• 147 Customer Reviews
  • 58% Recommend This Company
3.3 out of 5
5 star: 49% 4 star: 8% 3 star: 1% 2 star: 4% 1 star: 36%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • This company is actively collecting reviews from its customers. All reviews submitted are subject to moderation and approval to ensure they meet our Review Guidelines.
  • Ripped off

    • By Mayra,
    • Santa Paula, CA,
    • Feb 20, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    These people are not in the loan business, and they rip people off, with no shame. It's disgusting that they take advantage of people in need, and should be put out of business for stealing our hard earned money. I borrowed a loan of $3,000, and I have made 11 payments of $176.80 every two weeks, and ONLY $298.34 has gone down, and I still owe $2,700. Please don't use this company, it was the worse decision I have ever made.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Total Rip Off. Please Don't Do It.

    • By Joy Owens,
    • Phenix City, AL,
    • Jun 18, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I got a ticket in the mail advising I was eligible to received up the 3500 from Rise. Now I had no idea at all that I would end up paying 10,000 back just for borrowing 3500. I have paid off the 3500 going on twice now and it still is telling me that I won't be done paying for the loan until 2017. This should be illegal and not allowed to be done to people who are just trying to make it. I literally pay 279.09 every two weeks which is 558.18 a month. If I paid this for a year it would pay off 3500. And then another 3000.00. Please if you can help it, don't accept, sign up for or agree to this loan if they send you an offer. It just will make you more in debt and cost more money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Beware

    I am in a rather dire situation financially but this company is not the way out. Loan rates start at 100% and only go up. 100% means you would pay back double the loan if it took you a year and this is the best outcome you can expect because rates could go up to 500% I stopped the application mid way when they wanted my bank account numbers, before approving me for anything, and it felt untrustworthy to me.

    Since stopping the application, I have gotten 2 emails encouraging me to finish. I absolutely cannot trust this company at all to use any information I give them in any capacity.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • My payoff isn't accepted!

    • By Sheila,
    • Alabama,
    • Mar 14, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I opened this loan up in 2015 and have had it around 6 months. Now that I would like to pay this HIGH INTEREST RATE CARD OFF with my American Express Card, these people are saying they DO NOT ACCEPT American Express Card. I think this is very stupid and a way to continue to take people money and charge high interest rates! This needs to be re-evaluated because I'm tired of paying this loan. I appreciated the fact they were all there when I needed them, but if I can't pay this off how I see fit and legal, why would I recommend this company to someone else? Please I just want to pay this off, and maybe and just maybe I will use them again in the future!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • False advertising

    Rise is advertising falsely. They are on Credit Karma and it clearly states that they don't base their decision off of you credit but your income. That's not true, it is all false.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • False Advertising

    • By Kim,
    • Sacramento, CA,
    • Dec 17, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was told my loan was approved online after filling out an application. However, no funds have been sent within the next couple of days as they originally said they would. Then, I was sent an email the next day requesting for further information while letting me know that it was not approved. I sent all the information requested on the email. Then when I called to find out two days later about the funds, they wanted further personal information, that I did not receive a request for prior to calling.

    When I called Rise, I spoke with a Supervisor named Chad. He said they had sent out an email requesting this further personal information, that was not on the previous email. I looked through all the emails sent from Rise and that email that he was referring to was nowhere to found. This makes me a bit suspicious. He could not help me nor explain to me as to why my loan was not approved with all the information that was sent as requested.

    I feel this company is not legit. End result: I feel this company advertises it will approve you quickly and they give you that impression via their web site and mail advertising yet they don't provide that service. This I feel is false advertising. I would not recommend this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Jumped through hoops for NOTHING.

    • By Anonymous,
    • Texas,
    • Jul 27, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I applied for a loan through Rise. They advised they needed further information, sent me a link to enter my username and password to verify. Once they received all this information they indeed sent me another email from the fraud department and wanted to do a conference call with my bank. So, I called into Rise and let them contact my bank with me on the phone. My bank verified my account and routing number. Then they advised it would take up to 48 hours to verify that. SERIOUSLY?

    I'm so over them. I went to Lend Up and got approved in 10 seconds after submitting my information and the money was in my account the next day. Rise is full of it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't apply

    • By Jason,
    • Temecula, CA,
    • Aug 13, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I always get an error when trying to login. They didn't cancel my loan until a week later but still charged me the interest. Don't apply, it is not worth your time.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Please Don't Do This. HUGE MISTAKE. I give them -1/2 Star

    They put three charges on my debit card. The guy didn't know what he was doing. And after the supervisor confirmed that they made a mistake on their end, they still didn't reverse the charges right away. I called a 2nd time and when I was on hold for the supervisor, they picked up and hung up. Third time I called, I got someone who confirmed the three charges and had to submit a ticket for reversal. Over 700 dollars taken from me and it was all I had. I hope I never, ever need to do this again. It was a huge mistake to use this company. Try to borrow money from family or friends before doing this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • A total waste of time!

