About Rotorazer Saw

By Derek Lakin
HighYa Staff Updated on: Jul 26, 2018

Rotorazer Saw is a high-powered, professional-grade circular hand saw that can cut many different materials in many different ways (curved, straight, and even upside down).

On top of this, the saw is useful not only for home construction projects, but for arts and crafts as well. And since it can perform many of the same duties as a jigsaw, miter saw, band saw, hack saw, and tile saw, you can save money, since you won’t have to buy all these tools individually.

Sure, this all sounds great, but can you expect the same level of performance that you saw in the Rotorazer Saw’s commercial, and is it really as versatile and precise as it claims? We cut away the hype to get at the facts, and here’s what we found.

Rotorazer Saw Features & Details

If you’re a do-it-yourselfer, you know that it often takes several different saws in order to achieve the cut you’re after. In response to this, the manufacturer claims that Rotorazer Saw’s versatility allows it to do the job of several different saws, and to make straight, curved, and even plunge cuts.

Specifically, it can be used as a jigsaw, circular saw, hand saw, band saw, tile saw, hacksaw, and miter saw, but with the convenience of a single lightweight, portable, and durable handheld saw.

Each Rotorazer Saw comes equipped with a 400-watt motor that allows you to cut at more than 3,400 RPMs, and that its construction-grade chassis will fit inside your hand, regardless of size. On top of this, its safety switch means that it won’t engage until you want it to, and its Adjustable Cutting Depth Lever allows you to choose the perfect depth (shallow, medium, or deep).

To begin using your Rotorazer Saw, the company claims you’ll just need to follow these 5 steps:

  1. Attach the appropriate blade based on your cutting surface.
  2. Press the Protective Safety Switch downward.
  3. Slide and hold the Thumb Control Power Switch forward.
  4. Adjust the Blade Guard to your desired cutting height.
  5. Plug the Rotorazer Saw in and begin cutting.

How Much Does the Rotorazer Saw Cost & Where Can You Buy?

When purchased directly through the manufacturer, the Rotorazer Saw is is priced at three payments of $49.95, plus $19.95 shipping and handling, bringing your total to $169.80.

You’ll also find it sold through Amazon and other retailers like QVC.com and Houzz for between $150 and $175.

Along with your Rotorazer Saw, each order also includes three quick change blades:

  • Diamond – Used for hard surfaces such as tile, stone, grout, and other masonry.
  • Tungsten Carbide – Best for wood surfaces, laminated flooring, PVC, and similar materials.
  • Steel – Best for metal and steel surfaces, and even carpet.

In addition to:

  • Dust Extraction System – Attach to any vacuum for easy, dust-free cleanup.
  • Case – A durable construction-grade case that can protect your Rotorazer Saw when you’re not using it.
  • Bonus – Professional 310-piece drill bit and wall hanger set, which is only available from the “As Seen on TV offer, or via www.BuyRotorazer.com.

During our research we also found a Platinum version of the Rotorazer Saw for sale through Amazon, which includes a 500W motor and additional guard rail for precision cutting, for $184.95.

The Rotorazer Saw comes with a 30-day money back guarantee, less shipping and handling charges. In order to begin the process, you’ll need to contact customer service at 800-220-7975.

What’s the Bottom Line About the Rotorazer Saw?

With all of this in mind, what’s the bottom line: Is the Rotorazer Saw a good investment, or is it just junk? When making your decision, keep the following in mind.

The Rotorazer Saw is sold by the Ideal Living group of companies, who’s based out of Sherman Oaks, CA and also markets other products like Prosvent, WalkFit Platinum, Paint Zoom, and many other “As Seen on TV” products.

The company seemed to have a mostly positive online customer reputation, which could be a good indication of what you might experience after becoming a customer. Specifically, they held an A+ Better Business Bureau rating, based on 29 closed customer complaints, as of 7/26/18. Additionally, The product holds an average rating of 3.5 and 3.8 stars on Amazon, for the two different types of versions of the Rotorazer Saw (as of 7/26/18).

Zooming in and looking only at Rotorazer, here on HighYa as well as other popular sites like Amazon, it seemed to come with similarly positive customer reviews. Just keep in mind that the bonus professional 310-piece drill bit set (as well as the 18 drill bits, 5 screw bits, 1 bit adapter, and an assortment of wall hangers) can only be used with a drill– not the Rotorazer Saw, and is only available at BuyRotorazer.com.

Pros

  • Claims to allow you to cut practically any material, and on any surface.
  • Cuts horizontally, vertically, in a straight or curved line, in a corner, and even while upside down.
  • Lightweight and portable design.
  • Can replace numerous other types of saws (including jigsaw, miter saw, hand saw, band saw, tile saw, hacksaw, and circular saw).
  • Include useful features such as a depth adjustment knob, on/off thumb control power switch, and protective safety lock-off switch. The Platinum model also includes a parallel guide rail and a guard life handle.
  • 30-day return policy.
  • Mostly positive online customer reviews.

