Read 68 Rover.com Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 4 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 3 1 star:  60
Bottom Line: 7% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 68
Sort reviews by:

  • 3 out 3 people found this review helpful

    Cancellation

    • North Dakota,
    • Jul 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was very disappointed with Rover.com. The sitter I contracted with canceled a day before my vacation! The site offered to help find another sitter, but they didn't respond when I said that I would like help finding a replacement. I was able to find someone on my own. Won't waste my time with this site again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Don't use Rover if you care about your pet

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Jul 24, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Tried Rover for the FIRST time and SOOOOOOOOOOOO disappointed. Will not be using them ever again. I booked with someone who was supposed to meet me. She canceled on me three times. Two days before I was supposed to leave I messaged her and she ASSURED me she would be here the next day. I told her if she couldn't do it to let me know so that I would still have time to find someone else. At 6:30 pm, FOURTEEN hours before I have to leave, she cancels on me! When I call Rover, customer service was very unhelpful, telling me that their pet sitters are "independent contractors". So basically they allow "pet sitters" to use their name and their platform but they don't care about the completely unprofessional behavior of their pet sitters! I've used other sites in the past that were way more helpful and concerned about the people that were using their website and would never allow behavior like this!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Terrible company to work for - they will take their money from your business and provide you no support.

    • Texas,
    • Jul 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This company is untrustworthy and terrible at maintaining, managing, and supporting their relationships with their contractors. They do not screen or background check who they allow to become a sitter. Their customer support team is untrained and will only regurgitate email and script templates regardless of your situation or issue. I reiterate they will NOT provide you, your business, your pet, or any emergencies any support.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Rover is terrible!

    • New Mexico,
    • Jul 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Other than the fact that I was given a credit for a future petsitter, other than that, the experience has been very poor, to say the least. My previous pet sitter Brittney D. was terrible, left my cat too dehydrate with barely any water, even though she has kidney disease and could have died, and had a time-released water jug that only had to be filled once; left my house a mess with filthy litter boxes and feces all over the house, without picking any of it up. Then didn't return my keys or even responded to me for 6 months when asked where my keys were.

    Rover, who I had contacted several times, told me that they were trying to contact Brittney but didn't tell me anything about what happened to my key. Meanwhile, I finally get a hold of Brittney (6 months later) and she tells me that she told Rover that she had lost the key. I had not heard anything from Rover about the resolution of this issue based on their protocol of "confidentiality." However, in the meantime, I worried for 6 months about this pet sitter breaking into my house...And on top of it, I received a correspondence 6 months later that said that they had "read through my correspondence" as though that is not considered confidential? Which I find to be hypocritical. Of the several emails I had gotten 6 months ago they had told me repeatedly that they were attempting to contact Brittney, yet I had heard no resolution on the issue of my missing key. Why tell me you are trying to contact her when you were planning on telling me nothing anyway? Why tell me those conversations are confidential but read through my personal correspondence anyway?

    Then Rover had the gall to defend her in my previous email, saying "it looks like Brittney has discussed the circumstances with you as best as she is able." (Which isn't true since it took her 6 months to contact me!!!) On top of this, Brittney is still working for Rover and still has an active account even though one of the comments on her page explicitly states that she has lost keys before and that person had to rekey their house (like I have had to do, which cost me $75). She is obviously not a responsible pet sitter and could have seriously harmed my animal and on top of that could have broken into my house or this other person's house. And yet she is still employed by Rover?

    All of the makes me very skeptical of Rover and how they operate as a company. This is also NOT how you treat your customers. I am the child of a business owner and we believed in honesty and integrity and putting the customer first. This is NOT putting your customer first and this is not how a company, particularly a company that deals with people's lives (and animal's lives) should operate.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Failed to give dogs pain meds and left them

    • Michigan,
    • Jun 17, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I hold Rover responsible for the death of one of my dogs. I hired a husband and wife from Rover to watch my four dogs on Christmas Eve as I visited my family out of town. They failed to give my dog pain meds, threw another dog's meds into his water dish and then notified me that it was not like they had beaten my pets so why was I complaining. Despite complaints to Rover I was told that this couple was allowed to continue to provide services for Rover as they "had not killed my dogs while on my property." I was never able to fully get my dog's pain management back to where it should have been and he died. DO NOT USE ROVER.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Rover killed my dog

    • Georgia,
    • May 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My dog was killed by his Rover sitter. I paid for in-home sitting and she took my blind, 12-year-old dog from my home without my permission to her home where he "fell" off a 2-story balcony on to concrete. Except, he didn't fit through the railing.

