Read 65 Rover.com Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 3)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 4 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 3 1 star:  57
Bottom Line: 8% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 23-33 of 65
Sort reviews by:

  • 11 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Beyond a scam

    • Knoxville, TN,
    • Sep 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Do not trust ANY of the reviews on Rover.com. They are easily faked, as we have learned. We were interested in hiring a house sitter from there. We communicated with him, and his communication didn’t reflect these amazing reviews he had. So, I did a bit of research and found his reviews were 100% fake. They were made by family members and fake accounts. He had over 30 reviews! The majority of them I could prove to be fake just by checking his social media.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Rover doesn't care

    • New York,
    • Jan 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    Rover customer service is terrible. The walkers are great and setting up the customers are great, but the customer service team don't care about your dog at all. If something happens to your dog, Rover can care less! I had to drop in on a dog twice a day, who was kept in a tiny room by herself 23 hours a day. She was eating paint, Legos and other stuff. She would pee herself and freak out during the walks. I had to bring my wife to help me because one person could not handle it.

    When the owners asked us to cage her for 23 hours a day, we called Rover because we felt as if the situation was not good for the dog. We were afraid she would hurt herself or get sick from the stuff she ate. When I called customer service, Memory K. pretended to help us by just telling us to cage the dog since that is what the owner told us to do. When I said we didn't feel the dog was safe and it was inhumane to do that to her 23 hours a day, she kept insisting we just do whatever the owner said. Memory told us that Rover is just a platform and could not do anything else.

    So as a customer and a sitter of Rover, I will never use them again. Knowing my dog is in the hands of someone and Rover who takes FEES from both sides is just a platform is DISGUSTING. You are terrible, Rover. These are peoples dogs and their lives. Shame on you!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Dog sitter failed to see signs of sickness

    • North Carolina,
    • Jul 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This dog sitter required my dog wear a flea and tick dog collar. I told her my dog is sensitive and gets easily sick on these. She insisted. She also INSISTED she wear it at night when she slept! My dog started getting sick, and her responses were odd. The pics clearly showed she was sick. While I was over 2000 miles away, I had someone rescue her from this apathetic woman. My dog is now feeling better, after vomiting for two days.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful
    Updated review

    Update

    • Denver, CO,
    • Jul 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    After my post on Rover's Facebook page got shared multiple times and received dozens of comments, I got a call from Rover. They have decided to offer a settlement. While I'm glad that they ultimately did the right thing, I'm discouraged that it took so much effort to get to that point. I'm hopeful that they will update their Rover Guarantee to include some sort of resolution for death due to negligence.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    • Previous review
    • Jul 13, 2018

    Horrible experience. Horrible customer service. Horrible company.

    We had a very bad experience with Rover. To make a long story short, the person watching our dog lost the dog three hours after we dropped her off. The next morning, we got a call from the police that the dog had been found dead. The sitter felt horrible and compensated us a substantial amount of money for the new dog.

    I reached out to Rover asking if they would be willing to compensate the remaining $250. The initial reply that I received from them told me that we'd heard from our assigned Trust & Safety person within 24-48 hours. Two weeks later, we finally got an email telling us that they Rover Guarantee doesn't cover compensation for new pets. The guarantee will cover vet bills up to $25,000, but there's nothing in the guarantee to offer compensation for the death of a pet due to negligence by the sitter. I asked if they would reconsider and reminded them that they would have been willing to pay a substantial amount of money for vet bills had our dog just been injured. So, I asked if they'd be willing to take $250 that they would have been willing to pay for vet bills and apply it to the purchase price of our new pet. I was told that they are unable to do that.

    Any time a company says they are "unable" to do something, it drives me crazy. "Unwilling" would be a more appropriate word. There is ALWAYS something a company can do. They just chose not to.

    So, what I learned is that the Rover Guarantee covers a lot of things. However, if the sitter loses your dog and the dog ends up dying due to their negligence, that's not covered. Some guarantee. I would caution anyone to think twice before using this service. Their guarantee is severely lacking. Check the reviews online. There are numerous stories just like mine. I'm sure that most of the pet sitting arrangements go smoothly. But, for those of us who are unfortunate enough to experience the death of a pet, I guess we're on our own.

    (read moreread less...)

