What is the SafeSound Personal Alarm?

By Tyler Cooper
HighYa Staff Published on: Nov 12, 2017

Claiming to be saving millions of lives, the SafeSound Personal Alarm promises to provide you safety, protection, and peace of mind when out and about. The device is meant to look inconspicuous on a keychain, but with a quick pull of the pin on its top, it will unleash a roaring, constant 125dB (decibel) noise.

The product’s creators state that it requires no training or skills to operate, and that both men and women can use the system to feel safer as they go about their day. Though the device is clearly focused on preventing aggressive attacks, they state that it’s also ideal for seniors who have fallen and can’t get up, or for individuals that have gotten themselves lost in a remote area.

They also mention that the SafeSound is proven to be more effective than mace or pepper spray as a defense tool, though we didn’t encounter any evidence for this statement anywhere on the website. So, based on the information we’re given, just how loud can you expect the device to be, exactly?

Is the SafeSound Loud Enough to Deter Would-Be Attackers?

As mentioned above, the website states that the product is capable of putting out a continuous, 125dB screech for up to half an hour. For reference, a lawnmower is about 90dB, while a loud rock concert reaches roughly 110dB. At right about 150dB, you begin to run the risk of having your eardrums ruptured due to the sheer force of the sound waves being emitted.

So, knowing this, it’s clear that the 125dB put out by the SafeSound is extremely loud, and it stands to reason that a sound of that magnitude could certainly make a world of difference in several frightening situations.

For instance, if you were being followed or attacked at night while others are around, activating the SafeSound might help to draw immediate attention to your area, causing your potential attacker to flee instead. Of course, if you were in a very remote setting this might not be nearly as effective, which is important to keep in mind.

One thing we aren’t told is how the device is powered, or how long this power source is expected to work before needing to be replaced. We reached out to the support number listed on the website, but were unable to get through to a human operator as of the time of our research.

If we had to guess, we’d say the product was likely powered by replaceable watch-style batteries, but without official word from the company, we cannot confirm that this is the case.

SafeSound Personal Alarm Pricing & Return Policy

As of this writing, the SafeSound Personal Alarm was only available directly from the product’s main website. It is offered in three different quantities:

  • Two SafeSound Alarms: $39.95
  • Five SafeSound Alarms: $79.95
  • Ten SafeSound Alarms: $119.95

Shipping is free, and each order is covered by a 90-day satisfaction guarantee. To initiate a return, you’ll need to ship it back to the following address in its original packaging:

Shipping Department (SafeSound Personal Alarm)
10024 N Taryne St.
Hayden, ID 83835

You’ll be required to pay any return shipping fees associated with getting the product back for processing.

Purchasing A Personal Alarm Like SafeSound

Typing “personal alarm” into Google or the Amazon marketplace brings up hundreds of different results, many of which feature extremely similar designs to the SafeSound. The bulk of the devices we encountered during our research had alarms that ranged from 120dB to 130dB, with the highest we saw being listed at a whopping 140dB.

Crucially, these products all tended to be quite a bit less expensive than the SafeSound, ranging from just $7 to around $15-$20 at most. All of the options listed on Amazon were also available as a single purchase, whereas the SafeSound is only available in multiple quantities.

Finally, many of the products we encountered also had additional features, such as an LED safety light that can be activated whenever needed.

If you are searching for the right personal alarm for your needs, consider the following questions when looking around online:

  • Is a personal alarm like the SafeSound ideal for your needs in the first place? Consider where you live, and where you often find yourself on a daily basis. If you are frequently in high-traffic areas like the city, a personal alarm may be a very useful choice, but if you live in a more remote or isolated place, more direct alternatives such as mace or pepper spray may also be ideal.
  • If you’ve settled on a particular device, be sure to look around for reviews online. Places like Amazon are great for this, but also be sure to look here at Highya and other consumer advocacy websites during your research. Just be sure to stay alert and watch out for fake reviews.
  • Always understand the return policy going into your purchase. During our research into personal sonic alarms, we encountered a number of reviews for products similar to SafeSound in which users complained about high failure rates and other issues. Due to the importance of ensuring your alarm actually works when you need it to, always read through the return and refund policies thoroughly before pulling the trigger on a particular device.

The Bottom Line: Is the SafeSound Personal Alarm Right for You?

Bringing together everything that we’ve learned about the SafeSound Personal Alarm, can you truly expect it to provide protection from even the most vicious criminals, as the manufacturer states?

On the one hand, we learned that the product features an incredibly loud 125dB output, which is more than enough to draw immediate attention to you (and your attacker) when you need it most–provided you are in an area where others are nearby.

On the other hand, though the manufacturer says that the SafeSound has been proven to be more effective than conventional deterrents such as mace and pepper spray, we did not find any evidence for this claim on the company’s website, nor did we encounter any online during our research.

When coupled with the fact that dozens of similar options exist online for much less, as consumers ourselves, we feel that slowing down and taking a look at all of your choices before deciding on one may be the best course of action for most. This is especially true when you consider that many of these products feature hundreds of five-star reviews.

