About Ring Doorbell

Type the phrase “home security system” into any search engine, and you’ll come up with hundreds of different choices. But here’s the thing: most of the options only monitor the inside of your home, while leaving the exterior largely unprotected.

Enter Ring Doorbell. This easy-to-install video doorbell device features a 180-degree HD camera (with night vision!), along with configurable motion sensors and a built-in microphone for two-way audio. Once Ring is activated, it works seamlessly over your wireless internet and instantly sends mobile alerts to your smartphones and tablets.

This means you’ll be able to see and speak with whoever’s at your front door—even when you’re not home—and with Ring’s Cloud recording, you’ll be able to easily access, rewind, and share the video it records. In a very real way, all these features mean that Ring can provide you with convenience, monitoring, and security, and ensure you’re “always home.”

There’s not doubt Ring’s features are pretty cool. But do you even need a “smart” doorbell in the first place? And even if you do, is Ring necessarily your best option? Are customers happy? There are a lot of factors that go into any buying decision, and we’ll be sure to discuss Ring Doorbell’s most important aspects in this review.

First, we’ll take a look a Ring’s technical details.

Ring Doorbell’s Tech Specs

Each Ring Doorbell is about 5” long, 2.5” high, and 1” thick, and is constructed of an ABS plastic housing that’s outdoor approved for heat, rain, sleet, or snow (operating temperatures for Ring Doorbell are -5 - 120°F).

According to the company, the installation process is as simple as attaching the mounting bracket to a flat surface using the included hardware (for wood, brick, concrete, and stucco surfaces), and placing the device on the bracket. Then, to help prevent theft, you’ll secure it in place with a proprietary security screw.

Inside the Ring Doorbell, you’ll find a 720p HD camera that can detect motion up to 30 feet away, along with a built-in microphone with “perfectly tuned echo cancellation.”

Wondering how you’ll power your Ring? You can either use its rechargeable battery or hardwire it to your existing doorbell. If using Ring’s battery, the manufacturer claims it’ll last about a year, and it will send you an email alert when it’s running low and needs to be recharged (depending on the amperage of your charger, this can take anywhere between 4 and 10 hours).

At the core of Ring’s operation is the free app, which is available for iPhones and iPads, Android phones and tablets, and any Windows 10 computer or tablet, which connect to ring over your wireless internet connection. You can have more than one Ring device in your home (each Doorbell will have its own unique name), and you’ll be able to pair as many smartphones and tablets as you would like to any Ring Doorbell.

In the event of an alert, all users will automatically be notified. However, you can customize your settings, so that (for example) you’d be notified for all alerts, while other household members only receive alerts when the doorbell button is pressed.

Another thing you can customize through the app is Ring’s motion detection sensors, where you’ll be able exclude areas like busy nearby sidewalks and roads, so that you “only get notified when it matters.”

Chime Turns Ring Into a Standard Doorbell

Now, you might be thinking to yourself, “What if I don’t have my phone nearby when someone actives my Ring device?” Well, the company makes a complementary device call Chime, which plugs into any standard power outlet and provides an audible tone (much like a traditional doorbell) when someone’s at your door.

Like Ring, Chime connects to your Wi-Fi network, so you can set up as many devices as you want. Need a little peace and quiet? You can disable each Chime and customize volume settings through the Ring app.

Ring’s Stick Up Cam

If you’re looking for all the video features and none of the Doorbell, Ring also makes the standalone Stick Up Cam, which features much of the same motion detection, 2-way audio, night vision, weather resistance, and optional cloud video recording (more about this in a second) as Ring.

Stick Up Cam is wire-free and can be mounted just about anywhere, while the easily adjustable mounting bracket allows you to see, hear, and speak with anyone at the perfect angle.

Ring+ Technology

Do you also own a smart lock from Wink, Kevo, Lockstate, Kisi? If so, the company’s Ring+ technology allows you to connect your Doorbell to these products, adding even more convenience, monitoring, and security (you’ll be able to lock and unlock your door while monitoring activity outside your home!). The process works over 3 steps:

  1. Download one of Ring’s partner apps for iOS or Android.
  2. Locate the integration menu within the live event screen in the Ring App.
  3. Select a partner’s app icon to then open the app and perform an action.

