About Ring Doorbell

Type the phrase “home security system” into any search engine, and you’ll come up with hundreds of different choices. But here’s the thing: most of the options only monitor the inside of your home, while leaving the exterior largely unprotected.

Enter Ring Doorbell. This easy-to-install video doorbell device features a 180-degree HD camera (with night vision!), along with configurable motion sensors and a built-in microphone for two-way audio. Once Ring is activated, it works seamlessly over your wireless internet and instantly sends mobile alerts to your smartphones and tablets.

This means you’ll be able to see and speak with whoever’s at your front door—even when you’re not home—and with Ring’s Cloud recording, you’ll be able to easily access, rewind, and share the video it records. In a very real way, all these features mean that Ring can provide you with convenience, monitoring, and security, and ensure you’re “always home.”

There’s not doubt Ring’s features are pretty cool. But do you even need a “smart” doorbell in the first place? And even if you do, is Ring necessarily your best option? Are customers happy? There are a lot of factors that go into any buying decision, and we’ll be sure to discuss Ring Doorbell’s most important aspects in this review.

First, we’ll take a look a Ring’s technical details.

Ring Doorbell’s Tech Specs

Each Ring Doorbell is about 5” long, 2.5” high, and 1” thick, and is constructed of an ABS plastic housing that’s outdoor approved for heat, rain, sleet, or snow (operating temperatures for Ring Doorbell are -5 - 120°F).

According to the company, the installation process is as simple as attaching the mounting bracket to a flat surface using the included hardware (for wood, brick, concrete, and stucco surfaces), and placing the device on the bracket. Then, to help prevent theft, you’ll secure it in place with a proprietary security screw.

Inside the Ring Doorbell, you’ll find a 720p HD camera that can detect motion up to 30 feet away, along with a built-in microphone with “perfectly tuned echo cancellation.”

Wondering how you’ll power your Ring? You can either use its rechargeable battery or hardwire it to your existing doorbell. If using Ring’s battery, the manufacturer claims it’ll last about a year, and it will send you an email alert when it’s running low and needs to be recharged (depending on the amperage of your charger, this can take anywhere between 4 and 10 hours).

At the core of Ring’s operation is the free app, which is available for iPhones and iPads, Android phones and tablets, and any Windows 10 computer or tablet, which connect to ring over your wireless internet connection. You can have more than one Ring device in your home (each Doorbell will have its own unique name), and you’ll be able to pair as many smartphones and tablets as you would like to any Ring Doorbell.

In the event of an alert, all users will automatically be notified. However, you can customize your settings, so that (for example) you’d be notified for all alerts, while other household members only receive alerts when the doorbell button is pressed.

Another thing you can customize through the app is Ring’s motion detection sensors, where you’ll be able exclude areas like busy nearby sidewalks and roads, so that you “only get notified when it matters.”

Chime Turns Ring Into a Standard Doorbell

Now, you might be thinking to yourself, “What if I don’t have my phone nearby when someone actives my Ring device?” Well, the company makes a complementary device call Chime, which plugs into any standard power outlet and provides an audible tone (much like a traditional doorbell) when someone’s at your door.

Like Ring, Chime connects to your Wi-Fi network, so you can set up as many devices as you want. Need a little peace and quiet? You can disable each Chime and customize volume settings through the Ring app.

Ring’s Stick Up Cam

If you’re looking for all the video features and none of the Doorbell, Ring also makes the standalone Stick Up Cam, which features much of the same motion detection, 2-way audio, night vision, weather resistance, and optional cloud video recording (more about this in a second) as Ring.

Stick Up Cam is wire-free and can be mounted just about anywhere, while the easily adjustable mounting bracket allows you to see, hear, and speak with anyone at the perfect angle.

Ring+ Technology

Do you also own a smart lock from Wink, Kevo, Lockstate, Kisi? If so, the company’s Ring+ technology allows you to connect your Doorbell to these products, adding even more convenience, monitoring, and security (you’ll be able to lock and unlock your door while monitoring activity outside your home!). The process works over 3 steps:

  1. Download one of Ring’s partner apps for iOS or Android.
  2. Locate the integration menu within the live event screen in the Ring App.
  3. Select a partner’s app icon to then open the app and perform an action.

