What is the SafeSound Personal Alarm?

By Tyler Cooper
HighYa Staff Published on: Nov 12, 2017

Claiming to be saving millions of lives, the SafeSound Personal Alarm promises to provide you safety, protection, and peace of mind when out and about. The device is meant to look inconspicuous on a keychain, but with a quick pull of the pin on its top, it will unleash a roaring, constant 125dB (decibel) noise.

The product’s creators state that it requires no training or skills to operate, and that both men and women can use the system to feel safer as they go about their day. Though the device is clearly focused on preventing aggressive attacks, they state that it’s also ideal for seniors who have fallen and can’t get up, or for individuals that have gotten themselves lost in a remote area.

They also mention that the SafeSound is proven to be more effective than mace or pepper spray as a defense tool, though we didn’t encounter any evidence for this statement anywhere on the website. So, based on the information we’re given, just how loud can you expect the device to be, exactly?

Is the SafeSound Loud Enough to Deter Would-Be Attackers?

As mentioned above, the website states that the product is capable of putting out a continuous, 125dB screech for up to half an hour. For reference, a lawnmower is about 90dB, while a loud rock concert reaches roughly 110dB. At right about 150dB, you begin to run the risk of having your eardrums ruptured due to the sheer force of the sound waves being emitted.

So, knowing this, it’s clear that the 125dB put out by the SafeSound is extremely loud, and it stands to reason that a sound of that magnitude could certainly make a world of difference in several frightening situations.

For instance, if you were being followed or attacked at night while others are around, activating the SafeSound might help to draw immediate attention to your area, causing your potential attacker to flee instead. Of course, if you were in a very remote setting this might not be nearly as effective, which is important to keep in mind.

One thing we aren’t told is how the device is powered, or how long this power source is expected to work before needing to be replaced. We reached out to the support number listed on the website, but were unable to get through to a human operator as of the time of our research.

If we had to guess, we’d say the product was likely powered by replaceable watch-style batteries, but without official word from the company, we cannot confirm that this is the case.

SafeSound Personal Alarm Pricing & Return Policy

As of this writing, the SafeSound Personal Alarm was only available directly from the product’s main website. It is offered in three different quantities:

  • Two SafeSound Alarms: $39.95
  • Five SafeSound Alarms: $79.95
  • Ten SafeSound Alarms: $119.95

Shipping is free, and each order is covered by a 90-day satisfaction guarantee. To initiate a return, you’ll need to ship it back to the following address in its original packaging:

Shipping Department (SafeSound Personal Alarm)
10024 N Taryne St.
Hayden, ID 83835

You’ll be required to pay any return shipping fees associated with getting the product back for processing.

Purchasing A Personal Alarm Like SafeSound

Typing “personal alarm” into Google or the Amazon marketplace brings up hundreds of different results, many of which feature extremely similar designs to the SafeSound. The bulk of the devices we encountered during our research had alarms that ranged from 120dB to 130dB, with the highest we saw being listed at a whopping 140dB.

Crucially, these products all tended to be quite a bit less expensive than the SafeSound, ranging from just $7 to around $15-$20 at most. All of the options listed on Amazon were also available as a single purchase, whereas the SafeSound is only available in multiple quantities.

Finally, many of the products we encountered also had additional features, such as an LED safety light that can be activated whenever needed.

If you are searching for the right personal alarm for your needs, consider the following questions when looking around online:

  • Is a personal alarm like the SafeSound ideal for your needs in the first place? Consider where you live, and where you often find yourself on a daily basis. If you are frequently in high-traffic areas like the city, a personal alarm may be a very useful choice, but if you live in a more remote or isolated place, more direct alternatives such as mace or pepper spray may also be ideal.
  • If you’ve settled on a particular device, be sure to look around for reviews online. Places like Amazon are great for this, but also be sure to look here at Highya and other consumer advocacy websites during your research. Just be sure to stay alert and watch out for fake reviews.
  • Always understand the return policy going into your purchase. During our research into personal sonic alarms, we encountered a number of reviews for products similar to SafeSound in which users complained about high failure rates and other issues. Due to the importance of ensuring your alarm actually works when you need it to, always read through the return and refund policies thoroughly before pulling the trigger on a particular device.

The Bottom Line: Is the SafeSound Personal Alarm Right for You?

Bringing together everything that we’ve learned about the SafeSound Personal Alarm, can you truly expect it to provide protection from even the most vicious criminals, as the manufacturer states?

On the one hand, we learned that the product features an incredibly loud 125dB output, which is more than enough to draw immediate attention to you (and your attacker) when you need it most–provided you are in an area where others are nearby.

On the other hand, though the manufacturer says that the SafeSound has been proven to be more effective than conventional deterrents such as mace and pepper spray, we did not find any evidence for this claim on the company’s website, nor did we encounter any online during our research.

When coupled with the fact that dozens of similar options exist online for much less, as consumers ourselves, we feel that slowing down and taking a look at all of your choices before deciding on one may be the best course of action for most. This is especially true when you consider that many of these products feature hundreds of five-star reviews.

