Read 68 Rover.com Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 4 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 3 1 star:  60
Bottom Line: 7% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 68
Sort reviews by:

  • 14 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Flaky sitter cancelled weeks after I paid yet I cannot review them

    • Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Apr 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I booked a dog sitter named Katherine S. in Burnaby, British Columbia, and paid for her to dogsit overnight so that I could volunteer at a Girl Guide sleepover. Weeks later she sent me a message saying she could not watch my dog at the times I requested because she forgot she had signed up for the Sun Run, so I would have to pick her up before 8 am. I had already specified before I paid her weeks earlier that I would require dogsitting until 11 am.

    I contacted Rover support, and they just said that they can see that she already canceled it so I should search for another sitter on their site. I tried this, and the same sitter still shows as available on the days she canceled on me. And the site does not allow me to review her because she canceled the booking. She has four positive reviews, but I wonder how many other people she has flaked on because she forgot about her personal plans?

    Oh and I still have not received a refund either, I guess I'll have to take that up with Mastercard. Save yourself the headache and look for a dog sitter somewhere else.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 14 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Horrible

    • Kansas City, MO,
    • Jan 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Rover supports false and inaccurate reviews posted by angry pet owners. I was attacked by a dog while dog sitting. The dog bit my coat collar, dragged me down and would not let go. 80+ pound dog for reference. I informed him and told him exactly what happened. In his review, he said the dog "jumped on me and knocked me over." False. He called me immature. False. He also said I wouldn’t make a good vet tech or dog sitter. I have been a vet tech for five plus years and dog sitting for over ten.

    I have never had a complaint until this angry dog owner. Rover does not care that I was attacked or that this person decided to leave a false and misleading review. Doesn’t matter if you respond to the review because no one will see it as the reply doesn’t show up on the app or if you’re using a browser on your mobile phone. 90% of the people using Rover are using apps and their phone. That’s like the whole point of Rover. Apps and mobile devices. So I’m never recommending Rover to anyone who wants to be crapped on and their name slandered.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Unprofessional sitter, had the cops called

    • San Diego, CA,
    • Dec 28, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    My neighbor used the app to sit her dog over the holidays. The sitter was a young man that played not great rap music into the common areas. He let the dog use the common areas to pee, which is fine, but that dog generally goes for long walks with the owner.

    The Rover sitter sat and blew smoke out of the screen door and just made my dog bark over and over. There is no professionalism, and I did not feel safe with him there. I refuse to come outside at night and my other neighbor called the cops on him for not turning down the music and just being unprofessional and rude in a complex he did not live in.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Contact with Rover does not exist

    • North Carolina,
    • Mar 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I booked my dog with a wonderful pet sitter we have used many times through Rover. However, on this last booking, it says for the pet sitter to show up one time on each of the days we requested. However, I request and PAID for two times a day. I cannot get in touch with Rover. The phone number goes to music and no messages! Very frustrating. This will be our last time using Rover.com.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Total waste of time

    • Glendale, AZ,
    • Apr 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The listings on Rover are stale, and almost every sitter I contacted either never replied or curtly responded that they are "no longer available." Only a puny handful had any references. When I did finally find someone to interview as an in-house dogsitter, he blew off the meet-and-greet (AFTER the site had already billed my card). I had to threaten reporting the organization for fraud before I eventually got a refund. (If you've ever tried to reach a live person at Uber or Airbnb, you get the idea.) Fly-by-night website trying to replicate the "disruption" model but totally inept at it. Avoid at all costs.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Worst experience of my life!

    • Deerfield Beach, FL,
    • May 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My usual sitter was away, so I hired someone off of Rover who not only took doors off their hinges but obviously had a large party at my home not to mention stealing jewelry.

    I took pictures of all and Rover gave ME a hard time.

    I also filed a police report for stolen items. Never again will I use them as they do not vet people or offer help with any monetary value at all!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Lack of experience

    • Broomfield, CO,
    • May 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is a warning about one of Rover.com "sitters" if you live in the Broomfield, Colorado area.

