About Scott Yancey

By HighYa Staff

Investing in real estate has been a path to wealth for a very long time, but it wasn’t until the release of popular TV shows like A&E’s “Flipping Vegas” that the strategies used by these businesspeople—and the trials and tribulations they experienced—were on display for all to see (and perhaps learn from).

Based on the TV show’s success, “Flipping Vegas” star Scott Yancey launched his line of real estate investing seminars hosted all across the country, so that he could help others achieve success. How? By teaching proven investment strategies about how to make “your money work for you.” While each of these seminars can teach vastly different content, Scott typically focuses on four key areas:

  • Residential real estate
  • Commercial real estate
  • Tax liens & tax deeds
  • Multiple income streams

Is this what you’ll really get, though? If you just started researching Scott Yancey and his seminars, we’ll be totally upfront: you’re going to come across a lot of negative reviews—including here on HighYa, many of which continually reference the same problems. But is this feedback necessarily warranted? What can we learn from it (here’s a hint: If your main goal is to get a free lunch or learn everything you need to know from the free seminar, you might end up disappointed.)? And using this information, who might these seminars work best for?

We’ll address all these important questions—and explain why we came to the conclusions we did—in this review. Let’s begin by talking about Scott Yancey himself.

Who Is Scott Yancey?

As we mentioned above, Scott Yancey originally rose to fame as star of the A&E TV show “Flipping Vegas,” which follows him and his wife Amie Yancey (a designer by trade and prolific real estate agent in her own right) around the city as they buy, renovate, and then sell different homes for profit. Currently, the show is in its fifth season (on air since 2011).

Before becoming a reality TV personality, Scott was involved in real estate at a very early age. In fact, he purchased a second deed of trust for a home mortgage when he was just 14, and became a runner for real estate attorney Walter J. Plumb III while in college.

Although he’s lived in Las Vegas since 1994, it wasn’t until 2008 that Scott founded his real estate brokerage and investment firm Goliath Company, which “focuses on investment properties buy and hold approach,” including retail department stores Las Vegas, NV, Provo, UT, and Tempe, AZ.

What about Scott Yancey’s seminars, though? We had a unique opportunity to attend one, take some notes, and speak with the man himself, which is what we’ll discuss next.

Our Scott Yancey Seminar Experience

Based on the amount of customer feedback here on HighYa (we’ll talk more about this in a second), Scott Yancey and his team invited us out to one of their seminars in January 2016, with the goal of giving us a better idea of what they’re all about, what their attendees experience, and more. We’ll cover some of the highlights in this section.

Note: In the interest of full disclosure, the company paid for our airfare and hotel stay, although some of the students in attendance may have received the same. And other than a little extra time with Scott, we were afforded no special treatment and we received no compensation in return.

Different Types of Events

Before we dive in, it’s important to outline that there are two basic types of Scott Yancey events: free (also known as “preview”) events and paid events, each of which focuses on different information. For example, preview events concentrate on:

  • Getting your real estate investment off the ground
  • Choosing the best areas to invest in
  • Ensuring your investments always remain profitable
  • Generating passive monthly income, or “big monthly paydays”

On the other hand, Scott’s paid events and services focus on a much broader range of topics, including:

  • Boots on the Ground
  • The Buying Summit
  • Inner Circle
  • On-Demand Training, which includes:
    • Seller Financing Boot Camp
    • Residential Rentals Boot Camp
    • Quick Cash Boot Camp
    • Cash Flow Boot Camp
    • PropTrend Real Estate Software

Of these, we were invited to attend a Buying Summit event.

Buying Summit Event, Day 1

During the initial meet and greet/networking session, our first impression was that everyone attending the event seemed friendly, optimistic, and energetic. The vibe was laid back and a lot of people were smiling and laughing.

Important note: Even though these seminars bear his name, Scott Yancey is not the main spotlight. Instead, they’re operated by a company based out of Utah, who utilizes Scott’s strategies and brand for marketing purposes.

