About Red Copper Pan

Endorsed by #1 best selling author Cathy Mitchell, the 10” Red Copper Fry Pan combines 100% pure, super strong copper and a non-stick ceramic surface. Why?

So you’ll have a durable piece of cookware that’s oven safe to 500°, and that also can be used to flambé desserts, caramelize sugar, or even mix eggs directly in the pan! In fact, whatever abuse you throw at it in the kitchen, Red Copper Pan is guaranteed to stay scratch-free forever.

Red Copper Pan’s non-stick coating is also PFOA and PTFE free, so it’s safe for your family, and when you’re finished cooking you can pop it in the dishwasher for easy cleanup.

What’s not to love about Cathy Mitchell? She’s sweet, makes wonderful food, and makes herself feel like part of the family. Does that mean her products—especially Red Copper Pan—are any good? That’s exactly what we’ll help you figure out here.

To begin our journey, let’s talk about copper cookware in general.

Is Copper a Good Cooking Surface?

Now, ‘good’ can mean different things to different people. So, in order to scale the question down a little, let’s find out some of the pros and cons for copper cookware, and we’ll leave it up to you to decide if it’s ‘good’ or not:

Copper Cookware Pros

Probably the biggest advantage of copper cookware is that it conducts heat exceptionally well. As a result, it’ll take less time to heat the food inside, evenly distribute this heat, and help it cook faster.

Copper is, for the most, easy to clean.

Finally, from a purely aesthetic standpoint, copper cookware looks stunning when hanging from a rack in your kitchen.

See also: Comparing Cookware: Stainless Steel vs. Copper

Copper Cookware Cons

Probably one of the biggest obstacles to overcome related to copper cookware is price. Although full copper cookware is very expensive, you can purchase it with a stainless steel or tin lining for less.

Outside of price, according to TheKitchn, copper cookware has several unique disadvantages:

“Reactive with alkaline or acidic foods, which can take on a metallic taste after being cooked in a copper pot. Light colored foods, like eggs, can also develop grey streaks when they pick up the copper compounds, which also means you'll ingest small amounts of copper. Not a big deal if it's an occasional thing, but not so great for everyday use. Copper also requires regular polishing and maintenance, and it's expensive.”

Lastly, despite what’s mentioned on the Red Copper Pan website, copper cookware is not dishwasher safe.

Red Copper Pan Test

For more product tests: Click here to subscribe to HighYa’s YouTube channel

What Can You Expect From Red Copper Pan’s Non-Stick Coating?

Although copper is considered a tough, durable material, of anything failed on Red Copper Pan first, it’d almost certainly be the non-stick coating. We’re told it’s PFOA and PTFE-free (which is certainly positive), but is it really as durable as the company claims?

The quick answer is that there’s no way to know. We know that Red Copper Pan’s non-stick properties are provided by its ceramic coating, but not all ceramic coatings are created equal. Generally, the thicker a ceramic coating is, the more durable and long-lasting it’ll be.

And considering that most As Seen On TV products don’t exactly get high marks for quality, it’s our opinion that Red Copper Pan’s ceramic coating won’t be thick or durable.

Pro tip: In any case, it’s never a good idea to whisk eggs directly in your non-stick pan using an electric mixer, as demonstrated in the Red Copper Pan commercial.

Speaking of ASOTV products, is there anything else out there quite like Red Copper Pan?

Does Red Copper Pan Have Any Competition?

Yes. A whole lot.

In fact, outside of their different colors, it seems like Red Copper Pan is just a rebranded version of Gotham Steel Pans; except instead of being endorsed by Cathy Miller, Gotham was promoted by Chef Daniel Green. Did everyone like them?

Out of 40 reader reviews, Gotham Steel Pans had an average rating of 2.3 stars here on HighYa, mostly because they never arrived. Out of these review, a customer who received theirs, wrote:

“EVERYTHING sticks, even bacon. I'm a chef so I know I'm better off with cast iron. When particles adhere to the surface they are impossible to remove. I can cook on stainless steel with better results.”

