Read 52 Rover.com Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 4)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 4 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  46
Bottom Line: 10% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 34-44 of 52
Sort reviews by:

  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    They win on small print

    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Jun 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I called and made contact. Scheduled a stay for my two dogs. I wanted to look at the sitter's site before I brought my dogs there. After viewing the site, I called and canceled. It was a small home with multiple dogs and no space. I have two larger dogs. They stuck me for half the fees because of their cancellation policy, even though I had to wait to view the site for the sitters earliest convenience.

    When I inquired, they told me too bad, it’s beyond the cancellation period. It’s a scam, with poor customer service and obviously more interested in getting the first dollar than developing long-term, profitable business. I will never use this service again and recommend that others seek services elsewhere.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Don't trust them

    • New Jersey,
    • Jun 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I booked someone who works for this company to stay with my pet dog. Not only did the girl Laura didn't show up the company, they don't allow you to write a bad review about them, so all you see is good reviews. They weren't trying to help me it's all about making their company look good.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Bad

    • California,
    • May 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I made plans for a month to go visit my brother for two days, so three weeks in advance I scheduled and paid for my days with Rover to board my dog. Two days before my trip I received an email with a cancellation. Not happy! So now what? I won't be using them in the future. I understand things happen, but this was not a good experience for my first time using this company. Sorry Rover.com.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Lack of experience

    • Broomfield, CO,
    • May 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is a warning about one of Rover.com "sitters" if you live in the Broomfield, Colorado area.

    We made a huge mistake of trusting a sitter "Barbara" she claimed to have experience with older dogs, the night before our trip she started verbally expressing Rover was her second job priority and disregarded our detailed instructions and continued to ignore his care and contact with us was limited.

    We had to put him in daycare last minute to assure his care while she worked at her top priority job.

    We lost our dog upon arrival home, she wasn't feeding him any of the food we left, he ended up in Emergency care costing us $3000 (no regret on that for his excellent care). Northside Clinic.

    Our Vet at the Animal Doctor wasn't much help as she did not know the scope of his neglect even as we called and sent concerns and was ready to come home early. Since his death, we have had several people share their similar losses from her and also Vet involved.

    Please do not hire this women and Rover should have fired her with all they were told! We have documents to prove our claims.

    Somehow she escaped her irresponsible care with Rover and our vet at the Animal Doctor. Please don't make our mistake we continue to get heartbreaking reports on both directions.

    The first review upon our arrival at home did not specify enough on her involved lack of care as we were stunned and heartbroken of our loss. Sadly we continue to hear reports to back this up and never an apology from her as she was in denial of any wrongdoing. Again her lack of excepting responsibility.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Worst experience of my life!

    • Deerfield Beach, FL,
    • May 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My usual sitter was away, so I hired someone off of Rover who not only took doors off their hinges but obviously had a large party at my home not to mention stealing jewelry.

    I took pictures of all and Rover gave ME a hard time.

    I also filed a police report for stolen items. Never again will I use them as they do not vet people or offer help with any monetary value at all!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Won't help you if there's an issue

    • New York, NY,
    • May 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The whole reason to go through a website like Rover is so there is a layer of protection between you and the sitter. You think that in the event of a problem, Rover will step in and rectify the situation.

    I'm here to let you know, they will not. They could care less who is listed as a sitter on their site. We booked a sitter through Rover.com to do once a day, 30 minutes, to change food and litter. We came home one night at 1:30 in the morning to find her past out on our bed and empty alcohol bottles of ours littered throughout the apartment.

    According to Rover, they can only offer a third party mediator in case of a sitter issue. They don't care what happened and said they think they can "coach" the sitter so it won't happen again. I don't even think they read my emails because I would immediately remove someone like that from my business.

    Needless to say, I highly do not recommend Rover. They offer you no help should an issue arise.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Total waste of time

    • Glendale, AZ,
    • Apr 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The listings on Rover are stale, and almost every sitter I contacted either never replied or curtly responded that they are "no longer available." Only a puny handful had any references. When I did finally find someone to interview as an in-house dogsitter, he blew off the meet-and-greet (AFTER the site had already billed my card). I had to threaten reporting the organization for fraud before I eventually got a refund. (If you've ever tried to reach a live person at Uber or Airbnb, you get the idea.) Fly-by-night website trying to replicate the "disruption" model but totally inept at it. Avoid at all costs.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 22 out 25 people found this review helpful

    Former Rover.com sitter

    I was a Rover.com dog sitter in my home. I use the word WAS! I have 40 years of dog experience. Grooming (licensed), Training (certified), and Boarding (NAPPS Member). I have experience with showing dogs, 4-H Advisor for 11 years, and Advisor to local K-9 Police Units.

    My account was deactivated because a client I had a meet and greet with asked a question about payment. She really hated the Rover.com app and was hoping we could continue her future boarding and groomings not on their website. My grooming and training and boarding business is my private business, and I used Rover.com as an addition to what I was already doing. It was clearly a mistake on this new client's part and understandably Rover.com’s terms of agreement. I get it. What I do not get is why I was removed without a warning, again, a client's mistake, not mine, and yet there are Rover.com sitters out there that have injured, lost dogs or even worse killed dogs while in their care and are still on Rover.com watching dogs!

