What is the SafeSound Personal Alarm?

By Tyler Cooper
HighYa Staff Published on: Nov 12, 2017

Claiming to be saving millions of lives, the SafeSound Personal Alarm promises to provide you safety, protection, and peace of mind when out and about. The device is meant to look inconspicuous on a keychain, but with a quick pull of the pin on its top, it will unleash a roaring, constant 125dB (decibel) noise.

The product’s creators state that it requires no training or skills to operate, and that both men and women can use the system to feel safer as they go about their day. Though the device is clearly focused on preventing aggressive attacks, they state that it’s also ideal for seniors who have fallen and can’t get up, or for individuals that have gotten themselves lost in a remote area.

They also mention that the SafeSound is proven to be more effective than mace or pepper spray as a defense tool, though we didn’t encounter any evidence for this statement anywhere on the website. So, based on the information we’re given, just how loud can you expect the device to be, exactly?

Is the SafeSound Loud Enough to Deter Would-Be Attackers?

As mentioned above, the website states that the product is capable of putting out a continuous, 125dB screech for up to half an hour. For reference, a lawnmower is about 90dB, while a loud rock concert reaches roughly 110dB. At right about 150dB, you begin to run the risk of having your eardrums ruptured due to the sheer force of the sound waves being emitted.

So, knowing this, it’s clear that the 125dB put out by the SafeSound is extremely loud, and it stands to reason that a sound of that magnitude could certainly make a world of difference in several frightening situations.

For instance, if you were being followed or attacked at night while others are around, activating the SafeSound might help to draw immediate attention to your area, causing your potential attacker to flee instead. Of course, if you were in a very remote setting this might not be nearly as effective, which is important to keep in mind.

One thing we aren’t told is how the device is powered, or how long this power source is expected to work before needing to be replaced. We reached out to the support number listed on the website, but were unable to get through to a human operator as of the time of our research.

If we had to guess, we’d say the product was likely powered by replaceable watch-style batteries, but without official word from the company, we cannot confirm that this is the case.

SafeSound Personal Alarm Pricing & Return Policy

As of this writing, the SafeSound Personal Alarm was only available directly from the product’s main website. It is offered in three different quantities:

  • Two SafeSound Alarms: $39.95
  • Five SafeSound Alarms: $79.95
  • Ten SafeSound Alarms: $119.95

Shipping is free, and each order is covered by a 90-day satisfaction guarantee. To initiate a return, you’ll need to ship it back to the following address in its original packaging:

Shipping Department (SafeSound Personal Alarm)
10024 N Taryne St.
Hayden, ID 83835

You’ll be required to pay any return shipping fees associated with getting the product back for processing.

Purchasing A Personal Alarm Like SafeSound

Typing “personal alarm” into Google or the Amazon marketplace brings up hundreds of different results, many of which feature extremely similar designs to the SafeSound. The bulk of the devices we encountered during our research had alarms that ranged from 120dB to 130dB, with the highest we saw being listed at a whopping 140dB.

Crucially, these products all tended to be quite a bit less expensive than the SafeSound, ranging from just $7 to around $15-$20 at most. All of the options listed on Amazon were also available as a single purchase, whereas the SafeSound is only available in multiple quantities.

Finally, many of the products we encountered also had additional features, such as an LED safety light that can be activated whenever needed.

If you are searching for the right personal alarm for your needs, consider the following questions when looking around online:

  • Is a personal alarm like the SafeSound ideal for your needs in the first place? Consider where you live, and where you often find yourself on a daily basis. If you are frequently in high-traffic areas like the city, a personal alarm may be a very useful choice, but if you live in a more remote or isolated place, more direct alternatives such as mace or pepper spray may also be ideal.
  • If you’ve settled on a particular device, be sure to look around for reviews online. Places like Amazon are great for this, but also be sure to look here at Highya and other consumer advocacy websites during your research. Just be sure to stay alert and watch out for fake reviews.
  • Always understand the return policy going into your purchase. During our research into personal sonic alarms, we encountered a number of reviews for products similar to SafeSound in which users complained about high failure rates and other issues. Due to the importance of ensuring your alarm actually works when you need it to, always read through the return and refund policies thoroughly before pulling the trigger on a particular device.

The Bottom Line: Is the SafeSound Personal Alarm Right for You?

Bringing together everything that we’ve learned about the SafeSound Personal Alarm, can you truly expect it to provide protection from even the most vicious criminals, as the manufacturer states?

On the one hand, we learned that the product features an incredibly loud 125dB output, which is more than enough to draw immediate attention to you (and your attacker) when you need it most–provided you are in an area where others are nearby.

