About Scott Yancey

By HighYa Staff

Investing in real estate has been a path to wealth for a very long time, but it wasn’t until the release of popular TV shows like A&E’s “Flipping Vegas” that the strategies used by these businesspeople—and the trials and tribulations they experienced—were on display for all to see (and perhaps learn from).

Based on the TV show’s success, “Flipping Vegas” star Scott Yancey launched his line of real estate investing seminars hosted all across the country, so that he could help others achieve success. How? By teaching proven investment strategies about how to make “your money work for you.” While each of these seminars can teach vastly different content, Scott typically focuses on four key areas:

  • Residential real estate
  • Commercial real estate
  • Tax liens & tax deeds
  • Multiple income streams

Is this what you’ll really get, though? If you just started researching Scott Yancey and his seminars, we’ll be totally upfront: you’re going to come across a lot of negative reviews—including here on HighYa, many of which continually reference the same problems. But is this feedback necessarily warranted? What can we learn from it (here’s a hint: If your main goal is to get a free lunch or learn everything you need to know from the free seminar, you might end up disappointed.)? And using this information, who might these seminars work best for?

We’ll address all these important questions—and explain why we came to the conclusions we did—in this review. Let’s begin by talking about Scott Yancey himself.

Who Is Scott Yancey?

As we mentioned above, Scott Yancey originally rose to fame as star of the A&E TV show “Flipping Vegas,” which follows him and his wife Amie Yancey (a designer by trade and prolific real estate agent in her own right) around the city as they buy, renovate, and then sell different homes for profit. Currently, the show is in its fifth season (on air since 2011).

Before becoming a reality TV personality, Scott was involved in real estate at a very early age. In fact, he purchased a second deed of trust for a home mortgage when he was just 14, and became a runner for real estate attorney Walter J. Plumb III while in college.

Although he’s lived in Las Vegas since 1994, it wasn’t until 2008 that Scott founded his real estate brokerage and investment firm Goliath Company, which “focuses on investment properties buy and hold approach,” including retail department stores Las Vegas, NV, Provo, UT, and Tempe, AZ.

What about Scott Yancey’s seminars, though? We had a unique opportunity to attend one, take some notes, and speak with the man himself, which is what we’ll discuss next.

Our Scott Yancey Seminar Experience

Based on the amount of customer feedback here on HighYa (we’ll talk more about this in a second), Scott Yancey and his team invited us out to one of their seminars in January 2016, with the goal of giving us a better idea of what they’re all about, what their attendees experience, and more. We’ll cover some of the highlights in this section.

Note: In the interest of full disclosure, the company paid for our airfare and hotel stay, although some of the students in attendance may have received the same. And other than a little extra time with Scott, we were afforded no special treatment and we received no compensation in return.

Different Types of Events

Before we dive in, it’s important to outline that there are two basic types of Scott Yancey events: free (also known as “preview”) events and paid events, each of which focuses on different information. For example, preview events concentrate on:

  • Getting your real estate investment off the ground
  • Choosing the best areas to invest in
  • Ensuring your investments always remain profitable
  • Generating passive monthly income, or “big monthly paydays”

On the other hand, Scott’s paid events and services focus on a much broader range of topics, including:

  • Boots on the Ground
  • The Buying Summit
  • Inner Circle
  • On-Demand Training, which includes:
    • Seller Financing Boot Camp
    • Residential Rentals Boot Camp
    • Quick Cash Boot Camp
    • Cash Flow Boot Camp
    • PropTrend Real Estate Software

Of these, we were invited to attend a Buying Summit event.

Buying Summit Event, Day 1

During the initial meet and greet/networking session, our first impression was that everyone attending the event seemed friendly, optimistic, and energetic. The vibe was laid back and a lot of people were smiling and laughing.

Important note: Even though these seminars bear his name, Scott Yancey is not the main spotlight. Instead, they’re operated by a company based out of Utah, who utilizes Scott’s strategies and brand for marketing purposes.

