44 Consumer Reviews for Rover.com - Page 2

Average Consumer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 3 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  40
Bottom Line: 9% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 44
Sort reviews by:

  • 5 out 12 people found this review helpful

    No help from Rover about a bad dog sitter

    • Asheville, NC,
    • Oct 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We had worked with a dog sitter that we found through Rover and the first couple of times she was great, but the last time she came, she had told me that I could book directly through her, which I did. This would save her the 20 percent that Rover takes from the sitters. She then decided to have a party at my house and drink several bottles of expensive liquors and break one of our toilets. She left hours before she was supposed to and didn’t do things I asked her to do for my dog before leaving and left our house unlocked. I contacted Rover, and their only concern was that we didn’t book through them. She could have been injured or let out in which she would have been run over, but they were just concerned about money - don’t use them or Christina J. in Asheville!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 16, 2018

      Kevin B.

      It doesn't it seem like your review should be about exposing a shady employee who decided to go around their employer and try to steal your business as their own? Seems a tad unfair to give Rover the negative review. For example, if I went to Home Depot and decided to ask someone that works there to come to my house and do construction outside of their job at Home Depot and they do a poor job, I am not going to go and bash Home Depot, and then get upset with them that they won't compensate any of my losses.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Bailey, the best dog sitter

    • South Carolina,
    • Oct 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Bailey was the best dog sitter in the world! I have never left my baby Lucy with anyone, and she allowed me to enjoy my trip without worrying about my baby. I will be using her again and will be recommending her to everyone I know!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Beyond a scam

    • Knoxville, TN,
    • Sep 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do not trust ANY of the reviews on Rover.com. They are easily faked, as we have learned. We were interested in hiring a house sitter from there. We communicated with him, and his communication didn’t reflect these amazing reviews he had. So, I did a bit of research and found his reviews were 100% fake. They were made by family members and fake accounts. He had over 30 reviews! The majority of them I could prove to be fake just by checking his social media.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Extremely disappointed with "Rover Guarantee"

    • Richmond, VA,
    • Sep 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am extremely disappointed with the Rover customer service I received last night. I had an unfortunate encounter with a dog owner whose dog I watched this past weekend.

    Unfortunately, the weekend's dog watching resulted in the dog chewing up my clothes while I was in the shower, as the dog opened the cracked bathroom door. The owner refused to reimburse me and told me that he was only willing to let me retrieve the wristwatch I accidentally left at his house if I texted him and he "was around" at the time that I reached out to him. Rover customer support recommended I reach out to my local authorities because my watch was considered "stolen property" as well as telling me that they were unable to reimburse me for my damaged belongings. However, I cannot reach out to the police because Rover was unable to give me the owner's full name. The dog owner then accused me of "borderline neglect[ing]" his dog, even though I followed his very basic instructions that we agreed to upon our first meeting, even sending the owner several photos and interacting with him during the stay.

    I feel that the Rover Guarantee completely let me down. I am now out more than $50, as well as being falsely accused of neglecting a dog I believed I took excellent care of.

    Rover, please help me be reimbursed and improve the Rover community so that no other dog walker/sitter ends up in such a troubling situation!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Beware of the alleged guarantee!

    • New York,
    • Aug 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I booked a pet sitter over a month ago for my dogs. Today, on the day I am to drop them off, the sitter cancels! Apparently, she has had a personal emergency. Rover.com claims to have a policy to protect you against this. They will assist in finding you a new sitter, great BUT how can I do this on the day I am to drop them off? I will not have a chance to meet with the sitter or visit the home where they will stay. We have been forced to book them into a boarding facility. I will be paying over $250 more than we were initially agreeing on. Rover.com will not honor their protection plan since it is an outside company. I will never use them again!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Don’t leave your dog with them unless you hate your dog

    • London, OH,
    • Aug 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Our Rover sitter completely ignored my feeding instructions and refused to give my fur baby his grain-free special treats and food and fed him god knows what. He came back to me with flea bites scratches and hot spots. I had to take him to the vet for the hot spots because one was on his rear paw in his pad so bad he can barely walk. He had to be on stomach meds and steroids.

    Rover.com refuses to make the sitter refund or reimburse my vet bills. I have pictures of my poor baby’s sores on his feet from what she did to him. Never use their service, they let you it people who have dozens of dogs at once "watch" dogs.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    As a sitter...

    • Chattanooga, TN,
    • Aug 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    As a sitter, I have only had good experiences through Rover. Communication is good and support has been very helpful. I have great clients. When I do a meet and greet, I explain why I like Rover and I will help the client to book a service and explain what I will be doing after hearing their pet needs. A few prospective clients wanted me to do dog services on the side and I wouldn't, so I lost a few clients.

