Read 50 Rover.com Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 4 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  45
Bottom Line: 10% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 50
Sort reviews by:

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Scammed me of $25

    • Texas,
    • Dec 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I mentioned in my bio that I am an owner of a home care business and I would like to reach the pet side of things through Rover and I got an email confirming that my account is disabled and there is no refund for a $25 background check. This website is just a big scam and waste of money. I would not recommend.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Not good for cat sitting

    • California,
    • Nov 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Simply put, Rover is not set up for feline households. First, they say their people are pre-qualified, but we learned the hard way that our sitter had very little cat experience. Also, their drop-in visits are only for 30 minutes, and they charge per animal. Great for the sitters, not for the owners because if you want a good sitter with positive ratings, they generally charge $25-$30 per visit and per animal, so if you have two cats, you'll be paying at least $50-$60 for every 30-minute visit. In our case, three cats ($30 each) x two 30-minute visits would have cost $180/day.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Awful

    • Georgia,
    • Nov 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The business model for Rover.com is, unfortunately, a poor one. I was able to get two commitments and both canceled at the last minute. One just sent a text. Inconvenience doesn't begin to describe it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Overcharges

    • Illinois,
    • Nov 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I found a good dog walker through Rover.com. I decided to try a service vs. an individual. Unfortunately, if you have issues with Rover overcharging you - which they do frequently - your dog walker cannot help you. They tell you to contact the company directly. The company rep is trained to reply with standard replies, no doubt company policy.

    The first time it was SO difficult to try to get them to refund me that I gave up and let Rover have the money for visits never having been done. This second time around, I have had enough and went after them, OMG, they began with standard rote replies. Then citing charges they had refunded 6 weeks ago. Then tried again citing a visit charge that was declined OVER 5 MONTHS prior - not true. So I have had my bank dispute the charges and not pay. The rep threatened me. I had sent her documentation from the Rover Card visits, then my bank withdrawals. ALL DOCUMENTED.

    I deactivated my account. Then she writes that it was not deactivated! She asked if I wanted HER to deactivate. I said YES. So this morning, once again they charge me for a visit! I am now filing FRAUD charges, and once again disputing via my bank.

    DO NOT use Rover unless you want to lose money and take your valuable time trying to get a refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    No way to know if sitters are unreliable if they cancel on you

    • Olathe, KS,
    • Oct 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The sitter canceled with two days notice. No emergency. She got a new puppy. The job had been scheduled for more than 6 weeks, so she could have planned around it. Rover offered to help find another sitter, but I didn't trust them at that point since there is no way to know if they were referring me to another unreliable sitter. Rover said that you only can rate a sitter after the service begins. That means they leave owners with no way to know if they are working with a sitter who will cancel on short notice.

    On the plus side, Rover refunded my payment with no problems and offered a $20 discount on an additional service. I won't be using the discount because I'd never know if the sitter tends to cancel with little notice.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Don't trust them

    • Lincoln, NE,
    • Oct 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I agree with the other reviews here, these sitters all have fake reviews and Rover does not help when there is an issue.

    If you even up cancelling for emergencies, you will not get your money back even if you had booked for a whole week.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jan 17, 2019

      Carolyn R.

      I have over 64 5-star reviews and not one of them is fake. I, however, take my job seriously and it shows by my reviews. I agree though there are some sitters that don’t take this seriously and it ruins it for those that do.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 13 people found this review helpful

    No help from Rover about a bad dog sitter

    • Asheville, NC,
    • Oct 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We had worked with a dog sitter that we found through Rover and the first couple of times she was great, but the last time she came, she had told me that I could book directly through her, which I did. This would save her the 20 percent that Rover takes from the sitters. She then decided to have a party at my house and drink several bottles of expensive liquors and break one of our toilets. She left hours before she was supposed to and didn’t do things I asked her to do for my dog before leaving and left our house unlocked. I contacted Rover, and their only concern was that we didn’t book through them. She could have been injured or let out in which she would have been run over, but they were just concerned about money - don’t use them or Christina J. in Asheville!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 16, 2018

      Kevin B.

      It doesn't it seem like your review should be about exposing a shady employee who decided to go around their employer and try to steal your business as their own? Seems a tad unfair to give Rover the negative review. For example, if I went to Home Depot and decided to ask someone that works there to come to my house and do construction outside of their job at Home Depot and they do a poor job, I am not going to go and bash Home Depot, and then get upset with them that they won't compensate any of my losses.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Bailey, the best dog sitter

    • South Carolina,
    • Oct 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Bailey was the best dog sitter in the world! I have never left my baby Lucy with anyone, and she allowed me to enjoy my trip without worrying about my baby. I will be using her again and will be recommending her to everyone I know!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Beyond a scam

    • Knoxville, TN,
    • Sep 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do not trust ANY of the reviews on Rover.com. They are easily faked, as we have learned. We were interested in hiring a house sitter from there. We communicated with him, and his communication didn’t reflect these amazing reviews he had. So, I did a bit of research and found his reviews were 100% fake. They were made by family members and fake accounts. He had over 30 reviews! The majority of them I could prove to be fake just by checking his social media.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Extremely disappointed with "Rover Guarantee"

    • Richmond, VA,
    • Sep 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am extremely disappointed with the Rover customer service I received last night. I had an unfortunate encounter with a dog owner whose dog I watched this past weekend.

    Unfortunately, the weekend's dog watching resulted in the dog chewing up my clothes while I was in the shower, as the dog opened the cracked bathroom door. The owner refused to reimburse me and told me that he was only willing to let me retrieve the wristwatch I accidentally left at his house if I texted him and he "was around" at the time that I reached out to him. Rover customer support recommended I reach out to my local authorities because my watch was considered "stolen property" as well as telling me that they were unable to reimburse me for my damaged belongings. However, I cannot reach out to the police because Rover was unable to give me the owner's full name. The dog owner then accused me of "borderline neglect[ing]" his dog, even though I followed his very basic instructions that we agreed to upon our first meeting, even sending the owner several photos and interacting with him during the stay.

    I feel that the Rover Guarantee completely let me down. I am now out more than $50, as well as being falsely accused of neglecting a dog I believed I took excellent care of.

    Rover, please help me be reimbursed and improve the Rover community so that no other dog walker/sitter ends up in such a troubling situation!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Beware of the alleged guarantee!

    • New York,
    • Aug 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I booked a pet sitter over a month ago for my dogs. Today, on the day I am to drop them off, the sitter cancels! Apparently, she has had a personal emergency. Rover.com claims to have a policy to protect you against this. They will assist in finding you a new sitter, great BUT how can I do this on the day I am to drop them off? I will not have a chance to meet with the sitter or visit the home where they will stay. We have been forced to book them into a boarding facility. I will be paying over $250 more than we were initially agreeing on. Rover.com will not honor their protection plan since it is an outside company. I will never use them again!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 12-22 of 50

Write a Review for Rover.com!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review