    For ANYONE thinking of using this site for your pets, STOP! I’m fortunate to be educated in my field. Most of the sitters are not. They are weekend warriors who want to make extra money. Rover.com DOES NOT interview, visit sitter’s homes, or ask for legitimate references! In order to get onto their site, you pay a fee for a background check, if they even do it, and take a multiple choice questionnaire while watching their video that has the answers as you look at the questions! It’s a joke and is in NO WAY a proper way to interview sitters for their site! Anyone can post fake yard, home, etc. pictures. There’s a Rover.com sitter in a nearby city to me who never allows the clients in her home during the initial meet and greet OR when the clients pick up or drop off their dog! And yet, she’s still on Rover.com with 135 5-star reviews! Lies.

    I hope this helps anyone who has even a tiny inkling to use Rover.com! PLEASE DO NOT!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Flaky sitter cancelled weeks after I paid yet I cannot review them

    • Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Apr 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I booked a dog sitter named Katherine S. in Burnaby, British Columbia, and paid for her to dogsit overnight so that I could volunteer at a Girl Guide sleepover. Weeks later she sent me a message saying she could not watch my dog at the times I requested because she forgot she had signed up for the Sun Run, so I would have to pick her up before 8 am. I had already specified before I paid her weeks earlier that I would require dogsitting until 11 am.

    I contacted Rover support, and they just said that they can see that she already canceled it so I should search for another sitter on their site. I tried this, and the same sitter still shows as available on the days she canceled on me. And the site does not allow me to review her because she canceled the booking. She has four positive reviews, but I wonder how many other people she has flaked on because she forgot about her personal plans?

    Oh and I still have not received a refund either, I guess I'll have to take that up with Mastercard. Save yourself the headache and look for a dog sitter somewhere else.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Rover is a great service, but you need to be cautious

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Mar 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Rover has been a godsend for me. I live alone, and like many older professionals, my friends work long hours and don’t have time to dogsit. My dog is an older dog, and I prefer that she have a safe, friendly place to stay when I’m gone rather than stay at my place alone with only a sitter dropping in a couple of times a day. I used to board her at professional doggie daycares (who kennel evening and night), but the costs for those places in Seattle has skyrocketed.

    So I turned to Rover, and while it’s not perfect, I’ve been very pleased. I do think since Seattle is such a dog-friendly town, it is easier to find boarders here and therefore, easier to be picky about them.

    My advice: Never wait until the last minute to book and ALWAYS do a meet and greet in the owner’s home before agreeing to the deal.

    Stay away from any boarders who aren’t willing to do a meet and greet and let you see their home. Also, stay away from boarders who don’t respond reasonably promptly to your texts (but don’t spam them either.) The worst experience I had with Rover was last Thanksgiving weekend when I suddenly had to travel for a family emergency. All the good boarders have been long booked, and I ended up with the dregs I guess. No one scary, just a lot of flakes. People who texted interest, and one who even arranged a meet and greet and then flaked. I wound up boarding my dog with a friend of a friend instead.

    Be clear you know the maximum number of dogs the owner will board at a time, and whether or not other dogs may come and go. I prefer boarders who only allow one dog at a time (most boarders have their own dog), and I check their reviews for evidence that this is indeed the case. However, occasionally that’s not an option, and I will go with a boarder who takes more dogs if during the meet and greet I can tell that she/he is really skilled with and dedicated to dogs. Some Vet techs work for Rover on the side.

    My biggest concern about Rover is that they do not require proof of vaccinations like most of the better doggie daycare and kennels in Seattle do. So far I have trusted my boarders, and my dog hasn’t gotten sick, but that issue is a reason I shy away from boarders who take in more than one dog at a time.

    Be explicit about your dog’s needs, and what you do not want them doing. E.g., my old dog has arthritis and weak hind legs but forgets her age, so she needs to be closely monitored around young active dogs because she’ll want to jump into the fray. She also has had lar par surgery so she can’t swim, eat grass, or have a collar around her neck. I was Vet specific about her needs in her profile. I’m sure that kept a number of boarders away, but that’s great because I don’t want boarders who would be uncomfortable about meeting my dog’s needs.

    And, of course, make sure you provide clear info about what to do in case of an emergency.

    Over the last two years, I’ve built up a pool of three boarders I have been happy very happy with and trust to do a good job. Between the three of them, I usually can very easily arrange (just in a single text exchange!) to board my dog when I need to.

    So I encourage people to check out Rover, but be smart about it. There is always some level of risk when using services like these. You’ve got to decide what level of you are comfortable with.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Contact with Rover does not exist

    • North Carolina,
    • Mar 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I booked my dog with a wonderful pet sitter we have used many times through Rover. However, on this last booking, it says for the pet sitter to show up one time on each of the days we requested. However, I request and PAID for two times a day. I cannot get in touch with Rover. The phone number goes to music and no messages! Very frustrating. This will be our last time using Rover.com.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 34-44 of 52

Write a Review for Rover.com!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review