Read 68 Rover.com Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 4 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 3 1 star:  60
Bottom Line: 7% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 68
Sort reviews by:

  • 3 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Positive experience

    • Cary, NC,
    • Mar 1, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been using Rover to find a sitter for my three fur babies for about three years now. I think it’s important to interview multiple sitters and go with your intuition on which one you feel most comfortable with. If you use the website and not the app, you can see more info about a sitter for things like what percentage of clients received photo updates, how quickly they respond, their rebooking rate, etc., so I highly recommend doing that.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Bad at updating calendars

    • Lisbon Falls, ME,
    • Feb 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've tried to use Rover.com a number of times but the unfortunate theme that keeps rearing its ugly head is..."Oh, I've not updated my calendar and I'm not available at that time." Sitters apparently don't update their calendars!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 17 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Beware of this company, learn from my tragedy.

    • Sandwich, MA,
    • Feb 6, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    We used Rover.com in 11/17. The man we used let my dog out in the front yard without a leash (anyone knows NEVER to let a dog out without a leash). My dog (not knowing who this man was) ran away and was missing for 10 days. My dog was cold, hungry, scared, wondering where we were. She was hit by a car the first night and survived (I know this because the person who hit her contacted me). She was hit on the 10th day and died. During the time my dog was missing, Rover.com allowed Mr. Guard (the man "watching" my dog) to continue offering his services through their site. They told me they were doing an "investigation," but they refused to tell me what that entailed. After their "investigation" and after my dog died, they felt it was ok for him to continue on their site. They never interviewed me. I would have told him that Mr. Guard was watching TV in his warm house 2 hours after my dog went missing (it took me that long to get there), never apologized to me, never offered to help me look for my dog or put up flyers. In the 10 days I was looking for my dog I never once saw him out looking for her, but I did see several members of the community out

    I wonder if Rover.com knew this man let out TWO dogs prior to my dog getting out (side note: since then he's let out 2 more)? Animal Control can verify this and I have the records. I can guess their "investigation" missed that, but it seems pretty basic that they would contact Animal Control or maybe they did know and just didn’t think that was a reason to keep him off their sight.

    Rover.com hides behind their contract - they don't have to tell me or anyone else what they did to "investigate" or how/if they disciplined him. So basically, they could say they investigated, but then do absolutely nothing - you would never know either way. They cared more about protecting his rights than my rights - the actual victim. After the community found out that Rover.com allowed this man to stay on their site (and to make money for them), they wrote to them demanding they get this man off their sight. It wasn't until then that they took Mr. G off. I guess they realized they would lose more money by losing all these potential customers than they would have made off Mr. G. Please be careful when using Rover.com. They do not care about you.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 14 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Horrible

    • Kansas City, MO,
    • Jan 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Rover supports false and inaccurate reviews posted by angry pet owners. I was attacked by a dog while dog sitting. The dog bit my coat collar, dragged me down and would not let go. 80+ pound dog for reference. I informed him and told him exactly what happened. In his review, he said the dog "jumped on me and knocked me over." False. He called me immature. False. He also said I wouldn’t make a good vet tech or dog sitter. I have been a vet tech for five plus years and dog sitting for over ten.

    I have never had a complaint until this angry dog owner. Rover does not care that I was attacked or that this person decided to leave a false and misleading review. Doesn’t matter if you respond to the review because no one will see it as the reply doesn’t show up on the app or if you’re using a browser on your mobile phone. 90% of the people using Rover are using apps and their phone. That’s like the whole point of Rover. Apps and mobile devices. So I’m never recommending Rover to anyone who wants to be crapped on and their name slandered.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Rover doesn't care

    • New York,
    • Jan 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Rover customer service is terrible. The walkers are great and setting up the customers are great, but the customer service team don't care about your dog at all. If something happens to your dog, Rover can care less! I had to drop in on a dog twice a day, who was kept in a tiny room by herself 23 hours a day. She was eating paint, Legos and other stuff. She would pee herself and freak out during the walks. I had to bring my wife to help me because one person could not handle it.

