About Roman ED Meds

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff
Published on: Dec 1, 2017

If you’re experiencing erectile dysfunction and prefer to receive treatment from the comfort of your home, Roman ED Meds promises to handle everything from online diagnosis to prescription delivery, right to your door.

All you have to do is complete a five-minute online visit that involves answering questions about your medical history, as well as indicating if you have a medication preference. Within two hours, a U.S.-licensed Roman physician will review your treatment request and, if appropriate, will write a prescription.

From there, you’ll continue receiving automatic shipments of your ED medication once per month or per quarter, depending on your needs.

For most guys, going to the doctor isn’t at the top of our list. And this is perhaps especially the case when dealing with sexual issues like erectile dysfunction, which is why the concept behind Roman is so compelling.

But are they your only option for ED medication delivery? Before signing up, are there any important considerations to keep in mind? Let’s get you the information you’re looking for by covering a few quick basics.

What Is Erectile Dysfunction and What Causes It?

The Mayo Clinic defines erectile dysfunction simply as the “inability to get and keep an erection firm enough for sex.”

Despite this straightforward definition, they go on to explain that the cause of ED can be anything but, since achieving an erection involves a complex process of biological, emotional, and psychological factors. And a ‘hiccup' in any of these areas can culminate in the inability to get and keep an erection.

In some instances, ED might not be a cause for concern, but in others, it could represent an underlying health condition that needs to be addressed, as mentioned on the Roman site.

With this said, the Mayo Clinic outlines that common causes include heart disease, high blood pressure or cholesterol, diabetes, obesity, tobacco use, excessive stress, and sleep disorders, to name just a few.

And as you might imagine, the underlying cause will directly determine the optimal ED treatment, although common options include reducing stress, exercising regularly, eating a healthy diet, obtaining psychological help if necessary, and even taking prescription medication while under your doctor’s care. According to WebMD, common choices include:

  • Avanafil (Stendra)
  • Sildenafil (Viagra)
  • Tadalafil (Cialis)
  • Vardenafil (Levitra, Staxyn)

Let’s find out how Roman can prescribe these types of medications, without requiring patients to attend an in-office visit.

How Does Roman’s Web-Based App Work?

According to their website, “Roman has built telemedicine technologies to enable physicians to create a patient-physician relationship and to enable physicians to satisfy the standard of care,” but without an in-person visit.

Let’s take a look at how they accomplish this, starting with eligibility.

Roman Eligibility Criteria

In order to use the Roman website, you’ll need to have five minutes available to complete their dynamic online visit (more next) and have access to a functioning desktop or mobile camera, a blood pressure reading from within the last six months, a driver’s license or other ID, and a credit card.

From a strict eligibility perspective, the company requires customers to be at least 18 years old, to have had a physical exam within the last five years (including an exam of the penis, testis, and groin), to have normal blood pressure readings, to not take nitroglycerin or other nitrate-containing medicines, and to be cleared for sex.

Finally, you’ll need to be a resident of New York, California, Pennsylvania, Florida, Washington, Montana, Virginia, Nebraska, or Michigan.

Taking a Closer Look at Roman ED Meds’ Online Visit System

To begin, prospective patients will enter their zip code, DOB, email address, and gender. Then, you’ll indicate how many times per month you anticipate using these medications, drug and dosage preferences, and shipping frequency.

Roman Online Visit Start ScreenRoman’s telehealth assistant automatically walks you through your online visit and tailors its workflow based on your individual responses. Credit: Roman Health Medical LLC

Next, you’ll indicate if you’ve been treated for ED (whether by prescription medication or dietary supplement) and dose, and if you experienced any side effects.

From there, you’ll answer several medical questions, such as if you ever have problems “getting or maintaining an erection that is satisfying enough for sex,” how your ED began, if you’ve had a physical exam with a healthcare provider in the past five years, blood pressure readings, libido level, and any other conditions you’re experiencing (HIV, low blood pressure, clotting or bleeding disorders, retinitis pigmentosa, etc.).

