Rotorazer Saw Review and Details

By Derek Lakin
Updated on: Jul 26, 2018

Rotorazer Saw is a high-powered, professional-grade circular hand saw that can cut many different materials in many different ways (curved, straight, and even upside down).

On top of this, the saw is useful not only for home construction projects, but for arts and crafts as well. And since it can perform many of the same duties as a jigsaw, miter saw, band saw, hack saw, and tile saw, you can save money, since you won’t have to buy all these tools individually.

Sure, this all sounds great, but can you expect the same level of performance that you saw in the Rotorazer Saw’s commercial, and is it really as versatile and precise as it claims? We cut away the hype to get at the facts, and here’s what we found.

Rotorazer Saw Features & Details

If you’re a do-it-yourselfer, you know that it often takes several different saws in order to achieve the cut you’re after. In response to this, the manufacturer claims that Rotorazer Saw’s versatility allows it to do the job of several different saws, and to make straight, curved, and even plunge cuts.

Specifically, it can be used as a jigsaw, circular saw, hand saw, band saw, tile saw, hacksaw, and miter saw, but with the convenience of a single lightweight, portable, and durable handheld saw.

Each Rotorazer Saw comes equipped with a 400-watt motor that allows you to cut at more than 3,400 RPMs, and that its construction-grade chassis will fit inside your hand, regardless of size. On top of this, its safety switch means that it won’t engage until you want it to, and its Adjustable Cutting Depth Lever allows you to choose the perfect depth (shallow, medium, or deep).

To begin using your Rotorazer Saw, the company claims you’ll just need to follow these 5 steps:

  1. Attach the appropriate blade based on your cutting surface.
  2. Press the Protective Safety Switch downward.
  3. Slide and hold the Thumb Control Power Switch forward.
  4. Adjust the Blade Guard to your desired cutting height.
  5. Plug the Rotorazer Saw in and begin cutting.

How Much Does the Rotorazer Saw Cost & Where Can You Buy?

When purchased directly through the manufacturer, the Rotorazer Saw is priced at three payments of $49.95, plus $19.95 shipping and handling, bringing your total to $169.80.

You’ll also find it sold through Amazon and other retailers like and Houzz for between $150 and $175.

Along with your Rotorazer Saw, each order also includes three quick change blades:

  • Diamond – Used for hard surfaces such as tile, stone, grout, and other masonry.
  • Tungsten Carbide – Best for wood surfaces, laminated flooring, PVC, and similar materials.
  • Steel – Best for metal and steel surfaces, and even carpet.

In addition to:

  • Dust Extraction System – Attach to any vacuum for easy, dust-free cleanup.
  • Case – A durable construction-grade case that can protect your Rotorazer Saw when you’re not using it.
  • Bonus – Professional 310-piece drill bit and wall hanger set, which is only available from the “As Seen on TV offer, or via

During our research we also found a Platinum version of the Rotorazer Saw for sale through Amazon, which includes a 500W motor and additional guard rail for precision cutting, for $184.95.

The Rotorazer Saw comes with a 30-day money back guarantee, less shipping and handling charges. In order to begin the process, you’ll need to contact customer service at 800-220-7975.

What’s the Bottom Line About the Rotorazer Saw?

With all of this in mind, what’s the bottom line: Is the Rotorazer Saw a good investment, or is it just junk? When making your decision, keep the following in mind.

The Rotorazer Saw is sold by the Ideal Living group of companies, who’s based out of Sherman Oaks, CA.

The company seemed to have a mostly positive online customer reputation, which could be a good indication of what you might experience after becoming a customer. Specifically, they held an A+ Better Business Bureau rating, based on 29 closed customer complaints, as of 7/26/18. Additionally, The product holds an average rating of 3.5 and 3.8 stars on Amazon, for the two different types of versions of the Rotorazer Saw (as of 7/26/18).

Zooming in and looking only at Rotorazer, here on HighYa as well as other popular sites like Amazon, it seemed to come with similarly positive customer reviews. Just keep in mind that the bonus professional 310-piece drill bit set (as well as the 18 drill bits, 5 screw bits, 1 bit adapter, and an assortment of wall hangers) can only be used with a drill– not the Rotorazer Saw, and is only available at


  • Claims to allow you to cut practically any material and on any surface.
  • Cuts horizontally, vertically, in a straight or curved line, in a corner, and even while upside down.
  • Lightweight and portable design.
  • Can replace numerous other types of saws (including jigsaw, miter saw, hand saw, band saw, tile saw, hacksaw, and circular saw).
  • Include useful features such as a depth adjustment knob, on/off thumb control power switch, and protective safety lock-off switch. The Platinum model also includes a parallel guide rail and a guard life handle.
  • 30-day return policy.
  • Mostly positive online customer reviews.