During this time—as well as other times throughout the day—we noticed a fair amount of upselling, although we always found it relevant to the topic. In addition, the room adjacent to the conference room was filled with more relevant resources (different companies had their own booth to help you expand your business), so attendees could visit at their leisure. Here, it appears the parent company partnered with Lear Capital, so there was a lot of talk about precious metals, IRAs, insurance—and even brain supplements!

But here’s our take: Personally, the HighYa team is pretty tough on upselling, so we’re especially sensitive to when it’s occurring. In this instance though, we didn’t feel pressured to buy at any point, and the vibe remained laid back.

After watching a few clips of ”Flipping Vegas,” Scott and Amie Yancey walked onstage, he began talking about how he got started, why he does what he does, along with explaining his “your network is your net-worth” motto, all in a nice, humble manner.

The “Meat” of Scott Yancey’s Seminar

After his introduction, Scott dug into the meat of his presentation, where he discussed buying low, selling high, what factors trigger the housing market to go up and down, as well as riding massive waves of growth. He also talked about diversifying your real estate portfolio between options like single family homes, land, apartment buildings, and even stock options.

Then, Scott moved on to discussing real estate fundamentals, like:

  • Location
  • Quality
  • Price
  • Market stability
  • Unemployment rates (if there are jobs, then the housing market goes up, and vice-versa)
  • The housing industry (new to old)
  • Rentability
  • Comparables in the area
  • Rising sale prices
  • Shrinking inventory

Sprinkled here and there, attendees also learned about tax regulations, dos and don’ts, how to file for non-profit status, and more. There were lenders on-hand to help attendees finance different deals (regardless of credit score), and other tools to help them obtain their first property.

Our takeaway was that, even as non-real estate investors ourselves, this information really helped put things in perspective.

Our Time with Scott Yancey

After lunch, which was flavorful and delicious (the dessert was phenomenal!), we were able to meet with Scott for 20-30 minutes, where we were able to hang out, hear about his events in his own words, and share what we do here at HighYa. He’s definitely not a jerk like “Flipping Vegas” often makes him out to be (hey, drama sells!), and he seemed humble, down to earth, and genuine, yet high-energy.

When we inquired about the useful of real estate seminars like his, Scott likened his service to a gym membership. By paying for one, you’re gaining access to a suite of professionals who can provide coaching, mentorship, and accountability, which can truly help people achieve their goals.

But in order to achieve these goals, you have to put in the effort; you have to work out. If you choose to pay for your membership but not utilize all the tools it provides access to, you won’t get results. And it’s the exact same with Scott’s seminars and other services.

Talking With Other Seminar Attendees

Finally, everyone was able to have a Q&A with Scott, where we discussed just about anything real estate-related, along with a few members from the Creative Wealth team and co-stars from the TV show “Renovate to Rent.”

I also had a few opportunities to talk with other attendees and see what they thought about the overall experience:

  • One woman in her late 40s mentioned that about 20% of the seminar provided valuable information, but the remaining 80% was hype and motivation. She said she didn’t need the motivation (but could see where it might be useful for some people), and felt that it was a good overall value and she didn’t have any regrets. Her only recommendation would be to cut down on “all that yelling.”
  • Another woman in her mid-60s with no real estate background mentioned that she was happy as well, but that should would like more “literature.” She said she also felt out of the loop and a little lost, and wished the information was a bit more “digested” and “tangible.”
  • Two ladies in their late 40s or early 50s who came together told me that this was their first real estate experience, and so far they thought it was informative. There were happy with no regrets.
  • A man in his 60s who was attending the even with his daughter, claimed that he had 35+ years of experience in real estate. Overall, they were both happy and found the information valuable.

Our Final Thoughts About Scott Yancey Events & Seminars

When you’re searching for Scott Yancey reviews online (including here on HighYa), you’re sure to encounter a lot of complaints about his events, the most common of which seem to reference:

  • High-pressure sales tactics.
  • Basic information you could probably find elsewhere for free (or for a minimal amount of money, such as the cost of a book).

To this first complaint, although there was admittedly a lot of upselling (even one of the attendees we spoke with mentioned it), none would be what we’d consider “high-pressure.” To the second complaint, although we’re not real estate investors, we definitely didn’t find the information basic. In fact, unless you’ve got some solid experience already, you might feel left behind, as one of the others who we spoke with mentioned.