    At first it all seemed to be so promising! I applied and was approved and promised the funds the next day. Instead of the funds, I received an email from fraud department requesting proof documents. I happily sent the documents only to be informed that it would take three days to verify the information. Three business days that is. After 3 days, I checked the site and with customer service only to be informed that more information was needed. I resent the information by fax and by email.

    I was then told I would see a message online to re-sign the loan. 3 days later, I get the message and go online to update all information and sign the loan agreement only to have the process start all over again with a message from the fraud department requesting the SAME information I had already sent! Total waste of time, not to mention poor communication. I plan to report them for fraud.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Do not believe this company!

    • By Kevin Torrey,
    • New Braunfels, TX,
    • Mar 8, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have had a few loans with Rise Credit and I have received emails that I am eligible to refinance my current loan, which I took advantage of. They say that it is a soft credit check when in reality, it is a hard hit to your credit report. They say that they don't base your loan off of your credit, when in fact, they do.

    I have had a consumer alert on my credit files for years to be safe. When I got my initial loan and the last refinance, this had never been an issue. Now all of a sudden they can't refinance my loan because of that consumer alert. I have never missed a payment, and they obviously know how to contact me, yet they now say that their hands are tied.

    I applied last month and called in, and the gentleman that I spoke with, as well as his supervisor, stated that I needed to wait for my application to expire and then reapply. I asked them both numerous times if this would not affect my credit. They both stated that it would not. I reapplied today, and I was immediately alerted that they pulled my credit again.

    I will be paying off this loan and never do business with them again. Their customer service agents are not educated enough about their company's products to give accurate information. I asked for a supervisor today and was told there wasn't one available.

    This is a ridiculous way to run a business.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Mar 9, 2017

      Company Response from Rise

      Hi Kevin,

      We are sorry to hear of your recent experience. Please check your personal email for more information.

      Thank you,

      RISE Credit


  • Don't do business with them!

    • By Marisa Orozco,
    • San Antonio, TX,
    • May 3, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    All I can say is that I borrowed $500.00 after seeing the reviews. At first, I thought the reviews were probably exaggerated. I just fully paid my account today when they pulled $171.00 out of my checking yesterday.

    I just spoke with them to check my balance, and they tell me with an attitude that I still owe $469.10. You mean to tell me in less than three weeks I have given away $140.00 to these people? Upon my initial application, they presented the interest in a whole different way.

    Needless to say, I won't ever do business with Rise Credit. They should not be allowed to rip off people with their BS lies! The rating should be a 0 instead of 1.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • May 4, 2017

      Company Response from Rise

      Hi Marisa,

      We are so sorry to hear about your customer service experience and regret any misunderstanding regarding interest and fees.

      Rise is designed to provide you with funds at the best possible price and only if other forms of credit are not available or are more expensive. Before accepting funds, we present the terms and conditions with the entire cost if you were to carry the full loan term. We also offer a full five-business day rescind guarantee in case you decide that a Rise loan is not right for you. If you pay off your loan early, you will only pay interest and/or fees for the amount of time that your loan has been active.

      We would like the opportunity to review your concerns with you and research your experience in detail. Please send us an email at rise_spokesperson@risecredit.com so that we may better assist you.

      Sincerely, Rise Credit


  • Total Scam. False Promise.

    • By RDG,
    • Chicago, IL,
    • Nov 4, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I applied for a loan on 17th of October. Website said it is approved, but need to submit proof of income.

    I do that the same day. Next day I get an email asking me to submit proof of secondary income. OK, done that right away. 2 days go by, no reply and the website still says pending for proof of income. I called in, they said it has been approved and I should be able to accept the loan online.

    I told them I don't see it. So they tell me they are having a tech issue, and that they have escalated the process and will reach back to me when it is resolved. 2 days go by, nothing. I called in again, they give me the same dialogue, and then say that they will mark my application so that it does not expire on 27th as it is their fault.

    27th morning, I email them asking about the status of the application, they reply back saying my application has expired and that I should re-apply! Really? I called in and asked about what is going on here.

    The representative put me on hold for 10 minutes and then says: "I ran up and down to ask what we could do. The department which was supposed to inform the audit to mark the application from expiring was running behind, so by the time, the audit department got your application, it had already expired. Sorry, I know that we said we will resolve this, but now we cannot do anything. Please re apply!"