Cloud Video Recording

All of the video recorded by Ring Doorbell or Stick Up Cam can be sent to an optional Ring Cloud Video Recording account, where you’ll be able to “view and download up to six months of previous events, share clips with friends, neighbors and local law enforcement, and delete events that aren't important pr keep ones that are.” We’ll come back around to this in the final section.

Whew! That’s a big list of features! But will it cost you an arm and a leg?

Will Ring’s Price Resonate?

Ring Doorbell is priced at $199, with faceplates available in Satin Nickel, Antique Brass, Polished Brass, or Venetian Bronze. All Ring Doorbell purchases come with 30 days of free Cloud Video Recording. After that, you’ll pay $3 per month or $30 per year.

The Stick Up Cam will also cost you $199, and Chime is priced at $29.95.

Shipping is free for Ring Doorbell, but Chime (without also purchasing a Ring) comes with a $4.95 S&H fee

All Ring Doorbells come with a 30-day return policy, less S&H charges, as well as a 1-year limited warranty against defective parts or workmanship. Ring’s Lifetime Purchase Protection will even replace your Ring Doorbell if it’s stolen (you’ll have to file a police report, and this is only good one time).

In order to request a refund, process a warranty claim, or anything else, Ring’s customer service department can be reached at (800) 656-1918.

Given Ring Doorbell’s relatively reasonable price, along with its strong warranty and refund policy, are customers pleased with its performance?

Is Ring Doorbell a Hit With Customers?

As you might imagine, with such cool technology at an achievable price point, the Ring Doorbell has received a ton of attention from industry giants and customers alike.

Tech Hive and PC Mag both gave Ring Doorbell 3.5-star ratings, both claiming that it was easy to install and that the app was easy to navigate.

Tech Hive also called Ring a “clever, well-designed gadget,” but noted that it “didn’t always deliver on its promises.” Specifically, lag was often long between the time the device’s button was pressed and when the notification was received on a phone (several times, it didn’t work at all), although they felt this was due to their Wi-Fi connection more than anything else (more about this in a moment). Also, the author noted that going through all the steps to access the video chat screen inside Ring’s app can be a “long, frustrating experience.” Ultimately, they concluded that if Ring was “hardwired to my home network, and not at the mercy of Wi-Fi and smartphone connections,” many of these core problems would be addressed.

PC Mag also discussed many of these same things, but added that their battery only lasted 2.5 months (although it was during February), and mentioned that the audio quality is “hit or miss.”

From a customer perspective, Ring Doorbell had an average rating of 4.1 stars based on a whopping 6,700+ reviews on Amazon. There, most compliments seemed to reference ease of installation and solid performance.

On the other hand, most complaints seemed plagued with software issues—specifically, that the device doesn’t automatically reconnect to your network (if the power goes down, for example), and that the camera only recorded as people were walking away.

What about the company behind Ring Doorbell? The device is manufactured by Bot Home Automation, Inc. based out of Santa Monica, CA. This is the same company who produced DoorBot (aka Ring version 1.0), which didn’t seem to get very good reviews from HighYa readers, with a 1.1-star average ratings based on complaints about failure to work and difficulty getting help from customer service. However, based on customer feedback, it seems that these issues were largely addressed with Ring.

Let’s go ahead and bring everything together.

Should You Splurge On Ring Doorbell?

So, who might Ring Doorbell work best for? In our opinion, the device’s target market is consumers who want to add some front door security, without all the hassle of setting up higher-end home automation cameras. Simply install it in a few minutes, download the app, link the device to your Wi-Fi signal, and you’re good to go.

But here’s the catch: This ease of use also creates two of Ring Doorbell’s biggest drawbacks (at least according to customer feedback): 1) Overall functionality is based on the strength of your Wi-Fi signal, and 2) you won’t be able to store any of the video Ring records on your own equipment.

This first concern could be addressed by maximizing signal strength at your front door, either by relocating your router or purchasing a wireless signal repeater. In fact, Ring’s manufacturer specifically recommends this option. Obviously, this means you’ll have to increase your budget to accommodate the extra hardware.

Speaking of which, by requiring you to store all your video on Ring’s Cloud (which costs $30 per year), you’ll have some long-term costs to factor into your budget.

Admittedly, both of these concerns could probably be addressed by allowing their customers to use Ring Doorbell within their own network. Will the company listen and change the device accordingly? Only time will tell.