However, the Buying Summit we attended is a higher-level event, and there are dozens of packages and tiers that would probably act as a solid foundation building up to this point.

Could you find this information elsewhere? We don’t think Scott claims that his methods and strategies are proprietary, so it’s certainly possible. But if you’re not the DIY type, are looking for built-in mentorship (again, depending on the package) and networking opportunities,--and have the money, we think his events and seminars could provide a decent bang for your buck, even compared to other real estate mentorship programs we’ve reviewed.

Again though, anything you learn at these events won’t generate money on their own; you have to utilize the tools and work the system.

Bottom line? There is certainly a lot of selling going on at some of Scott Yancey’s seminars, which, based on personal preference, might not be your cup of tea. But in our opinion, they’re definitely not a scam and could very well help you get your real estate investing career off the ground, or take it to new height—you just have to commit to putting in the work.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 367 Scott Yancey Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 4.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 264 4 star: 30 3 star: 9 2 star: 7 1 star:  57
Bottom Line: 81% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 367
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 52 out 56 people found this review helpful

    Traveling Circus

    • Portland, OR,
    • Jul 28, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    My Partner and I just went to a free seminar last evening, and from the time we signed in, I was already suspicious. When it was time to go inside and start the presentation, I felt as though I was seeing a low-budget documentary with really bad actors. First off, the "Real Estate Team" in blue polo-shirts were anything but professional; not professional-looking, not professionally dressed, and clearly not too familiar with professional/personal hygiene. Then, it was time for our Presenter, Trent, to come out and speak for what seemed like forever. He just loved to keep sipping out of his empty Starbucks coffee cup and setting it back down then pick it up again, take a "sip," and set it back down. Yeah, we sat in the front row and I know what it sounds like when an empty cup is set onto a table multiple times. If it sounds the same, like an empty cup, then it's empty. That's just weird. Then, it was time for the "testimony" from someone who had no experience, and quite frankly, had a poor script that she probably had to memorize. Oh, and she too looked very unprofessional, for someone who supposedly has a savings of around 2.2 million dollars. Yeah right. 

    What struck me in the absolutely worse way, was when Trent answered a question from someone who was hearing impaired. In the beginning of the presentation, yes, he asked that people hold their questions until the end. It's a scare-tactic that they do that. Anyway, the person performing sign-language for a gentleman asked a question about money and "don't you have to work or have a job in order to come up with this kind of money"? Without skipping a beat, Trent said to this person, very rudely, "how about you listen and I'll tell you...." Um, excuse me? Yeah, ask anyone who went to that seminar and they will tell you the same thing. He actually said that. I actually have it on video if you want to see it.

    When it came time for the "break," we were only allowed 7 minutes to really discuss things. I told my partner that we absolutely should not do anything impulsively until we ask some other folks in this line of business, people we have personal friendships with. When we entered back into the room from our break, one of the "Team Members" couldn't answer a question that I had, so he calls Trent over to answer it for me, which he didn't and probably couldn't. After they both walked away, well, we were revisited by the "testimony lady" again, asking if we were going to do it. I told her that we were still on the fence, so she asked a Team Member named Mike to come over, who was extremely pushy. I basically put him in his place and told him that I didn't know him from a stranger on the street, so why should I trust him with my money over consulting a secondary opinion from someone on the outside (my friends). His only answer was, "well, if it's not for you, then don't do it but why have someone else decide what is best for you?" Um, isn't that what learning life is all about? Information passed down? And what makes him think that his information is superior to someone else who has been in the real estate business for almost 35 years (my friends)?

    Like I said, it's a traveling circus that cannot produce results. There were holes all over the place in their presentation and for anyone else that went to one of these acts, well, if you weren't convinced within the first five minutes of the presentation start time, hopefully you were convinced before writing your check.

