What is the SafeSound Personal Alarm?

By Tyler Cooper
HighYa Staff Published on: Nov 12, 2017

Claiming to be saving millions of lives, the SafeSound Personal Alarm promises to provide you safety, protection, and peace of mind when out and about. The device is meant to look inconspicuous on a keychain, but with a quick pull of the pin on its top, it will unleash a roaring, constant 125dB (decibel) noise.

The product’s creators state that it requires no training or skills to operate, and that both men and women can use the system to feel safer as they go about their day. Though the device is clearly focused on preventing aggressive attacks, they state that it’s also ideal for seniors who have fallen and can’t get up, or for individuals that have gotten themselves lost in a remote area.

They also mention that the SafeSound is proven to be more effective than mace or pepper spray as a defense tool, though we didn’t encounter any evidence for this statement anywhere on the website. So, based on the information we’re given, just how loud can you expect the device to be, exactly?

Is the SafeSound Loud Enough to Deter Would-Be Attackers?

As mentioned above, the website states that the product is capable of putting out a continuous, 125dB screech for up to half an hour. For reference, a lawnmower is about 90dB, while a loud rock concert reaches roughly 110dB. At right about 150dB, you begin to run the risk of having your eardrums ruptured due to the sheer force of the sound waves being emitted.

So, knowing this, it’s clear that the 125dB put out by the SafeSound is extremely loud, and it stands to reason that a sound of that magnitude could certainly make a world of difference in several frightening situations.

For instance, if you were being followed or attacked at night while others are around, activating the SafeSound might help to draw immediate attention to your area, causing your potential attacker to flee instead. Of course, if you were in a very remote setting this might not be nearly as effective, which is important to keep in mind.

One thing we aren’t told is how the device is powered, or how long this power source is expected to work before needing to be replaced. We reached out to the support number listed on the website, but were unable to get through to a human operator as of the time of our research.

If we had to guess, we’d say the product was likely powered by replaceable watch-style batteries, but without official word from the company, we cannot confirm that this is the case.

SafeSound Personal Alarm Pricing & Return Policy

As of this writing, the SafeSound Personal Alarm was only available directly from the product’s main website. It is offered in three different quantities:

  • Two SafeSound Alarms: $39.95
  • Five SafeSound Alarms: $79.95
  • Ten SafeSound Alarms: $119.95

Shipping is free, and each order is covered by a 90-day satisfaction guarantee. To initiate a return, you’ll need to ship it back to the following address in its original packaging:

Shipping Department (SafeSound Personal Alarm)
10024 N Taryne St.
Hayden, ID 83835

You’ll be required to pay any return shipping fees associated with getting the product back for processing.

Purchasing A Personal Alarm Like SafeSound

Typing “personal alarm” into Google or the Amazon marketplace brings up hundreds of different results, many of which feature extremely similar designs to the SafeSound. The bulk of the devices we encountered during our research had alarms that ranged from 120dB to 130dB, with the highest we saw being listed at a whopping 140dB.

Crucially, these products all tended to be quite a bit less expensive than the SafeSound, ranging from just $7 to around $15-$20 at most. All of the options listed on Amazon were also available as a single purchase, whereas the SafeSound is only available in multiple quantities.

Finally, many of the products we encountered also had additional features, such as an LED safety light that can be activated whenever needed.

If you are searching for the right personal alarm for your needs, consider the following questions when looking around online:

  • Is a personal alarm like the SafeSound ideal for your needs in the first place? Consider where you live, and where you often find yourself on a daily basis. If you are frequently in high-traffic areas like the city, a personal alarm may be a very useful choice, but if you live in a more remote or isolated place, more direct alternatives such as mace or pepper spray may also be ideal.
  • If you’ve settled on a particular device, be sure to look around for reviews online. Places like Amazon are great for this, but also be sure to look here at Highya and other consumer advocacy websites during your research. Just be sure to stay alert and watch out for fake reviews.
  • Always understand the return policy going into your purchase. During our research into personal sonic alarms, we encountered a number of reviews for products similar to SafeSound in which users complained about high failure rates and other issues. Due to the importance of ensuring your alarm actually works when you need it to, always read through the return and refund policies thoroughly before pulling the trigger on a particular device.

The Bottom Line: Is the SafeSound Personal Alarm Right for You?

Bringing together everything that we’ve learned about the SafeSound Personal Alarm, can you truly expect it to provide protection from even the most vicious criminals, as the manufacturer states?

On the one hand, we learned that the product features an incredibly loud 125dB output, which is more than enough to draw immediate attention to you (and your attacker) when you need it most–provided you are in an area where others are nearby.

On the other hand, though the manufacturer says that the SafeSound has been proven to be more effective than conventional deterrents such as mace and pepper spray, we did not find any evidence for this claim on the company’s website, nor did we encounter any online during our research.

When coupled with the fact that dozens of similar options exist online for much less, as consumers ourselves, we feel that slowing down and taking a look at all of your choices before deciding on one may be the best course of action for most. This is especially true when you consider that many of these products feature hundreds of five-star reviews.

If you’d like to simply dive in and give the SafeSound Personal Alarm a shot, be sure to keep the 90-day return policy in mind, should you decide that it isn’t a right fit for you in the end.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 70 SafeSound Personal Alarm Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 5 4 star: 0 3 star: 3 2 star: 5 1 star:  57
Bottom Line: 10% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 70
Sort reviews by:

  • I have not received credit for 3 alarms that were returned.