During this time—as well as other times throughout the day—we noticed a fair amount of upselling, although we always found it relevant to the topic. In addition, the room adjacent to the conference room was filled with more relevant resources (different companies had their own booth to help you expand your business), so attendees could visit at their leisure. Here, it appears the parent company partnered with Lear Capital, so there was a lot of talk about precious metals, IRAs, insurance—and even brain supplements!

But here’s our take: Personally, the HighYa team is pretty tough on upselling, so we’re especially sensitive to when it’s occurring. In this instance though, we didn’t feel pressured to buy at any point, and the vibe remained laid back.

After watching a few clips of ”Flipping Vegas,” Scott and Amie Yancey walked onstage, he began talking about how he got started, why he does what he does, along with explaining his “your network is your net-worth” motto, all in a nice, humble manner.

The “Meat” of Scott Yancey’s Seminar

After his introduction, Scott dug into the meat of his presentation, where he discussed buying low, selling high, what factors trigger the housing market to go up and down, as well as riding massive waves of growth. He also talked about diversifying your real estate portfolio between options like single family homes, land, apartment buildings, and even stock options.

Then, Scott moved on to discussing real estate fundamentals, like:

  • Location
  • Quality
  • Price
  • Market stability
  • Unemployment rates (if there are jobs, then the housing market goes up, and vice-versa)
  • The housing industry (new to old)
  • Rentability
  • Comparables in the area
  • Rising sale prices
  • Shrinking inventory

Sprinkled here and there, attendees also learned about tax regulations, dos and don’ts, how to file for non-profit status, and more. There were lenders on-hand to help attendees finance different deals (regardless of credit score), and other tools to help them obtain their first property.

Our takeaway was that, even as non-real estate investors ourselves, this information really helped put things in perspective.

Our Time with Scott Yancey

After lunch, which was flavorful and delicious (the dessert was phenomenal!), we were able to meet with Scott for 20-30 minutes, where we were able to hang out, hear about his events in his own words, and share what we do here at HighYa. He’s definitely not a jerk like “Flipping Vegas” often makes him out to be (hey, drama sells!), and he seemed humble, down to earth, and genuine, yet high-energy.

When we inquired about the useful of real estate seminars like his, Scott likened his service to a gym membership. By paying for one, you’re gaining access to a suite of professionals who can provide coaching, mentorship, and accountability, which can truly help people achieve their goals.

But in order to achieve these goals, you have to put in the effort; you have to work out. If you choose to pay for your membership but not utilize all the tools it provides access to, you won’t get results. And it’s the exact same with Scott’s seminars and other services.

Talking With Other Seminar Attendees

Finally, everyone was able to have a Q&A with Scott, where we discussed just about anything real estate-related, along with a few members from the Creative Wealth team and co-stars from the TV show “Renovate to Rent.”

I also had a few opportunities to talk with other attendees and see what they thought about the overall experience:

  • One woman in her late 40s mentioned that about 20% of the seminar provided valuable information, but the remaining 80% was hype and motivation. She said she didn’t need the motivation (but could see where it might be useful for some people), and felt that it was a good overall value and she didn’t have any regrets. Her only recommendation would be to cut down on “all that yelling.”
  • Another woman in her mid-60s with no real estate background mentioned that she was happy as well, but that should would like more “literature.” She said she also felt out of the loop and a little lost, and wished the information was a bit more “digested” and “tangible.”
  • Two ladies in their late 40s or early 50s who came together told me that this was their first real estate experience, and so far they thought it was informative. There were happy with no regrets.
  • A man in his 60s who was attending the even with his daughter, claimed that he had 35+ years of experience in real estate. Overall, they were both happy and found the information valuable.

Our Final Thoughts About Scott Yancey Events & Seminars

When you’re searching for Scott Yancey reviews online (including here on HighYa), you’re sure to encounter a lot of complaints about his events, the most common of which seem to reference:

  • High-pressure sales tactics.
  • Basic information you could probably find elsewhere for free (or for a minimal amount of money, such as the cost of a book).