    The only piece of truth they said, in my opinion, was that the Yancey program is there to make money. Yes, they are there to make money, but they want to steal it away from your pocket rather than help put it into your pocket. If you want results, it takes hard work on your own. Don't buy into this garbage.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 3, 2015

      Denise Stout

      Interesting that you had a hearing impaired person at your seminar, we also had one with two interpreters with him and they were seated up front. Do you think they are shells to make potential victims think that everyone can do this? We were also promised a meal and we got just a granola bar...

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 51 out 51 people found this review helpful

    Poor seminar

    I signed up for the seminar. Scott and wife were supposed to be there as advertised on TV and were not. I was also promised free complimentary gifts, which I did not get. Also lunch at half-time was not given. Got very upset as they strung us along. I would not recommend this seminar to anyone. These are just sales people giving you the old pitch similar to vacation timeshares. They are just trying to sell you a short course at a very expensive rate!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 58 out 62 people found this review helpful

    Fraud

    • Springfield, VA,
    • Mar 4, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    Unfortunately, my girlfriend got suckered into going to their three day workshop and like a fool I went with her. The main lie they started with us how we would be reach if stuck with them.

    Then we had to read a brainwashing short story (50 pages) about how we could be rich only if we tried their thirty thousand dollar seminar in Las Vegas. I didn't want anything to do with it. They had already stole $2,000.00 from her and then they pushed us into getting as many credit cards as we could. Before you know it, we put $20,000.00 on a credit card. I tried to get my money back from the start and they have refused a refund. I can't afford it and don't have the money to pay this credit card bill. I'm being charged a penalty and interest and that is costing me over $150.00 a month alone. They should be put in jail for using people as their bait. I want to sue!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 8, 2015

      C. Watson,

      If he'd canceled within 3 days, this wouldn't have happened. Cancelation stipulations are quite clear.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 56 out 58 people found this review helpful

    This scam stinks so bad you can smell it miles away

    Unfortunately, I didn't sniff it out until it was too late. The training staff is rude, condescending, and are only interested in growing their own wealth (they are on commission), certainly not mine. They even mentioned that this is not Scott Yancey's company, or even his system. So that he's making money off of endorsing this stuff.

    I just called Abundance Education to ask for a refund for my three day workshop since I left after one and a half days. I am supposed to get a call back. I wonder what bull they are going be shoveling my way. I left because I couldn't stand them telling me in a very veiled way that I was stupid for not going deeper into "good debt" to finance their $30,000.00 training. I expected a sales pitch at the 3 day event, I did not expect it to be a full 3-day sales pitch.

    When I told my mentor how pissed off I was about it, he got a bit rude and, went back to the sales pitch "why would I let my anger at a few people in the company ruin my future?" Seriously? I had to read a juvenile book about mice and cheese with some great revelation and then discuss it for an hour. It was written for 7th graders. It's about mice and cheese. In addition, I asked the question about up-selling at the 1-day event and was blatantly lied to. Or, how about the idea that you can't ask questions during the presentations? Maybe they don't want anyone showing how little the instructors really have to offer? Have you ever met any type of instructor, teacher, or mentor that didn't encourage their students curiosity and interest? And how about the threat that they will ask you to leave if you are negative? What? I am paying them and they are going to tell me what kind of attitude I can have? No, they said that they wanted to "weed out" people that would bring the group down.

    What they were weeding out were people that wouldn't get scammed any further and didn't want to discuss with the rest of the group, God forbid, we should think. If you really want to learn about real estate investing, go to the Armando Montelongo seminar. Infinitely more information, they will try up-sell a $30,000.00 package, but they do not spend all of the time pushing it, and, if you can get the financing, you will have enough knowledge to start in real estate investing. Better instructors, personality-wise too. Not only would I not recommend the Yancey seminar to a friend, I wouldn't recommend it to my worst enemy.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 16, 2015

      Ken Wheeler

      I hope you got your refund. The "counselors" there gave me an 800 number to call (sorry, I don't still have it since it's been a couple of months). Someone returned my call 2 days later and my refund was back in the bank 5 days later, so it took a total of about a week to get it back. I went out and bought a '66 Mustang to rebuild with that money. I'm thinking I may get a better return on my money this way. :)

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 57 out 57 people found this review helpful

    Bogus program, not as advertised

    • Tampa, FL,
    • Jul 31, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I went to the free Scott Yancey seminar and talked to a knowledgeable instructor who at the time appeared to be very professional. He assured me that the 3 day, $1,997 seminar was full of valuable real estate information. Far from it, the information you get from the three day event can be easily found online.

