Read 62 Rover.com Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 2)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 4 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 2 1 star:  55
Bottom Line: 8% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 12-22 of 62
Sort reviews by:

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Had to cancel our trip...sitter canceled at last moment!

    • San Diego, CA,
    • Apr 30, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is our pathetic Rover.com experience.

    For months we had planned to take a 5-day trip to Mexico.

    My husband and I haven't been a vacation in years. We have a small dog rescue and work full time at it. We hired a Rover.com sitter a full month before the trip and paid in her full.

    She told us she was available for the job, after some back and forth about rearranging her schedule. We were VERY CLEAR, it was a house and pet sit for 24/7. A couple of days before the trip, we had the sitter come and paid her $20 for an orientation...feeding, sleeping arrangements, etc.

    As she was leaving, she said, oh, by the way, I have a dog walking job that I need to do every day, so I won't be here when you leave for the airport because I have to be there at 11 AM. And added something like...that's a long time to have a dog sitter stay at your house? I was floored. We have 2 cats, and we had 7 small dogs at that time. It was scheduled for February 12-16, 2019.

    She waited until a day or two before our trip at the orientation to let us know she was going to be working for someone else, while we paying her to stay and sit with our dogs. I contacted Rover to see if we could help me find someone to fill in when she was gone, trying to salvage the sit and our vacation. They were not helpful at all. They basically told me to look on the website and if I wanted a refund to let me know.

    Given how difficult it was to find and interview someone in the first place...it was not going to be easy to find a replacement with no notice. In the end, my husband ended up staying home, and we lost his ticket price, $200, and I went alone.

    Rover refunded the money for the sit. But the thing that really upset me was that I wasn't able to leave a review for that sitter. She is walking around with glowing reviews and she ruined our trip by being so irresponsible and dishonest with no notice. We lost $200. We weren't able to review her because she didn't actually sit for us. It was a pretty horrible and upsetting experience.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Terms of Service = Kill your dogs, cheaper than getting them medical help.

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Apr 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My 5-star 55 reviews, first aid/CPR certified rover sitter killed our 8-year-old healthy Pomeranian. The sitter then took her to a crematorium and didn't call us until after the place was closed. She tampered with the body so the next day when we were able to retrieve the body and get a necroscopy it was inconclusive since she was frozen without our permission. Rover.com "rover protection package" only covers injuries, if they kill your dog they cover nothing besides refund and crematory fees. So the way they wrote their terms of service it is cheaper for them to have their sitters kill your dog instead of getting it medical attention if needed. Also, according to their own terms of service, the reviews on their platform are not accurate or legitimate. Beware using the rover.com service it is NOT a trusted platform. Read their terms of service and know your dog is not safe when you use them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Horrible service

    • Anchorage, AK,
    • Mar 26, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I hired a pet sitter and house sitter through Rover that turned out be a disaster. The sitter ended up poisoning our dogs. One of the dogs died and the sitter didn't even take the dog to the vet as asked. The sitter then posted pictures of the dying pet on Rover's website which we asked Rover to remove. Rover has a bunch people and they just pass you down the line.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Spammers

    • California,
    • Mar 21, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I communicated with two pet sitters to care for my dog and finally chose one. Rover sent repeated threats to my email giving me 24 hours to book with the second sitter that I did not choose. They refused to receive my email communication asking them to stop. I find this very concerning as a first time user and would recommend against this service. I will never use them again. Craigslist is better than Rover.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Beware: Bad reviews are easily avoided by sitters.

    • Eugene, OR,
    • Mar 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I always felt that there was something fishy about Rover reviews, since in my area I couldn't find anyone with a negative review. I then had a terrible experience with a sitter, despite her great reviews and a meet and greet that I thought went well. I was so uncomfortable with the situation that my dog was in that I picked him up before the stay was completed. The sitter canceled the stay and refunded my money - which locked me out of leaving a review. I'm sure that sitters know that this is a way to avoid bad reviews.

    When I complained to Rover that the sitter had misrepresented herself on her Rover page and to me and had violated Rover's terms of service, Rover sent back a canned response saying that they find that the best resolutions come from sitters and clients talking to one another - i.e. Rover was not interested in investigating this sitter. When I complained that potential clients need to know about bad experiences such as mine and that I and others in my situation shouldn't be locked out of leaving reviews, they had a canned response for that as well, and when I pushed, said that they would pass my "suggestion" along - in other words, IMO, they are not interested in placing the needs of clients and dogs first. I will never trust Rover again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Positive experience

    • Cary, NC,
    • Mar 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been using Rover to find a sitter for my three fur babies for about three years now. I think it’s important to interview multiple sitters and go with your intuition on which one you feel most comfortable with. If you use the website and not the app, you can see more info about a sitter for things like what percentage of clients received photo updates, how quickly they respond, their rebooking rate, etc., so I highly recommend doing that.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Bad at updating calendars

    • Lisbon Falls, ME,
    • Feb 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've tried to use Rover.com a number of times but the unfortunate theme that keeps rearing its ugly head is..."Oh, I've not updated my calendar and I'm not available at that time." Sitters apparently don't update their calendars!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 17 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Beware of this company, learn from my tragedy.

