Read 65 Rover.com Customer Reviews and Complaints (Page 5)

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.3
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 4 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 3 1 star:  57
Bottom Line: 8% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 45-55 of 65
Sort reviews by:

  • 9 out 10 people found this review helpful

    Don't trust your pet with Rover

    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Jul 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Rover is a gig economy platform that enables stay-at-home drug addicts. I've been on 12 meet-and-greets. Ten of the twelve were serious drug users. There are some honest people trying to make extra cash or make ends meet, but in the Bay Area, it's drug addicts filling rooms with dogs.

    When dogs are returned in poor condition or injured like mine was, Rover hides behind the platform and placates the customer while protecting their income source - the providers.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Do not use company

    • Portland, OR,
    • Jul 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had a dog walker Rebecca come into my house and steal my rent out of a drawer she had no business going in.

    This is the response I got:

    "While the Rover Guarantee does not assist with theft, we do take these matter very seriously and will be conducting a full review of the situation. With your permission, we will request a written statement from Rebecca regarding her time with June Bug in order to address your concerns. As safety is our top priority, we will be reviewing Rebecca's profile and past stays, and taking action where necessary. Of course, any additional feedback you can provide would be very helpful in our review."

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 8 out 10 people found this review helpful

    They win on small print

    • Las Vegas, NV,
    • Jun 26, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I called and made contact. Scheduled a stay for my two dogs. I wanted to look at the sitter's site before I brought my dogs there. After viewing the site, I called and canceled. It was a small home with multiple dogs and no space. I have two larger dogs. They stuck me for half the fees because of their cancellation policy, even though I had to wait to view the site for the sitters earliest convenience.

    When I inquired, they told me too bad, it’s beyond the cancellation period. It’s a scam, with poor customer service and obviously more interested in getting the first dollar than developing long-term, profitable business. I will never use this service again and recommend that others seek services elsewhere.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Don't trust them

    • New Jersey,
    • Jun 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I booked someone who works for this company to stay with my pet dog. Not only did the girl Laura didn't show up the company, they don't allow you to write a bad review about them, so all you see is good reviews. They weren't trying to help me it's all about making their company look good.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 9 people found this review helpful

    Bad

    • California,
    • May 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I made plans for a month to go visit my brother for two days, so three weeks in advance I scheduled and paid for my days with Rover to board my dog. Two days before my trip I received an email with a cancellation. Not happy! So now what? I won't be using them in the future. I understand things happen, but this was not a good experience for my first time using this company. Sorry Rover.com.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Lack of experience

    • Broomfield, CO,
    • May 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is a warning about one of Rover.com "sitters" if you live in the Broomfield, Colorado area.

    We made a huge mistake of trusting a sitter "Barbara" she claimed to have experience with older dogs, the night before our trip she started verbally expressing Rover was her second job priority and disregarded our detailed instructions and continued to ignore his care and contact with us was limited.

    We had to put him in daycare last minute to assure his care while she worked at her top priority job.

    We lost our dog upon arrival home, she wasn't feeding him any of the food we left, he ended up in Emergency care costing us $3000 (no regret on that for his excellent care). Northside Clinic.

    Our Vet at the Animal Doctor wasn't much help as she did not know the scope of his neglect even as we called and sent concerns and was ready to come home early. Since his death, we have had several people share their similar losses from her and also Vet involved.

    Please do not hire this women and Rover should have fired her with all they were told! We have documents to prove our claims.

    Somehow she escaped her irresponsible care with Rover and our vet at the Animal Doctor. Please don't make our mistake we continue to get heartbreaking reports on both directions.

    The first review upon our arrival at home did not specify enough on her involved lack of care as we were stunned and heartbroken of our loss. Sadly we continue to hear reports to back this up and never an apology from her as she was in denial of any wrongdoing. Again her lack of excepting responsibility.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Worst experience of my life!

    • Deerfield Beach, FL,
    • May 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My usual sitter was away, so I hired someone off of Rover who not only took doors off their hinges but obviously had a large party at my home not to mention stealing jewelry.

    I took pictures of all and Rover gave ME a hard time.