    What the three day seminar is really about is this, it is nothing more than a Rah session to get you to buy into their $30,000 advanced program that all but promises to make you wealthy. They bait you with in house financing and mentoring programs. The problem that I had with this three day "program" is that you were discouraged from asking questions in class, only during a break. Fact: Four people were escorted out at the break for making the comment that they couldn't see paying the $30,000. Too much time spent on promoting the $30,000 program and not enough on true real estate practices. Most of what was presented was theoretically possible but, not what you would use in your every day transactions. This was not that informative.

    Stay away.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Jun 10, 2015

      B. A.

      The marketing team (Abundance Edu) who supports the Yanceys at the first level of their promotions are not a legitimate company. I recently went to the one-day workshop in Austin and discovered that Abundance Edu used a different business entity name with the hotel (Traveler's Choice: Dissolved). I also checked to see if Abundance Edu was licensed (Orem UT) to do business and they are not. The state's business entity is effective 01/2015 as an educational school. Yancey has several "Goliath" DBAs in NV with many being dissolved. So it should be very clear what these teams are doing. "Catch them if you can." As far as I see, they have violated interstate laws and most importantly, deceitful business practices. They should be barred from states other than their own. People over 65 have 21 days for refunds (not told at workshops) and everyone else has 3 days. That's if you "can catch them." It took me three days to research what I have stated. Just check out the City of Orem UT & Las Vegas NV and ask about these companies. They need to do business legally, or get off the pot. It bothers me when unsuspecting people are scammed, especially people with pensions and 401k plans that these scammers try to deplete.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 43 out 43 people found this review helpful

    Highway Robbery

    • Cleveland OH,
    • Jun 13, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ignored all of the red flags and there were plenty. Once they know that you have the finances at your disposal to invest in their $20,000 - $30,000 additional mentorship program, they try to convince you that you can jump off of a building, spread your arms and fly. They don't screen people to determine who actually has a decent chance of being successful with their program.

    I purchased the diamond program, and attended one day of Boots on the Ground, and afterwards, requested a refund. I was told that Boots on the Ground (a 3 day event ) costs $10,000. Since I attended the first day, they charged me $3000. For sitting in a classroom for 8 hours while someone talked "At" me things that went completely over my head because I could not understand.

    The methods used to sell their services, and con hard working people out of their money is unethical and should be illegal. Someone needs to put a stop to these legalized con artists. I honestly don't know how they sleep at night.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Jul 30, 2015

      Mary Kae

      Shelly, You mentioned that you asked for a refund and they charged you $3,000. So did they refund you the rest, $27,000?

    • Aug 22, 2015

      Donna,

      Shelly, did they give you any trouble when you asked for the refund? I have thought many times about it but haven't yet out of fear. Thanks.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 45 out 45 people found this review helpful

    Same Old Song & Dance

    • SF Bay Area,
    • Jun 17, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I attended the free event advertised so extensively by Scott & Aimee Yancey. It appears that the Yanceys are only lending their picture and names to this seminar promotion in order to entice people to sign up for it since it is actually being conducted by some company known as Abundance EDU. This is misleading since the television infomercials make it look like the Yancey's themselves would be hosting and teaching this seminar. I sat through the entire presentation and didn't find anything new or earth-shattering about what they are offering. As a seasoned investor, I would recommend saving your money by avoiding the Yancey events.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 48 out 51 people found this review helpful

    Refund after attending 3 day seminar?

    • Minneapolis, MN,
    • Jul 2, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    Has anyone had success getting a refund after attending the 3 day Scott Yancey seminar? I recently paid $1997 for training at the 3 day event, and it absolutely did not fulfill promises made at the free introductory event. I feel totally ripped off, and can document the unfulfilled promises. If anyone has successfully challenged this, perhaps by getting a chargeback from their credit card company, please post with details.

