About Red Copper Pan

Endorsed by #1 best selling author Cathy Mitchell, the 10” Red Copper Fry Pan combines 100% pure, super strong copper and a non-stick ceramic surface. Why?

So you’ll have a durable piece of cookware that’s oven safe to 500°, and that also can be used to flambé desserts, caramelize sugar, or even mix eggs directly in the pan! In fact, whatever abuse you throw at it in the kitchen, Red Copper Pan is guaranteed to stay scratch-free forever.

Red Copper Pan’s non-stick coating is also PFOA and PTFE free, so it’s safe for your family, and when you’re finished cooking you can pop it in the dishwasher for easy cleanup.

What’s not to love about Cathy Mitchell? She’s sweet, makes wonderful food, and makes herself feel like part of the family. Does that mean her products—especially Red Copper Pan—are any good? That’s exactly what we’ll help you figure out here.

To begin our journey, let’s talk about copper cookware in general.

Is Copper a Good Cooking Surface?

Now, ‘good’ can mean different things to different people. So, in order to scale the question down a little, let’s find out some of the pros and cons for copper cookware, and we’ll leave it up to you to decide if it’s ‘good’ or not:

Copper Cookware Pros

Probably the biggest advantage of copper cookware is that it conducts heat exceptionally well. As a result, it’ll take less time to heat the food inside, evenly distribute this heat, and help it cook faster.

Copper is, for the most, easy to clean.

Finally, from a purely aesthetic standpoint, copper cookware looks stunning when hanging from a rack in your kitchen.

See also: Comparing Cookware: Stainless Steel vs. Copper

Copper Cookware Cons

Probably one of the biggest obstacles to overcome related to copper cookware is price. Although full copper cookware is very expensive, you can purchase it with a stainless steel or tin lining for less.

Outside of price, according to TheKitchn, copper cookware has several unique disadvantages:

“Reactive with alkaline or acidic foods, which can take on a metallic taste after being cooked in a copper pot. Light colored foods, like eggs, can also develop grey streaks when they pick up the copper compounds, which also means you'll ingest small amounts of copper. Not a big deal if it's an occasional thing, but not so great for everyday use. Copper also requires regular polishing and maintenance, and it's expensive.”

Lastly, despite what’s mentioned on the Red Copper Pan website, copper cookware is not dishwasher safe.

Red Copper Pan Test

For more product tests: Click here to subscribe to HighYa’s YouTube channel

What Can You Expect From Red Copper Pan’s Non-Stick Coating?

Although copper is considered a tough, durable material, of anything failed on Red Copper Pan first, it’d almost certainly be the non-stick coating. We’re told it’s PFOA and PTFE-free (which is certainly positive), but is it really as durable as the company claims?

The quick answer is that there’s no way to know. We know that Red Copper Pan’s non-stick properties are provided by its ceramic coating, but not all ceramic coatings are created equal. Generally, the thicker a ceramic coating is, the more durable and long-lasting it’ll be.

And considering that most As Seen On TV products don’t exactly get high marks for quality, it’s our opinion that Red Copper Pan’s ceramic coating won’t be thick or durable.

Pro tip: In any case, it’s never a good idea to whisk eggs directly in your non-stick pan using an electric mixer, as demonstrated in the Red Copper Pan commercial.

Speaking of ASOTV products, is there anything else out there quite like Red Copper Pan?

Does Red Copper Pan Have Any Competition?

Yes. A whole lot.

In fact, outside of their different colors, it seems like Red Copper Pan is just a rebranded version of Gotham Steel Pans; except instead of being endorsed by Cathy Miller, Gotham was promoted by Chef Daniel Green. Did everyone like them?

Out of 40 reader reviews, Gotham Steel Pans had an average rating of 2.3 stars here on HighYa, mostly because they never arrived. Out of these review, a customer who received theirs, wrote:

“EVERYTHING sticks, even bacon. I'm a chef so I know I'm better off with cast iron. When particles adhere to the surface they are impossible to remove. I can cook on stainless steel with better results.”

Will you experience the same with Red Copper Pan? There’s no way to know for sure, but since they seem like they’re essentially the exact same product, we’d definitely recommend keeping it in mind.

Then, if we move outside the ASOTV realm, you’ll find that you literally have hundreds more copper/ceramic cookware to choose from, whether online or at local retailers. In some instances, you might even be able to find 6-piece cookware sets for as little as $100.

Sure, this will cost more upfront than Red Copper Pan, but you’ll be getting much more value for your money. On top of this, returning them is as easy as hopping in your car if you’re not satisfied!

This is a good opportunity to talk about Red Copper Pan’s price before wrapping up.

How Much Does Red Copper Pan Cost?

One 10” Red Copper Pan and recipe guide will cost you $19.99 plus $7.99 S&H. At checkout, you’ll also be able to order a second Pan, along with an 8” Forever Sharp Copper Knife, for an additional $9.99 S&H.

Like most Telebrands products, Red Copper Pan comes with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges. Keep in mind that you’ll lose $17.98 if you chose the BOGO offer, even before shipping it back to the company.

Nonetheless, customer service can be reached at 855-668-1655.

Should You Buy Red Copper Pan?

Cathy Mitchell has had some great success with ASOTV products recently, as her Dump Cakes and Dump Loaf recipe books have sold like hotcakes (excuse the bad pun). But whether we’re talking about her previous products or new ones like Red Copper Pan (and their other incarnation as Gotham Steel Pans), it seems like most customers aren’t pleased with their purchase.

