About Ring Doorbell

Type the phrase “home security system” into any search engine, and you’ll come up with hundreds of different choices. But here’s the thing: most of the options only monitor the inside of your home, while leaving the exterior largely unprotected.

Enter Ring Doorbell. This easy-to-install video doorbell device features a 180-degree HD camera (with night vision!), along with configurable motion sensors and a built-in microphone for two-way audio. Once Ring is activated, it works seamlessly over your wireless internet and instantly sends mobile alerts to your smartphones and tablets.

This means you’ll be able to see and speak with whoever’s at your front door—even when you’re not home—and with Ring’s Cloud recording, you’ll be able to easily access, rewind, and share the video it records. In a very real way, all these features mean that Ring can provide you with convenience, monitoring, and security, and ensure you’re “always home.”

There’s not doubt Ring’s features are pretty cool. But do you even need a “smart” doorbell in the first place? And even if you do, is Ring necessarily your best option? Are customers happy? There are a lot of factors that go into any buying decision, and we’ll be sure to discuss Ring Doorbell’s most important aspects in this review.

First, we’ll take a look a Ring’s technical details.

Ring Doorbell’s Tech Specs

Each Ring Doorbell is about 5” long, 2.5” high, and 1” thick, and is constructed of an ABS plastic housing that’s outdoor approved for heat, rain, sleet, or snow (operating temperatures for Ring Doorbell are -5 - 120°F).

According to the company, the installation process is as simple as attaching the mounting bracket to a flat surface using the included hardware (for wood, brick, concrete, and stucco surfaces), and placing the device on the bracket. Then, to help prevent theft, you’ll secure it in place with a proprietary security screw.

Inside the Ring Doorbell, you’ll find a 720p HD camera that can detect motion up to 30 feet away, along with a built-in microphone with “perfectly tuned echo cancellation.”

Wondering how you’ll power your Ring? You can either use its rechargeable battery or hardwire it to your existing doorbell. If using Ring’s battery, the manufacturer claims it’ll last about a year, and it will send you an email alert when it’s running low and needs to be recharged (depending on the amperage of your charger, this can take anywhere between 4 and 10 hours).

At the core of Ring’s operation is the free app, which is available for iPhones and iPads, Android phones and tablets, and any Windows 10 computer or tablet, which connect to ring over your wireless internet connection. You can have more than one Ring device in your home (each Doorbell will have its own unique name), and you’ll be able to pair as many smartphones and tablets as you would like to any Ring Doorbell.

In the event of an alert, all users will automatically be notified. However, you can customize your settings, so that (for example) you’d be notified for all alerts, while other household members only receive alerts when the doorbell button is pressed.

Another thing you can customize through the app is Ring’s motion detection sensors, where you’ll be able exclude areas like busy nearby sidewalks and roads, so that you “only get notified when it matters.”

Chime Turns Ring Into a Standard Doorbell

Now, you might be thinking to yourself, “What if I don’t have my phone nearby when someone actives my Ring device?” Well, the company makes a complementary device call Chime, which plugs into any standard power outlet and provides an audible tone (much like a traditional doorbell) when someone’s at your door.

Like Ring, Chime connects to your Wi-Fi network, so you can set up as many devices as you want. Need a little peace and quiet? You can disable each Chime and customize volume settings through the Ring app.

Ring’s Stick Up Cam

If you’re looking for all the video features and none of the Doorbell, Ring also makes the standalone Stick Up Cam, which features much of the same motion detection, 2-way audio, night vision, weather resistance, and optional cloud video recording (more about this in a second) as Ring.

Stick Up Cam is wire-free and can be mounted just about anywhere, while the easily adjustable mounting bracket allows you to see, hear, and speak with anyone at the perfect angle.

Ring+ Technology

Do you also own a smart lock from Wink, Kevo, Lockstate, Kisi? If so, the company’s Ring+ technology allows you to connect your Doorbell to these products, adding even more convenience, monitoring, and security (you’ll be able to lock and unlock your door while monitoring activity outside your home!). The process works over 3 steps:

  1. Download one of Ring’s partner apps for iOS or Android.
  2. Locate the integration menu within the live event screen in the Ring App.
  3. Select a partner’s app icon to then open the app and perform an action.

