About Scratch + Aide

Created by the makers of Dutch Glow, Scratch + Aide is claimed to be a wood scratch mender that can make scratches on wood surfaces instantly disappear and can bring all your wood furniture, flooring, and cabinetry back to life.

In order to accomplish this, Scratch + Aide is claimed to go on clear and absorb the existing stain color, allowing it to match any type or color of wood, help your wood look brand new again in seconds, and save you hundreds of dollars on repairs in the process. In fact, Scratch + Aide is so is claimed to be so easy to use that it works in 3 simple steps:

  • Fill the crack or gouge.
  • Smooth using the included spatula.
  • ​Allow to dry and the crack or gouge will be gone.

According to the manufacturer, Scratch + Aide is guaranteed to provide you with amazing results, regardless of the type of wood you’re repairing or its location.

Wood décor in your home can add a level of warmth that’s difficult to achieve with other furnishings, although the constant scratching, wear, and tear can cause your once-new furnishings and floors to start looking dingy fairly fast. But can Scratch + Aide help prevent this in a simple and easy manner? Consider the following:

Does Scratch + Aide Work As Well As Advertised?

In the Scratch + Aide commercial, the scratches shown during demonstrations appeared to be fairly light and only on the top layer of the wood, so it would be interesting to see how well it performs for bigger scratches that penetrate the wood on a deeper level.

In addition, although the scratches appear to immediately blend in to the surrounding wood after Scratch + Aide is applied, keep in mind that adding the liquid to the scratches may just refract light and prevent the scratch from being easily visible. Also, since the existing stain on your wood is dried, we’d be curious as to how Scratch + Aide immediately absorbs its stain once applied.

Also, since the demonstrations in the Scratch + Aide commercial are from only one angle, we’d be keen to test it out an learn if the liquid’s sheen is visible after it’s dried.

Finally, although Scratch + Aide’s commercial claims the liquid goes on clear, it appears to have a fairly deep brown tint based on the picture on the website. As such, it may not match all wood stains equally.

Keep Your Options Open

Next, remember that wood repair kits are nothing new, so you’ll be able to find hundreds of options online, as well as through local retailers. Granted, not all of these options will repair your wood scratches exactly like Scratch + Aide, and some may be more expensive. Although, when it comes to self-repairing your wood furniture, you’re probably more focused on quality results than you are necessarily on cost.

Mind the Arbitration

Finally, by placing your order on the Scratch + Aide website, you’ll be bound to the company’s arbitration agreement, which will limit your ability to become part of a class action lawsuit or any type of legal proceeding against the company.

What Are Other Consumers Saying About Scratch + Aide?

Scratch + Aide was a very new product and didn’t have any online customer reviews available at the time of our research.

However, Scratch + Aide is manufactured by SAS Group, who also makes Dutch Glow (which also goes under the name Amish Wood Milk), another popular ASOTV wood finishing product. With this said, based on more than 220 HighYa reader reviews (as of 1/6/15), Dutch Glow had a 1.5-star rating, with some of the most common complaints citing:

  • Failure to work as advertised (in fact, after reviewing the product ourselves, we weren’t able to tell a difference between cabinets that had Dutch Glow applied and those that were simply wiped down with a dry cloth)
  • Long delivery times
  • Poor customer service (e.g. numerous upsells during calls, frequent solicitations from telemarketers after purchasing)
  • Order totals that were much higher than expected

Granted, many of these complaints focus more on customer service than they do product performance, so keep in mind that this isn’t necessarily indicative of what you’ll experience with Scratch + Aide.

Finally, SAS Group holds a B- rating with the Better Business Bureau based on more than 120 complains (as of 1/6/14), most of which appeared to reference the same complaints noted above.

Scratch + Aide Pricing & Refund Policy

Scratch + Aide is priced at $10, plus $12.90 S&H (yes, you read that right!) and a $2 “web fee,” bringing your total to $24.90. For this price you’ll receive the following:

  • 1 bottle of Scratch + Aide Scratch Mender
  • Wood Butter – fills and conceals cracks and gouges
  • Microfiber dusting and polishing mitt

Scratch + Aide comes with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges. This means that if you decide to return your Scratch + Aide order, you’ll lose more in S&H charges than you’ll receive as a refund, which is before you even include how much it’ll cost you to send the product back to the manufacturer.

With this said, if you’d like to request a refund, you’ll need to contact customer service at 866-561-8543.

Can Scratch + Aide Revolutionize How You Care for Your Wood Surfaces?

Chopping to the Point: It’s technically possible, although based on our experience with other cleaning products from the same manufacturer, the results might be much less spectacular than the commercial makes it seem. As such, if you plan on rolling the dice with Scratch + Aide, it’s important to remember you’ll lose a good chunk of change on S&H charges if you’re dissatisfied, and to keep your expectations realistic.

What to Learn How to Shop Smarter for TV Products?

Join over 3 million HighYa readers who receive weekly how-to guides, tips & reviews and get a FREE COPY of our 145 Scam Hacks e-book. Enter your email below to get started!

