What is the SafeSound Personal Alarm?

By Tyler Cooper
HighYa Staff Published on: Nov 12, 2017

Claiming to be saving millions of lives, the SafeSound Personal Alarm promises to provide you safety, protection, and peace of mind when out and about. The device is meant to look inconspicuous on a keychain, but with a quick pull of the pin on its top, it will unleash a roaring, constant 125dB (decibel) noise.

The product’s creators state that it requires no training or skills to operate, and that both men and women can use the system to feel safer as they go about their day. Though the device is clearly focused on preventing aggressive attacks, they state that it’s also ideal for seniors who have fallen and can’t get up, or for individuals that have gotten themselves lost in a remote area.

They also mention that the SafeSound is proven to be more effective than mace or pepper spray as a defense tool, though we didn’t encounter any evidence for this statement anywhere on the website. So, based on the information we’re given, just how loud can you expect the device to be, exactly?

Is the SafeSound Loud Enough to Deter Would-Be Attackers?

As mentioned above, the website states that the product is capable of putting out a continuous, 125dB screech for up to half an hour. For reference, a lawnmower is about 90dB, while a loud rock concert reaches roughly 110dB. At right about 150dB, you begin to run the risk of having your eardrums ruptured due to the sheer force of the sound waves being emitted.

So, knowing this, it’s clear that the 125dB put out by the SafeSound is extremely loud, and it stands to reason that a sound of that magnitude could certainly make a world of difference in several frightening situations.

For instance, if you were being followed or attacked at night while others are around, activating the SafeSound might help to draw immediate attention to your area, causing your potential attacker to flee instead. Of course, if you were in a very remote setting this might not be nearly as effective, which is important to keep in mind.

One thing we aren’t told is how the device is powered, or how long this power source is expected to work before needing to be replaced. We reached out to the support number listed on the website, but were unable to get through to a human operator as of the time of our research.

If we had to guess, we’d say the product was likely powered by replaceable watch-style batteries, but without official word from the company, we cannot confirm that this is the case.

SafeSound Personal Alarm Pricing & Return Policy

As of this writing, the SafeSound Personal Alarm was only available directly from the product’s main website. It is offered in three different quantities:

  • Two SafeSound Alarms: $39.95
  • Five SafeSound Alarms: $79.95
  • Ten SafeSound Alarms: $119.95

Shipping is free, and each order is covered by a 90-day satisfaction guarantee. To initiate a return, you’ll need to ship it back to the following address in its original packaging:

Shipping Department (SafeSound Personal Alarm)
10024 N Taryne St.
Hayden, ID 83835

You’ll be required to pay any return shipping fees associated with getting the product back for processing.

Purchasing A Personal Alarm Like SafeSound

Typing “personal alarm” into Google or the Amazon marketplace brings up hundreds of different results, many of which feature extremely similar designs to the SafeSound. The bulk of the devices we encountered during our research had alarms that ranged from 120dB to 130dB, with the highest we saw being listed at a whopping 140dB.

Crucially, these products all tended to be quite a bit less expensive than the SafeSound, ranging from just $7 to around $15-$20 at most. All of the options listed on Amazon were also available as a single purchase, whereas the SafeSound is only available in multiple quantities.

Finally, many of the products we encountered also had additional features, such as an LED safety light that can be activated whenever needed.

If you are searching for the right personal alarm for your needs, consider the following questions when looking around online:

  • Is a personal alarm like the SafeSound ideal for your needs in the first place? Consider where you live, and where you often find yourself on a daily basis. If you are frequently in high-traffic areas like the city, a personal alarm may be a very useful choice, but if you live in a more remote or isolated place, more direct alternatives such as mace or pepper spray may also be ideal.
  • If you’ve settled on a particular device, be sure to look around for reviews online. Places like Amazon are great for this, but also be sure to look here at Highya and other consumer advocacy websites during your research. Just be sure to stay alert and watch out for fake reviews.
  • Always understand the return policy going into your purchase. During our research into personal sonic alarms, we encountered a number of reviews for products similar to SafeSound in which users complained about high failure rates and other issues. Due to the importance of ensuring your alarm actually works when you need it to, always read through the return and refund policies thoroughly before pulling the trigger on a particular device.

The Bottom Line: Is the SafeSound Personal Alarm Right for You?

Bringing together everything that we’ve learned about the SafeSound Personal Alarm, can you truly expect it to provide protection from even the most vicious criminals, as the manufacturer states?

On the one hand, we learned that the product features an incredibly loud 125dB output, which is more than enough to draw immediate attention to you (and your attacker) when you need it most–provided you are in an area where others are nearby.

On the other hand, though the manufacturer says that the SafeSound has been proven to be more effective than conventional deterrents such as mace and pepper spray, we did not find any evidence for this claim on the company’s website, nor did we encounter any online during our research.

When coupled with the fact that dozens of similar options exist online for much less, as consumers ourselves, we feel that slowing down and taking a look at all of your choices before deciding on one may be the best course of action for most. This is especially true when you consider that many of these products feature hundreds of five-star reviews.