Cloud Video Recording

All of the video recorded by Ring Doorbell or Stick Up Cam can be sent to an optional Ring Cloud Video Recording account, where you’ll be able to “view and download up to six months of previous events, share clips with friends, neighbors and local law enforcement, and delete events that aren't important pr keep ones that are.” We’ll come back around to this in the final section.

Whew! That’s a big list of features! But will it cost you an arm and a leg?

Will Ring’s Price Resonate?

Ring Doorbell is priced at $199, with faceplates available in Satin Nickel, Antique Brass, Polished Brass, or Venetian Bronze. All Ring Doorbell purchases come with 30 days of free Cloud Video Recording. After that, you’ll pay $3 per month or $30 per year.

The Stick Up Cam will also cost you $199, and Chime is priced at $29.95.

Shipping is free for Ring Doorbell, but Chime (without also purchasing a Ring) comes with a $4.95 S&H fee

All Ring Doorbells come with a 30-day return policy, less S&H charges, as well as a 1-year limited warranty against defective parts or workmanship. Ring’s Lifetime Purchase Protection will even replace your Ring Doorbell if it’s stolen (you’ll have to file a police report, and this is only good one time).

In order to request a refund, process a warranty claim, or anything else, Ring’s customer service department can be reached at (800) 656-1918.

Given Ring Doorbell’s relatively reasonable price, along with its strong warranty and refund policy, are customers pleased with its performance?

Is Ring Doorbell a Hit With Customers?

As you might imagine, with such cool technology at an achievable price point, the Ring Doorbell has received a ton of attention from industry giants and customers alike.

Tech Hive and PC Mag both gave Ring Doorbell 3.5-star ratings, both claiming that it was easy to install and that the app was easy to navigate.

Tech Hive also called Ring a “clever, well-designed gadget,” but noted that it “didn’t always deliver on its promises.” Specifically, lag was often long between the time the device’s button was pressed and when the notification was received on a phone (several times, it didn’t work at all), although they felt this was due to their Wi-Fi connection more than anything else (more about this in a moment). Also, the author noted that going through all the steps to access the video chat screen inside Ring’s app can be a “long, frustrating experience.” Ultimately, they concluded that if Ring was “hardwired to my home network, and not at the mercy of Wi-Fi and smartphone connections,” many of these core problems would be addressed.

PC Mag also discussed many of these same things, but added that their battery only lasted 2.5 months (although it was during February), and mentioned that the audio quality is “hit or miss.”

From a customer perspective, Ring Doorbell had an average rating of 4.1 stars based on a whopping 6,700+ reviews on Amazon. There, most compliments seemed to reference ease of installation and solid performance.

On the other hand, most complaints seemed plagued with software issues—specifically, that the device doesn’t automatically reconnect to your network (if the power goes down, for example), and that the camera only recorded as people were walking away.

What about the company behind Ring Doorbell? The device is manufactured by Bot Home Automation, Inc. based out of Santa Monica, CA. This is the same company who produced DoorBot (aka Ring version 1.0), which didn’t seem to get very good reviews from HighYa readers, with a 1.1-star average ratings based on complaints about failure to work and difficulty getting help from customer service. However, based on customer feedback, it seems that these issues were largely addressed with Ring.

Let’s go ahead and bring everything together.

Should You Splurge On Ring Doorbell?

So, who might Ring Doorbell work best for? In our opinion, the device’s target market is consumers who want to add some front door security, without all the hassle of setting up higher-end home automation cameras. Simply install it in a few minutes, download the app, link the device to your Wi-Fi signal, and you’re good to go.

But here’s the catch: This ease of use also creates two of Ring Doorbell’s biggest drawbacks (at least according to customer feedback): 1) Overall functionality is based on the strength of your Wi-Fi signal, and 2) you won’t be able to store any of the video Ring records on your own equipment.

This first concern could be addressed by maximizing signal strength at your front door, either by relocating your router or purchasing a wireless signal repeater. In fact, Ring’s manufacturer specifically recommends this option. Obviously, this means you’ll have to increase your budget to accommodate the extra hardware.

Speaking of which, by requiring you to store all your video on Ring’s Cloud (which costs $30 per year), you’ll have some long-term costs to factor into your budget.

Admittedly, both of these concerns could probably be addressed by allowing their customers to use Ring Doorbell within their own network. Will the company listen and change the device accordingly? Only time will tell.

