About Renumax

Using a proprietary formula that fills your car’s superficial scratches, scrapes, and scuff marks with tiny micro-particles, Renumax Scratch Remover goes on quick and can help you avoid expensive sanding, polishing, or buffing. In fact, the company claims Renumax can provide professional results in seconds, whether you own a car, motorcycle, boat, RV, and more.

To use Renumax, you just have to follow these simple steps:

  1. Shake the bottle of Renumax.
  2. Apply the formula directly to the scratched area. This is accomplished using a convenient applicator sponge that spreads the formula easily over a wide area—even curved surfaces.
  3. Allow time to dry, which should only take minutes.
  4. Use a microfiber cloth to remove excess liquid or residue.

Then, regardless of your car’s color or finish, the company claims Renumax will do all the work and provide a “smooth clean shine that protects your car for years.”

As our cars get used and abused over the years, all the small scratches and scrapes can really add up, making them look almost as bad as if they were in an accident. The difference is that these smalls scuffs don’t really warrant an expensive trip to the body shop, so a product like Renumax makes perfect sense: help your car look better for a lot less!

Is this what you can expect, though? Will Renumax give you similar results to a body shop? Will it even work at all? And is it worth rolling the dice? We’re here to keep you informed, so we’ll cover all of this—and more.

How Does Renumax Work? Is It Unique?

Nowhere on the Renumax website or in the commercial are we told what Renumax’s “proprietary formula” actually contains, so there’s no way to know exactly how it works.

Fortunately, there are several products out there just like Renumax, including popular options like Scratch-dini and Scratch Away. All of these products use a substance known as BFGoodrich Carbopol resin, a “registered trademark for a series of polyacrylic acids used as gelling agents” which are “are white, fluffy powders.” We’re not told exactly how these substances work to fill in surface scratches on cars, but a company press release from 1998 claimed they’re “used as thickeners, stabilizers and emulsifiers in a wide range of personal care, household, textile, industrial and coatings applications and are also used as excipients in pharmaceuticals.”

Is this what’s contained in Renumax? If so, then it’s only proprietary to BFGoodrich, and not to Renumax’s manufacturer.

Regardless of who makes it or how it works, what can you realistically expect from the Carbopol resin found in Renumax?

Will Renumax Work as Advertised?

Here on HighYa, Scratch-dini had a 1.4-star average rating from 66 customers at the time of our research, most of which complained that it didn’t work as advertised (or at all). In fact, more than one reader noted that Scratch-dini actually made scrapes and scratches even more noticeable.

Granted, it doesn’t matter which Carbopol-containing product we’re talking about, most customers complain of the same thing. Does this necessarily mean you’ll experience something similar with Renumax? We didn’t test the product directly so there’s no way to be sure, although we think this other customer feedback is worth considering strongly before placing an order.

Pro tip: Just remember that products like Renumax only work on superficial imperfections, which generally means they haven’t made it past your car’s clear coat. Anything deeper and you’ll definitely need to enlist the help of a professional body shop.

Next, let’s talk about price.

How Much Does Renumax Cost?

One bottle of Renumax will cost you $19.95, plus $13.95 S&H. For this price, you’ll receive one bottle of Renumax and one bottle of Smart Polish (based on all appearances, this seems to be similar to Armor All).

Also included with your order is a “free” bonus car vacuum, for which you’ll have to pay an additional $13.95 S&H.

All Renumax orders come with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges (we’ll talk more about this next). In order to request a refund, you’ll need to contact customer service.

Important note: There wasn’t any contact information listed on the Renumax website at the time of our research, so we’ll keep checking back and will update this review once it’s posted.

Running the Numbers: Putting Renumax’s Cost Into Perspective

Before wrapping things up, it’s important here to really drive home Renumax’s price in comparison to its value. Let’s lay it out, shall we?

There’s no mention how big Renumax’s bottle is, but based on pictures shown on their website, it could probably fit in the palm of most adults’ hands. The smart polish appears to be even less bulky.

The point is that Renumax’s manufacturer will charge you almost $14 in shipping for a couple items that probably don’t weigh much more than a pound. In addition, while a car vacuum might come in handy, the company’s forcing you to purchase theirs (instead of exploring other options on your own and making a more informed purchase) and charging you an additional $14 for the privilege.

To top it all off, the nearly $28 you spend in S&H charges—40% more than the cost of the product itself—is non-refundable if you’re not satisfied. In fact, by the time you ship it all back to the company, you end up losing $10+ more in S&H than what you’ll get back as a refund.

Pro tip: The Renumax website didn’t indicate if your order will come with a microfiber cloth, so be sure to factor this into your overall cost as well.

Renumax Price BreakdownBy the time you check out, due to Renumax’s S&H charges, the final cost may end being a bit more than you were originally expecting.

But is your satisfaction with Renumax all about price?

Will Renumax Renew Your Car’s Paint Job?

Even Renumax cost twice as much, you’d probably still buy it as long as it worked as advertised, right? After all, who wouldn’t want to get rid of unsightly scratches and scuffs on their car, without paying an expensive body shop to do it for them?

However, considering that there are at least 2 other products currently on the market that are essentially identical to Renumax—neither of which come with high marks from customers, this could speak volumes about what you might expect to experience. On top of this, you’ll pay almost $30 in non-refundable S&H on your Renumax order, which could be a big stumbling block from an overall value perspective.

