Read 59 Rover.com Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 4 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 2 1 star:  52
Bottom Line: 8% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 59
Sort reviews by:

  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Awful

    • Georgia,
    • Nov 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The business model for Rover.com is, unfortunately, a poor one. I was able to get two commitments and both canceled at the last minute. One just sent a text. Inconvenience doesn't begin to describe it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Overcharges

    • Illinois,
    • Nov 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I found a good dog walker through Rover.com. I decided to try a service vs. an individual. Unfortunately, if you have issues with Rover overcharging you - which they do frequently - your dog walker cannot help you. They tell you to contact the company directly. The company rep is trained to reply with standard replies, no doubt company policy.

    The first time it was SO difficult to try to get them to refund me that I gave up and let Rover have the money for visits never having been done. This second time around, I have had enough and went after them, OMG, they began with standard rote replies. Then citing charges they had refunded 6 weeks ago. Then tried again citing a visit charge that was declined OVER 5 MONTHS prior - not true. So I have had my bank dispute the charges and not pay. The rep threatened me. I had sent her documentation from the Rover Card visits, then my bank withdrawals. ALL DOCUMENTED.

    I deactivated my account. Then she writes that it was not deactivated! She asked if I wanted HER to deactivate. I said YES. So this morning, once again they charge me for a visit! I am now filing FRAUD charges, and once again disputing via my bank.

    DO NOT use Rover unless you want to lose money and take your valuable time trying to get a refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    No way to know if sitters are unreliable if they cancel on you

    • Olathe, KS,
    • Oct 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The sitter canceled with two days notice. No emergency. She got a new puppy. The job had been scheduled for more than 6 weeks, so she could have planned around it. Rover offered to help find another sitter, but I didn't trust them at that point since there is no way to know if they were referring me to another unreliable sitter. Rover said that you only can rate a sitter after the service begins. That means they leave owners with no way to know if they are working with a sitter who will cancel on short notice.

    On the plus side, Rover refunded my payment with no problems and offered a $20 discount on an additional service. I won't be using the discount because I'd never know if the sitter tends to cancel with little notice.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Don't trust them

    • Lincoln, NE,
    • Oct 25, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I agree with the other reviews here, these sitters all have fake reviews and Rover does not help when there is an issue.

    If you even up cancelling for emergencies, you will not get your money back even if you had booked for a whole week.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 14 people found this review helpful

    No help from Rover about a bad dog sitter

    • Asheville, NC,
    • Oct 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    We had worked with a dog sitter that we found through Rover and the first couple of times she was great, but the last time she came, she had told me that I could book directly through her, which I did. This would save her the 20 percent that Rover takes from the sitters. She then decided to have a party at my house and drink several bottles of expensive liquors and break one of our toilets. She left hours before she was supposed to and didn’t do things I asked her to do for my dog before leaving and left our house unlocked. I contacted Rover, and their only concern was that we didn’t book through them. She could have been injured or let out in which she would have been run over, but they were just concerned about money - don’t use them or Christina J. in Asheville!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Bailey, the best dog sitter

    • South Carolina,
    • Oct 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Bailey was the best dog sitter in the world! I have never left my baby Lucy with anyone, and she allowed me to enjoy my trip without worrying about my baby. I will be using her again and will be recommending her to everyone I know!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Beyond a scam

    • Knoxville, TN,
    • Sep 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do not trust ANY of the reviews on Rover.com. They are easily faked, as we have learned. We were interested in hiring a house sitter from there. We communicated with him, and his communication didn’t reflect these amazing reviews he had. So, I did a bit of research and found his reviews were 100% fake. They were made by family members and fake accounts. He had over 30 reviews! The majority of them I could prove to be fake just by checking his social media.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Extremely disappointed with "Rover Guarantee"

    • Richmond, VA,
    • Sep 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am extremely disappointed with the Rover customer service I received last night. I had an unfortunate encounter with a dog owner whose dog I watched this past weekend.

    Unfortunately, the weekend's dog watching resulted in the dog chewing up my clothes while I was in the shower, as the dog opened the cracked bathroom door. The owner refused to reimburse me and told me that he was only willing to let me retrieve the wristwatch I accidentally left at his house if I texted him and he "was around" at the time that I reached out to him. Rover customer support recommended I reach out to my local authorities because my watch was considered "stolen property" as well as telling me that they were unable to reimburse me for my damaged belongings. However, I cannot reach out to the police because Rover was unable to give me the owner's full name. The dog owner then accused me of "borderline neglect[ing]" his dog, even though I followed his very basic instructions that we agreed to upon our first meeting, even sending the owner several photos and interacting with him during the stay.

    I feel that the Rover Guarantee completely let me down. I am now out more than $50, as well as being falsely accused of neglecting a dog I believed I took excellent care of.

    Rover, please help me be reimbursed and improve the Rover community so that no other dog walker/sitter ends up in such a troubling situation!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Beware of the alleged guarantee!

    • New York,
    • Aug 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I booked a pet sitter over a month ago for my dogs. Today, on the day I am to drop them off, the sitter cancels! Apparently, she has had a personal emergency. Rover.com claims to have a policy to protect you against this. They will assist in finding you a new sitter, great BUT how can I do this on the day I am to drop them off? I will not have a chance to meet with the sitter or visit the home where they will stay. We have been forced to book them into a boarding facility. I will be paying over $250 more than we were initially agreeing on. Rover.com will not honor their protection plan since it is an outside company. I will never use them again!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Don’t leave your dog with them unless you hate your dog

    • London, OH,
    • Aug 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Our Rover sitter completely ignored my feeding instructions and refused to give my fur baby his grain-free special treats and food and fed him god knows what. He came back to me with flea bites scratches and hot spots. I had to take him to the vet for the hot spots because one was on his rear paw in his pad so bad he can barely walk. He had to be on stomach meds and steroids.

    Rover.com refuses to make the sitter refund or reimburse my vet bills. I have pictures of my poor baby’s sores on his feet from what she did to him. Never use their service, they let you it people who have dozens of dogs at once "watch" dogs.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 5 people found this review helpful

    As a sitter...

    • Chattanooga, TN,
    • Aug 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    As a sitter, I have only had good experiences through Rover. Communication is good and support has been very helpful. I have great clients. When I do a meet and greet, I explain why I like Rover and I will help the client to book a service and explain what I will be doing after hearing their pet needs. A few prospective clients wanted me to do dog services on the side and I wouldn't, so I lost a few clients.

    In any business, there is going to be some bad customers and bad employees. It can't be helped. I let clients know that I also have two homeland security background checks and can show them I passed. The pay is not all that great but I am not doing it for the pay, I am doing it because I love pets! There are thousands of reviews about Rover and it is important to be open to all of them. There are a lot more good reviews than bad. If you have concerns see if you can talk to the sitter's other clients. Rover has been good to me and again, I have great clients.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 23-33 of 59

Write a Review for Rover.com!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review