On the other hand, though the manufacturer says that the SafeSound has been proven to be more effective than conventional deterrents such as mace and pepper spray, we did not find any evidence for this claim on the company’s website, nor did we encounter any online during our research.

When coupled with the fact that dozens of similar options exist online for much less, as consumers ourselves, we feel that slowing down and taking a look at all of your choices before deciding on one may be the best course of action for most. This is especially true when you consider that many of these products feature hundreds of five-star reviews.

If you’d like to simply dive in and give the SafeSound Personal Alarm a shot, be sure to keep the 90-day return policy in mind, should you decide that it isn’t a right fit for you in the end.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

53 Consumer Reviews for SafeSound Personal Alarm

Average Consumer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 3 4 star: 0 3 star: 2 2 star: 5 1 star:  43
Bottom Line: 8% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 53
Sort reviews by:

  • 5 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Beware of this company!

    • Netherlands,
    • Dec 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered and paid 20 alarms at SafeSound Personal Alarm and never received them. They blame the delivery services of UPS, but according to any parcel services, the sender should file an investigation. They won't do it.

    Who's the sucker? I am.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Fraudulent!

    • South Australia,
    • Dec 4, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This site appeared to be Australian as it was flying the Australian flag, giving lots of indications of Australians purchasing and it was in Australian dollars, so I thought it would be safe. They were offering the alarms at a special of "buy two get three free" with an offer of $25 off as well. Then at checkout, they offered me a free gift and I opted for another one.

    They said the cost was $74.95 plus $4.81 postage, making a total of $79.76. I paid using my credit card and then another charge came up with an extra postage amount of $12.85. They supplied an email address which did not seem to work.

    That was when I realized that I was purchasing from an American company. I only ever use PayPal to purchase from overseas, and if they do not accept PayPal, then I do not purchase from them.

    I immediately checked my bank and there were two pending amounts of $79.76 and $12.95. I phoned the bank informing them that I believed that was fraud and that I had been scammed. The bank told me that as I had given the company the credit card details, they could do nothing until the pending amounts had been cleared and then they could dispute the $12.95 amount as I had not agreed to that. They also said that if I did not receive the goods, then they would dispute both amounts. I thought that was a "cop out" on the bank's part.

    I then received an email from the company thanking me for my order and that it would be dispatched at once. I immediately replied saying that it was fraud to charge an amount that I had not agreed to and wanted to cancel the order.

    The company replied saying that they had canceled the order and the pending amounts would disappear within 24-48 hours.

    When this did not happen, I contacted the bank again and they said that the company had not tried to cancel the pending amounts. The bank gave me a fax number and told me that the company had to fax them a merchant release, then the pending amounts would disappear from my account.

    I sent the company the information from the bank. I had to contact them another three times before anything was done, the last time was in CAPITAL letters asking them when were they going to cancel the pending amounts and why were they not answering my emails. They did not answer!

    Finally, after five days the pending amounts were removed from my account. I have changed my credit card details so they cannot use the card again.

    After reading some of the other reviews, I believe that I have come out of this fairly well, even though it did cause me stress at the time.

    This company might be genuine as they did cancel my order and finally remove the credit charges, but I believe it is deceitful to say that something costs one amount and then charge extra. I believe that this is fraud.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    No Support

    • New South Wales, Australia,
    • Nov 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I must have been off my game when I purchased this item. By the time I got through all the crap and they offered the 'free' gift I thought I may as well. Clicked on the 'free' gift only to realize it was an extra $12+ postage! By this time I was angry and frustrated. I emailed 'support' (a term used loosely in this case) asking for a refund of the 'free' gift item and postage. Nothing.

    I rang my bank and disputed the $12+ postage. Emailed them and nothing. I put in a consumer claims email, emailed 'support' and nothing. Rang my bank back and disputed the whole amount!

    Reported the ad to Google. Posted my dissatisfaction on FB.

    My personal safety advice: If you are ever attacked simply channel some of the anger I'm feeling for this company at this moment. They will take one look at you and run the other way. They will forget who's attacking who and be found sobbing in a corner in a puddle of their own making. Or you could buy a really cheap one (probably the same thing?) at a $2 shop. Best of luck.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 1, 2018

      Wendy W.

      The ad for this product made it seem like it was made in Australia, I was on the Australian site and the purchase was definitely in Australian dollars. I decided to go ahead with the purchase and was charged AU currency at checkout. The amount they quoted for postage was $4.81. Then when they had my credit card details, they added an EXTRA $12.85 postage and I suddenly found out that it was an American company not Australian. Nowhere had they mentioned that they were American and that it would cost me extra for postage. I never give out my credit card details for anything purchased from overseas. If I cannot purchase overseas with PayPal, then I do not purchase. I immediately checked my bank details and they phoned the bank. They said they could not do anything because I had willingly given them my credit card details. I protested that I had never agreed to the extra $12.85 and believed that was fraud. They told me that I would have to wait until they had cleared the money as it was pending and then could dispute the amount.