To this first complaint, although there was admittedly a lot of upselling (even one of the attendees we spoke with mentioned it), none would be what we’d consider “high-pressure.” To the second complaint, although we’re not real estate investors, we definitely didn’t find the information basic. In fact, unless you’ve got some solid experience already, you might feel left behind, as one of the others who we spoke with mentioned.

However, the Buying Summit we attended is a higher-level event, and there are dozens of packages and tiers that would probably act as a solid foundation building up to this point.

Could you find this information elsewhere? We don’t think Scott claims that his methods and strategies are proprietary, so it’s certainly possible. But if you’re not the DIY type, are looking for built-in mentorship (again, depending on the package) and networking opportunities,--and have the money, we think his events and seminars could provide a decent bang for your buck, even compared to other real estate mentorship programs we’ve reviewed.

Again though, anything you learn at these events won’t generate money on their own; you have to utilize the tools and work the system.

Bottom line? There is certainly a lot of selling going on at some of Scott Yancey’s seminars, which, based on personal preference, might not be your cup of tea. But in our opinion, they’re definitely not a scam and could very well help you get your real estate investing career off the ground, or take it to new height—you just have to commit to putting in the work.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 367 Scott Yancey Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 4.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 264 4 star: 30 3 star: 9 2 star: 7 1 star:  57
Bottom Line: 81% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 367
Sort reviews by:

  • Editor’s Note: It is our understanding that this company has been asking its customers to leave feedback on HighYa. We assure you that each of these reviews has still been subjected to the same verification & vetting process that all submitted reviews go through. Learn More Here
  • 82 out 86 people found this review helpful

    Thanks for your advices

    • Montréal, Québec, Canada,
    • Nov 15, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    I did the 3 days real estate conference at 2000$ with my sister and we were planning on taking the $30,000 Diamond package. After everything I just read on this website, I'm backing out! They promised us a lot, but from what I see it's mostly lies and tactics to take our money! Thank you guys!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 80 out 83 people found this review helpful

    Please don't do it.

    • Tempe, AZ,
    • Feb 5, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    It's so sad that Scott Yancey allowed these people use his name to attract other people sincerely looking to improve their future. I am a Real Estate agent and already started a business flipping houses. We decided to attend the first invitation, to learn more about the business. They tell you that you need to pay more than $2,000 to have access to the tools and knowledge. Sadly, I paid it. The "seminar" is purely motivational. The "teacher", who was more of a bully, pressed you to invest THOUSANDS of dollars to be part of a system that I am sure doesn't work. I didn't go back, and I feel sorry for all those senior citizens willing to give their savings and 401K for an empty promise. These people should go to jail.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 75 out 77 people found this review helpful

    Scott Yancey Real Estate Seminar

    • Cary, NC,
    • Jan 23, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have attended the Scott Yancey Real Estate Seminar on January 7, 2016 in Durham NC. I got a high pressure sales guy from the seminar trying to sell me the $2000.00 seminar. I am glad I didn't buy into this and went home and did some research and found your review and I see that it is not worth the cost. Thank you for the good information from your review and it will help other people not fall into this High Pressure sales and scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Feb 26, 2016

      Tammy

      Thank you, I was just thinking about signing up for one of their seminars. Not anymore.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 75 out 80 people found this review helpful

    Buyers beware of what you are really buying

    • Lahaina, HI,
    • Feb 24, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I attended one of the free seminars, and after three hours, I signed up for the three day workshop, and gave them my credit card, but on one condition. I asked point blank (because I had attended another company's real estate courses, and was frustrated when all they seemed to do was offer more expensive training $20K to $50K), and wanted to know if Scott Yancey's course was the same. I told them I was a senior living off Social Security with a disability, and cannot afford to go further in debt. The presenters told me that no, Yancey's course does not do that. After I had given them my money, the registration was never properly processed, and I never received my passwords to the real estate website, or a welcome call. When I called the company, I could never get a hold of someone who could actually help me, and no one returned my calls. I then looked at the website, and I saw that they do sell expensive packages for $20K and more. So the presenters LIED at the free seminar! When I finally did talk to someone at the company, and told them about the misrepresentation, the registration problem, and the lack of customer service, but he was very rude to me, and told me that he would authorize a credit back, but he told me to never waste his company's time, and to never attend another seminar again!