    This is just preposterous. There should be a way to take them to court for making false promises. Wasted my 10 days.

    Oh! and the rep told me that I shouldn't worry to reapply as it is soft inquiry only, which is completely false. They hit you hard. Beware! If someone wants to take them to court for false promise and false advertising, I am with them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Nov 10, 2016

      Company Response from Rise

      Hi RDG,

      We regret to hear of your recent experience with RISE.

      We would like the opportunity to review your concerns with you and do additional research on this matter. Please send us an email at rise_spokesperson@risecredit.com.

      Thank you,

      RISE Credit


  • Worst decision of my life

    This company is insane, with 198 percent interest. How the heck is anyone ever supposed to pay this off? I am literally having to borrow money from everyone just to pay it off. I have paid about $1,500 in interest since August. I make payments for $234.00, and only $7 goes towards my actual loan. This has ruined my life, but I will be paying it off next week finally.

    DO NOT get a loan. I would rather be a stripper or go to any low but this one. I would sell all my belongings before getting this loan. Rip off! Is 198 percent interest even legal? If so, how? This company how endless complaints on BBB. I hate them, those guys are the devil. I bet they will be shut down sooner or later.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jan 25, 2017

      Company Response from Rise

      We are so sorry to hear about your recent experience with RISE.

      RISE is designed to provide you with funds at the best possible price and only if other forms of credit are not available or are more expensive. Prior to accepting funds, we present the terms and conditions with the entire cost if you were to carry the loan full term. We also offer a five full business day rescind guarantee in case you decide that a RISE loan is not right for you. If you pay off your loan early, you will only pay interest and/or fees for the amount of time that your loan has been active.

      We would like the opportunity to review your concerns with you and research your experience in detail. Please send us an email at rise_spokesperson@risecredit.com so that we may better assist you.

      Sincerely,

      RISE Credit


  • Wish I could give it less than one star

    • By Joan,
    • South Carolina,
    • Apr 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is one of the worst companies I have ever worked with. Even if you are desperate, do not resort to a loan from them. I have only two payments left (which are quite high at almost $500 a month) and they will not work with me and give me two additional months to pay these two payments even though I was asking because my husband has become disabled and income is reduced. Believe me, they do not care! Awful customer service on the phone.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Apr 14, 2017

      Company Response from Rise

      Hi Joan,

      We are so sorry to hear about your recent experience with Rise Credit. We would like the opportunity to review your concerns with you and research your experience in detail. Please send us an email at rise_spokesperson@risecredit.com so we may better assist you.

      Sincerely, Rise Credit.


  • Worst loan ever

    This is seriously the WORST loan place ever. I did a loan of $2500 and got told that my payments were going to range between $60-$90 PER MONTH. Instead, I'm paying between $240-$300 EVERY TWO WEEKS. And I just got told that the payments are going to keep going up each time.

    So unless you know for sure that won't be a problem for you, I suggest you DON'T use Rise. Now, I will say that the customer service is very nice and polite, but it's just the loan itself that isn't very helpful. If the payments weren't ridiculous, I would recommend them, but that isn't the case.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Nov 8, 2017

      Company Response from Rise

      Thank you for reaching out to us regarding your concerns. In your state of Tennessee, Rise Credit does not offer personal loans. Rise offers a Line of Credit. We do regret to hear of any misunderstanding or confusion and would be happy to review your account with you. Please contact us via email at rise_spokesperson@risecredi.com so that we can better assist you.

      Thank You,

      Rise Credit


  • Company should be illegal

    • By Thomas K.,
    • Ohio,
    • Dec 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I urge anyone thinking about a loan from Rise Credit to NEVER EVER do it. A $1000 loan will cost you monthly payments of $438 with APR around 298%! INSANE. This place ruins lives, does not help people. Predatory lending at its finest. If someone is taking out a $1000 loan, it means they are financially strapped. The payments to pay back will make you bankrupt. I have no clue how this is legal. The government needs to step in and stop these companies from loaning money to unsuspecting Americans.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Dec 24, 2018

      Company Response from Rise

      We’re sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction with your Rise Credit loan. Rise is designed to provide you with funds at the best possible price if other forms of credit are not available or are more expensive. Rise fully discloses all interest and fees associated with your Rise Credit loan prior to signing the loan agreement. We also provide a five-business-day rescission policy in the event that you decide Rise is not for you. We also advise you to pay your loan in full as quickly as possible to save on the interest. Please contact us at (866) 580-1226 or rise_spokesperson@risecredit.com if you have any further questions or if you need assistance.