  • You’ll lose your original $19.99 in S&H charges if you decide to process a refund, in addition to whatever it will cost to ship your Rotorazer Saw back to the manufacturer.

Customer Reviews

Start your review of Rotorazer Saw:
  • 37 Customer Reviews
  • 8% Recommend This Company
1.4 out of 5
5 star: 5% 4 star: 2% 3 star: 0% 2 star: 8% 1 star: 83%

 Our Promise to You

To safeguard you and ensure helpfulness and relevance, our compliance team manually assess every customer review before it goes live.

We have a zero-tolerance policy for fake reviews, and companies cannot control or alter any reviews at any time.

Sort reviews by:

  • Just don't!

    • By Susan R.,
    • Ocean Park, WA,
    • May 23, 2020
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Problem: The advertisement with the lady using the Rotorazer in competition with a man using a regular skill saw, is ridiculous. This is not the case. It takes so much more effort than what is shown.

    The laser is unable to be seen in the daylight and, call me a fool, but I'm not using any saw at night.

    It's just as cumbersome and heavy as a regular skill saw.

    It's impossible to get ahold of the return department. I'm so disappointed because all I wanted was something to use for little craft projects.

    I so seldom write poor reviews but this was a complete waste of my small retirement money. So, I will not give the product or the company a second chance. Don't waste your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • May 24, 2020

      Company Response from Ideal Living Management, LLC

      Hi Susan,

      Thank you for the review. We are sorry that you weren’t completely happy with your Rotorazer.

      Were you calling the number below during the hours of operation?

      Here is the Customer Service number and hours:


      Monday-Friday 7am-4pm PT

      Saturday 7am-3pm PT

  • For significantly small jobs

    • By Cris O.,
    • O'Fallon, IL,
    • Jun 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The advertisement is deceiving as it makes it appear and says the saw handles any job but it only can do very small jobs before the blades need to be replaced, which can only be ordered through Rotorazor at $24.99 per set.

    Good luck trying to reach customer service as the number provided is not answered and they do not respond to emails. I had to contact the sales team and demand to be connected to a person in customer service. I finally received a return authorization number, I had to pay shipping and contact them again with the tracking number, which again I cannot reach them to provide and get the refund. Horrible service!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jun 20, 2019

      Company Response from Ideal Living Management, LLC

      Hi Cris,

      The Rotorazer Saw is intended for DIY/hobby/weekend warrior jobs. When we say: One saw does it all. That is referring to the many kinds of materials Rotorazer can cut by choosing one of the three blades that can cut through materials with a wide range of hardness. The video demonstrations show fairly thin materials being cut because it is intended for small jobs.

      We are sorry that it did not meet your particular jobs needs. May we ask what you were trying to use it for? Perhaps our Rotorazer Platinum would have been a better fit? We do show that we received an email from you on 5/29 and called you the same day and left a VM. You called us on 5/31 and were given return instructions. We received another call from you 6/12 with the tracking number which is the same day that we received notice from our warehouse that they received your return. We are sorry that your experience was less than stellar.

  • Never worked

    • By Robert B.,
    • Gulfport, MS,
    • Mar 25, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I just opened the box and tried to use it and it won't come on! If you hit it with your hand on the side while holding the trigger, it tries to come on very little. And this happened right out of the box brand new, and now they want me to pay $20.00 shipping to replace it! That's just not right! What happened to quality control?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Mar 25, 2019

      Company Response from Ideal Living Management, LLC

      Hi Mr. Bissett,

      Thank you for the review. We are sorry that the unit is not working for you. Per the notes in your account, the unit was purchased in July 2018. As you are within the one year warranty timeframe, all you have to pay is replacement s/p. Please continue to try the troubleshooting suggestions that customer Service gave you on 3/21. If they do not work, please fax us your proof of purchase to the fax number they gave you for a warranty replacement.

  • Unwilling to assist with fixing after warranty gone

    • By Patricia B.,
    • California,
    • Dec 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    Very unhelpful when they were contacted. Unless you were under their year's warranty, you're out of luck. This is the second time I’ve gone to use the saw since buying. The blade was frozen and unable to remove. I spoke to a supervisor, Andrew, who said they could do nothing. I spent $137 - will never buy from them again. I tried to pay them to assist in fixing - they refused. I don’t recommend using this company!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Dec 28, 2018

      Company Response from Ideal Living Management, LLC

      Thank you, Patricia, for the review. Our records show that you purchased the unit on 6/2/17. You called customer service on 12/21/18 because you were unable to change the blade. You were given instructions on how to remove it but it did not help and asked to speak to a supervisor.