    Here it is again, February 2016, and the TV is blasting ads to meet the Yanceys in person, and attend their free seminar. They obviously do not keep good records, as I just received another offer in the mail to attend this free seminar in Maui again. If this company has such poor customer service in handling a three day workshop, just imagine those who spent $20K or more, and are getting such bad customer service. They wasted my time by not telling me the truth.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 72 out 76 people found this review helpful

    Deceit! BUYPD, Income Property USA, Scott Yancy Seminar, Insider Cash, Veil, Market Analysis

    • Milwaukee, Wisconsin,
    • Dec 12, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Milwaukee resident that attended and invested in this conference.

    Free Conference:

    In August 23, 2014 my husband and I attended Free Scott Yancey real estate conference. There we got some insights on real estate investing, however, there was a constant push to purchase the 3 day conference where you would learn how to turn deals and get specialized information. The education they're promoting comes in packages, Gold is $18,997, Platinum is $24,997, Diamond is $29,997. To entice you to buy more expensive packages they split the training classes so the ones you want are in higher costing packages. We didn't buy the package then but we did pay $1997 for the 3-day conference.

    3-Day Conference:

    We attended that conference in October 2014, they gave us a little more good information but continued to push buying the packages. You are told this education is equivalent to education you would get in school so the cost is equivalent to a college education so it's worth it. You heard that message at every conference you attended. They promoted using your IRA money to buy property, they use a company called AccuPlan. AccuPlan is a self-direct IRA company. I have spent a lot of my IRA just in their fees for processing checks and wiring money, etc.! They further promote using someone else's cash to do deals. They use a company called Insider Cash. Depending on which package you buy, they offer you access to Insider Cash's money which is a LOAN that you pay back at a low interest rate to make your real estate deals. However, if you get the money and can't close in a short time then the rate goes up.

    Homework at 3-day Conference:

    Identify all possible lines of credit and call to extend limits (credit cards, loans, friends, family, etc.). We finally bought into it and pulled money from everywhere to buy a modified version of the diamond package with a mentor so we spent $32,000, maxed out all credit cards. Stupid - YES! But we trusted them and wanted to invest in real estate.

    3 Day Asset Buying Summit Retreat in Las Vegas (was also included in the Gold and Platinum):

    We went to Las Vegas. Keep in mind you have paid for a package so they are NOT giving you anything.

    Homework at Buying Summit:

    Look into IRA money - 401k, etc. They will convert it for you into self-directed IRA.

    What happened next - BUYER BEWARE:

    We were told that BuyPD has special properties that they had already made the repairs on, they were the best for the area. They had been inspected and had property managers and tenants already setup for us. They were GOOD investment properties - we were getting special access to these properties since we bought this package. NOT TRUE. Not good properties.

    We bought land, property in St Louis, and a note, with all our IRA money and Insider Cash money (which is a loan we need to pay back in 3 years).

    We found out that the property inspection reports were FALSE. Both properties needed repairs. The property manager had not taken care of repairs, my husband's place had no tenant and no one wanted to rent it in that condition. We found a new property manager and just got a tenant into this property after a year later! My property JUST passed the city inspection due to outstanding violations almost a year after purchasing it. The bills are still coming in, even today I got another bill I have to figure out how to pay. We found out we paid more than we should have for the property. BuyPD was NOT helpful in any resolutions at all. The companies are all connected.

    We paid almost 3x the amount for the land in Florida that BUYPD entity partners paid for it.

