What is the SafeSound Personal Alarm?

By Tyler Cooper
HighYa Staff Published on: Nov 12, 2017

Claiming to be saving millions of lives, the SafeSound Personal Alarm promises to provide you safety, protection, and peace of mind when out and about. The device is meant to look inconspicuous on a keychain, but with a quick pull of the pin on its top, it will unleash a roaring, constant 125dB (decibel) noise.

The product’s creators state that it requires no training or skills to operate, and that both men and women can use the system to feel safer as they go about their day. Though the device is clearly focused on preventing aggressive attacks, they state that it’s also ideal for seniors who have fallen and can’t get up, or for individuals that have gotten themselves lost in a remote area.

They also mention that the SafeSound is proven to be more effective than mace or pepper spray as a defense tool, though we didn’t encounter any evidence for this statement anywhere on the website. So, based on the information we’re given, just how loud can you expect the device to be, exactly?

Is the SafeSound Loud Enough to Deter Would-Be Attackers?

As mentioned above, the website states that the product is capable of putting out a continuous, 125dB screech for up to half an hour. For reference, a lawnmower is about 90dB, while a loud rock concert reaches roughly 110dB. At right about 150dB, you begin to run the risk of having your eardrums ruptured due to the sheer force of the sound waves being emitted.

So, knowing this, it’s clear that the 125dB put out by the SafeSound is extremely loud, and it stands to reason that a sound of that magnitude could certainly make a world of difference in several frightening situations.

For instance, if you were being followed or attacked at night while others are around, activating the SafeSound might help to draw immediate attention to your area, causing your potential attacker to flee instead. Of course, if you were in a very remote setting this might not be nearly as effective, which is important to keep in mind.

One thing we aren’t told is how the device is powered, or how long this power source is expected to work before needing to be replaced. We reached out to the support number listed on the website, but were unable to get through to a human operator as of the time of our research.

If we had to guess, we’d say the product was likely powered by replaceable watch-style batteries, but without official word from the company, we cannot confirm that this is the case.

SafeSound Personal Alarm Pricing & Return Policy

As of this writing, the SafeSound Personal Alarm was only available directly from the product’s main website. It is offered in three different quantities:

  • Two SafeSound Alarms: $39.95
  • Five SafeSound Alarms: $79.95
  • Ten SafeSound Alarms: $119.95

Shipping is free, and each order is covered by a 90-day satisfaction guarantee. To initiate a return, you’ll need to ship it back to the following address in its original packaging:

Shipping Department (SafeSound Personal Alarm)
10024 N Taryne St.
Hayden, ID 83835

You’ll be required to pay any return shipping fees associated with getting the product back for processing.

Purchasing A Personal Alarm Like SafeSound

Typing “personal alarm” into Google or the Amazon marketplace brings up hundreds of different results, many of which feature extremely similar designs to the SafeSound. The bulk of the devices we encountered during our research had alarms that ranged from 120dB to 130dB, with the highest we saw being listed at a whopping 140dB.

Crucially, these products all tended to be quite a bit less expensive than the SafeSound, ranging from just $7 to around $15-$20 at most. All of the options listed on Amazon were also available as a single purchase, whereas the SafeSound is only available in multiple quantities.

Finally, many of the products we encountered also had additional features, such as an LED safety light that can be activated whenever needed.

If you are searching for the right personal alarm for your needs, consider the following questions when looking around online:

  • Is a personal alarm like the SafeSound ideal for your needs in the first place? Consider where you live, and where you often find yourself on a daily basis. If you are frequently in high-traffic areas like the city, a personal alarm may be a very useful choice, but if you live in a more remote or isolated place, more direct alternatives such as mace or pepper spray may also be ideal.
  • If you’ve settled on a particular device, be sure to look around for reviews online. Places like Amazon are great for this, but also be sure to look here at Highya and other consumer advocacy websites during your research. Just be sure to stay alert and watch out for fake reviews.
  • Always understand the return policy going into your purchase. During our research into personal sonic alarms, we encountered a number of reviews for products similar to SafeSound in which users complained about high failure rates and other issues. Due to the importance of ensuring your alarm actually works when you need it to, always read through the return and refund policies thoroughly before pulling the trigger on a particular device.

The Bottom Line: Is the SafeSound Personal Alarm Right for You?

Bringing together everything that we’ve learned about the SafeSound Personal Alarm, can you truly expect it to provide protection from even the most vicious criminals, as the manufacturer states?

On the one hand, we learned that the product features an incredibly loud 125dB output, which is more than enough to draw immediate attention to you (and your attacker) when you need it most–provided you are in an area where others are nearby.

On the other hand, though the manufacturer says that the SafeSound has been proven to be more effective than conventional deterrents such as mace and pepper spray, we did not find any evidence for this claim on the company’s website, nor did we encounter any online during our research.

When coupled with the fact that dozens of similar options exist online for much less, as consumers ourselves, we feel that slowing down and taking a look at all of your choices before deciding on one may be the best course of action for most. This is especially true when you consider that many of these products feature hundreds of five-star reviews.

If you’d like to simply dive in and give the SafeSound Personal Alarm a shot, be sure to keep the 90-day return policy in mind, should you decide that it isn’t a right fit for you in the end.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

31 Consumer Reviews for SafeSound Personal Alarm

Average Consumer Rating: 1.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 3 4 star: 0 3 star: 1 2 star: 3 1 star:  24
Bottom Line: 13% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 31
Sort reviews by:

  • 2 out 4 people found this review helpful

    I just bought 3 personal alarms for my grandchildren, opened one, worked only once.