      Clearly, you are past the replacement warranty timeframe, regardless of how many times you have used the unit. We can make a one-time exception and replace the unit for warranty s/p, however, the new unit will not have a warranty. If it does not work again, you will need to buy a new unit. Please let us know if you accept this offer and if so, we will have an agent contact you.

  • Old one giving kick back

    • By Nora P.,
    • Oct 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    I purchased it about six or seven years ago, no problems, except that it was larger than expected and it gave a kickback when you first start to saw. The one they advertise now looks smaller so you can use it with one hand, so I'm going to try it.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

  • Horrible customer service - do not buy!

    • By Ramiro A.,
    • Paterson, NJ,
    • Jul 31, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer
    Overall Experience:

    The saw itself is of low quality and I have been trying to return it and get a full refund for the past three days. Apparently, you have to call a number to be able to return it. Yesterday, I was on hold waiting for a customer service representative for almost two hours, and never got to talk to anyone. Today, I've been on hold for almost 30 minutes. This is absolutely ridiculous. DO NOT waste your time or money!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Aug 1, 2018

      Company Response from Ideal Living Management, LLC

      Hi Ramiro,

      We are sorry that the Rotorazer Saw did not meet your needs. It makes no sense to be on hold for two hours! Please email the phone number that you called. We do see that you did speak with customer service on 7/30 and they gave you all of the return instructions. Again, we are sorry for your experience and we agree, it makes no sense for anyone to be on hold for two hours. Something definitely was not right, and this is the first incident of this kind that we have heard of.

  • Malfunctioned 10 minutes into a project

    Overall Experience:

    I bought this on FBA and 10 minutes into ripping tile from my shower the motor burnt out doing something they advertise it could do (rip out tile, grout, and plyboard). Luckily I did get it from Amazon FBA, so I returned it to Amazon and got a full refund with no problems. Only because of Amazon FBA's policy I got my money back from these guys as Amazon FBA holds money from FBA sellers for 60 days.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • May 10, 2018

      Company Response from Ideal Living Management, LLC

      Hi Frank,

      Thank you for the review. We are sorry that the Rotorazer Saw did not work for your job. Can you please tell us if you have the Base unit or Platinum version?

  • I borrowed my son's and tried to use it on three separate projects.

    Overall Experience:

    The tool was as useless as tits on a boar. I am pretty good dealing with slow play customer services, but I got nowhere with these cons. Please don't waste your money on this junk.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Apr 28, 2018

      Company Response from Ideal Living Management, LLC

      Hi Neil,

      Thanks for the review. We are sorry that the Rotorazer didn’t work out for your projects. Can you let us know what you were trying to do and what blade you were using? Also, which version of the Rotorazer does your son have? We would like to hear the call recording from customer service as well, so if possible can you please email with the phone number you called FROM so we can find the call and coach the agent as needed.

  • Trying to get a refund!

    Overall Experience:

    I received it as a gift from my wife and really had no use for the tool. I sent it back and have not been able to get a refund. Extremely long waits on the phone and then you get someone not helpful. I have waited 30 minutes on the phone as I write this and still have not talked to a person. Horrible customer service!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Feb 26, 2018

      Company Response from Ideal Living Management, LLC

      Hi Devere,

      Thank you for the review. Per your review, did you called us on 2/25 (Sunday)? If that is correct, our customer service is not open. There should have been a message saying that you called outside of our hours and to call back. They are open M-F 7am-4pm PT and Sat 7am-3pmPT. Please let us know if you called Saturday within those hours, and we will be happy to review the queue. Hold times should not be that long ever. Thank you.

  • Depth of cut

    Overall Experience:

    Does not cut deep enough. I wanted to cut through a 1/2" plyboard. I had scrap left after they redecked my roof and was using this to build a dog house. It wouldn't cut through plyboard, and I had to use my 7 and 1/2' circular saw. I had the saw set to max depth.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jan 10, 2018

      Company Response from Ideal Living Management, LLC

      Hi William,

      That is strange since Rotorazer's cutting depth is 1/2 inch. Are you sure the plyboard was 1/2 inch?

  • Zero stars is better

    Overall Experience:

    My wife bought it for a present and I hate that she did that because it is absolute junk! Totally useless for any kind of project. My grandsons' toy carpenter tools work better! Need I say more?

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    • Jan 10, 2018

      Company Response from Ideal Living Management, LLC

      Hi Walt,

      I can understand that Rotorazer may not be well-suited for every project, but it does work quite well for detail-oriented projects that don't require a large cutting-depth.

Showing 1-11 of 37

Write a Review for Rotorazer Saw!

Share your experience to help others discover great products!

Write a Review
Rotorazer Saw