    This is a high level of the story, it is far worse than this and we are not the only ones that have had bad experiences. I have gotten so many emails from people from around the world that have similar stories.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 19, 2016

      C. Carranza

      Mr. and Mrs. D Mingo,

      I just attended the three-day seminar and I was ready to purchase the advance package for $25,000. I bet you have more responses than you are willing to share. I would appreciate it if you can share them with me, please email them.

      Thank you, Carlos Carranza.

    • Jan 25, 2017

      Sharon

      Wow, after reading your story, I'm so glad my husband and I backed out. We had already signed and pulled money from his IRA, but then it hit us. We started thinking that we were going to give them thirty thousand dollars, that's enough money to put down on a house, and that just didn't make sense. We did end up spending about five thousand for the three-day course and on some software that I don't even know if it works now.

      Hope all works out for you!

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 70 out 72 people found this review helpful

    Don't Take the LEAP

    • FL,
    • Oct 3, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    We attended a "Free" seminar in our local town a few years ago. My husband was about to retire and we were looking for a new business venture. The weekend class sounded great. It was an investment ($3k) but not totally out of line. We attended a few weeks later and fell victim to the largest and most costly mistake of our lives. We signed up for the Vegas week-long course to the tune of ($20k) which included our plane tickets and accommodations for 4.

    We further dug our financial grave by purchasing 4 rental properties in Michigan and 1 note. Within 45 days of returning home, we realized we had made a mistake. But really we didn't realize the enormity of the mistake until about 6 months later. The houses were supposedly rented to quality renters, section 8 ready (meaning they were in great shape) and they were income producing properties. NEGATIVE, the property manager was awful, the properties were in awful shape and had constant issues. The tenants were a disaster.

    In the end, we did a deed in lieu of foreclosure on all 4 properties and had to take the other property that we did the note on with a deed in lieu. Buy PD was nice enough to "buy" it back from us for what was owed.

    We feel this is the scheme. They put on a great show. Sell you an overpriced house for 20% cash down, hard money loan at 12% with huge promises. After 6-8 months it becomes clear there is no way it's a cash producing property and you are just looking for a way out. You take a $1000 for a deed in lieu of foreclosure. The person who loaned the money is freaking because what are they going do with the house & they buy it back for the 80% they loaned. They turn around and sell it again for a full price and get the next unsuspecting fool who is willing to put up 20%.

    It's a Ponzi scheme, don't fall victim. We lost a lot of money and will now have to work many more years.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 66 out 68 people found this review helpful

    Typical bait and switch

    • Minnesota,
    • Jun 27, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I was hopeful for some meaningful training, but what a joke. Lets start from the beginning.

    So I went to the evening sales pitch to buy a 3-day real estate training package. I purchased the $1000 retail for $200 on sale where they promised to teach how to find deals below market. How to find buyers, and for access to their funding for these deals. This package was to come with the "deal desk" and lifetime customer support. I assumed they would also sell advanced packages at this training, and for $200 I was confident I could learn something worth my while.

    At the first morning of the 3 day training, I quickly thumbed through the 200 page manual I received, and to my disappointment it was 99% motivational speaking. This motivation was to get you to buy the advanced training package for $20,000!

    So I paid for a 3-day training on real estate and I got a 3-day sales pitch and motivational training to buy an advanced package.

    I was misled, lied to, and jerked around as this was pure bait and switch.

    After the class I asked the instructor to clarify the section where they claimed to fulfill all the promises of teaching us what they claimed they would. I said I must have missed the part on how we find deals below market - he repeated what he said in class "use bird dogs, your mailman and local pizza delivery guys". Say what? That's your big education, the mailman is supposed to notify me of deals below market? How does he know it's below market, how does he know it's even for sale? That was the lamest answer I have ever heard.

    They required us to read "who moved my cheese" and the next day we talked about this for an hour. Who's personality did ours match with best in the book? How can we improve ourselves? Etc.

    I wasn't there for motivational speaking. Where is the real estate info? There was none, but boy were there promises that you would get that info in the $20,000 training package.