In the mean time, unless you’re a hardcore home automation enthusiast who’s only interested in customization, Ring Doorbell might work for just about everyone else.

What’d you experience with Ring? Tell us about it by writing a review below!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

38 Consumer Reviews for Ring Doorbell

Average Consumer Rating: 1.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 2 4 star: 0 3 star: 4 2 star: 5 1 star:  27
Bottom Line: 3% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 38
Sort reviews by:

  • Long time user and beta tester not happy with long term experience

    • New York,
    • Mar 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought the Ring Doorbell about three/four years ago when they first started advertising on TV, and I am part of the beta test group. I am also the owner of a home electronics installation company. I have been in business for 30 years. I have installed about 16 of the Ring Doorbells for my customers. Last week I had a unit that would no longer ring the customer's indoor chime. The circuit in the Ring Doorbell had blown out. The voltage from the doorbell transformer was between 16 and 21 volts AC just where it is supposed to be. Ring technical support had no idea why it had blown out, but since the unit was over 2 years old, the customers only recourse was to buy another unit with a $50.00 discount.

    NOW my Ring Doorbell stopped working the other day. It can no longer connect to the Ring produced network during setup. The Ring technician told me it was because MY internet connection was too slow. My answer was…how come it worked for the last 3 or 4 years (?), and I have a fiber optic network connection, the fastest available. I asked to speak to someone more knowledgeable and it was determined that the Ring Doorbell was faulty. But AGAIN, my only recourse is to buy another doorbell with a $50.00 discount. In my quest to write a review, I find that there is no way to directly mail or talk to anyone higher than a technical support person about any complaints you have.

    NOT GOOD.

    I will no longer be installing or using the Ring Doorbell, there are other options.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • A piece of junk

    • Washington, DC,
    • Mar 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    One star is the best I can do for this system (and I'm being generous). Everything triggers Ring, and the video isn't much better. I contacted the security company I'm with for another week, due to this calamity, to complain. I was sold Ring as part of my plan, but everyone with whom I spoke said Ring is one of the worst and now I believe it. A flying bag, piece of paper, steam rising from my laundry room vent, snow, rain, and wind all trigger it.

    I called another security company and told them about Ring. They assured me it was not a good system and they don't recommend it to consumers due to the very experiences I have had. I even had several videos record and stop while people were still at my door! Ring was supposed to be part of a grander security system I'm installing, including top-of-the-line infrared security cameras, so I expected it to work well. Since it doesn't, I will be moving to another superior doorbell system. Don't let high-pressure sales tactics push you to purchase Ring. The reviews across the web aren't good.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 14, 2019

      Jennifer Finefrock, Community Manager

      Hi Pam,

      Motion detection can be tricky, but it really boils down to how you have your camera installed and it's point of view. We have many certain tools to help improve your motion detection and ensure you're only getting alerted for objects that come within your view. It also sounds like you're unfamiliar with how the product actually works, as Motion Frequency plays a huge part with notifications. Did you happen to check out our support page? Here are a few articles that will help:

      https://support.ring.com/hc/en-us/articles/115003477106-Understanding-and-Optimizing-Motion-Detection-with-Motion-Frequency

      https://support.ring.com/hc/en-us/articles/360022650691-Motion-Detection-in-Ring-Battery-Devices

      Not to mention there is a motion wizard in the app to help find the best settings for you and your home. We also have an outstanding 24/7 support staff to help with this as well. I'm more than happy to personally assist with finding the best zones for you and your home. Why don't you email me at your earliest convenience? My email is jennifer@ring.com and I'd love to talk to you in more detail and help get your device up and running to its full potential!

      Thanks,

      Jennifer F., Community Manager

      Jennifer@ring.com

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Needs some serious work

    • Oklahoma,
    • Feb 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had my Ring video doorbells for a few months now and have to say this product/company is going way downhill.

    I cannot even tell you how many false alerts I got today and it was not even sunny. I already moved this camera around 3 times since the sun would set it off. First north, west, now east. To get a rep on the phone is a minimum of 15 minutes now, used to be 2-3 minutes.