In the mean time, unless you’re a hardcore home automation enthusiast who’s only interested in customization, Ring Doorbell might work for just about everyone else.

What’d you experience with Ring? Tell us about it by writing a review below!

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

31 Consumer Reviews for Ring Doorbell

Average Consumer Rating: 1.6
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 2 4 star: 0 3 star: 4 2 star: 3 1 star:  22
Bottom Line: 3% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 31
Sort reviews by:

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Ring Doorbell 2

    • United Kingdom,
    • Dec 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have installed two of these devices for friends and the installation took about 5 minutes. A further 15 minutes to download the app and set up the device on their phones. The only problem I have come across is extreme lag. When someone presses the doorbell, it takes a while to open the app and open live view. By this time whoever was at door has now gone. Motion detection is "hitty missy" at best. But the first time got over 100 motion detections in one day, but after setting motion zone correctly, this reduced significantly and the battery lasted longer but did not rectify the lag.

    I would not recommend this to anyone with standard broadband speeds. Fiber broadband is highly recommended on these devices with a speed of at least 15mb for it to work to its full potential. Also, at no point during the install was I notified of this being a subscription service. And nowhere in the instructions does it state this. At no point when buying these devices were we told it was subscription.

    Being a technical engineer for over 15 years, I have the expertise of installing and setting up devices like these. So would I recommend these devices to a friend? It depends. If their internet speeds are fast, it should be fine and work well. Remember also it's upload speeds not download speeds, if not, stay clear of this device.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Do not buy. Two camera DVR security system for $200 much better.

    • Michigan,
    • Dec 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've had a Ring Doorbell for three years now. And I can tell you for sure do not buy this product. There's no reason at all that you should have to pay for a cloud service except company greed. I should have the option to have these recordings go to my own cloud which I've had for over five years. But sadly they don't allow this option. Not to mention the app takes so long to come up on my phone or my tablet and I had several times where nobody is at the door when the app finally loads.

    Oh, I know Ring is going to blame my network, but my network has no problem with any other product on it. Plus I have Wi-Fi boosters in a house that only has 1300 square feet and still Ring has trouble performing.

    So, no thank you, Ring. I've canceled my account and I count on my closed circuit security system, which by the way has its own hard drive to record video with no fee. Spend your $200 on a two-camera security system and you will be much better off with the hard drive that comes with it, and you won't have any connection issues whatsoever.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Lousy service, costly

    • Michigan, FL,
    • Dec 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased two of these for our house in Florida and Michigan. The advertising states we should be able to see and talk to whoever rings the doorbell.

    It takes too long to bring up the app on the smartphone and whoever was at the door is now gone.

    I keep getting hit for cloud recording costs that we never expected and don't want.

    These cost over $200 each and they want more per month! Please, that is not what and why we purchased it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (4)
    View all 4 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 4, 2018

      Jennifer Finefrock, Community Manager

      Hi Glenn,

      Our Video Doorbell is $99.99 and our monthly, optional, plans start at $3/month. They allow you to download, access and share any past videos for up to 60 days. Without this service, you will still receive the real-time notification sent straight to your smartphone. Notification delay is normally attributed to the WiFi connection. I would be more than happy to take a further look into this for you. Will you please email me at jennifer@ring.com at your earliest convenience?

      Thank you,

      Jennifer F., Community Manager

      Jennifer@ring.com

    • Dec 7, 2018

      Glenn F.

      Jennifer, you obviously are unaware of how your Ring Doorbell operates. The doorbell will/should display who is at the door immediately when the button is pressed. Your phone should display this. I have spoken to many of your reps and they confirm this. Unfortunately, your software is not operating correctly.

      Please get your facts straight as the Ring Door Bell retails for approximately $199.00, depending on the store you purchase it at. Nowhere in your commercials do they that they mention provide the service you need to pay $3 per month. You do not need this service, as all it provides is a history of what happened in the past. Get your facts straight.

