Read 50 Rover.com Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 4)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 4 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 0 1 star:  45
Bottom Line: 10% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 34-44 of 50
Sort reviews by:

  • 5 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Bad

    • California,
    • May 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I made plans for a month to go visit my brother for two days, so three weeks in advance I scheduled and paid for my days with Rover to board my dog. Two days before my trip I received an email with a cancellation. Not happy! So now what? I won't be using them in the future. I understand things happen, but this was not a good experience for my first time using this company. Sorry Rover.com.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Lack of experience

    • Broomfield, CO,
    • May 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is a warning about one of Rover.com "sitters" if you live in the Broomfield, Colorado area.

    We made a huge mistake of trusting a sitter "Barbara" she claimed to have experience with older dogs, the night before our trip she started verbally expressing Rover was her second job priority and disregarded our detailed instructions and continued to ignore his care and contact with us was limited.

    We had to put him in daycare last minute to assure his care while she worked at her top priority job.

    We lost our dog upon arrival home, she wasn't feeding him any of the food we left, he ended up in Emergency care costing us $3000 (no regret on that for his excellent care). Northside Clinic.

    Our Vet at the Animal Doctor wasn't much help as she did not know the scope of his neglect even as we called and sent concerns and was ready to come home early. Since his death, we have had several people share their similar losses from her and also Vet involved.

    Please do not hire this women and Rover should have fired her with all they were told! We have documents to prove our claims.

    Somehow she escaped her irresponsible care with Rover and our vet at the Animal Doctor. Please don't make our mistake we continue to get heartbreaking reports on both directions.

    The first review upon our arrival at home did not specify enough on her involved lack of care as we were stunned and heartbroken of our loss. Sadly we continue to hear reports to back this up and never an apology from her as she was in denial of any wrongdoing. Again her lack of excepting responsibility.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Worst experience of my life!

    • Deerfield Beach, FL,
    • May 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My usual sitter was away, so I hired someone off of Rover who not only took doors off their hinges but obviously had a large party at my home not to mention stealing jewelry.

    I took pictures of all and Rover gave ME a hard time.

    I also filed a police report for stolen items. Never again will I use them as they do not vet people or offer help with any monetary value at all!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Won't help you if there's an issue

    • New York, NY,
    • May 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The whole reason to go through a website like Rover is so there is a layer of protection between you and the sitter. You think that in the event of a problem, Rover will step in and rectify the situation.

    I'm here to let you know, they will not. They could care less who is listed as a sitter on their site. We booked a sitter through Rover.com to do once a day, 30 minutes, to change food and litter. We came home one night at 1:30 in the morning to find her past out on our bed and empty alcohol bottles of ours littered throughout the apartment.

    According to Rover, they can only offer a third party mediator in case of a sitter issue. They don't care what happened and said they think they can "coach" the sitter so it won't happen again. I don't even think they read my emails because I would immediately remove someone like that from my business.

    Needless to say, I highly do not recommend Rover. They offer you no help should an issue arise.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Total waste of time

    • Glendale, AZ,
    • Apr 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The listings on Rover are stale, and almost every sitter I contacted either never replied or curtly responded that they are "no longer available." Only a puny handful had any references. When I did finally find someone to interview as an in-house dogsitter, he blew off the meet-and-greet (AFTER the site had already billed my card). I had to threaten reporting the organization for fraud before I eventually got a refund. (If you've ever tried to reach a live person at Uber or Airbnb, you get the idea.) Fly-by-night website trying to replicate the "disruption" model but totally inept at it. Avoid at all costs.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 21 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Former Rover.com sitter

    I was a Rover.com dog sitter in my home. I use the word WAS! I have 40 years of dog experience. Grooming (licensed), Training (certified), and Boarding (NAPPS Member). I have experience with showing dogs, 4-H Advisor for 11 years, and Advisor to local K-9 Police Units.

    My account was deactivated because a client I had a meet and greet with asked a question about payment. She really hated the Rover.com app and was hoping we could continue her future boarding and groomings not on their website. My grooming and training and boarding business is my private business, and I used Rover.com as an addition to what I was already doing. It was clearly a mistake on this new client's part and understandably Rover.com’s terms of agreement. I get it. What I do not get is why I was removed without a warning, again, a client's mistake, not mine, and yet there are Rover.com sitters out there that have injured, lost dogs or even worse killed dogs while in their care and are still on Rover.com watching dogs!