    They need to do better, it was very hard for me to even give it two stars right now. One star is more accurate at the moment. I liked it in the beginning but it has gotten so much worse.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 27, 2019

      Jennifer Finefrock, Community Manager

      Hi Tina,

      It sounds like you need assistance finding the best zones for you and your home. Did you reach out to support? Sometimes, you may need to install one of our Install Kits to help angle or point the camera just a bit. I would be more than happy to personally help you find the best zones for your home. Will you please email me at jennifer@ring.com so we can take a look at this?

      Thank you!

      Jennifer F., Community Manager

      Jennifer@ring.com

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Scary!

    • Upper Marlboro, MD,
    • Feb 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We have had the Ring devices now for almost a year. They are so choppy and unreliable that it scares me to answer the doorbell when I am away - wouldn’t take long for someone to figure out that the house is empty. In the beginning, I called Ring almost daily and after several months, gave up and just accepted that their devices are crappy. I would NOT recommend a Ring device unless you want to look outside from inside, but then I guess you could just go to the window.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 14, 2019

      Jennifer Finefrock, Community Manager

      Hi Denise,

      Choppy video may be attributed to the WiFi connection and speeds to the device, even the connection your phone is receiving. There are a few things that the team and I can take a further look into. At your earliest convenience, will you please send me an email at jennifer@ring.com? Looking forward to hearing from you!

      Thank you,

      Jennifer F., Community Manager

      Jennifer@ring.com

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Marginal to adequate performance

    • Texas,
    • Feb 10, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have the Ring Pro 2 and it works nothing like their TV advertisement. From the time my doorbell is activated, or I’m notified of motion on my porch, a minimum of 30 seconds transpires before the activity shows up on my cell phone. My router is located about 20 feet from the ring device and I sit about 2 feet from my front door. I can hear the postman place items in my mailbox, my phone will chime notifying me of motion detection, but nothing shows up in the "History" for about a half a minute or more after the event. Originally, I installed the device on my router with a 2.4G frequency. I changed it to 5G hoping this would improve the latency problem. No change. If you don’t care about quick response, this is an adequate product but don’t expect to be able to tell people to "Get off my front porch!"

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 11, 2019

      Jennifer Finefrock, Community Manager

      Hi Bobby,

      Just to clarify, do you have the Video Doorbell 2 or the Ring Pro? If it is the Video Doorbell 2, it can only run on 2.4GHz. However, regardless of the device, I would be more than happy to take a further look into this. It may be a setting on your phone that is causing the delay. Please send me an email at jennifer@ring.com so we can take a further look into this for you.

      Thank you,

      Jennifer F., Community Manager

      Jennifer@ring.com

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Doorbell

    • United Kingdom,
    • Feb 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    As an electronics engineer with 30 years in the industry, I can categorically say that this product is utter rubbish. Overpriced and a greedy company wanting even more money to record your videos.

    As previously stated, it doesn't work, even on fast broadband at close range. Pathetic battery life. Oversold and underdeveloped crap. The PR lady Jennifer is doing her best to defend the indefensible, but she really needs to accept that her company really has a rubbish expensive product and it should be withdrawn.

    Ring? More like "Wrong."

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 4, 2019

      Jennifer Finefrock, Community Manager

      Thanks for reaching out, Rob! To clarify, I am the Community Manager not PR. I'd like to discuss a few topics you mentioned in your review. Battery life can drain more quickly due to cold weather. It does appear you are from the UK, which has been experiencing some cold weather, which then can cause this and lead to other concerns. You're able to learn more, here: https://support.ring.com/hc/en-us/articles/115005939463-Cold-Weather-and-Battery-Powered-Ring-Devices. Also, even though you may have fast broadband, there may be certain obstacles causing interference from your router to your device. I would love to compare notes and talk about this in more detail. Please feel free to email me at jennifer@ring.com.

      Thank you,

      Jennifer F., Community Manager

      Jennifer@ring.com

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Quality/customer service

    • California,
    • Jan 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I paid to have my Ring floodlight camera installed. Now it doesn't work. Ring says I will have to pay someone to come back and reset the chime button. They wanted me to do it. I said I am a senior citizen and can't climb a ladder. So they said I will have to pay someone. An awful company. They were very condescending.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 22, 2019

      Jennifer Finefrock, Community Manager

      Hi Mary,

      This certainly is not the Ring experience we want you to have. Would you please email me so I can review your ticket and help get your device up and running to its full potential? I look forward to hearing from you!