Granted, Telebrands could have completely retooled the manufacturing process with Red Copper Pan, so—unlike Gotham—it’ll arrive on your doorstep quickly and function flawlessly. But if our experience reviewing hundreds of ASOTV products has taught us anything, it’s that this is unlikely.

What can you do instead? We think shopping locally for copper and ceramic cookware will help you get more bang for your buck. You’ll also be able to compare different pans in person, speak with a sales associate, and get a better feel for which options are best for you, before handing over your hard-earned money.

Read Next: Finding the Perfect Pots & Pans for Your Cooking Style

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

508 Consumer Reviews for Red Copper Pan

Average Consumer Rating: 1.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 72 4 star: 17 3 star: 16 2 star: 71 1 star:  332
Bottom Line: 19% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 508
Sort reviews by:

  • They are no good

    • Sun City West, AZ,
    • Nov 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased one year ago, the food stuck to it, so I threw the pan in the trash.

    Two months ago I thought I would give it another try and bought another one, followed the instructions and seasoned it, and this morning I tried to fried eggs and they stuck so bad that I had to throw the pan and eggs out.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Burns

    • Maryland,
    • Nov 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This pan set burns you. Wait until you wash it in the dishwasher or sink and get water in the handle, boil some noodles and go to transfer them to the strainer...burning hot liquid all down the front of your body and arms. Worthless pan set. My dad bought them for me a year ago, but in the cabinet they sit after I got rid of my good nonstick pans for this mess and had to buy newer ones of a different kind.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Red Copper frying pan is a SCAM

    • Manassas, VA,
    • Nov 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought this Red Copper frying pan thinking it will be a non-stick pan. To my surprise, it was nothing like they advertise on TV. It's false advertisement! And a scam.

    I bought mine from Bed Bath & Beyond. The first time I used it, the eggs stick like crazy, I thought hmmmm, something is wrong.

    The next time I was frying bacon, OMG the worst frying pan I've ever seen. I took a picture, you can see it.

    I think it's a SCAM. Now if you want to return it, they tell you that you have to pay $8.99, and they will review to see if they can give you your money back.

    Stay away from this frying pan, it cost me $21.00, but you can buy a better and a real non-stick pan from Walmart. The government should investigate them for false advertisement.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Junk

    • New York,
    • Nov 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Good when first purchased, then downhill. Using a spray oil or real butter, and eggs are stuck and ruined. I am throwing it away today. Why do I have to submit 180 characters? The product is junk. It's been meticulously cleaned and it's impossible to cook eggs, no matter what you use. It would be impossible regardless of how you attempted to cook the eggs.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Red Copper skillet sticking.

    • Indiana,
    • Nov 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    When I first purchased the skillet, I followed directions to season it. It worked perfectly for a while. After a few months of using it, the pan starting sticking. I can't even fry a hamburger in it without making a mess. I am very disappointed in it. I paid $20 for it, would love to have another skillet if it worked. Are there refunds or replacement guarantees? Please advise. Thanks for your time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Worst pan ever!

    • Nov 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought this pan a year ago, and I followed the instructions exactly! I couldn't wait to try it out. I tried to scramble eggs and MOST stuck hard and fast to the pan. Through the year, I cooked all different meals and ALL stuck to this pan! After re-seasoning several times, I started frying with oil as you would in a normal fry pan. ALL meals stuck to this pan whether or not I used oil! I finally, after trying for a year, threw it in the trash, where it belongs! I'm happy with my new iron skillet.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Bad copper pan

    • Mount Washington, KY,
    • Oct 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought a 9.5" Red Copper Pan, and since day one, this thing sticks on everything cooked in it, and the cleanup is terrible. I wouldn't recommend this pan to anyone, complete junk. I have done everything I read online about how to take care of it and how to cook with it and still no good. I just want my money back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Not well thought out

    • Newport, OR,
    • Oct 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    These pans are pretty, that is where the good part ends. WHO wants a top of the stove cooking pan with METAL handles? That means, to fry an egg, the user has to wear OVEN MITTS!

    Those handles get...HOT.

    The first time I used one without thinking, since our old pans had insulated handles, I ended up with a bandage on my hand just lifting the lid off. Are the designers out of their minds? This is STUPID. My wife dragged home a whole set of these Chinese made junk pieces, they cook OK but are a HAZARD in the kitchen. I made her take the whole bunch down and throw them in our trash bin. Last dime this company ever gets from us, no point in dealing with idiots.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    The absolute biggest disappointment I have had yet. I am so glad I bought only one.

    • Marysville, CA,
    • Oct 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought this pan to try them before I bought the set. I absolutely will not be buying anything else from this company. It is not what it's portrayed to be. I have used it several times, and I have to add oil or everything sticks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 10, 2018

      Ron D.

      The instructions say to "season" the pan with vegetable oil and place it in the oven at 300 F for 20 minutes before first use. DId you do that? The same instructions say the procedure may need to be repeated from time to time if sticking occurs. After seasoning it as directed, NOTHING sticks so far. I've only had it a short time so I don't know how long the seasoning lasts.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Disappointed

    • New York,
    • Oct 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    At first, I loved the pan, but not even a year has gone by and everything seems to be sticking in it. I will NOT buy another, and I will not recommend this to any of my friends. I do love the square shape of the pan though.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Ok

    • Baltimore, MD,
    • Oct 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The pan works well but by two days I had a scratch in it, and I do not know where it came from, it's fingernail deep. The pan works well, but it scratches very easily.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 508

Write a Review for Red Copper Pan!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review