    I was given these same promises for this 3 day training. So you lied to me once, why do you think I would trust you a second time. But that's where the motivational speaking gets you going, you want it to be true, they keep aggressively pushing and convincing the herd of sheep that they can become rich beyond their wildest dreams if they buy the advanced training. The instructor shows a picture of his 1.5 million dollar condo on the gulf coast, blah, blah, blah.

    I felt sorry for the people that were gullible enough to fall for this crap.

    The training may be worth it, I don't know and I will never know, because I will not do business with people that lie to me.

    I can't believe companies like this can survive, but then again there is a sucker born every minute.

    As proof I am willing to show you the manual I received and the list of advanced classes and prices. You can look for yourself to determine if there was any real estate training provided in this 3-day class.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 1, 2017

      Maria

      Do you have the manual? I'm doing a project on scammers, and if I can save just one person from all these dirt bags, I'll be happy. Please let me know. Thanks.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 64 out 67 people found this review helpful

    Sheraton Riverwalk Seminar in Tampa, Florida

    • Avon Park, Florida,
    • Jun 1, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just left the seminar that was held at The Sheraton in Tampa, Florida. I personally believe they should be ashamed of themselves. They are bilking money from people, whom are, in many cases, in dire straits financially (much like myself), by making promises that through their seminars that they could help them achieve financial independence by the funding of Real Estate Deals, and without worry regarding the LLC because the partners would be there for those that signed up (at a cost of between $250-$350). Then they turn around and tell those same people that either they come up with $595 (only a small amount available) to purchase the LLC (at your representatives cost) or end up paying $5000 if you don't take the opportunity.

    I suffered a brain stroke April 25th. I now have no income or job. I was the sole provider of my family and I had to pay all of my bills with the available credit that I had. I saw their program as a possible way to, not just to meet my financial obligations, but make a better way of life for my family. What was their solution in this case? To call my Credit Card companies and ask them to UP my credit so that I might be able to afford to be a part of THE POWER TEAM, Purchase Software, Purchase the LLC, Fund Deals, etc.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 62 out 64 people found this review helpful

    Live Wealth-Building Even with Scott Yancey and his wife Aimee

    • Ohio,
    • Sep 13, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    My husband and I registered for this Wealth Building Real Estate Event to see Scott Yancey and learn about flipping houses. First the infomercial showed people sitting at tables with table clothes during the event. Then the infomercial says don't forget you get free lunch and it shows a big hot buffet with everyone with plates serving themselves. Then the next line says every one will received a flash stick with learning material, a MP3 and the first 50 people will receive laptop computers.

    We signed up hoping to learn something so we could live comfortably since most of our 401K was used up to pay for bills. A few days before the event started a person calls me and wants to know if we want to upgrade to the VIP level for only $10 per person. I said no which was good, as when we got there the only thing the $10 would have gotten you was a lanyard with a name tag and a paperback book about flipping houses and the ability to go in the event hall a few minutes early.

    So after the VIP's went in we went in. We still got a seat in the second row and the VIP were scattered around the room. The only thing beside the book and the lanyard the VIP got was permission to go and get hot coffee next to the front door. The ones that didn't pay the $10 just got cold water with no ice. But most of the people got the coffee anyway as no one was standing there to chase you away if you were not a VIP.

    At the beginning of the program we were told by the gentleman from Yancey's company who was the speaker to wait until the end of the program to ask any questions. He said some of his people couldn't make it as there was a delay on the airplane. He also said usually they have more time in a rented hall but this time they had to make it short since the Hilton didn't give them enough time for the whole presentation. So he wanted to know if it was all right with us if he could speed through the course to make up for the time. We all said yes.

    It was supposed to be 90 minutes long per the infomercial. We never got the see Mr. Yancey at all. There was a lot of up selling. They wanted us to pay $1997 for the primary person and $497 for a second person for the 3 day event to learn more about flipping houses. But if we signed up that day and only that day, they would drop it to $997 and a second person could get the same thing for free. Nope too much money for our pocket. They also said we could have financing if we put $500 down and made 12 monthly payment on the balance. And when we made our first sale they would give us the $1000 back.