    • Spotsylvania, VA,
    • Apr 19, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered three alarms on March 7th and returned them, unopened, on March 20th. I had a tracking number. They received them March 22nd. I have not gotten a credit for these yet. I cannot get through on the phone number listed. I waited for 15 minutes when a recording said there was no one to take my call. I would appreciate a credit to my account.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 15 people found this review helpful

    Still waiting

    • Victoria, Australia,
    • Mar 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    It looks like an awesome thing to have. BUT after I paid - still waiting for it to arrive. Any notification of its whereabouts would be useful, please. Once I receive it, I would be happy to give an accurate review.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 28 out 30 people found this review helpful

    SafeSound Personal Alarm

    • Enola, PA,
    • Mar 18, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought three and batteries. Carried one on my purse the other in my pocket when I walked. They worked when I got them but then when I went to show a friend how loud it is, nothing, tried the other one, nothing. Put in their new batteries, nothing. Opened the third one and it worked, but I will not be relying on it for protection in case it doesn’t work when needed.

    DO NOT BUY! I called the company, made a video as requested, but the video would not go through to the address they gave me. Called back and they said since I bought it in October they can’t know what I did so they will not do anything. Fortunately, I didn’t have cause to use it in a real situation. AGAIN, DO NOT BUY!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 21 out 21 people found this review helpful

    Don't purchase - not loud - a scam

    • Florida,
    • Mar 14, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    40 calls to their noted "Award Winning Customer Service 1(844)470-9681" and each time says no customer service rep available, please try again later. No order #, pricing on the inserted paperwork. I purchased 10. Called my credit card company and they will make sure I receive my credit. Taking to the Post Office today to return.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Mar 25, 2019

      Rejane P.

      Thank you so much Charlene S for giving the phone number. I couldn’t find their number. I called them right after my purchase in January 2019 asking them to cancel and refund me. But nothing was happening. I finally called them on March 21st and got a certain Carla on the phone. I also sent an email to support@safesoundsecurityproducts.com asking for a refund. And miraculously my credit card was credited! Yeepee. Merci for the phone number.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    I paid a total of £12.59 in charges

    • Doncaster, United Kingdom,
    • Mar 5, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I only just received mine and thus have not tried out the item. However, would be purchasers in the UK need to be aware that Customs will check the package, VAT will be charged, and a further charge for handling by Royal Mail (£8.50) I was charged a total of £12.60 to collect my item from the Post Office.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 23 out 24 people found this review helpful

    DO NOT BUY.

    • United Kingdom,
    • Mar 3, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I rarely submit to an emotive sell, but this ad was placed just after a UK student went missing.

    This is also the first review I have ever been motivated to post.

    I bought 5 for daughters and nieces at the university. I was coerced into buying 6, but managed to get a refund for the 6th. REAL hard sell after they have your card details. Leaves a nasty taste in your mouth.

    I had no idea they were being shipped from overseas and was charged £12.50 extra in duty, w.hich I insisted they pay. They did.

    I just got the alarms. The only one we opened, the key ring has broken. It is not very loud. My husband couldn't hear it inside the house when I set it off right outside. There is no apparent low battery warning. It is a very cheap and poor quality product and would certainly not inspire any confidence

    DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Alarm scam

    • Glenoma, WA,
    • Feb 27, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    This personal alarm is a total scam. I bought two of them and neither one is the rated 125db. Don't waste your hard-earned money on these defective alarms rated at 125db because they don't produce anywhere there what they say. I could put an alarm and activate it right next to a babies ear (1 inch) and the baby would not even stir let alone wake up. The db level is more like 15db at the most. I will never purchase anything from SafeSound again.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 23 out 24 people found this review helpful

    SafeSound Personal Alarm

    • Canton, GA,
    • Feb 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    On 12/8/18 at 3:11 pm, I placed my order online for 3 of these alarms for a total of $69.92...$54.95 subtotal + $12.77 shipping + $2.20 taxes and fees. The alarms were for my granddaughters as a Christmas gift. As soon as I saw them, I was upset and knew they would be returned because I was not about to give them to my family. Not at all what I expected. On 12/28/18, I called for return info and was put on HOLD FOR 30 minutes. No one answered. I found the return instructions online to be sent to a different address and in the same package. I followed this to a tee. On 12/31/18, the package was mailed from the local Post Office. As of 2/15/2019, no refund, no contact, nothing. HELP!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 17 people found this review helpful

    Don’t work properly

    • Wirral, England,
    • Feb 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased six SafeSound Personal Alarms for my family to use and had to pay over £14 import duty. Having tested the alarms none of them reached the 125DB they are supposed to be reaching, only a maximum of 107DB. I have sent two emails to the company and have not received a reply from them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 22 out 22 people found this review helpful

    It's a scam.

    • Honolulu, HI,
    • Feb 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I went through the next order page(s), and put in my credit card numbers, but the next page said that you have to order the batteries, at $10 each, 5 for the alarms, but another charge for the batteries, plus the FREE grift was not FREE you had to pay for shipping at another $10. It's a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 20 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Feb 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The package was not delivered even though they claim it was. Back and forth emails and still no satisfaction. They basically wash their hands of the situation after taking my money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 70

Write a Review for SafeSound Personal Alarm!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review