51 Consumer Reviews for Scratch + Aide

Average Consumer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 2 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  47
Bottom Line: 6% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 51
Sort reviews by:

  • Scratch + Aide

    • North Haven, CT,
    • Nov 20, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I received this product and was very excited to use it. However, when I applied it to a very small scratch nothing happened. The scratch appeared to get worse. I’m sending it back for a refund. This product does not work.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    RUN don't walk away

    • Newtown, CT,
    • Oct 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    As others before have stated, these people are scammers. Although they tell you that your order can be reviewed prior to closing out, you are never given that opportunity. You will be advised to find the shipping and handling prices during the check out process. However, before you are given the shipping cost, the order will suddenly be confirmed, and you find yourself ripped off $16 for shipping and handling on an order for a $9 item.

    I will be notifying the BBB and local news stations as I cannot in good conscience leave this for someone else to become victimized. Run, do not walk, away from this!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Total ripoff!

    • Baltimore, MD,
    • Aug 18, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    $20 plus for shipping and handling, and the wood butter didn't work! I'd be extremely skeptical of anything these people come up with. The shipping and handling charges don't appear until your order has been placed. I called to cancel and was told to call back.

    Total crap.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Doesn't work

    • Rockport, Texas,
    • Jul 5, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just received the product and tried it on a small scratch that is not deep, and it did nothing to cover it up. Also, be very careful if you order this. It looks very reasonable, but they tack on several charges you cannot remove. My order started at a few dollars, and by the time they tacked on items I didn't want to bring the total to over $27.00. I have to live with this, so I take the blame for ever ordering it. Watch out for Scratch Aide ads, so you don't get taken like I was. It might be worth $27.00 if it worked, but it didn't for me.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 8 out 8 people found this review helpful

    How can they even sell this product!

    This is garbage, plain and simple GARBAGE.

    They charge $18 for shipping and handling, so this is obviously where they make their money. The one positive review had to have been bogus, and the TV ad is totally faked. The bottom line here is that it's snake oil. The company that makes it knows that it's fake, the TV shopping network promoting it knows that it is fake, and the online call center selling it to you and pushing the up-sales knows that it is fake. Forget the ethics or morality issue; is it even legal to do it?

    They have false claims, false advertising, and they are crooks!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Waste of money

    • Aurora, IL,
    • Feb 4, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I wish I would have seen these reviews before I purchased. I tried Amish Milk and Scratch Mender on several things, and neither did a thing. I called for a refund, and I can either send it back or get a $10 credit. Bottom line is, I'm out more than that. I will be submitting a claim with Better Business Bureau.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Scratch + Aid and Wood Butter by Dutch Glow is utter garbage

    • Florida,
    • Jan 27, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    As seen on TV my eye! This product is not worth the tiny bottles it is in.

    They've added three magic erasers to the mix now, and this offer will wind up costing you almost $30. Basically for three magic erasers, a microfiber cloth (that isn't worthy of picking up a dog potty spill), and the two tiny bottles of product (that does not work and makes the bad area more noticeable). All with three separate shipping and handling charges for all this free stuff.

    Do not waste your money. You're better off coloring your scratch with a magic marker. Their money back guarantee does not include all their nonsensical shipping and handling charges, so even if you return it, you're out all your money once you pay return shipping charges.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 24 out 24 people found this review helpful

    Rip-off!

    They offered "free" sponges but then they said it would cost a separate S&H fee of $7.95. I then tried to opt for the free sponges but the ordering process would not let me.

    Then when I got the package, the sponges came in the same package as the Scratch Aide kit! So I paid TWO S&H fees for ONE package, plus a $2 processing fee!

    I called Scratch Aide to complain and asked for a refund of one of the S&H fees plus the processing fee. They refused to give me anything more than $5 back!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 33 out 34 people found this review helpful

    Total Rip Off

    • La Jolla, CA,
    • Jul 15, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    Firstly, the product doesn't work as advertised. Second, if you order the $10 deal they will hammer you for $17.95 shipping and handling charges that are NOT refundable. Total scam!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 25 people found this review helpful

    Scratch + Aide is the Best!

    • Feb 27, 2016
    • Verified Reviewer

    I just received this product and wanted to repair scratches that my dog made on my antique coffee table. This stuff completely fixed my table! I would have paid $100 or more to repair this priceless table. Thank you for offering such a great product.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 40 out 42 people found this review helpful

    Quality of Product

    • Denver, CO,
    • Feb 6, 2016

    Don't waste your time with these Scratch & Aide products, especially the scratch mender and wood butter. They did not perform the way the TV advertisement claimed. I tried them both a couple of times, on a couple of different surfaces, and it did not work for me at all. You are probably better off buying a bottle of Old English scratch cover, which is a very reliable product. And an extra $7.99 for S&H for those three sponges? Wow, do I feel like a fool to have fallen for this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 51

Write a Review for Scratch + Aide!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review