    Now remember the hot lunch that was mentioned in the infomercial? About 2pm we got a boxed lunch with a croissant turkey and Swiss cheese sandwich, a bag of Lays potato chip and a chocolate cookie ,and nothing to drink except for that water without ice. They gave us about 5 minutes to eat, trying to hold the box on our lap and eat the sandwich all at once. Not happy. The sandwich was good.

    Then another guy came up and started talking to us about trading and buying stocks and again that would cost us $997 for the primary person and $297 for the second person for a 2 day program. And normally even that was $1997, but again if we got it right now we could get it for the $997. Again we couldn't afford it.

    Well, all and all we didn't learn much. The were no laptop given away, not even a mention of them. We did get a DVD about flipping and the MP3 player, but not the paperback book since we didn't pay the $10 per person upgrade. And in my email conformation it say "Free Gifts: 2 Valuable Resource Discs, Scott's Best-Selling Book Laptop Computer." We didn't get 2 resource discs we only got one, no book and no laptop computer.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 60 out 70 people found this review helpful

    A scam from the start

    • GA,
    • Oct 29, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    You CANNOT trust a company when they start to lie to you from the start, in their "Free Seminar". Just attended their Dinner Free Seminar last night and want to warn anyone who is planning to attend.

    Their TV ad shows the free seminar will give you the following:

    1. Ad shows - how to earn money. Reality - a sales pitch for a $1197 3-days retreat, and a $297 stock investing workshop.

    2. Ad shows - hot food buffet. Reality - a box sandwich, small apple, cereal bar; not even soda or bottle water.

    3. Ad shows - a really nice MP3 player. Reality - a 1" x 1.5" cheap plastic 'player', has not worked yet for me.

    4. Ad shows - a Scott Yancey CD consists of tips. Reality - yes, I got a CD, will not watch it as I am already disappointed with their promises.

    5. Ad shows - a USB drive. Reality - No, did not receive one.

    6. When I called to register for the seminar that is holding in GA right now, they told me each person will receive a tablet. Reality - No tablet. The brochure has a fine print that it is a prize selected by a 3rd party. And it is up to them to deliver the promise.

    Here is the program for the evening:

    1. Sell you their 3 days seminar for $1,197.

    2. Then you get your box sandwich.

    3. Then sit thru another hour of speech to sign up for a stock investing class.

    4. Then you receive this cheap 10 cents MP3 player.

    So if you want to sit through a 3 1/2 hours of selling pitches and receive a $5 box meal and a 10 cents MP3 player that may not work, then do sign up and go.

    This has put such a bad taste in my mouth I will not be watching Scott's show anymore, nor anything he will be selling.

    BTW: I feel ALL the 5 stars positive reviews here are fake. They are short with not much details.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 58 out 62 people found this review helpful

    Fraud

    • Springfield, VA,
    • Mar 4, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    Unfortunately, my girlfriend got suckered into going to their three day workshop and like a fool I went with her. The main lie they started with us how we would be reach if stuck with them.

    Then we had to read a brainwashing short story (50 pages) about how we could be rich only if we tried their thirty thousand dollar seminar in Las Vegas. I didn't want anything to do with it. They had already stole $2,000.00 from her and then they pushed us into getting as many credit cards as we could. Before you know it, we put $20,000.00 on a credit card. I tried to get my money back from the start and they have refused a refund. I can't afford it and don't have the money to pay this credit card bill. I'm being charged a penalty and interest and that is costing me over $150.00 a month alone. They should be put in jail for using people as their bait. I want to sue!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 8, 2015

      C. Watson,

      If he'd canceled within 3 days, this wouldn't have happened. Cancelation stipulations are quite clear.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 367

Write a Review for Scott Yancey!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review