    When the owners asked us to cage her for 23 hours a day, we called Rover because we felt as if the situation was not good for the dog. We were afraid she would hurt herself or get sick from the stuff she ate. When I called customer service, Memory K. pretended to help us by just telling us to cage the dog since that is what the owner told us to do. When I said we didn't feel the dog was safe and it was inhumane to do that to her 23 hours a day, she kept insisting we just do whatever the owner said. Memory told us that Rover is just a platform and could not do anything else.

    So as a customer and a sitter of Rover, I will never use them again. Knowing my dog is in the hands of someone and Rover who takes FEES from both sides is just a platform is DISGUSTING. You are terrible, Rover. These are peoples dogs and their lives. Shame on you!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Beats Wag!

    • Minneapolis, MN,
    • Dec 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    No app is perfect, but you shouldn't compromise when it comes to the wellbeing of your best friend!

    Great for stays, and you get to directly communicate with your person for any type of activity, including walks. It's also nice that you get to meet your person beforehand.

    Dogs mostly, but cats and other animals can be looked after too!

    I've only had good experiences, and it's a much more personalized experience than the Wag! strangers that come into your house. Unlike them, I've also been able to get in touch with Rover's support, which I appreciate!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Never use Rover dog sitter

    • Orlando, FL,
    • Dec 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Never use Rover by any means. If I could give minus five, I would have given it to this platform. First, the dog sitter was late when I wanted to leave my dog with him, then I found later that he is not allowed to have Doberman on his apartment by his property manager, so when I shared the info with Rover management, they said in simple words its not their problem as long as nothing showed up on the dog sitter background check. But the worst is that I had to take my dog to surgery because the dog sitter tightened the collar so much on my dog to not have him as he wasn't allowed to have big dogs on his apartment while the guy was having more than two.

    After the surgery of my dog that cost me more than $750, Rover refused to pay the full expense because they had a policy, blah blah blah. Basically they are always looking for ways not to taking full responsibility of their dog sitters mistakes hiding after insurance, policies...and when you call their staff, all they say is sorry for the inconvenience, blah blah! I don't need your sorry...

    Bottom line, never use Rover services or you will regret it. And don't be fooled by low prices because you will pay the high prices at the end.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Scammed me of $25

    • Texas,
    • Dec 6, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I mentioned in my bio that I am an owner of a home care business and I would like to reach the pet side of things through Rover and I got an email confirming that my account is disabled and there is no refund for a $25 background check. This website is just a big scam and waste of money. I would not recommend.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Not good for cat sitting

    • California,
    • Nov 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Simply put, Rover is not set up for feline households. First, they say their people are pre-qualified, but we learned the hard way that our sitter had very little cat experience. Also, their drop-in visits are only for 30 minutes, and they charge per animal. Great for the sitters, not for the owners because if you want a good sitter with positive ratings, they generally charge $25-$30 per visit and per animal, so if you have two cats, you'll be paying at least $50-$60 for every 30-minute visit. In our case, three cats ($30 each) x two 30-minute visits would have cost $180/day.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Awful

    • Georgia,
    • Nov 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The business model for Rover.com is, unfortunately, a poor one. I was able to get two commitments and both canceled at the last minute. One just sent a text. Inconvenience doesn't begin to describe it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Overcharges

    • Illinois,
    • Nov 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I found a good dog walker through Rover.com. I decided to try a service vs. an individual. Unfortunately, if you have issues with Rover overcharging you - which they do frequently - your dog walker cannot help you. They tell you to contact the company directly. The company rep is trained to reply with standard replies, no doubt company policy.

    The first time it was SO difficult to try to get them to refund me that I gave up and let Rover have the money for visits never having been done. This second time around, I have had enough and went after them, OMG, they began with standard rote replies. Then citing charges they had refunded 6 weeks ago. Then tried again citing a visit charge that was declined OVER 5 MONTHS prior - not true. So I have had my bank dispute the charges and not pay. The rep threatened me. I had sent her documentation from the Rover Card visits, then my bank withdrawals. ALL DOCUMENTED.

    I deactivated my account. Then she writes that it was not deactivated! She asked if I wanted HER to deactivate. I said YES. So this morning, once again they charge me for a visit! I am now filing FRAUD charges, and once again disputing via my bank.

    DO NOT use Rover unless you want to lose money and take your valuable time trying to get a refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 23-33 of 68

Write a Review for Rover.com!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review