    For ANYONE thinking of using this site for your pets, STOP! I’m fortunate to be educated in my field. Most of the sitters are not. They are weekend warriors who want to make extra money. Rover.com DOES NOT interview, visit sitter’s homes, or ask for legitimate references! In order to get onto their site, you pay a fee for a background check, if they even do it, and take a multiple choice questionnaire while watching their video that has the answers as you look at the questions! It’s a joke and is in NO WAY a proper way to interview sitters for their site! Anyone can post fake yard, home, etc. pictures. There’s a Rover.com sitter in a nearby city to me who never allows the clients in her home during the initial meet and greet OR when the clients pick up or drop off their dog! And yet, she’s still on Rover.com with 135 5-star reviews! Lies.

    I hope this helps anyone who has even a tiny inkling to use Rover.com! PLEASE DO NOT!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Flaky sitter cancelled weeks after I paid yet I cannot review them

    • Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Apr 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I booked a dog sitter named Katherine S. in Burnaby, British Columbia, and paid for her to dogsit overnight so that I could volunteer at a Girl Guide sleepover. Weeks later she sent me a message saying she could not watch my dog at the times I requested because she forgot she had signed up for the Sun Run, so I would have to pick her up before 8 am. I had already specified before I paid her weeks earlier that I would require dogsitting until 11 am.

    I contacted Rover support, and they just said that they can see that she already canceled it so I should search for another sitter on their site. I tried this, and the same sitter still shows as available on the days she canceled on me. And the site does not allow me to review her because she canceled the booking. She has four positive reviews, but I wonder how many other people she has flaked on because she forgot about her personal plans?

    Oh and I still have not received a refund either, I guess I'll have to take that up with Mastercard. Save yourself the headache and look for a dog sitter somewhere else.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Rover is a great service, but you need to be cautious

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Mar 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Rover has been a godsend for me. I live alone, and like many older professionals, my friends work long hours and don’t have time to dogsit. My dog is an older dog, and I prefer that she have a safe, friendly place to stay when I’m gone rather than stay at my place alone with only a sitter dropping in a couple of times a day. I used to board her at professional doggie daycares (who kennel evening and night), but the costs for those places in Seattle has skyrocketed.

    So I turned to Rover, and while it’s not perfect, I’ve been very pleased. I do think since Seattle is such a dog-friendly town, it is easier to find boarders here and therefore, easier to be picky about them.

    My advice: Never wait until the last minute to book and ALWAYS do a meet and greet in the owner’s home before agreeing to the deal.

    Stay away from any boarders who aren’t willing to do a meet and greet and let you see their home. Also, stay away from boarders who don’t respond reasonably promptly to your texts (but don’t spam them either.) The worst experience I had with Rover was last Thanksgiving weekend when I suddenly had to travel for a family emergency. All the good boarders have been long booked, and I ended up with the dregs I guess. No one scary, just a lot of flakes. People who texted interest, and one who even arranged a meet and greet and then flaked. I wound up boarding my dog with a friend of a friend instead.

    Be clear you know the maximum number of dogs the owner will board at a time, and whether or not other dogs may come and go. I prefer boarders who only allow one dog at a time (most boarders have their own dog), and I check their reviews for evidence that this is indeed the case. However, occasionally that’s not an option, and I will go with a boarder who takes more dogs if during the meet and greet I can tell that she/he is really skilled with and dedicated to dogs. Some Vet techs work for Rover on the side.

    My biggest concern about Rover is that they do not require proof of vaccinations like most of the better doggie daycare and kennels in Seattle do. So far I have trusted my boarders, and my dog hasn’t gotten sick, but that issue is a reason I shy away from boarders who take in more than one dog at a time.

    Be explicit about your dog’s needs, and what you do not want them doing. E.g., my old dog has arthritis and weak hind legs but forgets her age, so she needs to be closely monitored around young active dogs because she’ll want to jump into the fray. She also has had lar par surgery so she can’t swim, eat grass, or have a collar around her neck. I was Vet specific about her needs in her profile. I’m sure that kept a number of boarders away, but that’s great because I don’t want boarders who would be uncomfortable about meeting my dog’s needs.

    And, of course, make sure you provide clear info about what to do in case of an emergency.

    Over the last two years, I’ve built up a pool of three boarders I have been happy very happy with and trust to do a good job. Between the three of them, I usually can very easily arrange (just in a single text exchange!) to board my dog when I need to.

    So I encourage people to check out Rover, but be smart about it. There is always some level of risk when using services like these. You’ve got to decide what level of you are comfortable with.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Contact with Rover does not exist

    • North Carolina,
    • Mar 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I booked my dog with a wonderful pet sitter we have used many times through Rover. However, on this last booking, it says for the pet sitter to show up one time on each of the days we requested. However, I request and PAID for two times a day. I cannot get in touch with Rover. The phone number goes to music and no messages! Very frustrating. This will be our last time using Rover.com.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Bank shut off my card

    • Otis Orchards, WA,
    • Feb 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a professional pet sitter and house sitter. I officially joined Rover (or try to officially join) because I thought I will get more clients as I don't have as many where I'm at now compared to say California or other places where I've lived and worked.