    • Dec 10, 2018

      Jennifer Finefrock, Community Manager

      Hi Glenn,

      Hope you had a nice weekend. I'm including a link to our site which has the Video Doorbell for $99.99. https://shop.ring.com/collections/video-doorbells/products/video-doorbell, perhaps you have the Video Doorbell 2, which is $199. Also, we notify our customers about the cloud plan on our website (https://shop.ring.com/pages/protect-plans), in your Ring app during the first free 30-day trial of our cloud plan, as well as in your email about this service. You are completely correct, as you should be able to see, hear and speak to anyone at your door in real time. Any delay may be attributed to the WiFi connection and/or how your zones are set up. Again, I am here to help and would love to speak with you more if you would like us to take a look into this. My email is jennifer@ring.com

      Thank you,

      Jennifer F., Community Manager

      Jennifer@ring.com

    • Jan 13, 2019

      Dennis Y.

      It's just OK. Picture quality poor. Lags. Do not like the pay cloud service to record. No. I would not buy again.

      Hate the cloud nag."You have 28 days to Purchase Protect Plan." Each day after that it would show one less day to order it.

      Somewhat deceptive. The last recording only should have been on the box.

      Did Amazon buy Ring?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Ring 2 video doorbell does not like to keep working

    • Nov 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hello.

    It took two days to get Ring installed, including calling Ring support numerous times. Each time something would work for a while then quit, then something else would quit working. Also, when I added my wife's phone to it, Ring on her phone, it would only work inadvertently.

    Another complaint is after a couple of days it started sending me messages "You have 28 days to Purchase Protect Plan." Each day after that it would show one less day to order it.

    I called Ring support again and found out it costs $30.00 per year, and if I don't sign up, it will only show the last time someone pushed the doorbell or the last time the motion detector was activated.

    This makes it totally worthless. I am not paying the $30.00 per year. I will just send it back.

    Best regards.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (7)
    View all 7 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 21, 2018

      Jennifer Finefrock, Community Manager

      Hi Bill,

      I saw your comment on the other post and would love to help. At your earliest convenience, will you please email me at jennifer@ring.com so we can get this sorted out for you? Our Protect Plans are completely optional. You will still receive real-time notifications if you do not sign up. I look forward to hearing from you!

      Thank you,

      Jennifer F., Community Manager

      Jennifer@ring.com

    • Nov 26, 2018

      Bill W.

      What you are saying is the opposite of what Ring customer service told me when I called him. It has been returned.

    • Nov 27, 2018

      glenn r.

      I have to shut my Ring security camera down every time it snows or rains, this is very annoying. I 'am almost ready to scrap it and find a different system. I get numerous motion alerts when it snows or rains.

    • Nov 28, 2018

      Jennifer Finefrock, Community Manager

      More than happy to review your recent support ticket as well as follow up on your return. Please feel free to email me at jennifer@ring.com so we can get this sorted out.

      Thank you,

      Jennifer F., Community Manager

      Jennifer@ring.com

    • Nov 29, 2018

      Jennifer Finefrock, Community Manager

      Hi Glenn,

      Why do you have to shut it down when it rains or snows? All of our devices are weather resistant. Will you please email me at jennifer@ring.com so we can adjust your motion settings? I look forward to hearing from you!

      Thank you,

      Jennifer F., Community Manager

      Jennifer@ring.com

    • Nov 29, 2018

      Bill W.

      Jennifer,

      Your reply is exactly opposite what Ring support told me on phone.

      Jennifer Finefrock, Community Manager

      Hi Bill,

      Let's get this sorted out for you. Our optional Ring Protect Plan allows you to download, access and share past videos within a 60-day time frame. However, that is completely optional and you will still receive real-time alerts sent straight to your smartphone. Let's discuss this in more detail as I would love to help. Send me an email at jennifer@ring.com. I look forward to hearing from you!

      Happy Holidays,

      Jennifer F., Community Manager

      Jennifer@ring.com

    • Dec 3, 2018

      Jennifer Finefrock, Community Manager

      Hi Bill,

      Again, if you want to email me directly, I will be happy to take a look into the support ticket and ensure we get the correct answer for you. My email is jennifer@ring.com.

      Thank you,

      Jennifer F., Community Manager

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    False advertising

    • United Kingdom,
    • Nov 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Everyone, do not trust this company as they have lied and have advertised the Ring Doorbell 1 as having a 1080p picture quality when it really is a 720p picture quality. I have taken it up with Ring customer service, which is not very helpful, and Trevor, the manager, told me they are aware of the fake wrong advertising on the box specifications, and can only do an exchange for the Ring Doorbell 2, which is a 1080p but I will have to pay the difference. It is against the law. Also, I have a Ring Doorbell 2 and can honestly say I have had loads of issues with it and would not recommend this useless crap, it’s the same as the China quality doorbells. If there is anybody that can sort this silly company out then please email me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 20, 2018

      Jennifer Finefrock, Community Manager

      Hi Zahid,

      Will you reach out to me directly so we can discuss this in more detail and ensure we get find a solution for you to best resolve this? My email is jennifer@ring.com. I look forward to hearing from you and turning your Ring experience around.