    We made a huge mistake of trusting a sitter "Barbara" she claimed to have experience with older dogs, the night before our trip she started verbally expressing Rover was her second job priority and disregarded our detailed instructions and continued to ignore his care and contact with us was limited.

    We had to put him in daycare last minute to assure his care while she worked at her top priority job.

    We lost our dog upon arrival home, she wasn't feeding him any of the food we left, he ended up in Emergency care costing us $3000 (no regret on that for his excellent care). Northside Clinic.

    Our Vet at the Animal Doctor wasn't much help as she did not know the scope of his neglect even as we called and sent concerns and was ready to come home early. Since his death, we have had several people share their similar losses from her and also Vet involved.

    Please do not hire this women and Rover should have fired her with all they were told! We have documents to prove our claims.

    Somehow she escaped her irresponsible care with Rover and our vet at the Animal Doctor. Please don't make our mistake we continue to get heartbreaking reports on both directions.

    The first review upon our arrival at home did not specify enough on her involved lack of care as we were stunned and heartbroken of our loss. Sadly we continue to hear reports to back this up and never an apology from her as she was in denial of any wrongdoing. Again her lack of excepting responsibility.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Transparency is NOT a VALUE of this platform.

    • Denver, CO,
    • Jul 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We have five-star reviews on Rover, but then hosted dogs which were total monsters, undertrained, they attacked our own dog as a pack, they peed and pooped on our carpet, damaged doors, etc. Rover doesn't provide any facility to compensate for damages, they only provide "we are sorry, you are an independent business owner."

    WORSE: The dog owner can review our service and it will be public but WE, the dog sitters/boarder, cannot WARN future sitters how bad those dogs are. Rover keeps everything "private" when it comes to reviewing the dog owner or their dogs - EVERY single sharing platform like Uber, Lyft, Turo, Airbnb allow for public two-ways reviews.

    The owner of the dogs we sat for should NEVER be allowed to use this services as they have bad dogs and clearly never trained them. Rover can go on hiding bad practices which is why your use other platforms.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Beware: Bad reviews are easily avoided by sitters.

    • Eugene, OR,
    • Mar 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I always felt that there was something fishy about Rover reviews, since in my area I couldn't find anyone with a negative review. I then had a terrible experience with a sitter, despite her great reviews and a meet and greet that I thought went well. I was so uncomfortable with the situation that my dog was in that I picked him up before the stay was completed. The sitter canceled the stay and refunded my money - which locked me out of leaving a review. I'm sure that sitters know that this is a way to avoid bad reviews.

    When I complained to Rover that the sitter had misrepresented herself on her Rover page and to me and had violated Rover's terms of service, Rover sent back a canned response saying that they find that the best resolutions come from sitters and clients talking to one another - i.e. Rover was not interested in investigating this sitter. When I complained that potential clients need to know about bad experiences such as mine and that I and others in my situation shouldn't be locked out of leaving reviews, they had a canned response for that as well, and when I pushed, said that they would pass my "suggestion" along - in other words, IMO, they are not interested in placing the needs of clients and dogs first. I will never trust Rover again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Horrible service

    • Anchorage, AK,
    • Mar 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I hired a pet sitter and house sitter through Rover that turned out be a disaster. The sitter ended up poisoning our dogs. One of the dogs died and the sitter didn't even take the dog to the vet as asked. The sitter then posted pictures of the dying pet on Rover's website which we asked Rover to remove. Rover has a bunch people and they just pass you down the line.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Pet torn CCL after left in Rover care

    • Orlando, FL,
    • Dec 15, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    Our experience was terrible! We left my 5-month-old puppy with a sitter who was perfectly fine when we left. We picked him up and he had a limp! Their company has an insurance policy for pets that are injured, so we took our dog to the vet to be checked out. He had a torn CCL that was due to a trauma from the sitter's care. Rover refused to cover any expenses of a $4,000 specialty surgery on my poor puppy.

    I will never use them again. Make sure you look at their terms and agreement before you leave your puppy! Their insurance doesn’t cover hardly any injury that may occur in a pet sitters care and they look for any way where they don’t have to cover it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 12-22 of 68

Write a Review for Rover.com!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review