    I also filed a police report for stolen items. Never again will I use them as they do not vet people or offer help with any monetary value at all!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 15 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Won't help you if there's an issue

    • New York, NY,
    • May 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The whole reason to go through a website like Rover is so there is a layer of protection between you and the sitter. You think that in the event of a problem, Rover will step in and rectify the situation.

    I'm here to let you know, they will not. They could care less who is listed as a sitter on their site. We booked a sitter through Rover.com to do once a day, 30 minutes, to change food and litter. We came home one night at 1:30 in the morning to find her past out on our bed and empty alcohol bottles of ours littered throughout the apartment.

    According to Rover, they can only offer a third party mediator in case of a sitter issue. They don't care what happened and said they think they can "coach" the sitter so it won't happen again. I don't even think they read my emails because I would immediately remove someone like that from my business.

    Needless to say, I highly do not recommend Rover. They offer you no help should an issue arise.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Total waste of time

    • Glendale, AZ,
    • Apr 29, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    The listings on Rover are stale, and almost every sitter I contacted either never replied or curtly responded that they are "no longer available." Only a puny handful had any references. When I did finally find someone to interview as an in-house dogsitter, he blew off the meet-and-greet (AFTER the site had already billed my card). I had to threaten reporting the organization for fraud before I eventually got a refund. (If you've ever tried to reach a live person at Uber or Airbnb, you get the idea.) Fly-by-night website trying to replicate the "disruption" model but totally inept at it. Avoid at all costs.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 23 out 26 people found this review helpful

    Former Rover.com sitter

    I was a Rover.com dog sitter in my home. I use the word WAS! I have 40 years of dog experience. Grooming (licensed), Training (certified), and Boarding (NAPPS Member). I have experience with showing dogs, 4-H Advisor for 11 years, and Advisor to local K-9 Police Units.

    My account was deactivated because a client I had a meet and greet with asked a question about payment. She really hated the Rover.com app and was hoping we could continue her future boarding and groomings not on their website. My grooming and training and boarding business is my private business, and I used Rover.com as an addition to what I was already doing. It was clearly a mistake on this new client's part and understandably Rover.com’s terms of agreement. I get it. What I do not get is why I was removed without a warning, again, a client's mistake, not mine, and yet there are Rover.com sitters out there that have injured, lost dogs or even worse killed dogs while in their care and are still on Rover.com watching dogs!

    For ANYONE thinking of using this site for your pets, STOP! I’m fortunate to be educated in my field. Most of the sitters are not. They are weekend warriors who want to make extra money. Rover.com DOES NOT interview, visit sitter’s homes, or ask for legitimate references! In order to get onto their site, you pay a fee for a background check, if they even do it, and take a multiple choice questionnaire while watching their video that has the answers as you look at the questions! It’s a joke and is in NO WAY a proper way to interview sitters for their site! Anyone can post fake yard, home, etc. pictures. There’s a Rover.com sitter in a nearby city to me who never allows the clients in her home during the initial meet and greet OR when the clients pick up or drop off their dog! And yet, she’s still on Rover.com with 135 5-star reviews! Lies.

    I hope this helps anyone who has even a tiny inkling to use Rover.com! PLEASE DO NOT!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 14 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Flaky sitter cancelled weeks after I paid yet I cannot review them

    • Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Apr 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I booked a dog sitter named Katherine S. in Burnaby, British Columbia, and paid for her to dogsit overnight so that I could volunteer at a Girl Guide sleepover. Weeks later she sent me a message saying she could not watch my dog at the times I requested because she forgot she had signed up for the Sun Run, so I would have to pick her up before 8 am. I had already specified before I paid her weeks earlier that I would require dogsitting until 11 am.

    I contacted Rover support, and they just said that they can see that she already canceled it so I should search for another sitter on their site. I tried this, and the same sitter still shows as available on the days she canceled on me. And the site does not allow me to review her because she canceled the booking. She has four positive reviews, but I wonder how many other people she has flaked on because she forgot about her personal plans?

    Oh and I still have not received a refund either, I guess I'll have to take that up with Mastercard. Save yourself the headache and look for a dog sitter somewhere else.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 45-55 of 65

Write a Review for Rover.com!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review