Will you experience the same with Red Copper Pan? There’s no way to know for sure, but since they seem like they’re essentially the exact same product, we’d definitely recommend keeping it in mind.

Then, if we move outside the ASOTV realm, you’ll find that you literally have hundreds more copper/ceramic cookware to choose from, whether online or at local retailers. In some instances, you might even be able to find 6-piece cookware sets for as little as $100.

Sure, this will cost more upfront than Red Copper Pan, but you’ll be getting much more value for your money. On top of this, returning them is as easy as hopping in your car if you’re not satisfied!

This is a good opportunity to talk about Red Copper Pan’s price before wrapping up.

How Much Does Red Copper Pan Cost?

One 10” Red Copper Pan and recipe guide will cost you $19.99 plus $7.99 S&H. At checkout, you’ll also be able to order a second Pan, along with an 8” Forever Sharp Copper Knife, for an additional $9.99 S&H.

Like most Telebrands products, Red Copper Pan comes with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges. Keep in mind that you’ll lose $17.98 if you chose the BOGO offer, even before shipping it back to the company.

Nonetheless, customer service can be reached at 855-668-1655.

Should You Buy Red Copper Pan?

Cathy Mitchell has had some great success with ASOTV products recently, as her Dump Cakes and Dump Loaf recipe books have sold like hotcakes (excuse the bad pun). But whether we’re talking about her previous products or new ones like Red Copper Pan (and their other incarnation as Gotham Steel Pans), it seems like most customers aren’t pleased with their purchase.

Granted, Telebrands could have completely retooled the manufacturing process with Red Copper Pan, so—unlike Gotham—it’ll arrive on your doorstep quickly and function flawlessly. But if our experience reviewing hundreds of ASOTV products has taught us anything, it’s that this is unlikely.

What can you do instead? We think shopping locally for copper and ceramic cookware will help you get more bang for your buck. You’ll also be able to compare different pans in person, speak with a sales associate, and get a better feel for which options are best for you, before handing over your hard-earned money.

Read Next: Finding the Perfect Pots & Pans for Your Cooking Style

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

496 Consumer Reviews for Red Copper Pan

Average Consumer Rating: 1.9
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 72 4 star: 17 3 star: 16 2 star: 68 1 star:  323
Bottom Line: 20% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 496
Sort reviews by:

  • Don't waste your money

    • Florida,
    • Sep 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I made the mistake of buying three of these in different sizes. None of them do what the TV ads say they will do. Don't waste your money! I wish that I could get my money back!

    Now the stations are advertising a different one. Do we believe it or not? I think NOT!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Scrap metal at best

    • Texas,
    • Sep 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought a pan set at Sam's Wholesale Club. It is NOT worth taking home! The first time you cook, the pan might not stick, although the law of averages proves otherwise. Eggs and water stick to the bottom of the pans. I tied to re-season to NO avail. The pans are good for nothing to do nothing with EXCEPT toss into the scrap meat pile.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Love it!

    • Kansas,
    • Sep 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've had mine close to two years, and I love it. It cooks evenly; I never have an issue with sticking or cleaning it. It's the best pan I have owned in years and I am looking to buy more!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Red Copper Pan

    • Tennessee,
    • Aug 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had mine for about three months. I wish I could post the picture I took. I fried potatoes on low heat and they didn’t brown, they just turned to mush and the browning sticks to the pan.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    9.5-inch pan

    • Virginia,
    • Aug 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got my Red Copper for my birthday and loved it for the first 3 or 4 times of use (had for 9 months now) and cannot stand to use it anymore because it is so hard to clean. My wife constantly gets it out to use and the cleaning time is ridiculous. I had to use it yesterday 8/7/18 then had to soak it for hours to just get scrambled eggs to release from it after that I had to wash repeatedly to get the egg residue from the sides. Not worth the money my in-laws spent on it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Don't buy a Red Copper Pan

    • Ocean City, MD,
    • Aug 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased three Red Copper Pans. I gave one away as a gift to my sister. They worked for a month or two then everything started to stick to the pan. I threw my two pans away in the trash. A class action lawsuit is needed to stop the sale of these pans. They are a rip-off and you can't get a refund without mailing the pan back. Good luck. A piece of crap!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 17, 2018

      Annette F.