Cloud Video Recording

All of the video recorded by Ring Doorbell or Stick Up Cam can be sent to an optional Ring Cloud Video Recording account, where you’ll be able to “view and download up to six months of previous events, share clips with friends, neighbors and local law enforcement, and delete events that aren't important pr keep ones that are.” We’ll come back around to this in the final section.

Whew! That’s a big list of features! But will it cost you an arm and a leg?

Will Ring’s Price Resonate?

Ring Doorbell is priced at $199, with faceplates available in Satin Nickel, Antique Brass, Polished Brass, or Venetian Bronze. All Ring Doorbell purchases come with 30 days of free Cloud Video Recording. After that, you’ll pay $3 per month or $30 per year.

The Stick Up Cam will also cost you $199, and Chime is priced at $29.95.

Shipping is free for Ring Doorbell, but Chime (without also purchasing a Ring) comes with a $4.95 S&H fee

All Ring Doorbells come with a 30-day return policy, less S&H charges, as well as a 1-year limited warranty against defective parts or workmanship. Ring’s Lifetime Purchase Protection will even replace your Ring Doorbell if it’s stolen (you’ll have to file a police report, and this is only good one time).

In order to request a refund, process a warranty claim, or anything else, Ring’s customer service department can be reached at (800) 656-1918.

Given Ring Doorbell’s relatively reasonable price, along with its strong warranty and refund policy, are customers pleased with its performance?

Is Ring Doorbell a Hit With Customers?

As you might imagine, with such cool technology at an achievable price point, the Ring Doorbell has received a ton of attention from industry giants and customers alike.

Tech Hive and PC Mag both gave Ring Doorbell 3.5-star ratings, both claiming that it was easy to install and that the app was easy to navigate.

Tech Hive also called Ring a “clever, well-designed gadget,” but noted that it “didn’t always deliver on its promises.” Specifically, lag was often long between the time the device’s button was pressed and when the notification was received on a phone (several times, it didn’t work at all), although they felt this was due to their Wi-Fi connection more than anything else (more about this in a moment). Also, the author noted that going through all the steps to access the video chat screen inside Ring’s app can be a “long, frustrating experience.” Ultimately, they concluded that if Ring was “hardwired to my home network, and not at the mercy of Wi-Fi and smartphone connections,” many of these core problems would be addressed.

PC Mag also discussed many of these same things, but added that their battery only lasted 2.5 months (although it was during February), and mentioned that the audio quality is “hit or miss.”

From a customer perspective, Ring Doorbell had an average rating of 4.1 stars based on a whopping 6,700+ reviews on Amazon. There, most compliments seemed to reference ease of installation and solid performance.

On the other hand, most complaints seemed plagued with software issues—specifically, that the device doesn’t automatically reconnect to your network (if the power goes down, for example), and that the camera only recorded as people were walking away.

What about the company behind Ring Doorbell? The device is manufactured by Bot Home Automation, Inc. based out of Santa Monica, CA. This is the same company who produced DoorBot (aka Ring version 1.0), which didn’t seem to get very good reviews from HighYa readers, with a 1.1-star average ratings based on complaints about failure to work and difficulty getting help from customer service. However, based on customer feedback, it seems that these issues were largely addressed with Ring.

Let’s go ahead and bring everything together.

Should You Splurge On Ring Doorbell?

So, who might Ring Doorbell work best for? In our opinion, the device’s target market is consumers who want to add some front door security, without all the hassle of setting up higher-end home automation cameras. Simply install it in a few minutes, download the app, link the device to your Wi-Fi signal, and you’re good to go.

But here’s the catch: This ease of use also creates two of Ring Doorbell’s biggest drawbacks (at least according to customer feedback): 1) Overall functionality is based on the strength of your Wi-Fi signal, and 2) you won’t be able to store any of the video Ring records on your own equipment.

This first concern could be addressed by maximizing signal strength at your front door, either by relocating your router or purchasing a wireless signal repeater. In fact, Ring’s manufacturer specifically recommends this option. Obviously, this means you’ll have to increase your budget to accommodate the extra hardware.

Speaking of which, by requiring you to store all your video on Ring’s Cloud (which costs $30 per year), you’ll have some long-term costs to factor into your budget.