    The main speaker at the seminar spent the vast majority of his time "conditioning" attendees to spend $30,000, rudely belittling them as losers if they didn't sign on.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 24, 2015

      CC,

      Raynard,

      I read your post and if you are willing to contact me via email (leave your answer here under comments) I am thinking about starting a class action lawsuit against AbudanceEDU.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 54 out 54 people found this review helpful

    High-Pressure Rip Off!

    • Houston, TX,
    • Jul 20, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    We took the Yancey seminar over a year ago. We went to the free event and were given high-pressure "encouragement" to sign up for the next level of training, the 3-day event for $2,000. BUT WAIT, there's more! They also tried to get everyone to sign up for a tax liens program, which was about $1,000 more, as I recall. We suckered for the three-day event.

    Pressure doesn't begin to describe the experience. We left every day exhausted to the bone. At the end of three days, in what I can only describe as mind-numbed stupidity, we bought into a program for $42,000 (yes, you got that right!). This included the 3-day Boots on the Ground training in Houston, as well as a trip to Las Vegas for a two-day Buying Summit. We were pressured to charge these amounts to credit cards if we didn't have cash because it would more than pay for itself. They were also more than willing to spread the expenses over numerous credit cards if that's what was necessary to pay for the training, because, of course, it would be paid back in no time with a lot of extra income left over.

    We were later contacted, and pressured, by Yancey's group about joining "The Inner Circle" which would entail ANOTHER $10,000-$20,000 investment for even MORE great benefits! We did not, I'm delighted to say, fall for joining the inner circle. To be fair, the Boots on the Ground training was useful, however, much of the time, the topics were w-a-y above our novice real estate investment understanding. Since we signed up for the highest level of training, we also received brief one-on-one training in Houston that was useful because we had an opportunity to really pick an established real estate investor's brain to our hearts content.

    Flash back to the present, more than a year later, still no deals.

    If you want to learn about real estate investing, I have two recommendations.

    Sign up for Cody Sperber's Fast Track Profit System. (Google it. There's a free webcast, I'm sure.) For a few HUNDRED dollars (not many thousands) you will receive a truly useful real estate education that you can go back and watch again and again for different points of interest. The program is fully web-based, and self-paced, and has many, many modules on a full complement of real estate education topics. I am convinced you truly could succeed in real estate investing with lots of personal drive and the education and tools provided in the Fast Track.

    To be fair, if you purchase the Fast Track, you WILL be contacted about buying step-up programs which are more expensive, but certainly nothing near Yancey's rape and pillage routine. We did buy a more extensive program after spending a lot of time reviewing the Fast Track Program and feel like it was all money well spent. We do believe we can, and will, succeed in investing with what Cody provides.

    My second recommendation is to go to your local real estate investment club. Here in Houston, we have numerous clubs and attend one regularly. THAT's where you'll find those cash buyers you so desperately need to work the deals you come up with. You can also find a local mentor, should you decide you want one. You'll also be able to pick up reliable contractors if you decide to do rehabbing.

    To sum it up, DON'T fall for Yancey's pressure. If you want to dip your feet into the real estate investment pool, start out with a few hundred dollar investment like the Fast Track. (Maybe there are other programs out there like it, that's just the one we work with, and where we have found people who truly care about our investment success.) And ABSOLUTELY, go to your local REI club! You'll learn a ton about your local market and, if it's like Houston, the investors in the area will be more than happy to help you succeed if you are truly willing to work and dedicate yourself to it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 54 out 54 people found this review helpful

    Hidden Costs

    • Atlanta, GA,
    • Jul 31, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I attended an introductory Scott Yancey seminar on July 25, 2015. The first speaker wasted no time in revealing the fact that everyone needed to sign up to attend the 3-day "retreat" for $1,997. He said everything couldn't be covered in one day, and you would get your money back after your first deal. I thought the sales pitch sounded reasonable, and that there was no way I could lose my investment.