If you’d like to simply dive in and give the SafeSound Personal Alarm a shot, be sure to keep the 90-day return policy in mind, should you decide that it isn’t a right fit for you in the end.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

44 Consumer Reviews for SafeSound Personal Alarm

Average Consumer Rating: 1.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 3 4 star: 0 3 star: 2 2 star: 4 1 star:  35
Bottom Line: 9% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 44
Sort reviews by:

  • Junk

    • New York City, NY,
    • Oct 15, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Don’t bother; it sounds like a chirping bird. Then they give you a hard time about returning your money. I hate it. It’s really a piece of junk. You could not hear that on a busy street or at night.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Cheap metal ring - lost alarm

    • Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Oct 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had my alarm for a week and it fell off the chain. It's the cheap metal ring that must have hooked into something and it easily bent and the alarm fell off and is lost, gone. I tried to contact them and post on their website, but they would not allow my post to go up. I want a new one and would replace the metal ring, a poor design, maybe deliberately made to fall off. Cheap design, the part must be replaced.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Do not purchase

    • London, England,
    • Oct 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I paid for one of these on the 1st of August this year, and to date, it still has not arrived. I keep asking for a refund, but they keep telling me that until it arrives back with them, they can’t refund.

    I have no control over whether it gets back to them or not, but they still won’t refund me.

    A total waste of time. They are keeping my money illegally.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Didn't get all my items

    • Gorey, County Wexford, Ireland,
    • Sep 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I paid for five items on the 30th of August, totaling 127.47 Euros. I have only received two items, where are the other three? I am an old age pensioner, so I need the other items or my money refunded.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Never arrived!

    • Devon, United Kingdom,
    • Sep 13, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered two alarms over a month ago. Countless emails, "hope you are well" (sickening American "I'm your friend" rubbish). I don't want them as a friend, where is the product?

    I will not let this rest, will take them to small claims court! I wish I had read reviews before ordering.

    Do not order from this company!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Charges without review/customer service phone number

    • Wisconsin,
    • Sep 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was reviewing the SafeSound product and did NOT enter my correct name, address, or phone as I usually do to test a site to see what other "catches" there might be before completing an order.

    Well, your name, address, phone, or email does not have to be valid or match your credit card account for the charge to be approved and the order to go through.

    As other reviews have stated, once you hit submit it takes you to numerous other offers to add on additional products. One of which is the batteries for this item. Nowhere does it state before ordering that you have to buy the batteries separately.

    I was lucky enough to get my bank to work with me and unauthorize the charges, but don't wish to see this happen to anyone else. The SafeSound company will not give you an order number or cancellation confirmation number; they are supposedly only sent via email. When I asked for a confirmation number of the cancellation, I was hung up on.

    If you ever have a problem with this company, the Customer Service phone provided to me by my bank is 833-501-2920.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Do not purchase

    • United Kingdom,
    • Sep 9, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I placed my order on July 24, 2018. Since this date I have been chasing my order. The customer service are a disgrace! They say delivery attempt has been made, they don't say by whom, they just tell me to try my local post office. This has been ongoing for 7 weeks and still I await my order. I have asked for a refund to which this company has ignored my request and repeatedly reply with "contact your local post office." I have asked at several "local" post offices in my county but without proof of order they cannot tell me anything or even go by my name. There is no proof that they have even sent the items. DO NOT order from this company!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 10, 2018

      Romny M.

      The exact same thing is happening to me, I keep sending emails to their support group and they keep telling me to take it up with the local post office. What's wrong with this world? I guess I have been scammed. Absolutely disgusting.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Merchandise is junk.

    • Texas,
    • Sep 8, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    When I received the two alarms, there were no instructions other than to pull the chain. When we did that, the chains on both alarms broke immediately. You can't put it back together because the link broken is flimsy wire. I ordered from a location which shows San Francisco on my order. They charged $45.27 for two, but I looked on Amazon later and they are listed very cheap. I think this is a product someone has created very cheap just to make a lot of money before the public finds out it's crap.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Scam alert

    • Salt Lake City, UT,
    • Sep 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    It was advertised on KSL.com news. They start out by hooking you in with a story about a man who lost his daughter. Once you attempt to purchase one you get stuck after giving your charge card number as they try to rope you in for extra products. I was not offered a way out. I did not finalize the purchase and just turned off the computer. I got charged anyway.

    I received the product and it is not loud at all! This product would not offer any added protection as a person yelling would be at least twice as loud. Shame on you KSL! Shame on you SafeSound!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Double billed

    • California,
    • Sep 7, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was billed twice for these alarms. I have been sending four emails to PIA but I just keep getting a copy of the original bill with an explanation. I have now called TWICE, and after holding on the line for a period of time, they come back "all agents are busy, call back at a later time."

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    A con

    • Devon, England,
    • Sep 3, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm not usually taken in, but this time they got me. It's certainly a brilliant ad for a vastly inferior product which is way over-priced for what it is. This experience has totally put me off buying anything from the internet unless it is via eBay or Amazon, or an established company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 44

Write a Review for SafeSound Personal Alarm!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review