      I purchased a set of two square pans. My one BIG complaint (besides the price) about these pans is that the interior cooking surface is not flat. I placed a pat of butter in the center of the pan, and it immediately slid off to the edge of the pan. Then I placed four turkey burgers in the center of the pan, and they also slid off to all four corners of the pan. They will NOT stay up in the center of the surface. This makes it impossible for food to cook evenly. The half of the burger that is closer to the center of the pan cooks faster than the half that is sitting in the well closer to the edge of the pan.

      I called the manufacturer customer service line to see if my pans were defective. Apparently, this is by "design" not an error. Each pan is designed to have a swell or domed curve in the center of the pan. The customer service rep (who spoke very broken English) just kept repeating that this is a non-stick pan. "Yes, I know that but my question was is the purpose of the domed or raised center? What is the purpose of having your food slid off the center and into the side wells?" I asked to escalate the call, but he said there is no one above him to take my call, and that this is just the way they are designed.

      He suggested that I return the pans to the store. These pans are not designed for "real" cooks. There are non-stick pans for less than half this cost, which have a flat, level surface! Cheaper ones may scratch sooner, but they are at a "disposable" cost!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Like, but they do stick

    • Clearwater, FL,
    • Aug 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought a 2-skillet set and couldn't wait to use it. I followed directions and "seasoned" them with oil and heated in the oven. When I cooked my eggs, they did stick. I added a little butter and they slid right out. I LOVE that they are easy to clean, just wiped out with soap wash rag, but am very disappointed that they stick!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Red Copper Pan gets in the way

    • Hillsboro, OR,
    • Aug 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The metal loop handle is not wanted, it gets in the way of other pans. The metal loop handle is fastened with large aluminum rivets that impede flipping flat foods being cooked. The metal loop handle gets very hot and burns fingers. You will get at least the same performance of Red Copper Pans with any others if you give them the Red Copper Pan "kid glove" treatment. Do not use "high heat" with this pan. OK so, we'll only use this pan to warm up baby food. Idiots, frying used high heat. This pan failed after six months and like a crappy pair of socks, it is going to Goodwill - they will at least get scrap value out of it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Consumers lose on this one!

    • Spring, TX,
    • Jul 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased two Red Copper Pans for my son who is very health conscious, one at a time. He told me he wanted to try it because it does not need oil or butter to cook without sticking. On the 1st pan, I was a bit skeptical, so I sprayed PAM on it (thinking my son would never know - bad mom!) whenever I cooked on it. The first time he cooked on it, it stuck. He was not happy. I suggested he use PAM, which helped. He told me I should send it back, since they guarantee there would be no sticking.

    Apparently, using PAM voids the warranty. So, we purchased our 2nd Red Copper Pan. No PAM was put on it at all. Food stuck to the pan, but easily washed off with warm water and washcloth, without any scouring.

    Over time, the pan no longer washed easily. I have had it since Christmas 2017 and it has been difficult to clean for months. Today, I am giving up. Without using a scouring product (like Bon Ami or BarKeepers Friend), it will not come clean. I guess the next step is a more harsh product like Ajax. Time will tell.

    Not worth sending back for replacement, because you have to pay $9.99 for processing, which was the price when originally publicized. So the only one that loses is the consumer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Red Copper 8-inch pan

    • Missouri,
    • Jul 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased an 8-inch pan and it was fantastic for a short while. The finish started coming off in chips as if it was hit repeatedly with a sharp instrument like an ice pick. The marketing company that handles this wanted me to return at my expense and include shipping for them to return the pan or replacement depending on their digression. They also told me that there was only a 30-day warranty, not lifetime.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    A waste of money

    • Loveland, OH,
    • Jul 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Garbage! I wasted my money on garbage! The pan does not sit flat on the stove. The bottom warped. Wobbles all over. Finish is coming off in center of the pan. I seasoned, per instructions before using. Probably used five times before noticing flaws. DON’T waste your money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 496

Write a Review for Red Copper Pan!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review