    Here is my issue: Since the speaker was so "honest" and forthcoming about the sales pitch to hook you for the $1,997 seminar, why couldn't he have shared ALL of the costs up front? I almost signed up for the 3-day program, but my boyfriend asked me to wait. He told me that Scott Yancey's people would not turn down my money if I called them to pay for the "retreat" later. My boyfriend wanted me to go online and do some research first. I'm so glad I had him with me. After my research, I found out about some of the hidden costs they hit you with at the 3-day retreat.

    If the program is completely legitimate, why not inform the participants about ALL of the educational fees up front? I would have been so upset if I had spent almost $2,000 to learn real estate strategies at a three day event, only to be told at the $2,000 event that in order to really, really get the "real deal" information I would have to enroll in yet ANOTHER event for the low-low price of $30,000!

    Run! Save your time. Save your money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 14, 2015

      Devon Anthony Poirier

      Actually, after reading your review, you're completely right about the whole thing being a scam, but if you remember correctly, in the introductory seminar, they actually do have most of the fees upfront. The only reason we don't see them is because they don't point them out as the "class fees". If you remember correctly, in the PowerPoint presentation, they discuss how you can purchase a home for $30,000 and sell it for more and make a profit. So the numbers for the fees actually are in the presentation. We just don't realize that those are fees because they don't say that they are. Luckily for me, I never paid the $1,997 to go to the 3 days "retreat", so I wasn't aware of the $30,000 fee until I read these reviews. I just thought I had to reply because I noticed you mentioned that they didn't share all the fees up front, but if you think about it and think about the numbers they were discussing in the seminar they actually did share it. They just "hid" the fee as if it was part of the presentation of the costs and profits by buying and selling homes.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 43 out 50 people found this review helpful

    Buyer beware.

    • Sonoma, CA,
    • Aug 20, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    When walking into the seminar at the Marriott SFO on the 31st of July 2015 I was upset the organizer didn't let me know prior to attending that parking would be $25 per day. I got off site parking for the next two days. As a simple courtesy they could have advised attendees about this additional cost.

    The seminar speaker, Stephen Libman, from Montreal is an independent contractor hired by "Performance Education", "Abundance Education" or whatever they call themselves, to motivate attendees to "invest" $30K of their hard earned funds in "additional education" in order to reap "greater rewards" in real estate; there are no guarantees as to what these might be.

    Stephen charges up to $9500 for a full day seminar of six hours. (He must have been paid more for this one since the session went on for more than 8 hours on each of the three days I attended). These numbers come from his website which clearly states his fees.

    Calculating the gross income to the "education" company, you can figure right around $80K ($2K x 40 attendees approximately), so it's conceivable that Stephen could easily have made close to $30K for the 3 day "seminar" leaving the company plenty left over to pay expenses and still have a nice profit.

    Stephen is a great motivator providing many examples of his own success but he isn't the average Joe. The examples he provides of his success in real estate are to some degree very complicated and unless you know what you're doing, which most of us didn't, there's no way we'd have the same abilities to achieve the same results. I do not begrudge Stephen, his talent as a public speaker and motivator.

    What I object to are the implied promises if you proceed to take the "Boots on the Ground" program with the "Buying Summit" in Las Vegas. No promises are given but if you fork out the $30K you're assured of getting a mentor and able to build a team to help you succeed in real estate. After I'd signed up and committed to the $30K I wondered if the "company" was so successful, why didn't they have a team of people to do what they said we could do, only then the profits for the "company" would be quite substantial rather than "sharing" them with others. It didn't make much sense. After 48 hours I had buyer's remorse and decided to cancel and they proceeded to refund my monies which they did promptly.

    If one wishes to become a real estate investor, he/she should get educated. Jumping into something like this without doing due diligence is like jumping out of a plane with no parachute. $30K is the cost of a new car. I was going to finance this on a 0% credit card. But what if I didn't reap the rewards that were implied? Think first, don't be moved by emotion or future thoughts of wealth. That's ridiculous. "Boots on the Ground"? No, feet first on the ground and use your head before making a compulsive decision that can cause you considerable pain.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 367

Write a Review for Scott Yancey!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review