Admittedly, both of these concerns could probably be addressed by allowing their customers to use Ring Doorbell within their own network. Will the company listen and change the device accordingly? Only time will tell.

In the mean time, unless you’re a hardcore home automation enthusiast who’s only interested in customization, Ring Doorbell might work for just about everyone else.

What’d you experience with Ring? Tell us about it by writing a review below!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 49 Ring Doorbell Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 2 4 star: 0 3 star: 4 2 star: 7 1 star:  36
Bottom Line: 2% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 49
Sort reviews by:

  • Scam

    • Warwick, RI,
    • Sep 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    They don’t tell you that there is a monthly charge to review footage of who was at your door. They give you a short time to get you hooked on the item, then they want $3.00 a month. This has become an expensive doorbell button. Refuse to pay the monthly charge. There are plenty of camera systems out there, with no monthly charge.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Sep 16, 2019

      Company Response from Ring

      Hi Joe,

      Thank you for your feedback. The option Ring Protect Plans allow you to access, download and share any past video. Without this service, you will still be able to answer real-time notifications as well as monitor and check Live View. You are correct, that after the 30-day trial, our optional plans start at $3/month or $30/year. You can find more information about our plans, here: https://shop.ring.com/pages/professional-monitoring. If you need help finding the best plan for your device, please check out this article on the Ring Community. https://community.ring.com/t5/General-Questions/How-it-Works-Protect-Plan-Differences/m-p/2285#M36. If you have any further questions about the Plans and/or would like more information, please send me an email at jennifer@ring.com.

      Thank you,

      Jennifer F., Community Manager

      Jennifer@ring.com


  • Not impressed

    • Massachusetts,
    • Aug 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am not impressed. It very seldom records people coming to my door, it sometimes records them leaving. I have nurses coming to my house a few days a week for a sick family member and sometimes it doesn't record them at all and others I just see their back as they are leaving but nothing when they arrive. It's not just the doorbell either, I have a total of 5 Ring cameras and they will record a squirrel in the middle of the day but not a person in the yard. My husband had a tiff with a raccoon in the backyard, and not 1 camera out of 3 caught it. I have a lot of package deliveries and I come home and the packages are on my steps but Ring didn't capture them delivering them. The only thing Ring is really good for is live views and if someone happens to ring your doorbell. I will be looking into another type of camera soon.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 21, 2019

      Company Response from Ring

      Hi Linda,

      I'm sorry to hear about your recent Ring experience. We would love the opportunity to talk to you in more detail and help find the best motion zones for you and your home. Will you please send me a message at jennifer@ring.com so we can take a look into this?

      Thank you,

      Jennifer F., Community Manager

      Jennifer@ring.com


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Awful, awful product! Total piece of junk! Avoid!

    • Pittsburgh, PA,
    • Aug 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I signed up for ADT security and when they came out to install the camera that was included in the package, the tech installed a Ring Doorbell instead. After he installed it, I objected at first because that was not the expectation I was sold on when I signed up with ADT. Tech tried to tell me it was better (but now I know it was just because he screwed up and already installed the darn thing and probably was going to get in big trouble if he had to remove it). They retail for over $250. He made it sound as if this was a better deal than an ADT camera.

    The Ring Doorbell SUCKS, and I do not say that lightly. It records nothing that you need it to and only picks up the motion of cars already driving away and people at your door already leaving. There will be 8 to 12 hour periods, generally at night or during the day when I’m at work, where there is no "history." I had property in my yard that was vandalized in the middle of the night and the camera did not record any of it! Then today I got an email from Ring saying today was the last day to sign up for a "protection plan," which is very misleading. Apparently, and unknown to me before calling Ring support, if you don’t pay Ring (not ADT) a separate monthly or annual subscription fee, their "protection plan," it will not store any video! So for example, if you came home to find that your car or home was broken into, you have no way of reviewing the footage. What on earth is that good for? So not only do I have to pay ADT, I would have to pay Ring also! And again, 90% of the motion you would want to capture is not. I took my garbage out last week and was right in front of the camera; didn’t capture any of it. So in other words, I could get robbed or murdered in my own home and this “security camera” would more than likely not record the person breaking into my house.