    Their background check is a runaround. You don't really see it up front when you pay the $25. Rover doesn't tell you that your application will be incomplete without a copy of your driver license. The uploading process is another problem. You might try it on different devices but the photo that you upload was never officially processed, and you just don't know.

    When you go to call and check, they have another maze of a phone system, and you can't reach anybody. What they say is there will be another 5-day delay to process your application. The representatives at my financial institution shut off my card because I couldn't verify if Rover still had my credit card information saved, and they believed it to be scammy.

    As a sitter, be aware the once you upload photos of yourself and certain information, you cannot delete them. You also can't cancel your account, and you have to send an email asking to deactivate it. They have an 888 number on Rover, but it's the same maze.

    Rover.com makes it appear there's a lot of clients in a city, absolutely. But the whole background check thing is a real problem, and personally, I would not proceed with this sort of situation again. Best thing is for a sitter is to market your own self although it may be more time consuming, and get out by word of mouth to your friends and so on down the line. Rover might be cute for the first glance, but the truth is it is a big let-down.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 17 people found this review helpful

    My dog was poisoned at Rover.com sitter's house

    • San Diego, CA,
    • Jan 30, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    "A Place for Rover, Inc." (a.k.a. Rover.com) makes it appear to consumers looking for pet-sitters that all of their "5-star pet sitters" are carefully chosen with "pet safety their number one concern." That is simply false (curiously, not one of their sitters appears to have below 5 stars, including the sitter I recently gave 1 star).

    If one digs deeply enough, one finds that the company does not seem to check anything their sitters post on the Rover.com website nor carefully check a sitter's background to see whether the sitter can provide reasonable or safe services, and the company disclaims all liability for any fraud perpetrated via their website. Analysis of the company website, its ad's for pet-sitters to join them, and communications I have had with the company reveal numerous contradictions about whether sitters are vetted at all, but the bottom line seems to be this: the appearance crafted for the general public is of a company that carefully ensures the highest pet-sitter qualifications with pet-safety and quality of care given priority in "hiring" pet-sitters (except that sitters are "independent contractors," wink-wink) while the company makes no effort to ensure anything of the sort.

    I will lodge a complaint with the relevant regulatory bodies for what appears to be internet fraud by the company. I'm not sure about the legal status of individuals who engage in fraud via the company website, but that merits a complaint as well.

    One of my dogs has been slowly dying for two months after a stay with a Rover.com sitter whose abilities do not match her advertising (some people would call that "lying," but it might be a case of "puffery," arrogance, lack of self-awareness, ignorance, lack of common sense, and greed). This is the review I posted on the Rover.com website after my two dogs stayed at the house of a Rover.com sitter, Sheila C., here in San Diego while we were out of town for Thanksgiving:

    "Scott L. January 16, 2018 Verified Stay Zero stars. One of our dogs might not survive after being poisoned by extremely toxic plants in Sheila C’s yard. Contrary to her false profile, Sheila isn’t really “intuitive with any potential medical symptoms that might arise and comfortable providing any medical treatments that might be necessary.” She explicitly claims knowing pet “first aid” but if she knew about basic canine medical problems, bothered to examine her yard for dangers or to see what my dog had eaten once he became sick (rather than passively stumbling upon the cause on the fourth day of illness), or called the Rover.com support line for veterinary advice (per Rover.com protocol) when my dog was on his second day of ghastly bright yellow diarrhea, my dog might not be slowly dying from damage to his GI tract going on two months now. Nor was it true that Sheila’s yard is fully enclosed: our two dogs walked out of her yard on the first day, one dog crossed a dangerous street to return home but, fortunately, was found uninjured by another dog-sitter whom Sheila had no previous acquaintance with but had sub-contracted for the first few days while Sheila was out of town; the sub-contracted sitter had to find boards to block the gap in the yard’s enclosure. Most recently, in a hurtful and presumptuous response yesterday to my request for her gardener’s contact info to see what other toxins my dog might have ingested, she refused to provide the information and asserted, with zero basis and falsely, that I am “trying to cast blame for a medical condition that was already present prior to Mufasa's stay with us.”

    Sheila is irresponsible, negligent, and untruthful, and our previously perfectly healthy two-and-a-half-year-old dog, Mufasa, is now suffering the consequences as we pay mounting vet bills in a desperate attempt to save him. And yes, Sheila, NOW I am casting blame."

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 34-44 of 50

Write a Review for Rover.com!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review