      Thank you,

      Rise Credit


  • Legit and professional

    • By John Munoz,
    • TX,
    • Jul 1, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    To ease people's minds, yes Rise is legit and professional. I obtained a loan from Rise with very little obstacles and delay. I applied and gave them the information they required on a Thursday and my funds were in my account Friday morning. They handled my request professionally and with one thing in mind - customer service.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend


  • Scam loan offer

    I got approved for a loan, claimed it was funded and even had the ACH and updated payment schedule. It suddenly became that they wanted the same documents they wanted before, which were given to them, and claimed they didn’t fund the loan after all.

    Scammers! I turned down another loan thinking this was done and now I’m having to see if I can reapply there.

    I filed a complaint with the Attorney General and Department of Finance and will file a notice of JAMS Complaint tomorrow. I’ll make them spend more than what they screwed me out of.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Apr 24, 2018

      Company Response from Rise

      We regret to hear of the inconvenience that you have experienced. Verification documents can be requested at any time prior to funding. We would be happy to look into your account for you to determine what exactly what has happened. Please email us rise_spokesperson@risecredit.com.

      Thank you,

      Rise Credit


  • Horrible customer service and verification dept.

    • By Tracy e.,
    • California,
    • Jun 10, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I applied for a loan there and was emailed several times asking for the same exact information I had already sent over. They requested I send over my sensitive information like my bank statements with my account number, pay statements showing my full social, drivers license, and SSI. I had to send over the information at least five times, and they are still sending me emails requesting the same information.

    This company is either a scam or they retaliate against their potential customers for calling to check the app status. I would NEVER recommend or use this company. They deserve zero stars.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jun 10, 2017

      Company Response from Rise

      Dear Tracye,

      We regret to hear of the inconvenience that you have experienced. We would like the opportunity to review your account to better assist you. Please reach out to us with the email address and name on the account to rise_spokesperson@risecredit.com.

      Thank you,

      Rise Credit


  • Make a good choice

    • By Mike Brown,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Aug 21, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    For starters, Rise Credit will do exactly as said it will do. Give you money fairly quickly. The process of completing the application is a bit annoying, but no more so than many other lenders.

    The reason I rated it one star is the absurdly high interest rates. I borrowed $3,500 and was expected to repay $15,000. I repaid my loan earlier than full term but still paid around an $3,500 in interest before I was able to repay the loan.

    If you're in a pickle and need quick cash with the ability to repay quickly, then go for it. Any other circumstances this company should be avoided at all cost. This will damage your credit score greatly until it is paid and full. Additionally, the higher minimum payments will make it difficult to climb out of debt as you repay this loan.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Aug 21, 2017

      Company Response from Rise

      Dear Mike-

      Rise is designed to provide you with funds at the best possible price and only if other forms of credit are not available, or are more expensive. Prior to accepting funds, we present the terms and conditions with the entire cost if you were to carry the loan full term.

      We also offer a five full business day rescind guarantee in case you decide that a Rise loan is not right for you. If you pay off your loan early, you will only pay interest and/or fees for the amount of time that your loan has been active. If there are additional questions or concerns, please email us at rise_spokesperson@risecredit.com.

      Sincerely,

      Rise Credit


  • Worst lending company ever!

    This company has the highest interest rate of any lending company I have ever dealt with. After I made my first payment, I borrowed the money to pay the loan off. When I went to pay it off, the payoff amount had increased by $38 just in 5 days. I would highly recommend you not do business with this company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Nov 5, 2017

      Company Response from Rise

      We’re sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction with your Rise Credit loan. Rise is designed to provide you with funds at the best possible price if other forms of credit are not available or are more expensive. Rise fully discloses all interest and fees associated with your Rise Credit loan prior to signing the loan agreement. We provide a five-business-day rescission policy in the event that you decide Rise is not for you. We also advise you to pay your loan in full as quickly as possible to save on the interest. Please contact us at (866) 580-1226 or rise_spokesperson@risecredit.com if you have any further questions or if you need assistance.

      Thank you,

      Rise Credit


  • Yes - it's a scam

    • By Gary E.,
    • Ocala, FL,
    • Nov 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Just another scamming high interest loan company. They actually send out letters saying your pre-approved and make you give them all your personal information, and then tell you that you're not qualified. In the next days after the inquest, you will get texts and emails from people you've never heard from. And more high interest scammers promising you great deals.

    Don't do it. This is the same as an Indian tribal loan with 985% interest.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Nov 10, 2018

      Company Response from Rise

      Thank you for reaching out to us in regards to your concerns. A pre-approval is not a guaranteed approval. A pre-approval is an invite that criteria may be met for a loan or line of credit. We regret to hear that we were unable to approve a new loan for you at this time. If you would like additional information as to the cause of a decline, please email us at rise_spokesperson@risecredit.com.

