About Red Copper Pan

Endorsed by #1 best selling author Cathy Mitchell, the 10” Red Copper Fry Pan combines 100% pure, super strong copper and a non-stick ceramic surface. Why?

So you’ll have a durable piece of cookware that’s oven safe to 500°, and that also can be used to flambé desserts, caramelize sugar, or even mix eggs directly in the pan! In fact, whatever abuse you throw at it in the kitchen, Red Copper Pan is guaranteed to stay scratch-free forever.

Red Copper Pan’s non-stick coating is also PFOA and PTFE free, so it’s safe for your family, and when you’re finished cooking you can pop it in the dishwasher for easy cleanup.

What’s not to love about Cathy Mitchell? She’s sweet, makes wonderful food, and makes herself feel like part of the family. Does that mean her products—especially Red Copper Pan—are any good? That’s exactly what we’ll help you figure out here.

To begin our journey, let’s talk about copper cookware in general.

Is Copper a Good Cooking Surface?

Now, ‘good’ can mean different things to different people. So, in order to scale the question down a little, let’s find out some of the pros and cons for copper cookware, and we’ll leave it up to you to decide if it’s ‘good’ or not:

Copper Cookware Pros

Probably the biggest advantage of copper cookware is that it conducts heat exceptionally well. As a result, it’ll take less time to heat the food inside, evenly distribute this heat, and help it cook faster.

Copper is, for the most, easy to clean.

Finally, from a purely aesthetic standpoint, copper cookware looks stunning when hanging from a rack in your kitchen.

See also: Comparing Cookware: Stainless Steel vs. Copper

Copper Cookware Cons

Probably one of the biggest obstacles to overcome related to copper cookware is price. Although full copper cookware is very expensive, you can purchase it with a stainless steel or tin lining for less.

Outside of price, according to TheKitchn, copper cookware has several unique disadvantages:

“Reactive with alkaline or acidic foods, which can take on a metallic taste after being cooked in a copper pot. Light colored foods, like eggs, can also develop grey streaks when they pick up the copper compounds, which also means you'll ingest small amounts of copper. Not a big deal if it's an occasional thing, but not so great for everyday use. Copper also requires regular polishing and maintenance, and it's expensive.”

Lastly, despite what’s mentioned on the Red Copper Pan website, copper cookware is not dishwasher safe.

Red Copper Pan Test

For more product tests: Click here to subscribe to HighYa’s YouTube channel

What Can You Expect From Red Copper Pan’s Non-Stick Coating?

Although copper is considered a tough, durable material, of anything failed on Red Copper Pan first, it’d almost certainly be the non-stick coating. We’re told it’s PFOA and PTFE-free (which is certainly positive), but is it really as durable as the company claims?

The quick answer is that there’s no way to know. We know that Red Copper Pan’s non-stick properties are provided by its ceramic coating, but not all ceramic coatings are created equal. Generally, the thicker a ceramic coating is, the more durable and long-lasting it’ll be.

And considering that most As Seen On TV products don’t exactly get high marks for quality, it’s our opinion that Red Copper Pan’s ceramic coating won’t be thick or durable.

Pro tip: In any case, it’s never a good idea to whisk eggs directly in your non-stick pan using an electric mixer, as demonstrated in the Red Copper Pan commercial.

Speaking of ASOTV products, is there anything else out there quite like Red Copper Pan?

Does Red Copper Pan Have Any Competition?

Yes. A whole lot.

In fact, outside of their different colors, it seems like Red Copper Pan is just a rebranded version of Gotham Steel Pans; except instead of being endorsed by Cathy Miller, Gotham was promoted by Chef Daniel Green. Did everyone like them?

Out of 40 reader reviews, Gotham Steel Pans had an average rating of 2.3 stars here on HighYa, mostly because they never arrived. Out of these review, a customer who received theirs, wrote:

“EVERYTHING sticks, even bacon. I'm a chef so I know I'm better off with cast iron. When particles adhere to the surface they are impossible to remove. I can cook on stainless steel with better results.”