If you’d like to simply dive in and give the SafeSound Personal Alarm a shot, be sure to keep the 90-day return policy in mind, should you decide that it isn’t a right fit for you in the end.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

18 Consumer Reviews for SafeSound Personal Alarm

Average Consumer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 0 4 star: 0 3 star: 1 2 star: 1 1 star:  16
Bottom Line: 6% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 18
Sort reviews by:

  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Failed the test!

    • *Not Applicable,
    • Jun 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered two Personal Alarms and the cost was $53.53. They came a week ago but I wasn't able to test them until this morning when I went to a quiet location with no one around as I could not risk alarming my neighbours in this unit block.

    I followed the instruction to pull the key chain, and nothing happened! No sound at all! I assume the battery is inside, but it would require a special tool to remove the cover, but surely it would be advised if we had to buy a battery!?

    I am going to contact my bank and ask them to return my money to my account and explain why! As there seems no way to contact the seller, I did google the website.

    Very disappointing. I should have known better! There should be a zero rating but as none, I have to click on to one or this won't go!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Misleading purchase

    • London, United Kingdom,
    • May 27, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I waited for over two weeks and today I received a Royal Mail card, and it said I have to pay £22.20 to collect my parcel.

    I have already paid £12.26 in shipping fees when I ordered them. I am not going to collect them, and the card said they will be returning to the sender after 21 days.

    My order is over £100 and I paid by credit card, so I am hoping I will get all my money back.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Bought two alarms on 3/5/18, have not received it yet.

    • United Kingdom,
    • May 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Please, where are my orders and why haven't I received them yet. Reading from some of the reviews, not good ones. I hope they chase up and let me know why the delay. Thanks.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Most unsatisfactory

    • Lancashire, United Kingdom,
    • May 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I share Jennifer's views as I am already in dispute with this company. My invoice was issued 1/20/18 and I charge was £39.56 including £2.11 shipping charge. When Royal Mail tried to deliver to me, there was a customs surcharge of £13.65, so I refused to accept the parcel. I contacted SafeSound and they offered to reimburse the customs charge, but by then it was too late. The parcel was sent to me from an address in Germany.

    I again contacted SafeSound and was informed that the Royal Mail would hold the item for 21 days from 2/2/18. I was told that my card would be refunded and I would be informed when the alarm was received. To date, 4/28/18, I have heard nothing except a reply to my recent email, which totally misinterprets my message and simply offers to refund half of the customs charge i.e. £6.57.

    I intend to take further action and seek help from Trading Standards. If anyone is still interested in buying this alarm, it requires AG 13 batteries.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 21 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Terrible

    • Wichita, KS,
    • Mar 16, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the SafeSound alert alarms and never received them. After seeing other reviews, I called my credit card company, who is filing a fraud case against the company. This is a rip-off and I do not recommend this company to anyone. The UPS tracking number was bogus, and the card company said it showed delivery had been made. What a slimy bunch they are.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 26 out 28 people found this review helpful

    UK postage warning

    I ordered the alarms and batteries at a cost of £39.56 ($54.80), not realizing that they were coming from the USA, as all prices on the advert were in £'s. I got notification from my royal mail that I needed to pay a £8 customs charge and a £6.01 post office charge before they would deliver my item. I contacted SafeSound and was told that's normal, and if I wanted the item I had to pay. I was not happy with that reply and asked for a refund. They then came back and offered to pay half of it. Our post office says they will hold the package for 18-21 days and then it's returned to sender, so it looks like if I don't pay the charge, they win by getting the item back and keeping my money, and I lose the £39.56.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 13, 2018

      Sybil Lee

      My experience was exactly identical to your Jennifer, including the offer from SafeSound to pay half the customs charge, which was actually £8 Royal Mail handling fee and £5.83 VAT. I grudgingly paid this to the post office this morning to collect my parcel. As you said, if the company advised people of these charges when they ordered, it would be transparent and not a nasty shock.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Sent to the wrong state

    • Washburn, MO,
    • Mar 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I checked the mailing address three times. It said the state of Missouri (MO), yet they sent it to the state of Montana (MT). I guess I've been scammed. I emailed them of their mistake and still have not gotten a response from them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 17 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Unsatisfied

    The key ring has come loose from the detonator. The clamps need to be stronger, so when you pull it, it won't come a loose. It still works, but I had to piece it back together. At this moment I wouldn't recommend it until it is improved with stronger clamps for the price of the device.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Don't buy it!

    • Wyndham Vale, Victoria, Australia,
    • Mar 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received two personal alarms today and have been trying to pull the pin out. I cannot. There is no purchase whatsoever on the sides of the pin to enable fingers to manipulate it. I'm sorry I bought it. Also, there are no instructions on how to change batteries, and I cannot remove the top of the battery compartment.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Shameful

    If a bad guy holds one of your hands, how easy it is to pull out the key ring? In my case, three friends tried to pull out the ring with two hands and couldn't do it. Making fun of people. Not nice.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Never received my two personal alarms!

    • Manchester, United Kingdom,
    • Mar 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I paid for two personal alarms and never received them. I am furious. I rang the delivery company, DPD, and they said I had signed for them but I never did. Please, will you contact me ASAP.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 18

Write a Review for SafeSound Personal Alarm!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review