Following this, you’ll input any lifestyle habits that might impact your ED (e.g., exercise, healthy eating, smoking, drinking, problems sleeping, etc.), other medications you’re taking, and any allergies. You’ll then confirm if you would like for Roman to act as your pharmacy or a third-party company.

Note: The company tells us that in order to use your own pharmacy, they must be in the Surescripts Network, which we’re told includes 95 percent of pharmacies across the U.S.

Roman Pharmacy Confirmation ScreenCustomers can choose Roman or another pharmacy to fill their prescriptions, although the company offers free shipping and the first month free for direct orders. Credit: Roman Health Medical LLC

Finally, you’ll input your personal information, take a photo of yourself and your driver’s license or ID, review your details, add payment info, and process your payment.

Roman Online Visit Image UploadIn order to complete your online visit, Roman requires all patients to upload their picture and driver’s license or ID. Credit: Roman Health Medical LLC

According to the website, within two hours, a Roman doctor will review your information, determine if it’s safe and appropriate to write a prescription for Sildenafil (Viagra—25, 50, or 100 mg), generic Sildenafil (20 mg only), Tadalafil (Cialis—2.5, 5, 10, or 20 mg), or Vardenafil (Levitra—2.5, 5, 10, or 20 mg).

If it is, your medication will be shipped to you in discreet packaging as soon as the next day, and then monthly or quarterly after that. If necessary, they may ask follow up questions.

Keep in mind that Roman’s physicians depend solely on your online visit for answers, so it’s important to be truthful and as accurate as possible. After you complete your treatment request, though, you can message a physician at any time.

More About Roman’s Staff Physicians

Whenever you interact with a physician, the company automatically shares their resume and credentials with you, so you can know more about who you’re dealing with.

The Roman website emphasizes that customers will only be treated by physicians licensed in their state. And since staff physicians are currently only licensed in New York, California, Pennsylvania, Florida, Washington, Montana, Virginia, Nebraska, and Michigan, this means you’ll have to reside in one of these states in order to use the company’s services.

They also tell us that every physician on their staff has undergone a background check and license verification process.

However, they also emphasize that their physicians are intended to act as a “complement, not a replacement, to your primary care physician.” As a result, it’s important to keep your primary care doctor in the loop about your interaction with Roman and share with them any related news or new prescriptions.

How Much Do Roman’s ED Meds Cost?

For the online visit discussed above, Roman charges a flat rate of $15. From there, medications range between $2 and $63 per dose, with multiple quantities available, along with monthly or quarterly shipping options.

In other words, the exact price you pay will depend on the medication you choose, the dosage, the quantity (between four and 10 per month), and shipping frequency. In general though, here were the prices provided by Roman at the time of our research:

Roman ED Meds Price ListRoman ED’s medication price list, which was listed as accurate as of 11/5/17, although they emphasize that prices are updated weekly. Credit: Roman Health Medical LLC

Shipping is free, and your first shipment will arrive within two to three days of the prescription. If a physician determines that you’re not a candidate, you’ll be refunded your $15 fee.

All purchases are cash only, and the company doesn’t handle or process insurance payments. For additional details, customer service can be reached at 888-798-8686, support@getroman.com, or via live chat.

What Are Customers Saying in Their Roman ED Meds Reviews?

Roman Health Medical LLC is a brand new startup that launched in late October 2017. As you might imagine, this means we didn’t encounter much direct customer feedback at the time of our research.

But because they’re potentially tapping into a largely unmet marketplace (men who want to avoid an embarrassing conversation with their doctor, but who also want to do something about their ED), they’ve received a lot of press attention in a short time from popular outlets like TechCrunch, Mashable, The New York Times, Forbes, CNN, and Men’s Health, to name just a few.

And in general, it seems that many health professionals agree that bringing a broader awareness and product availability is mostly positive. As Dr. Michael Eisenberg, Director of Male Reproductive Medicine and Surgery and Stanford University told Mashable, “Any time you can reduce friction or decrease the barriers to care, I think that’s a good thing.”