If you’d like to simply dive in and give the SafeSound Personal Alarm a shot, be sure to keep the 90-day return policy in mind, should you decide that it isn’t a right fit for you in the end.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

63 Consumer Reviews for SafeSound Personal Alarm

Average Consumer Rating: 1.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 5 4 star: 0 3 star: 2 2 star: 5 1 star:  51
Bottom Line: 10% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 63
Sort reviews by:

  • SafeSound Personal Alarm

    • Canton, GA,
    • Feb 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    On 12/8/18 at 3:11 pm, I placed my order online for 3 of these alarms for a total of $69.92...$54.95 subtotal + $12.77 shipping + $2.20 taxes and fees. The alarms were for my granddaughters as a Christmas gift. As soon as I saw them, I was upset and knew they would be returned because I was not about to give them to my family. Not at all what I expected. On 12/28/18, I called for return info and was put on HOLD FOR 30 minutes. No one answered. I found the return instructions online to be sent to a different address and in the same package. I followed this to a tee. On 12/31/18, the package was mailed from the local Post Office. As of 2/15/2019, no refund, no contact, nothing. HELP!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Don’t work properly

    • Wirral, England,
    • Feb 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased six SafeSound Personal Alarms for my family to use and had to pay over £14 import duty. Having tested the alarms none of them reached the 125DB they are supposed to be reaching, only a maximum of 107DB. I have sent two emails to the company and have not received a reply from them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    It's a scam.

    • Honolulu, HI,
    • Feb 16, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I went through the next order page(s), and put in my credit card numbers, but the next page said that you have to order the batteries, at $10 each, 5 for the alarms, but another charge for the batteries, plus the FREE grift was not FREE you had to pay for shipping at another $10. It's a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Scam

    • Pennsylvania,
    • Feb 2, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    The package was not delivered even though they claim it was. Back and forth emails and still no satisfaction. They basically wash their hands of the situation after taking my money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 3 people found this review helpful

    So far, so good

    • Odessa, WA,
    • Jan 20, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered the devices based on a Facebook ad and received them in a timely manner. I got five for $74.95. I have not tried them out, but I plan to keep one and distribute to others to my daughters and daughters-in-law. Hopefully, the device will work as expected if they ever need it. I gave the product purchasing experience a 5-star rating but cannot comment on its effectiveness since I have not used it or tried it out.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 14 people found this review helpful

    A bit of a con

    • England,
    • Jan 15, 2019
    • Verified Reviewer

    I'm sure the alarm probably works. I have not tested it yet, but there was no mention of the £12.75 customs duty and postal charges that I would have to pay in order to take delivery of this item. In fact, there was nothing in the original advert stating that these alarms were coming from abroad. The price paid does not reflect the price given on the package, either - looks like I have paid way over the odds for this. Live and learn, I should have done a bit more research before parting with my hard earned cash.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 28 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Have not received product.

    • Walsall, United Kingdom,
    • Dec 22, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    Hello to all potential customers. I ordered this product four weeks ago and have not received it, and despite many many emails to them, they just respond with the same generic message. I have asked for a full refund, but again, they will not reply to me. I really don’t know where to go with this. I have been ripped off by this company. I don’t like giving bad reviews, but I think that if anyone is considering buying from this company, then please be AWARE that you may not get this product. P.S. I purchased 5 of these alarms for a cost of just over £60.00 but have not received them. Please be AWARE.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 8 people found this review helpful

    Happy with purchase

    • Florida,
    • Dec 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I bought 5 of these for my 3 daughters, myself, and a friend for Christmas this year. I decided to open mine and see how it works. It is very loud and easy to use. I can see it being very surprising to a would-be attacker and perhaps frightening them off. I saw on the review where it was mentioned if in a remote location it may not be as helpful...well, duh!?

    I also received the free flashlight, which I was going to gift to someone. After having powered that up, I think I will keep it. The light shines incredibly bright and I am able to see all the way to the end of my street (about 500 ft). I am very happy with my purchase and feel good knowing my daughters have a very easy to use, powerful alarm that could help keep them safe should the time arise.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 18 out 20 people found this review helpful

    RIP OFF

    • Michigan,
    • Dec 19, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    After attempting to purchase the product, I immediately decided it was far too expensive and called to cancel my order, multiple times. A human never answered the phone, so I left a detailed voicemail stating I needed to cancel immediately, and then sent several emails stating the same. Regardless, my credit card was charged (the bank can't do anything during a "pending" time period), and the package arrived. I immediately drove to the Post Office, explaining my situation and had the postman write "refused delivery." After several more emails, I finally received a credit for the product but was still charged $6.12!

    They refuse to credit my card!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 13 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Value for money

    • Epsom, United Kingdom,
    • Dec 18, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I purchased these alarms online from an advert at the top of eBay and assumed I was on eBay. I was led to believe the seller was in the UK, postage was supposed to be free. I was surprised when I received despatch details to find they were coming from the USA. When they arrived in the UK, I was charged £4.70 VAT and Royal Mail charge of £8. This added another £2.51 to each item. Not only that, but having paid £60.67 for five items, the customs declaration by the seller claimed the value to be US$25. I have now found that I could have bought similar alarms on eBay for nearly a quarter of the price.

    I think the seller has been dishonest. I will not be buying from this seller again nor will I recommend them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 27 out 29 people found this review helpful

    Beware of this company!

    • Netherlands,
    • Dec 5, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered and paid 20 alarms at SafeSound Personal Alarm and never received them. They blame the delivery services of UPS, but according to any parcel services, the sender should file an investigation. They won't do it.

    Who's the sucker? I am.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 63

Write a Review for SafeSound Personal Alarm!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review