Will you experience the same with Red Copper Pan? There’s no way to know for sure, but since they seem like they’re essentially the exact same product, we’d definitely recommend keeping it in mind.

Then, if we move outside the ASOTV realm, you’ll find that you literally have hundreds more copper/ceramic cookware to choose from, whether online or at local retailers. In some instances, you might even be able to find 6-piece cookware sets for as little as $100.

Sure, this will cost more upfront than Red Copper Pan, but you’ll be getting much more value for your money. On top of this, returning them is as easy as hopping in your car if you’re not satisfied!

This is a good opportunity to talk about Red Copper Pan’s price before wrapping up.

How Much Does Red Copper Pan Cost?

One 10” Red Copper Pan and recipe guide will cost you $19.99 plus $7.99 S&H. At checkout, you’ll also be able to order a second Pan, along with an 8” Forever Sharp Copper Knife, for an additional $9.99 S&H.

Like most Telebrands products, Red Copper Pan comes with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges. Keep in mind that you’ll lose $17.98 if you chose the BOGO offer, even before shipping it back to the company.

Nonetheless, customer service can be reached at 855-668-1655.

Should You Buy Red Copper Pan?

Cathy Mitchell has had some great success with ASOTV products recently, as her Dump Cakes and Dump Loaf recipe books have sold like hotcakes (excuse the bad pun). But whether we’re talking about her previous products or new ones like Red Copper Pan (and their other incarnation as Gotham Steel Pans), it seems like most customers aren’t pleased with their purchase.

Granted, Telebrands could have completely retooled the manufacturing process with Red Copper Pan, so—unlike Gotham—it’ll arrive on your doorstep quickly and function flawlessly. But if our experience reviewing hundreds of ASOTV products has taught us anything, it’s that this is unlikely.

What can you do instead? We think shopping locally for copper and ceramic cookware will help you get more bang for your buck. You’ll also be able to compare different pans in person, speak with a sales associate, and get a better feel for which options are best for you, before handing over your hard-earned money.

Read Next: Finding the Perfect Pots & Pans for Your Cooking Style

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

513 Consumer Reviews for Red Copper Pan

Average Consumer Rating: 1.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 73 4 star: 17 3 star: 16 2 star: 71 1 star:  336
Bottom Line: 19% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 513
Sort reviews by:

  • Red Copper Pan

    • Idaho,
    • Dec 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought one of these. I seasoned it, used it for a few times, and it worked great. One day, not thinking about it, because I use oil or non-stick cooking sprays in my other pans, I sprayed it with noncooking spray to cook eggs. They stuck to it. Not long after I was watching a program that had the lady herself, Cathy Mitchell, demonstrating the cookware. She said once you use nonstick spray on these pans, everything will stick to them from then on. I was not happy at all. Why isn't this advice in the instructions! I tried reseasoning it and that didn't help. It's total garbage now!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • What a joke!

    • New Mexico,
    • Dec 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is the worst pan I have ever had. Save your money. The finish started coming off and I contacted the company and they said I was not using it right. Told me to re-season it. I did and it did nothing. Finally, I threw it out because everything sticks. I wish the "auntie looking lady" had the pan you know where sideways.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • I have a lot of Red Copper

    • Cuyahoga Falls, OH,
    • Dec 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I started purchasing Red Copper when my expensive Calphalon became almost useless. I had one Red Copper round skillet that I had bought at a store several years ago. I now have an extensive set and am planning on buying a 10 and 12-inch square pan. I love them. My eggs do not stick like others have said. I browned Hungarian sausage links in one and the skillet got really yucky with a browned gooey substance from the sausage. It cleaned right off with no problem. No soaking. Of course, most of mine are still fairly new. But the one I had for several years is still working wonderful for me. No sticking and easy clean-up.