    • Sandwich, MA,
    • Feb 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We used Rover.com in 11/17. The man we used let my dog out in the front yard without a leash (anyone knows NEVER to let a dog out without a leash). My dog (not knowing who this man was) ran away and was missing for 10 days. My dog was cold, hungry, scared, wondering where we were. She was hit by a car the first night and survived (I know this because the person who hit her contacted me). She was hit on the 10th day and died. During the time my dog was missing, Rover.com allowed Mr. Guard (the man "watching" my dog) to continue offering his services through their site. They told me they were doing an "investigation," but they refused to tell me what that entailed. After their "investigation" and after my dog died, they felt it was ok for him to continue on their site. They never interviewed me. I would have told him that Mr. Guard was watching TV in his warm house 2 hours after my dog went missing (it took me that long to get there), never apologized to me, never offered to help me look for my dog or put up flyers. In the 10 days I was looking for my dog I never once saw him out looking for her, but I did see several members of the community out

    I wonder if Rover.com knew this man let out TWO dogs prior to my dog getting out (side note: since then he's let out 2 more)? Animal Control can verify this and I have the records. I can guess their "investigation" missed that, but it seems pretty basic that they would contact Animal Control or maybe they did know and just didn’t think that was a reason to keep him off their sight.

    Rover.com hides behind their contract - they don't have to tell me or anyone else what they did to "investigate" or how/if they disciplined him. So basically, they could say they investigated, but then do absolutely nothing - you would never know either way. They cared more about protecting his rights than my rights - the actual victim. After the community found out that Rover.com allowed this man to stay on their site (and to make money for them), they wrote to them demanding they get this man off their sight. It wasn't until then that they took Mr. G off. I guess they realized they would lose more money by losing all these potential customers than they would have made off Mr. G. Please be careful when using Rover.com. They do not care about you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 14 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Horrible

    • Kansas City, MO,
    • Jan 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Rover supports false and inaccurate reviews posted by angry pet owners. I was attacked by a dog while dog sitting. The dog bit my coat collar, dragged me down and would not let go. 80+ pound dog for reference. I informed him and told him exactly what happened. In his review, he said the dog "jumped on me and knocked me over." False. He called me immature. False. He also said I wouldn’t make a good vet tech or dog sitter. I have been a vet tech for five plus years and dog sitting for over ten.

    I have never had a complaint until this angry dog owner. Rover does not care that I was attacked or that this person decided to leave a false and misleading review. Doesn’t matter if you respond to the review because no one will see it as the reply doesn’t show up on the app or if you’re using a browser on your mobile phone. 90% of the people using Rover are using apps and their phone. That’s like the whole point of Rover. Apps and mobile devices. So I’m never recommending Rover to anyone who wants to be crapped on and their name slandered.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Rover doesn't care

    • New York,
    • Jan 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Rover customer service is terrible. The walkers are great and setting up the customers are great, but the customer service team don't care about your dog at all. If something happens to your dog, Rover can care less! I had to drop in on a dog twice a day, who was kept in a tiny room by herself 23 hours a day. She was eating paint, Legos and other stuff. She would pee herself and freak out during the walks. I had to bring my wife to help me because one person could not handle it.

    When the owners asked us to cage her for 23 hours a day, we called Rover because we felt as if the situation was not good for the dog. We were afraid she would hurt herself or get sick from the stuff she ate. When I called customer service, Memory K. pretended to help us by just telling us to cage the dog since that is what the owner told us to do. When I said we didn't feel the dog was safe and it was inhumane to do that to her 23 hours a day, she kept insisting we just do whatever the owner said. Memory told us that Rover is just a platform and could not do anything else.

    So as a customer and a sitter of Rover, I will never use them again. Knowing my dog is in the hands of someone and Rover who takes FEES from both sides is just a platform is DISGUSTING. You are terrible, Rover. These are peoples dogs and their lives. Shame on you!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Beats Wag!

    • Minneapolis, MN,
    • Dec 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    No app is perfect, but you shouldn't compromise when it comes to the wellbeing of your best friend!

    Great for stays, and you get to directly communicate with your person for any type of activity, including walks. It's also nice that you get to meet your person beforehand.

    Dogs mostly, but cats and other animals can be looked after too!

    I've only had good experiences, and it's a much more personalized experience than the Wag! strangers that come into your house. Unlike them, I've also been able to get in touch with Rover's support, which I appreciate!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 12-22 of 62

Write a Review for Rover.com!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review