      Thank you,

      Jennifer F., Community Manager

      Jennifer@ring.com

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    A total piece of garbage

    • Denver, CO,
    • Oct 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It took me two days of running back to the store to exchange a defective one, and the chime still doesn't work. When I try to call the company, I wait on hold for hours only to be disconnected. The camera is terrible. Two tiny little screws are the only thing that keeps this on the door.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 31, 2018

      Jennifer Finefrock, Community Manager

      Hi Jennifer,

      We're here to help! Are you experiencing difficulties with both the Ring Chime and Doorbell? Let's touch base and go over this in more detail, so we can get everything up and running to its full potential. Will you please email me at jennifer@ring.com at your earliest convenience? Looking forward to hearing from you!

      Thank you,

      Jennifer F., Community Manager

      Jennifer@ring.com

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    The Ring Doorbell is useless

    • Madison, AL,
    • Oct 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The Ring Doorbell is useless after paying $200 for this thing. After the 30-day free membership trial, the Ring team terminates any and all useful features. It no longer records when someone is at my front door, so if someone is there stealing or is a threat to me and my family, I will not have anything to show the police.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 24, 2018

      Jennifer Finefrock, Community Manager

      Hi Eric,

      While subscribed to one of our optional Protect Plans, it allows you to access videos of every Ring, Motion and Live View event for up to 60 days. Without this, you will still be able to answer notifications as they come in as well as activate live view. Would you please email me at jennifer@ring.com so we can discuss this in more detail as well as find a plan that fits what you're looking for?

      Thank you,

      Jennifer F., Community Manager

      Jennifer@ring.com

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Jury is out, but not looking good...

    • West Palm Beach, FL,
    • Oct 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought the Ring Doorbell (base model) less than 30 days ago and have had to call Ring support at least 5 times to get it to function...sort of...

    As they say, the installation was pretty straightforward. But when I hardwired it to my existing indoor bell, the chime wouldn’t sound. So that was my first call to Ring Support, who had me try a number of things, including switching the red and white wires even though the video and everything you read says it doesn’t matter which terminal you hook the wires up to. Well, I switch the wires and the chime worked. Go figure. At that point, I didn’t much care - it was working. And it did work great for about 2 and 1/2 weeks.

    But then the doorbell decided at times not to function correctly. For example, the motion sensor would work some days and not others. Some days the sunshine hits it and sets it off (that doesn’t bother me so much though because at least it’s working!). So then my second and third, possibly the fourth phone calls to Ring support pretty much centered on the motion feature not working correctly. Remedies included (again) reinstalling the physical device, making sure that the firmware was up to date, changing the motion zones, and God knows what else at their end that they were pushing through and trying in order to make it work. Again, as long as it finally worked, I didn’t really much care.

    But then last week the Ring Doorbell just decided to give up the ghost entirely (motion sensor AND doorbell died), and that was my last phone call to Ring support. I did another hard factory reset, as the Support guy walked me through, and that seemed to fix it.

    So I’m holding my breath because it seems to be working properly and I can only hope it is in a good mood and will continue to function because when it works it’s really great. All I really needed was a peephole because with Florida hurricane impact doors installed, you don’t get peepholes and you can’t see who’s at your door when someone rings the bell. That was my main motivation behind getting the Ring Doorbell in the first place.

    I ultimately decided NOT to buy any of the video storage plans because I have such low expectations that I don’t think my Ring Doorbell will be functioning at the end of the year anyway. The Ring support people were very patient and helpful, which was good, but I think at the end of the day they’re fighting an uphill battle because the product just doesn’t live up to the hype.

    I’m glad I saved my old style doorbell. I have a feeling I’m going to be needing it in the future.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 11, 2018

      Jennifer Finefrock, Community Manager

      Hi Donna,

      I would personally love to connect with you and ensure we get your device up and running to its full potential. I would love to review your tickets with support and make sure we find a resolution to best resolve this. I'd also be more than happy to answer any other questions or concerns you may have. Would you please send me an email at jennifer@ring.com? I look forward to speaking with you!