    The only thing that is a negative for me is you can't get lids for some of them like the 10 and 12 inch square. I need lids. I think every piece of cookware from Red Copper should have a lid or at least the option of buying one for it. They do have some lids but not for everything. The lids you can buy separately are rather expensive. I have the 10-piece set, and they have lids. I have the pasta pot (has lid), I have the square deep pan that has they fry basket and steamer tray (has lid). I have the sandwich maker. I am probably going to order the 10 and 12-inch square pans (come on Red Copper - need lids), maybe lids I have on other things would fit them, I don't know until I order and get the 10 and 12-inch pans.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Not durable and not nonstick.

    • South Bend, IN,
    • Nov 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    What a huge disappointment. It took less than three months of average cooking use to have the nonstick attributes lost and render the pans unusable. My 40-year-old Teflon still performs better than this crap. I regret buying two of them. My daughter also bought one and I noticed that she has the same problem and has gone back to using her old pans.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Red Copper pot

    • Lake Charles, LA,
    • Nov 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Red Copper pot is a scam. Advertising is a lie. Says can't be scratched. I have used mine for normal use and can see spots where the coating is coming off. And to get a replacement pot is an act of Congress. So I gave up. It's just a lie, false advertising. I do not recommend.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    They are no good

    • Sun City West, AZ,
    • Nov 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased one year ago, the food stuck to it, so I threw the pan in the trash.

    Two months ago I thought I would give it another try and bought another one, followed the instructions and seasoned it, and this morning I tried to fried eggs and they stuck so bad that I had to throw the pan and eggs out.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Burns

    • Maryland,
    • Nov 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This pan set burns you. Wait until you wash it in the dishwasher or sink and get water in the handle, boil some noodles and go to transfer them to the strainer...burning hot liquid all down the front of your body and arms. Worthless pan set. My dad bought them for me a year ago, but in the cabinet they sit after I got rid of my good nonstick pans for this mess and had to buy newer ones of a different kind.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Red Copper frying pan is a SCAM

    • Manassas, VA,
    • Nov 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought this Red Copper frying pan thinking it will be a non-stick pan. To my surprise, it was nothing like they advertise on TV. It's false advertisement! And a scam.

    I bought mine from Bed Bath & Beyond. The first time I used it, the eggs stick like crazy, I thought hmmmm, something is wrong.

    The next time I was frying bacon, OMG the worst frying pan I've ever seen. I took a picture, you can see it.

    I think it's a SCAM. Now if you want to return it, they tell you that you have to pay $8.99, and they will review to see if they can give you your money back.

    Stay away from this frying pan, it cost me $21.00, but you can buy a better and a real non-stick pan from Walmart. The government should investigate them for false advertisement.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Junk

    • New York,
    • Nov 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Good when first purchased, then downhill. Using a spray oil or real butter, and eggs are stuck and ruined. I am throwing it away today. Why do I have to submit 180 characters? The product is junk. It's been meticulously cleaned and it's impossible to cook eggs, no matter what you use. It would be impossible regardless of how you attempted to cook the eggs.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Red Copper skillet sticking.

    • Indiana,
    • Nov 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    When I first purchased the skillet, I followed directions to season it. It worked perfectly for a while. After a few months of using it, the pan starting sticking. I can't even fry a hamburger in it without making a mess. I am very disappointed in it. I paid $20 for it, would love to have another skillet if it worked. Are there refunds or replacement guarantees? Please advise. Thanks for your time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Worst pan ever!

    • Nov 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought this pan a year ago, and I followed the instructions exactly! I couldn't wait to try it out. I tried to scramble eggs and MOST stuck hard and fast to the pan. Through the year, I cooked all different meals and ALL stuck to this pan! After re-seasoning several times, I started frying with oil as you would in a normal fry pan. ALL meals stuck to this pan whether or not I used oil! I finally, after trying for a year, threw it in the trash, where it belongs! I'm happy with my new iron skillet.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 27, 2018

      Daniel M.

      Yep, followed the instructions as they asked, and eggs stuck the first time. Works wonderfully if you spray or coat with olive or cooking oil. Disappointment, as I was expecting non-stick surface from the get-go, how it's advertised.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 513

Write a Review for Red Copper Pan!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review