Reading through these articles, we also learned that co-founder and CEO Zachariah Reitano first experienced ED at the age of 17 due to a heart condition. After undergoing surgery and recovering, he set out to help men receive the treatment they need for their ED, along with any underlying health problems it might be a side effect of.

The company was also co-founded by Saman Rahmanian and Rob Schutz. Previously, Saman worked as a partner with Prehype and co-founder of Managed by Q, while Rob worked as the VP of Growth for Bark & Co. and as Instructor and Curriculum Developer for General Assemb.ly.

Roman currently boasts a team of 11 physicians. Their Medical Team is staffed by Dr. Steven Lamm (Medical Director at the NYU Center for Men’s Health), Dr. Pepper Schwartz (author, researcher, and relationship expert), and Dr. Jeff Gardere, who is listed on the site as “one of the most widely sought-after experts in the field of mental health.”

Are There Other ED Medication Companies Like Roman?

While there are certainly other online pharmacies out there, as well as companies that utilize telemedicine to diagnose patients without an in-office visit, we didn’t encounter any competitors with the exact business model as Roman.

Perhaps the closest option was Hims, who also employs a staff of physicians (across a total of nine states) that can diagnose patients and then write a prescription for the ED medication Sildenafil ($20 for 10X 20mg tablets). It can then be filled through one of Hims’ partners, or through a third-party pharmacy of the customer’s choosing.

Unlike Roman, though, Hims also offers prescriptions for hair loss-related medications like finasteride, as well as OTC options like Minoxidil and multivitamin supplements.

How can you decide which of these options—if either—is right for you? Let’ carry this thought over as we come to a conclusion.

Our Final Thoughts About Roman ED Meds

According to Becker’s Health IT & CIO Review, “the global telemedicine market is anticipated to grow at a compound annual growth rate of 14.3 percent between 2014 and 2020,” at which point it’s estimated to represent a $36 billion industry—a more than 250 percent increase.

And as telemedicine grows, it’s only natural that it will continue making its way into different areas of the medical field, where it potentially stands to greatly increase access to varying aspects of healthcare. In this regard, it’s exciting to see companies like Roman make their way to the market, who we can only imagine stands to help further disrupt the industry with their ED-specific approach.

But whether you choose to go with Roman or another online erectile dysfunction medication provider, as emphasized on their website, these companies don’t intend to replace your primary care physician.

And since you’ll need to have a relatively recent checkup to use Roman’s services anyway, you might as well discuss your ED with your doctor before paying for an Online Visit or placing an order for a prescription.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 44 Roman ED Meds Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 3.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 23 4 star: 0 3 star: 1 2 star: 3 1 star:  17
Bottom Line: 50% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 44
Sort reviews by:

  • 34 out 42 people found this review helpful

    Big rip-off warning

    • Colorado,
    • Aug 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    After taking a charge of $15 on my credit card they didn't contact me as they said they would, and repeated calls to the listed phone number gets you to a Google Phone Number with a "leave a message." Discover Card refuses to refund me the charge, even after Roman repeated fails on returning my phone calls and website messages. So avoid Roman and Discover Card.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 31 out 35 people found this review helpful

    They are a fraud and scam

    • Orlando, FL,
    • Oct 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It was my first experience with them and I have never received my order or my $15 back. I checked my bank account and sure enough, they took the money. Since our last correspondence, they stopped replying. I will now do all that's possible to report them everywhere I can. Beware of angry old men!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 27 out 110 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Edit

    • Jul 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    To those making comments about my review, it is not illegal to perform telemedicine in Nebraska; it’s illegal to prescribe without actually talking to a doctor per Nebraska telemedicine laws. I was expecting a call from a doctor and instead just received the medication in my mail. I immediately canceled my service and reported them. Weird also how a lot of positive reviews on this site are from New York, the headquarters of Getroman. Hmmm...

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Previous review
    • Apr 13, 2018

    Getroman.com doesn’t follow telemedicine laws

    Getroman.com claims they follow the law, but they do not. All states have varying telemedicine laws. Laws required to perform prescription writing over the phone or on the internet. Getroman.com does not follow the law.

