About Scratch + Aide

Created by the makers of Dutch Glow, Scratch + Aide is claimed to be a wood scratch mender that can make scratches on wood surfaces instantly disappear and can bring all your wood furniture, flooring, and cabinetry back to life.

In order to accomplish this, Scratch + Aide is claimed to go on clear and absorb the existing stain color, allowing it to match any type or color of wood, help your wood look brand new again in seconds, and save you hundreds of dollars on repairs in the process. In fact, Scratch + Aide is so is claimed to be so easy to use that it works in 3 simple steps:

  • Fill the crack or gouge.
  • Smooth using the included spatula.
  • ​Allow to dry and the crack or gouge will be gone.

According to the manufacturer, Scratch + Aide is guaranteed to provide you with amazing results, regardless of the type of wood you’re repairing or its location.

Wood décor in your home can add a level of warmth that’s difficult to achieve with other furnishings, although the constant scratching, wear, and tear can cause your once-new furnishings and floors to start looking dingy fairly fast. But can Scratch + Aide help prevent this in a simple and easy manner? Consider the following:

Does Scratch + Aide Work As Well As Advertised?

In the Scratch + Aide commercial, the scratches shown during demonstrations appeared to be fairly light and only on the top layer of the wood, so it would be interesting to see how well it performs for bigger scratches that penetrate the wood on a deeper level.

In addition, although the scratches appear to immediately blend in to the surrounding wood after Scratch + Aide is applied, keep in mind that adding the liquid to the scratches may just refract light and prevent the scratch from being easily visible. Also, since the existing stain on your wood is dried, we’d be curious as to how Scratch + Aide immediately absorbs its stain once applied.

Also, since the demonstrations in the Scratch + Aide commercial are from only one angle, we’d be keen to test it out an learn if the liquid’s sheen is visible after it’s dried.

Finally, although Scratch + Aide’s commercial claims the liquid goes on clear, it appears to have a fairly deep brown tint based on the picture on the website. As such, it may not match all wood stains equally.

Keep Your Options Open

Next, remember that wood repair kits are nothing new, so you’ll be able to find hundreds of options online, as well as through local retailers. Granted, not all of these options will repair your wood scratches exactly like Scratch + Aide, and some may be more expensive. Although, when it comes to self-repairing your wood furniture, you’re probably more focused on quality results than you are necessarily on cost.

Mind the Arbitration

Finally, by placing your order on the Scratch + Aide website, you’ll be bound to the company’s arbitration agreement, which will limit your ability to become part of a class action lawsuit or any type of legal proceeding against the company.

What Are Other Consumers Saying About Scratch + Aide?

Scratch + Aide was a very new product and didn’t have any online customer reviews available at the time of our research.

However, Scratch + Aide is manufactured by SAS Group, which also makes Dutch Glow, another popular ASOTV wood finishing product. With this said, Dutch Glow had a 1.5-star rating, with some of the most common complaints citing:

  • Failure to work as advertised (in fact, after reviewing the product ourselves, we weren’t able to tell a difference between cabinets that had Dutch Glow applied and those that were simply wiped down with a dry cloth)
  • Long delivery times
  • Poor customer service (e.g. numerous upsells during calls, frequent solicitations from telemarketers after purchasing)
  • Order totals that were much higher than expected

Granted, many of these complaints focus more on customer service than they do product performance, so keep in mind that this isn’t necessarily indicative of what you’ll experience with Scratch + Aide.

Finally, SAS Group holds a D+ rating with the Better Business Bureau based on more than 46 complaints (as of 2/22/2020), most of which appeared to reference the same complaints noted above.

Scratch + Aide Pricing & Refund Policy

Scratch + Aide is priced at $10, plus $12.90 S&H (yes, you read that right!) and a $2 “web fee,” bringing your total to $24.90. For this price you’ll receive the following:

  • 1 bottle of Scratch + Aide Scratch Mender
  • Wood Butter – fills and conceals cracks and gouges
  • Microfiber dusting and polishing mitt

Scratch + Aide comes with a 30-day refund policy, less S&H charges. This means that if you decide to return your Scratch + Aide order, you’ll lose more in S&H charges than you’ll receive as a refund, which is before you even include how much it’ll cost you to send the product back to the manufacturer.

With this said, if you’d like to request a refund, you’ll need to contact customer service at 866-561-8543.

Can Scratch + Aide Revolutionize How You Care for Your Wood Surfaces?

It’s technically possible, although based on our experience with other cleaning products from the same manufacturer, the results might be much less spectacular than the commercial makes it seem. As such, if you plan on rolling the dice with Scratch + Aide, it’s important to remember you’ll lose a good chunk of change on S&H charges if you’re dissatisfied, and to keep your expectations realistic.


Read 51 Scratch + Aide Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.2
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 2 4 star: 1 3 star: 0 2 star: 1 1 star:  47
Bottom Line: 6% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 51
Sort reviews by:

  • Don't touch the purchase button on website.

    • By Sam,
    • Mcdonough, GA,
    • Feb 23, 2015

    You will not be given a chance to review order. This is clearly a way to up sell more of stuff you may not want.