    In any business, there is going to be some bad customers and bad employees. It can't be helped. I let clients know that I also have two homeland security background checks and can show them I passed. The pay is not all that great but I am not doing it for the pay, I am doing it because I love pets! There are thousands of reviews about Rover and it is important to be open to all of them. There are a lot more good reviews than bad. If you have concerns see if you can talk to the sitter's other clients. Rover has been good to me and again, I have great clients.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Our dog is dead

    • Rolling Hills Estates, CA,
    • Jul 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    After carefully searching, checking reviews and references and interviewing candidates, we hired someone we thought was an experienced dog and house sitter to live in our home for our week vacation out of the country. We found our dog sitter on Nextdoor and she had all the qualifications. When we interviewed her she proudly told us that she gets most of her business dog sitting and her doggy day-care from Rover.com where they emphasize safety.

    On our first day away she locked out one of our three precious little dogs, our beloved, defenseless senior 5lb. pomeranian rescue on the dog run at bedtime. Evidence shows Foxy was mauled and killed by a coyote.

    We reported the incident to supervisors at Rover.com since they were promoting Nella as a trusted and safe dog sitter. There were other issues but they pale in comparison to allowing our sweet Foxy to meet with such a violent death, all due to carelessly leaving her outside and "counting three heads" while the door to the dog run was left OPEN, and not looking outside before locking the door.

    Nella called it an “honest mistake.” The supervisor at Rover.com told us that they could not tell us what action they were going to take but would investigate the incident. The lady we spoke to sounded very sympathetic about our loss.

    Now, weeks later, Nella is still featured on the website, while the dog died while in Nella's care, you would have thought that they would at least temporarily suspend her until they could investigate.

    In my opinion, Rover.com is more interested in their cut of her fees than they are the safety of our dogs.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Transparency is NOT a VALUE of this platform.

    • Denver, CO,
    • Jul 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We have five-star reviews on Rover, but then hosted dogs which were total monsters, undertrained, they attacked our own dog as a pack, they peed and pooped on our carpet, damaged doors, etc. Rover doesn't provide any facility to compensate for damages, they only provide "we are sorry, you are an independent business owner."

    WORSE: The dog owner can review our service and it will be public but WE, the dog sitters/boarder, cannot WARN future sitters how bad those dogs are. Rover keeps everything "private" when it comes to reviewing the dog owner or their dogs - EVERY single sharing platform like Uber, Lyft, Turo, Airbnb allow for public two-ways reviews.

    The owner of the dogs we sat for should NEVER be allowed to use this services as they have bad dogs and clearly never trained them. Rover can go on hiding bad practices which is why your use other platforms.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Update

    • Denver, CO,
    • Jul 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    After my post on Rover's Facebook page got shared multiple times and received dozens of comments, I got a call from Rover. They have decided to offer a settlement. While I'm glad that they ultimately did the right thing, I'm discouraged that it took so much effort to get to that point. I'm hopeful that they will update their Rover Guarantee to include some sort of resolution for death due to negligence.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)

    • Previous review
    • Jul 13, 2018

    Horrible experience. Horrible customer service. Horrible company.

    We had a very bad experience with Rover. To make a long story short, the person watching our dog lost the dog three hours after we dropped her off. The next morning, we got a call from the police that the dog had been found dead. The sitter felt horrible and compensated us a substantial amount of money for the new dog.

    I reached out to Rover asking if they would be willing to compensate the remaining $250. The initial reply that I received from them told me that we'd heard from our assigned Trust & Safety person within 24-48 hours. Two weeks later, we finally got an email telling us that they Rover Guarantee doesn't cover compensation for new pets. The guarantee will cover vet bills up to $25,000, but there's nothing in the guarantee to offer compensation for the death of a pet due to negligence by the sitter. I asked if they would reconsider and reminded them that they would have been willing to pay a substantial amount of money for vet bills had our dog just been injured. So, I asked if they'd be willing to take $250 that they would have been willing to pay for vet bills and apply it to the purchase price of our new pet. I was told that they are unable to do that.

    Any time a company says they are "unable" to do something, it drives me crazy. "Unwilling" would be a more appropriate word. There is ALWAYS something a company can do. They just chose not to.

    So, what I learned is that the Rover Guarantee covers a lot of things. However, if the sitter loses your dog and the dog ends up dying due to their negligence, that's not covered. Some guarantee. I would caution anyone to think twice before using this service. Their guarantee is severely lacking. Check the reviews online. There are numerous stories just like mine. I'm sure that most of the pet sitting arrangements go smoothly. But, for those of us who are unfortunate enough to experience the death of a pet, I guess we're on our own.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Dog sitter failed to see signs of sickness

    • North Carolina,
    • Jul 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This dog sitter required my dog wear a flea and tick dog collar. I told her my dog is sensitive and gets easily sick on these. She insisted. She also INSISTED she wear it at night when she slept! My dog started getting sick, and her responses were odd. The pics clearly showed she was sick. While I was over 2000 miles away, I had someone rescue her from this apathetic woman. My dog is now feeling better, after vomiting for two days.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 12-22 of 44

Write a Review for Rover.com!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review