    • Essendon, Victoria, Australia,
    • Aug 17, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Opened one of three and it worked only once. What is wrong with it, or what can I do please? We are frightened if we open the other two the same might happen. Will they replace the one not working? Thank you. I am hoping to hear from them to have a replacement.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Very satisfied

    • Huntley, IL,
    • Aug 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I had no problem ordering the product online through manufacturers website, I received an email confirmation promptly, then I was able to track delivery through USPS website, it was delivered in five days. I have no problem with the white color, as I purchased the five units for my family and friends protection, not a fashion piece. Hopefully, it's never needed but it will bring some peace of mind to the users and myself. I should have ordered more, what a nice gift for a loved one?

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Ordered three SafeSound "Alarms"

    • Lake Worth, FL,
    • Aug 14, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    One doesn't work at all and the other two are pathetic excuses for alarms. Company (PIA) is trying to convince me to take a 65% refund rather than return the cheap merchandise they sold me - telling me the return postage could be as high as $18.00. Pure junk. Buyer beware!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 7 people found this review helpful

    This is not about an alarm, it is about your live.

    • Yonkers, NY,
    • Aug 12, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I am a crime victim, and I see that people are focusing on colors, and many stupid things, this is something serious people. I have been struggling since the night I had an attempt to murder attack by a resident in the lobby of the building where my job was located (Bronx, 2008). Just a few minutes before to clock out he jumped on me and stabbed me multiple times, but nobody was around, because the management removed the securities to save money, no even the security cameras were working according to them, so nobody, none of the programs running businesses in the building wanted to take responsibility for the issue. They played with the lives of the employees and many people, they covered themselves with lies, and more lies...besides to change the names, even the attacker was released already.

    I am still waiting for justice. I wish I could have an alarm that night, maybe someone or even my kids that were waiting for me outside could help me, since that night my personal and professional life were destroyed. It is very painful to talk about it. I am not receiving a penny for writing about this, I just don't want anybody else to have such a nightmare. Just get an alarm or anything to protect yourself, your life is the most important after all. Nobody care for you, but you.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Aug 10, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Wow! I bought five and three broke. Thank goodness I tested before giving to people I love as a line of protection. The $80.00 lost made me mad, but the false sense of security really pissed me off! Stupid product. Please test before giving to your loved ones. They won't work if you are really in a jam. Don't take my word for it. Test yourself!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 20 people found this review helpful

    Not happy

    I am not happy that they advertise this in three colors. Yet I was not given a choice of color. When they showed up, they were both white.

    It might sound petty, but if I'm spending money I don't have a lot of for my safety, I should be given a choice of color. They show pink, blue and white. I would have liked a blue and pink one.

    So it's kind of a scam.

    I don't like it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 15 out 19 people found this review helpful

    I did not receive two alarms

    • London, United Kingdom,
    • Aug 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought two alarms on 3/7/18 but I have not received them. I suspect that this is definitely a scam. I wish I did not try to purchase these items. What more can I say to fill the complaint? NO rating deserved. Scam!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 16 people found this review helpful

    Buyer beware

    • Texas,
    • Aug 2, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I feel SafeSound Personal Alarm uses unethical practices to lure buyers. I was online doing some comparative shopping between several keychain personal alarms. I had filled out the purchase page on SafeSound but never clicked confirm purchase. While I was comparative shopping on Amazon, my order went through without my permission. I contacted SafeSound within a few hours. SafeSound said it was too late, the order had already been processed. They offered to refund my costs if I returned the product, minus any shipping and handling. FOUL!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 16 out 18 people found this review helpful

    Extra line of order added to my wish

    • Meurthe-et-Moselle, France,
    • Aug 1, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the Safesound Personal Alarm directly from the same firm. It happens that their email is misspelled on their page, hence not recognized, but even if corrected, based on the name of the firm, the corrected email is injoignable, as testified by a message error from the Internet.

    They ask you to fill out your bank coordinates first prior to ordering.

    But after I had ordered my item, they added a new line of order doubling mine. And I could not correct the supposed error.

    Stay away from these people.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 14 out 21 people found this review helpful

    False advertising

    • Maryland,
    • Jul 28, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    On the images above and the actual package, this company shows that they have three different colors. White, blue, reddish pink. On my address label, I specified blue. I received white. When I contacted them to ask why did I not get what I requested, they state, "white is what we have." There was never an explanation of why they have three colors showing but you can only get the white one. I have requested instructions on how to return it. I will return it this coming Friday. I hope I will not have issues getting my refund.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 19 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Beware!

    • Greenwich, CT,
    • Jul 23, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wish I had Googled this company before placing an order and giving them my bank information. After doing so, a new screen immediately popped up urging me to order more of the product at a "special price" I was turned off and left the website. I contacted my bank (I wish I had thought to do so immediately) and fortunately I will not have to give this company a cent. The response I got to the email I sent asking for the order to be canceled was that it was "too late." My bank canceled my card and is issuing me a new one so that these scammers will not be able to make use of the information they now have. The bank also assured me I will not have to pay this company anything. I wish this site had a "zero stars" option. Do not do business with this company!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 31

Write a Review for SafeSound Personal Alarm!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review