Cons

  • You’ll lose your original $19.99 in S&H charges if you decide to process a refund, in addition to whatever it will cost to ship your Rotorazer Saw back to the manufacturer.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

33 Consumer Reviews for Rotorazer Saw

Average Consumer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 2 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 3 1 star:  27
Bottom Line: 9% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 33
Sort reviews by:

  • Old one giving kick back

    • Oct 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased it about six or seven years ago, no problems, except that it was larger than expected and it gave a kickback when you first start to saw. The one they advertise now looks smaller so you can use it with one hand, so I'm going to try it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Horrible customer service - do not buy!

    • Paterson, NJ,
    • Jul 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The saw itself is of low quality and I have been trying to return it and get a full refund for the past three days. Apparently, you have to call a number to be able to return it. Yesterday, I was on hold waiting for a customer service representative for almost two hours, and never got to talk to anyone. Today, I've been on hold for almost 30 minutes. This is absolutely ridiculous. DO NOT waste your time or money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 1, 2018

      Ideal Living, Social Media Monitor

      Hi Ramiro,

      We are sorry that the Rotorazer Saw did not meet your needs. It makes no sense to be on hold for two hours! Please email marmstrong@idealliving.com the phone number that you called. We do see that you did speak with customer service on 7/30 and they gave you all of the return instructions. Again, we are sorry for your experience and we agree, it makes no sense for anyone to be on hold for two hours. Something definitely was not right, and this is the first incident of this kind that we have heard of.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Malfunctioned 10 minutes into a project

    I bought this on Amazon.com FBA and 10 minutes into ripping tile from my shower the motor burnt out doing something they advertise it could do (rip out tile, grout, and plyboard). Luckily I did get it from Amazon FBA, so I returned it to Amazon and got a full refund with no problems. Only because of Amazon FBA's policy I got my money back from these guys as Amazon FBA holds money from FBA sellers for 60 days.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • May 10, 2018

      Ideal Living, Social Media Monitor

      Hi Frank,

      Thank you for the review. We are sorry that the Rotorazer Saw did not work for your job. Can you please tell us if you have the Base unit or Platinum version?

    • Jun 12, 2018

      Bob W.

      I just learned I received one of these for Christmas with extra blades. Of course, I will never use this joke for anything, so is there something I can do with it? I have told this good-hearted, but ignorant woman before to never purchase anything advertised on TV. But of course, she is being ignorant, I arrive at the ranch, and here it is, now what the heck do I do with this thing?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    I borrowed my son's and tried to use it on three separate projects.

    The tool was as useless as tits on a boar. I am pretty good dealing with slow play customer services, but I got nowhere with these cons. Please don't waste your money on this junk.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 28, 2018

      Ideal Living, Social Media Monitor

      Hi Neil,

      Thanks for the review. We are sorry that the Rotorazer didn’t work out for your projects. Can you let us know what you were trying to do and what blade you were using? Also, which version of the Rotorazer does your son have? We would like to hear the call recording from customer service as well, so if possible can you please email marmstrong@idealliving.com with the phone number you called FROM so we can find the call and coach the agent as needed.

    • Oct 7, 2018

      Nora P.

      I have one, and no problems except it was a little bigger than expected. It has a kick to too that I'm getting ready to order, another one the newer ones look smaller. I got the one I have now is six or seven years old.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 31 out 32 people found this review helpful

    Trying to get a refund!

    I received it as a gift from my wife and really had no use for the tool. I sent it back and have not been able to get a refund. Extremely long waits on the phone and then you get someone not helpful. I have waited 30 minutes on the phone as I write this and still have not talked to a person. Horrible customer service!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (6)
    View all 6 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 26, 2018

      Ideal Living, Social Media Monitor

      Hi Devere,

      Thank you for the review. Per your review, did you called us on 2/25 (Sunday)? If that is correct, our customer service is not open. There should have been a message saying that you called outside of our hours and to call back. They are open M-F 7am-4pm PT and Sat 7am-3pmPT. Please let us know if you called Saturday within those hours, and we will be happy to review the queue. Hold times should not be that long ever. Thank you.

    • Feb 26, 2018

      Ideal Living, Social Media Monitor

      Hello again Devere,

      I have reviewed your account now that I am in the office, and found that your refunds were issued on 2/22 less s/p as advertised. The unit has not been logged in to date from our warehouse and you did not have a tracking number. As a courtesy, the refund has been issued to the card on file. Would you consider amending your review, please? Thank you.

    • Mar 2, 2018

      Charles Henderly

      I have been trying for nearly a month to get the remaining refund that they owe. So far, you've ignored my emails, and won't print the reviews that I made, they fail to contact me and won't call. I do not recommend this saw. It was no use to me and on top of that, you sent me two saws and won't honor your refund policy. Please beware.