      Thank you,

      Jennifer F., Community Manager

      Jennifer@ring.com

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Ring Doorbell 2

    • United Kingdom,
    • Dec 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have installed two of these devices for friends and the installation took about 5 minutes. A further 15 minutes to download the app and set up the device on their phones. The only problem I have come across is extreme lag. When someone presses the doorbell, it takes a while to open the app and open live view. By this time whoever was at door has now gone. Motion detection is "hitty missy" at best. But the first time got over 100 motion detections in one day, but after setting motion zone correctly, this reduced significantly and the battery lasted longer but did not rectify the lag.

    I would not recommend this to anyone with standard broadband speeds. Fiber broadband is highly recommended on these devices with a speed of at least 15mb for it to work to its full potential. Also, at no point during the install was I notified of this being a subscription service. And nowhere in the instructions does it state this. At no point when buying these devices were we told it was subscription.

    Being a technical engineer for over 15 years, I have the expertise of installing and setting up devices like these. So would I recommend these devices to a friend? It depends. If their internet speeds are fast, it should be fine and work well. Remember also it's upload speeds not download speeds, if not, stay clear of this device.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 22, 2019

      Jennifer Finefrock, Community Manager

      Hi Shaun,

      Thank you for your feedback. I would like to further assist and help answer any questions/concerns you may have as well as discuss your experience in a bit more detail. Would you please email me at jennifer@ring.com at your earliest convenience?

      Thank you,

      Jennifer F., Community Manager

      Jennifer@ring.com

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy. Two camera DVR security system for $200 much better.

    • Michigan,
    • Dec 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've had a Ring Doorbell for three years now. And I can tell you for sure do not buy this product. There's no reason at all that you should have to pay for a cloud service except company greed. I should have the option to have these recordings go to my own cloud which I've had for over five years. But sadly they don't allow this option. Not to mention the app takes so long to come up on my phone or my tablet and I had several times where nobody is at the door when the app finally loads.

    Oh, I know Ring is going to blame my network, but my network has no problem with any other product on it. Plus I have Wi-Fi boosters in a house that only has 1300 square feet and still Ring has trouble performing.

    So, no thank you, Ring. I've canceled my account and I count on my closed circuit security system, which by the way has its own hard drive to record video with no fee. Spend your $200 on a two-camera security system and you will be much better off with the hard drive that comes with it, and you won't have any connection issues whatsoever.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 16, 2019

      Jennifer Finefrock, Community Manager

      Hi Michael,

      Being Ring is a WiFi enabled device, it is important to take a look at the speeds next to your router and device to ensure the device is up and running to its full potential. It is also important to note whether any 'lag' happens while you're on WiFi or data via your cell phone. I'm more than happy to take a further look into this for you and help answer any questions you may have. Feel free to email me at jennifer@ring.com.

      Thank you,

      Jennifer F., Community Manager

      Jennifer@ring.com

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Lousy service, costly

    • Michigan, FL,
    • Dec 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased two of these for our house in Florida and Michigan. The advertising states we should be able to see and talk to whoever rings the doorbell.

    It takes too long to bring up the app on the smartphone and whoever was at the door is now gone.

    I keep getting hit for cloud recording costs that we never expected and don't want.

    These cost over $200 each and they want more per month! Please, that is not what and why we purchased it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (4)
    View all 4 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 4, 2018

      Jennifer Finefrock, Community Manager

      Hi Glenn,

      Our Video Doorbell is $99.99 and our monthly, optional, plans start at $3/month. They allow you to download, access and share any past videos for up to 60 days. Without this service, you will still receive the real-time notification sent straight to your smartphone. Notification delay is normally attributed to the WiFi connection. I would be more than happy to take a further look into this for you. Will you please email me at jennifer@ring.com at your earliest convenience?

      Thank you,

      Jennifer F., Community Manager

      Jennifer@ring.com

    • Dec 7, 2018

      Glenn F.

      Jennifer, you obviously are unaware of how your Ring Doorbell operates. The doorbell will/should display who is at the door immediately when the button is pressed. Your phone should display this. I have spoken to many of your reps and they confirm this. Unfortunately, your software is not operating correctly.

      Please get your facts straight as the Ring Door Bell retails for approximately $199.00, depending on the store you purchase it at. Nowhere in your commercials do they that they mention provide the service you need to pay $3 per month. You do not need this service, as all it provides is a history of what happened in the past. Get your facts straight.