      Meanwhile, I received an email from the company thanking me for my purchase and saying that the product would be dispatched as soon as possible. I immediately emailed them back and said I did not want their product, as I believed that they had charged me fraudulently and wished to cancel. I received an email back to state that they had canceled the product and the pending amount would disappear within 24 - 48 hours. This did not happen, so I once again contacted the bank, and I was informed that they had not attempted to cancel the pending amounts and would have to send a fax to a number they gave me and ask for a merchant release. I did this with no response from them. Then I received a survey from them asking about my experience with "service." I said I was very unhappy as nothing had happened, and gave them the details again to contact the bank to remove the two pending amounts. Still, nothing happened. Once again, I sent an email in capital letters asking when they were going to remove the pending amounts and asked why they were refusing to answer my emails. Finally, at the last minute, they did cancel the pending amounts so they have disappeared from my bank account.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Crappy customer service and a rip-off!

    • Waldorf, MD,
    • Nov 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is a horrible company! I placed an order with this company back in August and still don't have anything. My credit card was charged $220.28 and I do not get reimbursed unless I have the product.

    I have contacted this company on several occasions for either a refund or the products but they keep ignoring me. I am on my last leg dealing with this place!

    I want my money back!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Steal customer's money

    • Quebec, Canada,
    • Nov 21, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I saw the alarm products with an attractive story by a pop-out window. So I am interested to buy it. I filled out the shipping information and credit card. When I clicked "next" to review the order, the window showed "add one extra item only cost $13" and only a next button that you can click. If I click the next, they will force me to buy this extra item. They didn't have any like "no, thanks" button to click. So I got upset and closed the window. So I didn't finish the placing order. But they charged my credit card. Three days after, I found out this unauthorized transaction, I called the credit card service and this alarm company lied to the credit card service that I placed the order and also they shipped out the item. Only when I return the shipping and the alarm receives the returned item, they will refund me. Sixteen days after calling, I still have not received any items from them, but my credit card still get charged.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Junk!

    • Dallas, TX,
    • Nov 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    As others have said, not loud enough to scare anyone. I bought two for my children and both have stopped working within two months! Garbage. I wasted $12.00 on new batteries, and it still doesn’t work. Good luck contacting those criminals in San Francisco. I’m very upset!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Failure to receive returned items' refund to credit card account.

    • Lawrenceville, GA,
    • Nov 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    My credit card was charged on 8/27/2018 for three personal alarms and batteries. The email stated that batteries would be shipped later. Personal alarms were not what I expected, so when batteries arrived, unopened alarms and batteries were packaged and returned according to return instructions on dealer's website. These items carry a 90-day guarantee full refund less S&H. As of 11/08/2018, the credit does not appear on the credit card statement. Attempts to contact SafeSound at 1-833-501-2920 nets only long wait followed by a feminine voice stating there is no one to handle your call, try calling later.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 23 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Beware of "Customs charges"

    • Sussex, England,
    • Nov 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I haven't received my alarms yet so I can't comment on their satisfaction. I ordered two weeks ago and the Post Office tried to deliver today but left a card saying I had to pay £12.65 Customs Charge. There is NOTHING on their website or order form or acknowledgment that mentions any additional charges.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 21, 2018

      Pamela D.

      I too purchased these alarms, four of them, and before the post office would deliver, I had customs charge of £12:65. This company is a con.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 43 out 44 people found this review helpful

    Never received products

    • Seattle, WA,
    • Oct 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    This is October, I placed my order in July, which never arrived. I emailed them and "Pia" claims it was delivered and that I need to contact my post office.

    I realize I've been scammed out of $88.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 43 out 44 people found this review helpful

    Junk

    • New York City, NY,
    • Oct 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Don’t bother; it sounds like a chirping bird. Then they give you a hard time about returning your money. I hate it. It’s really a piece of junk. You could not hear that on a busy street or at night.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 43 out 43 people found this review helpful

    Cheap metal ring - lost alarm

    • Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Oct 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had my alarm for a week and it fell off the chain. It's the cheap metal ring that must have hooked into something and it easily bent and the alarm fell off and is lost, gone. I tried to contact them and post on their website, but they would not allow my post to go up. I want a new one and would replace the metal ring, a poor design, maybe deliberately made to fall off. Cheap design, the part must be replaced.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 53

Write a Review for SafeSound Personal Alarm!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review