    The tech also told me the battery lasted for "months" when it only lasts 2 weeks at best. And after the battery goes down past 75%, the performance is even worse. This is the biggest rip off! I called ADT and they are going to remove the Ring doorbell/camera and instead install one of their own cameras, which is actually monitored as well. Ring Doorbell is not monitored unless you pay $100 a year to Ring. BEWARE! Avoid this product at all costs, you will regret it! Awful, awful product! What kind of security camera doesn’t record what you need it to and doesn’t provide you security?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Aug 6, 2019

      Company Response from Ring

      Hi Eric,

      I'm sorry to hear about your experience with Ring thus far. Our optional Protect Plan allows you to access, download and share past videos and starts at $3/month or $30/year. Without this service, you will still be able to access and use Live View plus answer real-time notifications. In regards to your motion, we are more than happy to help find the best zones for you and your home. It sounds like you may benefit from an install kit or two (like our Wedge and Corner kit) to help with the field of view of your device. Also, battery life is contingent on the number of alerts you receive as well as cold weather. Improving your motion zones to avoid false motion can definitely help. Will you please email me at jennifer@ring.com so we can discuss this in more detail?

      Thank you,

      Jennifer F.,

      Community Manager

      Jennifer@ring.com


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Lousy product

    • Philadelphia, PA,
    • Jul 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    What good is a video doorbell that constantly sends notifications about nothing or traffic noise or the next-door neighbor's arriving at their house but fails consistently to pick up people actually coming and going from your steps? None...you could be a victim in front of the front door and there would be nothing recorded. What a complete waste of money this thing is!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jul 30, 2019

      Company Response from Ring

      Hi Stephanie,

      Sounds like you could use some assistance finding the best motion zones for you and your home. Have you taken a look at any of our Wedge or Corner Kits? That can definitely help angle your device in a way to get more of your sidewalk/entry way vs your neighbor or street. Send me an email at jennifer@ring.com and we can definitely help you out.

      Thank you,

      Jennifer F., Community Manager

      Jennifer@ring.com


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Good for one year until monitoring expires

    • Florida,
    • Jul 12, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have it for one year and it was pretty good until the monitoring expired and then it was of no great use. First of all, when you try to get monitoring for $30, which they advertise, it's impossible to get. When you go into their website they only take you to the plus monitoring, which will run you $100. You speak to the help desk and they don't know what's going on. They direct you back to the website like a round-robin. Big problem that without monitoring you will never know who's at your front door because there's a delay before you can see who is there and the object is gone before you can see it live.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jul 14, 2019

      Company Response from Ring

      Hi John,

      Thanks for sharing your feedback, this is odd and we definitely want to take a further look into the explanation you provided. If you head to Ring.com and to the Protect Plan page, you should be able to pick which plan you want, whether it is the $30/year or $100/year for unlimited devices. Would you please email me with more information at your earliest convenience? I can be reached at jennifer@ring.com.

      Thank you,

      Jennifer F., Community Manager

      Jennifer@ring.com


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Save your money and get something else

    • Holmdel, NJ,
    • Jun 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This system constantly gets voted on annual reviews as the best of the best. This an absolute lie. For myself, I wish I had the time to stay home and reset every 5 hours when it fails, but I have to go to work.

    The problem is the internet. Unless you have high-end FIOS, this system disconnects every time there is an internet dip, which is what cable internet like Comcast is all about. Simply does not work, and I need security, not a tinkering project.

    Unfortunately, I suspect that all of the video doorbells are in the same league. Wireless does not work, as it is too much data. I am contemplating putting in a wired system.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Absolute Scam

    • Peterborough, United Kingdom,
    • May 28, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I loved this product at first, costly, but I thought it would be worth it...30 days after purchase and installation I have just been informed if I want to continue using the device at its full purpose, I need to pay for a subscription yearly or annually. I was never advised this when I purchased this, it wasn't advised on the box. I have now had this for 30 days and drilled it to my door to discover this...I am so disappointed with the company now and won't recommend it to anyone. CON!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 30, 2019

      Company Response from Ring

      Hi Sophie,

      I'm sorry to hear about your frustrations with our Protect Plans. Our optional cloud service plan for $3/month allows you to access/download/share past Ring videos. Without this service, you'll still receive real-time video alerts on your smartphone. Also, we do notify our customers about the cloud plan on our website (https://shop.ring.com/pages/protect-plans), in your Ring app during the first free 30 day trial of our cloud plan, as well as in your email about this service. I apologize for any miscommunication but we will work on providing even more transparency to our customers as we can in the future. Would you kindly reach me at jennifer@ring.com today?