  • 10 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Rover killed my dog

    • Georgia,
    • May 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My dog was killed by his Rover sitter. I paid for in-home sitting and she took my blind, 12-year-old dog from my home without my permission to her home where he "fell" off a 2-story balcony on to concrete. Except, he didn't fit through the railing.

    Rover took no accountability and offered half of the expenses of his death. The condition of taking the money they offer in their guarantee? Signing a non-disclosure so you can never warn another dog owner about the dangers of Rover.com. They try to buy your silence and that is why no one knows the true number of dogs who have died.

    If you want your dog to live, STAY AWAY!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Don't trust your pet with Rover

    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Jul 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Rover is a gig economy platform that enables stay-at-home drug addicts. I've been on 12 meet-and-greets. Ten of the twelve were serious drug users. There are some honest people trying to make extra cash or make ends meet, but in the Bay Area, it's drug addicts filling rooms with dogs.

    When dogs are returned in poor condition or injured like mine was, Rover hides behind the platform and placates the customer while protecting their income source - the providers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 9 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Terms of Service = Kill your dogs, cheaper than getting them medical help.

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Apr 13, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    My 5-star 55 reviews, first aid/CPR certified rover sitter killed our 8-year-old healthy Pomeranian. The sitter then took her to a crematorium and didn't call us until after the place was closed. She tampered with the body so the next day when we were able to retrieve the body and get a necroscopy it was inconclusive since she was frozen without our permission. Rover.com "rover protection package" only covers injuries, if they kill your dog they cover nothing besides refund and crematory fees. So the way they wrote their terms of service it is cheaper for them to have their sitters kill your dog instead of getting it medical attention if needed. Also, according to their own terms of service, the reviews on their platform are not accurate or legitimate. Beware using the rover.com service it is NOT a trusted platform. Read their terms of service and know your dog is not safe when you use them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 10 people found this review helpful

    They win on small print

    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Jun 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I called and made contact. Scheduled a stay for my two dogs. I wanted to look at the sitter's site before I brought my dogs there. After viewing the site, I called and canceled. It was a small home with multiple dogs and no space. I have two larger dogs. They stuck me for half the fees because of their cancellation policy, even though I had to wait to view the site for the sitters earliest convenience.

    When I inquired, they told me too bad, it’s beyond the cancellation period. It’s a scam, with poor customer service and obviously more interested in getting the first dollar than developing long-term, profitable business. I will never use this service again and recommend that others seek services elsewhere.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Extremely disappointed with "Rover Guarantee"

    • Richmond, VA,
    • Sep 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am extremely disappointed with the Rover customer service I received last night. I had an unfortunate encounter with a dog owner whose dog I watched this past weekend.

    Unfortunately, the weekend's dog watching resulted in the dog chewing up my clothes while I was in the shower, as the dog opened the cracked bathroom door. The owner refused to reimburse me and told me that he was only willing to let me retrieve the wristwatch I accidentally left at his house if I texted him and he "was around" at the time that I reached out to him. Rover customer support recommended I reach out to my local authorities because my watch was considered "stolen property" as well as telling me that they were unable to reimburse me for my damaged belongings. However, I cannot reach out to the police because Rover was unable to give me the owner's full name. The dog owner then accused me of "borderline neglect[ing]" his dog, even though I followed his very basic instructions that we agreed to upon our first meeting, even sending the owner several photos and interacting with him during the stay.

    I feel that the Rover Guarantee completely let me down. I am now out more than $50, as well as being falsely accused of neglecting a dog I believed I took excellent care of.

    Rover, please help me be reimbursed and improve the Rover community so that no other dog walker/sitter ends up in such a troubling situation!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Bad at updating calendars

    • Lisbon Falls, ME,
    • Feb 22, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I've tried to use Rover.com a number of times but the unfortunate theme that keeps rearing its ugly head is..."Oh, I've not updated my calendar and I'm not available at that time." Sitters apparently don't update their calendars!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Bad

    • California,
    • May 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I made plans for a month to go visit my brother for two days, so three weeks in advance I scheduled and paid for my days with Rover to board my dog. Two days before my trip I received an email with a cancellation. Not happy! So now what? I won't be using them in the future. I understand things happen, but this was not a good experience for my first time using this company. Sorry Rover.com.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 23-33 of 65

Write a Review for Rover.com!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review