    Example: I ordered with them, I live in Nebraska, and telemedicine laws in my state require I verbally talk to a doctor over the phone. I talked to nobody. All I had to do to order was send a copy of my driver's license and a picture of myself and a week later I got prescription drugs. This is illegal. I could be a little kid that stole my dad's wallet and took his picture, and I could have gotten prescription drugs from Getroman.com. This is unacceptable.

    There are numerous other online sources that operate legally, and Getroman.com is not one of them and is a scam. There are private companies that monitor online telemedicine companies, LegitScript and CSIP. Getroman.com is approved by LegitScript, but they should not be as they do not follow telemedicine laws. I’ve already filed a complaint with LegitScript and CSIP. If you want prescription drugs and you want to obtain them illegally, use Getroman.com.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 27 out 31 people found this review helpful

    No luck!

    • Grants Pass, OR,
    • Nov 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is an embarrassing subject. I signed up, went through the process, I described what the website asks, the phases, questions asked, gave my full information, credit card, and the instructions said you will be billed $15 and the rest after the doctor speaks to you. I contacted via email and online chat, my email and info were up on the site over 24 hours and bang, my info disappeared. All I got was you never completed the forms, no one looked into anything, and now I'm going to be charged 15 bucks, and I'll have to tell them I contacted an ED company about meds. These people do not care...all they said was you did not complete the process? How would I know the details then...

    They got my 15 bucks, and all I got was the runaround. My advice is to go to the real doctor, these guys are clowns. Sorry, no one cares at Roman or is accountable, you're just not here on our records Mr. Smith/Jones or whatever, see YA! Sammy...very poor customer service. Feel free to make an effort Roman.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 21 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Sent incorrect dosage

    • California,
    • Oct 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased six 60 mg tablets for $36, instead, I received six 20 mg tablets. I contacted customer service and received a reply saying that I need to take three 20 mg tablets to get the 60mg. 60mg tablets are $6 a piece and 20 mg tablets are $2 a piece.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 21 out 29 people found this review helpful

    Fast service, real meds!

    • Norfolk, VA,
    • Oct 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I started the process around 6 pm on Tuesday and got my meds (generic Viagra) around noon on Friday! I ordered the 6/60mg, but received 18/20mg! Which was better because I was going to try to cut the 60mg in 1/4 with a pill splitter anyway! I try one 20mg around 4 and then proceed to give my wife 45 minutes of the best sex in years! She wanted to call off from work for more fun! So meds are definitely real! I am writing this at 6 am Saturday morning and I'm still getting extremely hard erections like I was 16 years old (I'll be 50 in February)! I am waiting for my wife to get home from work now.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 21 out 31 people found this review helpful

    Stay away

    • Texas,
    • Nov 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I used this to quit smoking; they sent a prescription for Bupropion. I had a severe reaction to this medication. Then in a couple of weeks I received another bottle, and they charged my account, at which point I contacted them to refund my money for a product I could not take, and of course they refused, citing FDA guidelines, which does not state they cannot refund the money on a product I do not want, nor can I use it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 21 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Unresponsive ripoff after charging for consult

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Feb 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I went online, answered the questions and was given the "medical consult" and charged for it. Told them I had a history with Sildenafil, 100mg pills. She prescribed 20 mg pills, 10/month.

    I asked for 30 of the 100 mg pills and asked them to be sent to my preferred pharmacy in Houston.

    The physician then went on to prescribe 150, 20 mg pills with the instruction to take them 5 at a time!

    My pharmacy sent back 2 requests with questions for clarification. One a day after receipt, the other 6 days later.

    36 days later, after multiple calls, I received a message from the doctor that she didn't deal with insurance questions. What the heck? (Never did respond to the pharmacy.)

    I told her that the pharmacy didn't have 20 mg pills and buying 150 of them at $5 would be a ridiculous $750. The 100mg tabs from my pharmacy are approximately $6 each, so even 30 would only be $180.00.

    They have 36, 55, 75, 100, 110, and 125 versions available from regular pills to under the tongue dissolvables.

    I've never heard of being prescribed to take (and pay for) 5 pills at a time when a single pill is available.