    • Mar 5, 2018

      Devere Groleau

      Yes, thank you. It's much appreciated! I just wish it had not taken so much effort for the refund, but do thank you again!

    • Mar 5, 2018

      Ideal Living, Social Media Monitor

      Hi Charles,

      Thanks for the comment. We are sorry that you have not received all of your refunds. We were unable to locate an order for you in our database. Can you please email marmstrong@idealliving.com with the name and zip code used when placing the order? Thank you!

    • Mar 6, 2018

      Ideal Living, Social Media Monitor

      You're welcome Devere, we apologize for the delay and the inconvenience.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 37 out 38 people found this review helpful

    Depth of cut

    Does not cut deep enough. I wanted to cut through a 1/2" plyboard. I had scrap left after they redecked my roof and was using this to build a dog house. It wouldn't cut through plyboard, and I had to use my 7 and 1/2' circular saw. I had the saw set to max depth.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 10, 2018

      Ideal Living, Social Media Monitor

      Hi William,

      That is strange since Rotorazer's cutting depth is 1/2 inch. Are you sure the plyboard was 1/2 inch?

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 35 out 38 people found this review helpful

    Zero stars is better

    My wife bought it for a present and I hate that she did that because it is absolute junk! Totally useless for any kind of project. My grandsons' toy carpenter tools work better! Need I say more?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 10, 2018

      Ideal Living, Social Media Monitor

      Hi Walt,

      I can understand that Rotorazer may not be well-suited for every project, but it does work quite well for detail-oriented projects that don't require a large cutting-depth.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 37 out 39 people found this review helpful

    Buyer beware!

    I ordered the Rotorazor for my Dad as a Christmas gift almost a month ago. When I tried to track it, I received a confirmation, but when I clicked on the site for the location I received, the following "Oops, there was an error, site no longer available." When I clicked on the site where I ordered from, I received a notice from the Better Business Bureau that this was a scam operation. BUYER BEWARE.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 41 out 42 people found this review helpful

    Used it once, and it scared me

    • New Hampshire,
    • Nov 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Thanks so much everyone! You just saved me some money, a lot of aggravation, and to tell you the truth, probably jail time, because I would not have handled all these issues very well. I used one that I found thrown in a box in the back of a basement I was cleaning out. I had to cut some pieces of wood so that they would fit in the barrel. It looked so much like a Dremel tool that I thought it must be able to blast through the junk wood. WRONG! When it jumped back at me during the cut, I thought I just didn't know how to use it properly since you have to keep one finger on one button while your other finger is on a separate button and you push down on the plate. I saw it on TV and thought I would spend the money and figure it out since it seemed to work so well on TV. I won't be going anywhere near this company after reading all the complaints. At least I know it wasn't just me!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 10, 2018

      Ideal Living, Social Media Monitor

      Hi Bobby,

      Since you were using a Rotorazer you "found thrown in a box," we don't know what condition the tool was in. From what you described, it sounds like it may have had a very dull blade that prevented it from cutting smoothly. A review of a new and properly functioning Rotorazer would have been much more helpful than a review of something you found discarded in a basement.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 76 out 79 people found this review helpful

    Two purchases, two immediate catastrophic failures!

    We bought the products at separate times in 2015 as gifts, kept them in storage for a year, then sent them out on the appropriate occasion. Both Rotorazors failed within a day of initial use by different recipients.

    Did you see the 70% Off adds late? I surmise they have to unload these products before people find out about them. We paid full load, which with accessories were $259.55 each.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 16, 2018

      Ideal Living, Social Media Monitor

      Thank you Mr. Strome for your comments. We are sorry that the units you received did not operate properly. We were not able to locate an order for you in our system, so we are not sure where you purchased your units from. We do run seasonal ads but at most, we offer 50% off. Perhaps the ad is not from us. Our units come with a 30-day money back guarantee, less s/p, and a one year warranty.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 63 out 64 people found this review helpful

    Charged me double!

    I was charged double, and they still have not refunded my money. I will never order from Rotorazor, ever. It is not an honest company. So far, it is the worst experience I have ever had. I order online all the time, but not anymore.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 10, 2018

      Ideal Living, Social Media Monitor

      Hi Phyllis,

      Thanks for the comments. We are sorry for this inconvenience. We reviewed your account, and we see that we received two web orders from you, one on 4/16 and another one on 4/21. You did contact us on 5/2 regarding the two units. We were advised to refuse one of the orders and upon receipt, a refund would be issued. We then received your bank dispute on 8/10 and allowed it, so you received all of your money back from the bank because of your dispute. They either reversed the charge or they issued you a refund. We received your return on 8/11.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 33

Write a Review for Rotorazer Saw!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review