      Thank you,

      Jennifer F., Community Manager

      Jennifer@Ring.com


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Don't bother

    • Doylestown, PA,
    • May 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Don't waste your money or your time. After 30 days, you have a useless doorbell. If you're away, it may ping you, but if you can't get to it right away in live mode, it's too late. So you pay $125-$200 for a doorbell for 30 days. There are better options out there that offer 1-7 days of storage, or with the ability to store to a device on your WiFi network. I'm returning mine and going a different route. I wish Ring was more transparent and offered a couple of days of recording time. I don't need much, since all it does is record vehicles driving by.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 23, 2019

      Company Response from Ring

      Hi Aggie,

      Our optional Ring Protect Plans allow you to access, download and share. The plans start at $3/month or $30/year or $10/month or $100/year for unlimited Ring devices. Without this service, you will still be able to answer real-time notifications as well as access Live View. I would love to speak with you about this in more detail, will you please send me an email at jennifer@ring.com at your earliest convenience?

      Thank you,

      Jennifer F., Community Manager

      Jennifer@ring.com


  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Misleading sales practices

    • California,
    • Apr 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    After my house was burglarized I bought a security system.

    On top of that, I was offered a Ring system. I thought I was purchasing "a system," camera and phone app. Only to find out one month later, that my "free trial" was over and had to sign up for the plan. This is a monthly fee that was never explained. My security system costs me enough monthly. I do not need to pay another fee so that I can be annoyed 15-20 times per day when the camera senses motion at my door, on windy days tree branches have activated it, moths have activated it, cats, etc...

    I am not a big fan of this system!

    I believe they deliberately do not inform customers of future fees. If you do purchase this product for $150-$200, understand that you will be paying additional fees, monthly.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 2, 2019

      Company Response from Ring

      Hi John,

      Our optional Protect Plans allow you to access, download and share any past video. Without this service, you will be able to answer notifications in real time as well as check live view. Will you please email me at jennifer@ring.com to discuss this in more detail? Thanks!

      Thank you,

      Jennifer F., Community Manager

      Jennifer@ring.com


  • 6 out 8 people found this review helpful

    RIP off

    • Romford, Essex, England,
    • Mar 29, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased a Ring Doorbell 2 one month ago. All was ok until I had the ability to view my footage taken away because my trial period had expired. I was told I had to pay £24.00 a year to get it back. Now I realized there was a trial period the app tells you. I at least thought that I would be able to view footage the same day, but not if someone rings your doorbell and you are not in the app it bars you from viewing the footage. What a RIP-OFF, DON'T BY ONE. I am going to send mine back and get a full refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Apr 2, 2019

      Company Response from Ring

      Hi Andrew,

      In order to access, download and share any past video, you will need to purchase one of our Protect Plans. Without this service, you will still be able to answer notifications in real time as well as answer and check live view. Our plans are available on a monthly and yearly subscription. I'd love to talk to you about this in more detail, would you please email me at jennifer@ring.com?

      Thank you,

      Jennifer F., Community Manager

      Jennifer@ring.com


  • 5 out 8 people found this review helpful

    SCAM

    • Warwick, RI,
    • Mar 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    They don’t tell you that after one month you need to join a subscription at a cost of $3.00 per month or you lose all video feed to review. It has now become nothing more than a doorbell button.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Mar 26, 2019

      Company Response from Ring

      Hi Joe,

      Our optional monthly subscription allows you to access, download and share any past video. Without this option, you will still receive real-time alerts sent straight to your smartphone. Our plans start at $3/month or $10/month for unlimited cameras. Please email me so we can discuss this in more detail. Thank you!

      Thank you,

      Jennifer F., Community Manager

      Jennifer@ring.com


Showing 1-11 of 49

Write a Review for Ring Doorbell!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review