to clean properly. Since it has many ridges and corners and voids, and it is NOT DISHWASHER SAFE, it is impossible to keep properly clean.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Huge problem of fakes on eBay

    • Hampshire, United Kingdom,
    • Sep 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The first important thing to take note of here is that there are a large number of fakes, mainly from eBay. It is almost impossible to tell a fake apart from the real thing. One should take into consideration that majority of reviews here suggesting that the grill burns up will be that of a fake grill as was my experience. I thought I was getting a good deal by paying half price on eBay. The product works amazing until the top started melting away. It is important to say at this point the real thing would be absolutely amazing for one or two people, that is my opinion. The only problem, however, is that I am not sure I want to pay £40 plus delivery. It would be extremely useful to find some comments from the original manufacturer.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 42

Write a Review for Red Copper 5 Minute Chef!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review