    • Dec 10, 2018

      Jennifer Finefrock, Community Manager

      Hi Glenn,

      Hope you had a nice weekend. I'm including a link to our site which has the Video Doorbell for $99.99. https://shop.ring.com/collections/video-doorbells/products/video-doorbell, perhaps you have the Video Doorbell 2, which is $199. Also, we notify our customers about the cloud plan on our website (https://shop.ring.com/pages/protect-plans), in your Ring app during the first free 30-day trial of our cloud plan, as well as in your email about this service. You are completely correct, as you should be able to see, hear and speak to anyone at your door in real time. Any delay may be attributed to the WiFi connection and/or how your zones are set up. Again, I am here to help and would love to speak with you more if you would like us to take a look into this. My email is jennifer@ring.com

      Thank you,

      Jennifer F., Community Manager

      Jennifer@ring.com

    • Jan 13, 2019

      Dennis Y.

      It's just OK. Picture quality poor. Lags. Do not like the pay cloud service to record. No. I would not buy again.

      Hate the cloud nag."You have 28 days to Purchase Protect Plan." Each day after that it would show one less day to order it.

      Somewhat deceptive. The last recording only should have been on the box.

      Did Amazon buy Ring?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Ring 2 video doorbell does not like to keep working

    • Nov 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hello.

    It took two days to get Ring installed, including calling Ring support numerous times. Each time something would work for a while then quit, then something else would quit working. Also, when I added my wife's phone to it, Ring on her phone, it would only work inadvertently.

    Another complaint is after a couple of days it started sending me messages "You have 28 days to Purchase Protect Plan." Each day after that it would show one less day to order it.

    I called Ring support again and found out it costs $30.00 per year, and if I don't sign up, it will only show the last time someone pushed the doorbell or the last time the motion detector was activated.

    This makes it totally worthless. I am not paying the $30.00 per year. I will just send it back.

    Best regards.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (7)
    View all 7 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 21, 2018

      Jennifer Finefrock, Community Manager

      Hi Bill,

      I saw your comment on the other post and would love to help. At your earliest convenience, will you please email me at jennifer@ring.com so we can get this sorted out for you? Our Protect Plans are completely optional. You will still receive real-time notifications if you do not sign up. I look forward to hearing from you!

      Thank you,

      Jennifer F., Community Manager

      Jennifer@ring.com

    • Nov 26, 2018

      Bill W.

      What you are saying is the opposite of what Ring customer service told me when I called him. It has been returned.

    • Nov 27, 2018

      glenn r.

      I have to shut my Ring security camera down every time it snows or rains, this is very annoying. I 'am almost ready to scrap it and find a different system. I get numerous motion alerts when it snows or rains.

    • Nov 28, 2018

      Jennifer Finefrock, Community Manager

      More than happy to review your recent support ticket as well as follow up on your return. Please feel free to email me at jennifer@ring.com so we can get this sorted out.

      Thank you,

      Jennifer F., Community Manager

      Jennifer@ring.com

    • Nov 29, 2018

      Jennifer Finefrock, Community Manager

      Hi Glenn,

      Why do you have to shut it down when it rains or snows? All of our devices are weather resistant. Will you please email me at jennifer@ring.com so we can adjust your motion settings? I look forward to hearing from you!

      Thank you,

      Jennifer F., Community Manager

      Jennifer@ring.com

    • Nov 29, 2018

      Bill W.

      Jennifer,

      Your reply is exactly opposite what Ring support told me on phone.

      Jennifer Finefrock, Community Manager

      Hi Bill,

      Let's get this sorted out for you. Our optional Ring Protect Plan allows you to download, access and share past videos within a 60-day time frame. However, that is completely optional and you will still receive real-time alerts sent straight to your smartphone. Let's discuss this in more detail as I would love to help. Send me an email at jennifer@ring.com. I look forward to hearing from you!

      Happy Holidays,

      Jennifer F., Community Manager

      Jennifer@ring.com

    • Dec 3, 2018

      Jennifer Finefrock, Community Manager

      Hi Bill,

      Again, if you want to email me directly, I will be happy to take a look into the support ticket and ensure we get the correct answer for you. My email is jennifer@ring.com.

      Thank you,

      Jennifer F., Community Manager

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 38

Write a Review for Ring Doorbell!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review