    Buyer beware. This company is fearful that the can not stand on how good the product is. They think if they give you chance to really examine what you ordered you would not like it. Therefore, they don't give you that option. I will never buy any Dutch glow product again.

    Buyer beware.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Quality of Product

    • By TMRush ,
    • Denver, CO,
    • Feb 6, 2016

    Don't waste your time with these Scratch & Aide products, especially the scratch mender and wood butter. They did not perform the way the TV advertisement claimed. I tried them both a couple of times, on a couple of different surfaces, and it did not work for me at all. You are probably better off buying a bottle of Old English scratch cover, which is a very reliable product. And an extra $7.99 for S&H for those three sponges? Wow, do I feel like a fool to have fallen for this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Rip off

    • By Dennis Hook,
    • Sacramento,
    • Nov 5, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    Charged me twice for S&H for two tiny bottles of product. Bottom line, even if the product worked, which it doesn't, I paid $20 for product (2x$10) and $34 for shipping and handling. And paid same amount for shipping on "free bonus sponges," which probably cost them $.05 to make.

    Even if I returned product, they still make $34 for nothing. Wish I could make $34 each on 1000, 10,000, or 100,000 or more stupid customers. Yes I was stupid.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Trickery & Robbery.

    • By Christiba,
    • New Jersey,
    • Nov 1, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    Let me start off that the binding arbitration agreement stinks. I would love nothing more than to sue this company. The product does not work! Simply stated. The ordering process is full of trickery. This company makes its money on the outrageous shipping charges. The customer service department and managers must know their product is garbage, they are all terrible at their jobs. I have spent a week of my life trying to get a credit due to the horrible ordering system. Immediately after I unknowingly completed an order I requested it cancelled and was told it already shipped. They are vague, rude in there responses. This company should be shut down. They are literally stealing people's money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Don't buy this product

    I really wish I read the reviews before I got scammed the same way. The online ordering process is where you get scammed into a $24.95 purchase when you expected to pay only $10 or so; and no way to edit it after you go through the unlimited amount of "add on" offers during the process. Then you get the product that does absolutely nothing like it shows on TV. I am not even going to try and do any form of refund situation as it seems like that is hardly worth it according to the experience of others here. I just wanted to share my review in hopes this company suffers the financial consequences of their highly questionable advertising and "bait and switch" tactics via their ordering process.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Ripped off

    • By Janet Taylor,
    • Texas,
    • Feb 2, 2016

    Their customer service is very rude and not helpful at all. The product does not work at all, and may damage wood. Do not buy this, since you do not get your money back either. Personally, I wouldn't even give them one star, but it was the only way to submit this review.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • They Are Bunch Of Crooks

    • By Minoo Gorji,
    • Sausalito, CA,
    • Aug 19, 2015

    I bought this product online and they charged my credit card two times. The product came after a month. I tried it and it was like rubbing the cooking oil on my furniture. I returned it right away and they denied the refund. In reality the day your place the order the clock starts ticking which means you are stuck to this cooking oil and they will not honor the 30 day trial period. The shipping is ridiculously expensive. This little bottle of cooking oil cost me a $100. They are very dishonest.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Scratch Aide is Garbage

    • By Steven Kopec,
    • Manhattan, Illinois,
    • Jan 24, 2016

    The only place this product works is on TV. The cost is 10 dollars. BUT WAIT -- the processing fee is $2.00. The 3 bonus sponges (available at local hardware store for $1.50) were free -- EXCEPT for the shipping and processing fee of $7.99. The shipping and processing for the scratch mender was $7.95. So, for the low price of $27.94 you can buy a $10.00 item. Oh -- if not satisfied, you can send it back (at your expense) for a credit of the cost ONLY of the scratch mender ($10.00). It appears that they make fortune on processing, shipping, and handling. Don't be as stupid as I was -- get a quality product at your local hardware, Lowes, or Wal-Mart, for a lot less money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Rip off

    • By L Thomas,
    • San Francisco, CA,
    • Jul 4, 2015

    I believe this is a rip off of a company. They sent me all the freebies but left out the Scratch Aide product. So the box had three eraser sponges and a cloth. Total shipping charge was $17.94 plus the $10.00 for the product that never arrived. I called and complained twice then decided to take it up with AMEX which immediately credited my account, probably due to the fact they know this is a scam. DO NOT BUY!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Absolute scam!

    • By Angel,
    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Jul 6, 2015

    This product does not work what so ever! I tried it on different size scratches and absolutely nothing happened. I would never recommend this product.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


  • Huge rip-off.

    • By Nancy Andrews,
    • Wilder, VT,
    • Jan 18, 2016

    I ordered two Scratch menders and was charged $53.88. After I saw what I was being charged, I tried to go back in and remove items, but there is no place to remove items from my order.

    You are charged twice for processing ($15.90) and twice more for processing bonus 3 eraser sponges ($15.98).

    I contacted customer service and asked them to remove one scratch mender and told them that I didn't want the 3 bonus eraser sponges and was told that there wasn't an option to cancel the 3 bonus erasers.

    I ended up cancelling the whole order. I only wish that I had read the other reviews before I ordered this product. I would give this product a zero. What a scam.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend


Showing 1-11 of 51

Write a Review for Scratch + Aide!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review
Scratch + Aide