Based on these two factors, a wise (and money conscious) choice might be to explore local Carbopol resin options before placing your Renumax order. Why? Although they might work equally well as Renumax, you could save yourself a boatload in S&H charges—especially if you’re not satisfied and decide to process a return.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

16 Consumer Reviews for Renumax

Average Consumer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 1 4 star: 0 3 star: 1 2 star: 1 1 star:  13
Bottom Line: 6% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 16
Sort reviews by:

  • No good

    • Melbourne, Australia,
    • Aug 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This stuff is a load of rubbish, and I cannot understand why Big W put it on its shelf, do they need the money that bad that they are starting to sell rubbish? Tomorrow I take it back and see if I can get my money back. It will be interesting. No zero in the rating here, I wonder why.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    What a scam!

    • Jul 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Too bad I cannot give zero stars. This company should be shut down for outright fraud. How many people got conned I wonder?

    Biggest crock of crap ever. Mine came from France, but does anyone know if that's where the company is located?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Renumax outcome

    • New York,
    • Jun 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased Renumax from a Facebook ad. I received it in six days. I tried it out on scratches I have, which were at coat depth of the paint.

    The outcome was it did not work at all. Very disappointing. It may be somewhat successful in very thin swirl scratches but still does not work like advertised.

    This product needs to be reported to the BBB.

    I recommend: DO NOT BUY!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Not worth the money

    • Wales, United Kingdom,
    • Jun 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    After watching the ad on Facebook, I sent for one. When it arrived, I tried it on my daughter's car, which had a light scratch on the door. I applied it onto the scratch like in the ad, waited, and the scratch was still there. What a waste of £31.00. It did not work. The ad must be a fake as it did not work for me, and my scratch was not as bard as the ones in the ad. Very unsatisfied with the product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy

    Waste of time and money. It did nothing at all. It took so long to be delivered and poor customer service after sales. I totally regret buying without checking the reviews.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Crap product

    • Pleasanton, CA,
    • May 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Other than a chalky film on the car, this product did absolutely nothing. Total crap! It took weeks to deliver, and now I'm sorry it ever came and I ever wasted my money. It barely covered the minor scratches, after drying they were still visible. Does nothing for deep scratches.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • May 19, 2018

      Charlotte Vallance

      I just wanted to write and tell you that I am proud of this product. Most of the time these products don't do the job, but I have to say it worked as well as the commercial describes it would. Thank you. I keep it in the glove compartment and if anyone has a scratch, I demonstrate the product for them.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    The most misleading ad ever

    • Florida,
    • May 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought the Renumax for small scratches on my red Camry. Not only did the product not even attempt to remove the scratch, it did not even MASK it temporarily. It is simply the worst most misleading product I have used or bought. It does absolutely nothing! Just a terrible product. These people need to be sued!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Ya'll be doing it wrong

    I never saw an ad of any kind. My dad bought it for one of our work vehicles. I was excited to see if it worked. So, I shook it up, covered the area, waited a few minutes, and wiped it off with a microfiber cloth. TA-DAH! It got rid of several scratches completely. The deeper one we had to go over several times, but it lightened it up considerably. It WAS a huge, deep scratch. Now, it's barely noticeable. It's not a body shop. It's a bottle. I'm not sure what you guys expected out of it, or how you did it, but it worked great for me!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 28, 2018

      Jack H.

      Total BS, more chance of pigs flying than this crap removing scratches!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Results are limited

    • Scottsdale, AZ,
    • May 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This product only works on superficial scratches that do not penetrate into the paint below the clear coat. I would only recommend this be used on superficial scratches. The results will probably be best on solid color paint, not metallic painted surfaces.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Renumax scratch remover

    Hi. I bought the scratch remover and found it didn't work. Can I have a refund?

    I have a motorcycle which is only three years old and the paintwork is good, apart from a few little scratches one being on the mudguard, which is plastic. The area is on the top of the guard, so it's easy to work on. I did exactly as it said on the box; I washed and dried the part with a well-known cleaner, what paint sprayers use. After the part was clean and dry, I gave Renumax scratch remover bottle a good shake. Then I took the top off, I then dabbed the area making sure plenty of the liquid got into the scratchers. I then let it dry, and after making sure it was dry, I started wiping with a cloth. After a few wipes everything was clean, and so was the scratch, but it didn't work.

    So I did the same again and it didn't work the second time. I tried it on the petrol tank, this being made of metal, did exactly the same and again nothing happened. The scratchers still remain, and for this reason, could I have my 28.42 EUR refunded?

    So to make sure I carried out the right procedure as on the package, I asked a friend of mine, who is a qualified paint sprayer, and he said yes that I had done what it said but it didn't work. When I bought the scratch remover from this company, I was led to believe that it would work. Thank you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Crap

    • Burnie, Tasmania, Australia,
    • Apr 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought Renumax here in Australia for $99.00 AUD from "BEST DIRECT" in New South Wales and was excited to try this on my Corvette, which had several fine scratches on it.

    What a waste of time and money!

    This rubbish did nothing for my paint but leave white, chalky residue on the car. The money I paid should have gone towards the price of repairing the scratches properly at a paint shop.

    I wonder how the people who sell this rubbish to people can sleep at night. The vac is a total waste of time using and the polish is the same. Why can't these people find real jobs instead of stealing from others?

    I would not even recommend this item to my worst enemy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 16

Write a Review for Renumax!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review