      Thank You,

      Rise Credit


  • Rise does not have flexible payment terms

    • By Lolita G.,
    • Seabrook, TX,
    • Dec 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I used Rise because of a financial emergency. In the application process, they advise they have flexible payment terms but it's very detailed. I am paid the 10th and 25th. This did not fit the terms available. You have to continually call for a payment extension three days after the prior payment clears. Should you miss that payment, late fees apply and your credit is dinged. Make no mistake, this is a payday product. LendUp is the best for these situations.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Dec 10, 2018

      Company Response from Rise

      Thank you for contacting us in regards to your recent concerns. We would like to further review your account in regards to the provided information. Please email us at rise_spokesperson@risecredit.com so that we can locate and review your account.

      Thank You,

      Rise Credit


  • Applying for a loan is a nightmare

    I tried today to apply for a loan. The process was tedious and mind blowing.

    First of all, the people in customer service I found to be not caring and condescending. I was told to fax some documentation in. I went to KINKO'S and paid $14.00. When I called Rise to check on my application, I was told my social security card and drivers license were too dark. What the heck, they want me to pay again to send it to them. I ask why it couldn't have been on their end, and of course they said that no, it's not our fault but yours. I could go on and on, but with companies such as this, what's the point? I've never heard of paying money to maybe getting told no anyway.

    Shame, shame, shame on Rise.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jun 3, 2017

      Company Response from Rise

      Hi Michael,

      We appreciate you reaching out to us. We're sorry to hear about any misunderstanding. Please check your personal email for an important update.

      Sincerely,

      Rise Credit


  • Don't do it

    This is truly a scam, or at least an expensive mistake.

    To start with, when I first applied I guessed at my pay dates. I get paid biweekly, and I looked at the calendar wrong. I figured, no big deal, right? If I get approved, I will change the correct draft date. Big mistake. They only will do the draft on the original date you put in your original application. Before I signed I requested that it be changed. They said no problem, that the loan has to be started first. After I signed for the incredibly high-interest rate loan, they REFUSED to change the draft date!

    It was obviously an Asian Call Center with guys named Susan, and people barely speaking English. I requested to talk to managers and anyone in charge. I even requested to speak to someone in the US. They required me to go online or call in every two weeks to EXTEND my payment date. I called 12/26 to get a payoff amount and extend the payment date, but they said since the payment was posted on 12/22, I had to wait until Wednesday or Thursday to change the date. With everything going on that week, I forgot to extend the payment date for 12/29 and guess what? They drafted my account. Now I have other drafts and payments bouncing everywhere and all the overdraft fees.

    The interest rate for the life of the loan with all payments is 199% (yes 199%). I didn't do the math so, not a lot of the biweekly payments were going to the principle. That and the several NSF fees from my bank make this a very costly mistake. I would NOT recommend that anyone use this service or any others like it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jan 4, 2018

      Company Response from Rise

      We regret to hear of your dissatisfaction with your Rise Credit Loan. We would be happy to review your account with you and all the repayment terms. You may reach us by phone at 866-580-1226 or via email at rise_spokesperson@risecredit.com.

      Thank you,

      Rise Credit


  • Don’t do it. WALK AWAY.

    I used Rise twice. The first time was ok. I got into a financial bind and needed them again. I got a second loan and fell a payment or two behind. I spoke with a representative on 2/22 at 1 pm and paid what I was told to pay to close my account. I was reassured that my account did not go to collections and was in good standing.

    At 5:30 on 2/22 Rise sold my account to a collection agency AFTER my account was paid in full. They also reported me to the credit bureau on 2/24 stating I owe them $1300+. Which is NOT TRUE! I have called the collection agency, which is very helpful. I was directed back to Rise. They are NO HELP! You get transferred to this person and that person. When I tell you they give you the run around that’s EXACTLY what I mean.

    Please, please, please walk away and DO NOT USE THEM. I should’ve read more into them before getting a loan. Maybe I wouldn’t be going through this. I have already told a few of my friends to look elsewhere, AND SO SHOULD YOU!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Mar 5, 2018

      Company Response from Rise

      We are sorry to hear about your recent experience. We would like to look into this further for you. Can you please email us rise_spokesperson@risecredit.com, so that we can locate your account and further assist you.

      Thank You,

      Rise Credit


Showing 1-27 of 147

Write a Review for Rise Credit!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Rise Credit Reviews - What Customers Are Saying