Read 53 Rover.com Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 4 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  47
Bottom Line: 9% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 53
Sort reviews by:

  • 9 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Rover doesn't care

    • New York,
    • Jan 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Rover customer service is terrible. The walkers are great and setting up the customers are great, but the customer service team don't care about your dog at all. If something happens to your dog, Rover can care less! I had to drop in on a dog twice a day, who was kept in a tiny room by herself 23 hours a day. She was eating paint, Legos and other stuff. She would pee herself and freak out during the walks. I had to bring my wife to help me because one person could not handle it.

    When the owners asked us to cage her for 23 hours a day, we called Rover because we felt as if the situation was not good for the dog. We were afraid she would hurt herself or get sick from the stuff she ate. When I called customer service, Memory K. pretended to help us by just telling us to cage the dog since that is what the owner told us to do. When I said we didn't feel the dog was safe and it was inhumane to do that to her 23 hours a day, she kept insisting we just do whatever the owner said. Memory told us that Rover is just a platform and could not do anything else.

    So as a customer and a sitter of Rover, I will never use them again. Knowing my dog is in the hands of someone and Rover who takes FEES from both sides is just a platform is DISGUSTING. You are terrible, Rover. These are peoples dogs and their lives. Shame on you!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Beats Wag!

    • Minneapolis, MN,
    • Dec 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    No app is perfect, but you shouldn't compromise when it comes to the wellbeing of your best friend!

    Great for stays, and you get to directly communicate with your person for any type of activity, including walks. It's also nice that you get to meet your person beforehand.

    Dogs mostly, but cats and other animals can be looked after too!

    I've only had good experiences, and it's a much more personalized experience than the Wag! strangers that come into your house. Unlike them, I've also been able to get in touch with Rover's support, which I appreciate!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Never use Rover dog sitter

    • Orlando, FL,
    • Dec 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Never use Rover by any means. If I could give minus five, I would have given it to this platform. First, the dog sitter was late when I wanted to leave my dog with him, then I found later that he is not allowed to have Doberman on his apartment by his property manager, so when I shared the info with Rover management, they said in simple words its not their problem as long as nothing showed up on the dog sitter background check. But the worst is that I had to take my dog to surgery because the dog sitter tightened the collar so much on my dog to not have him as he wasn't allowed to have big dogs on his apartment while the guy was having more than two.

    After the surgery of my dog that cost me more than $750, Rover refused to pay the full expense because they had a policy, blah blah blah. Basically they are always looking for ways not to taking full responsibility of their dog sitters mistakes hiding after insurance, policies...and when you call their staff, all they say is sorry for the inconvenience, blah blah! I don't need your sorry...

    Bottom line, never use Rover services or you will regret it. And don't be fooled by low prices because you will pay the high prices at the end.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Scammed me of $25

    • Texas,
    • Dec 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I mentioned in my bio that I am an owner of a home care business and I would like to reach the pet side of things through Rover and I got an email confirming that my account is disabled and there is no refund for a $25 background check. This website is just a big scam and waste of money. I would not recommend.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Not good for cat sitting

    • California,
    • Nov 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Simply put, Rover is not set up for feline households. First, they say their people are pre-qualified, but we learned the hard way that our sitter had very little cat experience. Also, their drop-in visits are only for 30 minutes, and they charge per animal. Great for the sitters, not for the owners because if you want a good sitter with positive ratings, they generally charge $25-$30 per visit and per animal, so if you have two cats, you'll be paying at least $50-$60 for every 30-minute visit. In our case, three cats ($30 each) x two 30-minute visits would have cost $180/day.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Awful

    • Georgia,
    • Nov 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The business model for Rover.com is, unfortunately, a poor one. I was able to get two commitments and both canceled at the last minute. One just sent a text. Inconvenience doesn't begin to describe it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Overcharges

    • Illinois,
    • Nov 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I found a good dog walker through Rover.com. I decided to try a service vs. an individual. Unfortunately, if you have issues with Rover overcharging you - which they do frequently - your dog walker cannot help you. They tell you to contact the company directly. The company rep is trained to reply with standard replies, no doubt company policy.

    The first time it was SO difficult to try to get them to refund me that I gave up and let Rover have the money for visits never having been done. This second time around, I have had enough and went after them, OMG, they began with standard rote replies. Then citing charges they had refunded 6 weeks ago. Then tried again citing a visit charge that was declined OVER 5 MONTHS prior - not true. So I have had my bank dispute the charges and not pay. The rep threatened me. I had sent her documentation from the Rover Card visits, then my bank withdrawals. ALL DOCUMENTED.

    I deactivated my account. Then she writes that it was not deactivated! She asked if I wanted HER to deactivate. I said YES. So this morning, once again they charge me for a visit! I am now filing FRAUD charges, and once again disputing via my bank.

    DO NOT use Rover unless you want to lose money and take your valuable time trying to get a refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    No way to know if sitters are unreliable if they cancel on you

    • Olathe, KS,
    • Oct 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The sitter canceled with two days notice. No emergency. She got a new puppy. The job had been scheduled for more than 6 weeks, so she could have planned around it. Rover offered to help find another sitter, but I didn't trust them at that point since there is no way to know if they were referring me to another unreliable sitter. Rover said that you only can rate a sitter after the service begins. That means they leave owners with no way to know if they are working with a sitter who will cancel on short notice.

    On the plus side, Rover refunded my payment with no problems and offered a $20 discount on an additional service. I won't be using the discount because I'd never know if the sitter tends to cancel with little notice.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Don't trust them

    • Lincoln, NE,
    • Oct 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I agree with the other reviews here, these sitters all have fake reviews and Rover does not help when there is an issue.

    If you even up cancelling for emergencies, you will not get your money back even if you had booked for a whole week.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 14 people found this review helpful

    No help from Rover about a bad dog sitter

    • Asheville, NC,
    • Oct 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We had worked with a dog sitter that we found through Rover and the first couple of times she was great, but the last time she came, she had told me that I could book directly through her, which I did. This would save her the 20 percent that Rover takes from the sitters. She then decided to have a party at my house and drink several bottles of expensive liquors and break one of our toilets. She left hours before she was supposed to and didn’t do things I asked her to do for my dog before leaving and left our house unlocked. I contacted Rover, and their only concern was that we didn’t book through them. She could have been injured or let out in which she would have been run over, but they were just concerned about money - don’t use them or Christina J. in Asheville!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Bailey, the best dog sitter

    • South Carolina,
    • Oct 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Bailey was the best dog sitter in the world! I have never left my baby Lucy with anyone, and she allowed me to enjoy my trip without worrying about my baby. I will be using her again and will be recommending her to everyone I know!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 12-22 of 53

Write a Review for Rover.com!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review