    When I confronted/queried the online physician, she took offense, still did nothing to solve the problem, and merely offered to send the 150 pill prescription to another pharmacy.

    This does not seem to represent standard medical practice to me nor does it represent ANY sort of responsive customer service, or individual/patient consideration. Just a money grab!

    I personally feel scammed by being charged for a "medical consultation" then not being offered standard, reasonable, approved and available therapy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 15, 2019

      Company Response from Roman Health

      Hi Bob - this is Mike with the Roman Care Team. I'm sorry this has been such a process. We've located your account and issued you a refund for your doctor's consult - please keep an eye out for an email at care@ro.co confirming receipt. We are still committed to providing you with the medical treatment you deserve, and are looking forward to resolving this issue with you.


  • 20 out 29 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Washington DC,
    • Dec 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I filled out a bunch of questions and paid $15 for a doctor to "review my chart," only to be automatically denied based on my answers to the questions. They could have rejected me without a doctor’s review and without taking my money, so thanks for the scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Jan 17, 2019

      Company Response from Roman Health

      Hi This is Mike from the Roman care team. I understand your frustration following the decision your physician made, and would be happy to clarify.

      The $15 consultation fee is paid to your physician and their practice for the consultation they provided. This is the same as if you visited a doctor in person and paid a co-pay to discuss your sexual health. Just as in a doctor's office, we cannot provide a refund for this fee.

      As stated on our website, the only cases in which a refund is provided are if the individual has too complex of a medical history to be properly evaluated via telemedicine, which was not the case here.

      I’m so sorry you did not receive the results you wanted. If you’d like, we can offer a free phone consultation with our clinical director to speak about any health concern you may have and to further expand on this decision. You can schedule that through email at care@ro.co . Thanks David!


  • 20 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Efficient but expensive

    • Rhode Island,
    • Mar 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was very impressed with the efficiency of the process. I filled out the form and was called by one of Roman's doctors the next day. He was helpful and did ask some questions to make sure the medication was appropriate for my situation. I received the medication within 2 days. It came in the form of individually wrapped dosages. The cost was $72 for 12 doses. There-in lies the rub. That turns out to be quite expensive.

    I subsequently spoke with my own doctor who provided a prescription which I filled at a local Walmart with a coupon I obtained from GoodRX. By doing it this way, I was able to get 30 doses at approximately 1//2 the cost. Also, be aware that Roman automatically signs you up for auto-refill, which is cumbersome to cancel. You need to really look for it in FAQs in order to find out how to do it - It is not obvious.

    Bottom line: While Roman is very convenient, if you work with your own doctor you can save a lot of money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • May 15, 2019

      Company Response from Roman Health

      Hi E, thanks for taking the time to leave this honest review. We're working hard to offer the most competitive prices that we are able, but we certainly understand your decision making in this situation. We've added some account credit if you ever decide to return to Roman for treatment, thanks again for your thoughts - we're here if you need us.

      - Mike from Roman


  • 19 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Easy, works, economical!

    • Oregon,
    • Jun 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Just as the article describes, I filled out a brief online questionnaire, then a physician called me by phone and discussed my case. He agreed I was a good candidate for the drug, so he created a prescription and order, and in about one week, I had my first eight doses of generic sildenafil (Viagra). I would highly recommend going that route as it is much cheaper than the brand-name drug and it worked wonderfully for me!

    I have since found it easy to send follow-up messages to the online doctor I was assigned to and get prompt replies. I have since changed my ordering quantity to get more doses per month since they have proven themselves to be safe, reliable and accessible.

    This service is really terrific and is something MUCH needed in the medical community. My only word of advice is to remember, like they say, this service and doctor are not intended to replace your regular doctor, and what you do, TELL THE TRUTH on the medical questionnaire and when you talk to the doctor by phone. Remember, he is relying on your honesty to know if it is safe to prescribe you an ED medication. If you lie about other health conditions, drugs you are taking, etc., you can really harm or kill yourself, so do the right thing. Be straight up with them, and they will be straight with you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 44

Write a Review for Roman ED Meds!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review