      Thank you, Jennifer F., Community Manager

      Jennifer@ring.com

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Great for a college dorm or a mobile home or camper.

    • Port Charlotte, FL,
    • Oct 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Not really a security system in the sense of a professionally installed system for a licensed security professional. These are a lick and stick system that will be very limited and easy to thwart by any low-level thief. I put in the cameras for a customer and she was very disappointed as her internet provider was not very robust in her area. The batteries had to be recharged somewhat frequently, and the doorbell was more of a novelty versus some type of real security device.

    I would never recommend this, and I urge folks to do the research before you buy this stuff. Everyone is different and most folks shop low price versus quality. Two thumbs down.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 9, 2018

      Jennifer Finefrock, Community Manager

      Hi Greg,

      Thanks for sharing your feedback. Battery life is contingent on the number of alerts you receive as well as some other factors. Ring does require a constant WiFi to properly operate, but all information needed is up on our website at Ring.com under the specific device FAQ. We would be more than happy to discuss this plus any other questions in more detail. Feel free to send me an email at jennifer@ring.com.

      Thank you,

      Jennifer F., Community Manager

      Jennifer@ring.com

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Junk

    • Missouri,
    • Sep 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The Ring Doorbell does not work. They sent me two replacements and two Chime Pros and after 15 or more hours on the phone with their technical support none of the doorbells work. Don't waste your money and time on this poor product!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 9, 2018

      Jennifer Finefrock, Community Manager

      Hi Doug,

      Sorry to hear about your recent Ring experience, however, I am more than happy to help. I would love to take a further look into your past customer support tickets and ensure we find a resolution to best resolve this. At your earliest convenience, will you please send me a message at jennifer@ring.com? I look forward to hearing from you!

      Thank you,

      Jennifer F., Community Manager

      Jennifer@ring.com

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Wouldn't have bought if I knew

    • California,
    • Sep 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This thing only records for 30 seconds and stops regardless of activity. Thieves know this and they recognize the blue light at night. You simply trigger the Ring then wait, and if the alert is not answered, you are free to do what you want after 30 seconds. Also, a thief will see the Ring and know that's all you have for security.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (5)
    View all 5 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 25, 2018

      Jennifer Finefrock, Community Manager

      Hi Larry,

      We’ve found that Ring acts as a great deterrent against potential criminals who know about the audio/video surveillance that we provide, as it puts them at a higher risk of being caught, and discourages them from approaching a Ring-protected home. If you have any other questions or would like to discuss this in more detail, please reach out to me at jennifer@ring.com.

      Thanks!

      Jennifer F., Community Manager

      Jennifer@ring.com

    • Sep 27, 2018

      Larry K.

      A very canned non-personal response that does not address the issue.

    • Sep 27, 2018

      Jennifer Finefrock, Community Manager

      Sorry you feel that way, Larry. I'm more than happy to help discuss this in more detail with you and answer any questions you may have. You can reach me at jennifer@ring.com.

      Happy to help however I can, Jennifer.

    • Nov 19, 2018

      Bill W.

      Hello,

      It took two days to get Ring installed, including calling Ring support numerous times. Each time something would work for a while then quit, then something else would quit working, also when I added my wife's phone to it, Ring on her phone it would only work inadvertently.

      Another complaint is after a couple days it started sending me messages "you have 28 days to purchase the Protect Plan." Each day after that it would show one less day to order it.

      I called Ring support again and found out it costs $30.00 per year, and if I don't sign up it only will show the last time someone pushed the doorbell or the last time the motion detector was activated. This makes it totally worthless. I am not paying the $30.00 per year. I will just send it back.

    • Nov 20, 2018

      Jennifer Finefrock, Community Manager

      Hi Bill,

      Let's get this sorted out for you. Our optional Ring Protect Plan allows you to download, access and share past videos within a 60-day time frame. However, that is completely optional and you will still receive real time alerts sent straight to your smart phone. Let's discuss this in more detail as I would love to help. Send me an email at jennifer@ring.com. I look forward to hearing from you!

      Happy Holidays,

      Jennifer F., Community Manager

      Jennifer@ring.com

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 31

Write a Review for Ring Doorbell!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review