    Rover took no accountability and offered half of the expenses of his death. The condition of taking the money they offer in their guarantee? Signing a non-disclosure so you can never warn another dog owner about the dangers of Rover.com. They try to buy your silence and that is why no one knows the true number of dogs who have died.

    If you want your dog to live, STAY AWAY!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Had to cancel our trip...sitter canceled at last moment!

    • San Diego, CA,
    • Apr 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is our pathetic Rover.com experience.

    For months we had planned to take a 5-day trip to Mexico.

    My husband and I haven't been a vacation in years. We have a small dog rescue and work full time at it. We hired a Rover.com sitter a full month before the trip and paid in her full.

    She told us she was available for the job, after some back and forth about rearranging her schedule. We were VERY CLEAR, it was a house and pet sit for 24/7. A couple of days before the trip, we had the sitter come and paid her $20 for an orientation...feeding, sleeping arrangements, etc.

    As she was leaving, she said, oh, by the way, I have a dog walking job that I need to do every day, so I won't be here when you leave for the airport because I have to be there at 11 AM. And added something like...that's a long time to have a dog sitter stay at your house? I was floored. We have 2 cats, and we had 7 small dogs at that time. It was scheduled for February 12-16, 2019.

    She waited until a day or two before our trip at the orientation to let us know she was going to be working for someone else, while we paying her to stay and sit with our dogs. I contacted Rover to see if we could help me find someone to fill in when she was gone, trying to salvage the sit and our vacation. They were not helpful at all. They basically told me to look on the website and if I wanted a refund to let me know.

    Given how difficult it was to find and interview someone in the first place...it was not going to be easy to find a replacement with no notice. In the end, my husband ended up staying home, and we lost his ticket price, $200, and I went alone.

    Rover refunded the money for the sit. But the thing that really upset me was that I wasn't able to leave a review for that sitter. She is walking around with glowing reviews and she ruined our trip by being so irresponsible and dishonest with no notice. We lost $200. We weren't able to review her because she didn't actually sit for us. It was a pretty horrible and upsetting experience.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Terms of Service = Kill your dogs, cheaper than getting them medical help.

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Apr 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My 5-star 55 reviews, first aid/CPR certified rover sitter killed our 8-year-old healthy Pomeranian. The sitter then took her to a crematorium and didn't call us until after the place was closed. She tampered with the body so the next day when we were able to retrieve the body and get a necroscopy it was inconclusive since she was frozen without our permission. Rover.com "rover protection package" only covers injuries, if they kill your dog they cover nothing besides refund and crematory fees. So the way they wrote their terms of service it is cheaper for them to have their sitters kill your dog instead of getting it medical attention if needed. Also, according to their own terms of service, the reviews on their platform are not accurate or legitimate. Beware using the rover.com service it is NOT a trusted platform. Read their terms of service and know your dog is not safe when you use them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Horrible service

    • Anchorage, AK,
    • Mar 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I hired a pet sitter and house sitter through Rover that turned out be a disaster. The sitter ended up poisoning our dogs. One of the dogs died and the sitter didn't even take the dog to the vet as asked. The sitter then posted pictures of the dying pet on Rover's website which we asked Rover to remove. Rover has a bunch people and they just pass you down the line.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Spammers

    • California,
    • Mar 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I communicated with two pet sitters to care for my dog and finally chose one. Rover sent repeated threats to my email giving me 24 hours to book with the second sitter that I did not choose. They refused to receive my email communication asking them to stop. I find this very concerning as a first time user and would recommend against this service. I will never use them again. Craigslist is better than Rover.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Beware: Bad reviews are easily avoided by sitters.

    • Eugene, OR,
    • Mar 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I always felt that there was something fishy about Rover reviews, since in my area I couldn't find anyone with a negative review. I then had a terrible experience with a sitter, despite her great reviews and a meet and greet that I thought went well. I was so uncomfortable with the situation that my dog was in that I picked him up before the stay was completed. The sitter canceled the stay and refunded my money - which locked me out of leaving a review. I'm sure that sitters know that this is a way to avoid bad reviews.

    When I complained to Rover that the sitter had misrepresented herself on her Rover page and to me and had violated Rover's terms of service, Rover sent back a canned response saying that they find that the best resolutions come from sitters and clients talking to one another - i.e. Rover was not interested in investigating this sitter. When I complained that potential clients need to know about bad experiences such as mine and that I and others in my situation shouldn't be locked out of leaving reviews, they had a canned response for that as well, and when I pushed, said that they would pass my "suggestion" along - in other words, IMO, they are not interested in placing the needs of clients and dogs first. I will never trust Rover again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 12-22 of 68

Write a Review for Rover.com!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review