Scratch-dini Review: Is It Legit or Hype?

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Oct 7, 2013

Regardless of color, Scratch-dini is a professional-strength paste that claims to remove your car’s surface scratches in just a matter of seconds. In fact, the company claims that a 4oz tube of Scratch-dini is enough to fix “hundreds of scratches,” not only on your car, but also on your motorcycles, RVs, boats, trailers, jet skis, snowmobiles, and more.

When compared to using local body shops, the Scratch-dini formula is 100% guaranteed and can be hundreds of dollars cheaper. This may be part of the reason why the company claims to have over 500,000 satisfied customers, though this number has not been independently confirmed.

How Does Scratch-dini Work?

When using Scratch-dini, you’ll simply place a small portion onto a clean cloth, and buff away your vehicle’s scratch. In essence, you’re wiping it away. Scratch-dini claims that the primary ingredient, BFGoodrich Carbpol, uses “millions of microparticles that gently and effectively remove surface scratches,” while also protecting your paint job.

Scratch-dini Pricing & Return Policy

A single order of Scratch-dini includes one 4oz bottle, in addition to a headlight restorer/polisher, for $10 plus $7.95 shipping and handling. Like most “As Seen on TV” products, Scratch-dini will double your order—just pay an additional $7.95 shipping and handling.

This means, for $26, you’ll receive two bottles Scratch-dini plus two headlight restorers, all of which comes with a 30-day money back guarantee minus all the processing and handling fees. If you’re not satisfied for any reason, simply call customer service at 866-684-5574 to initiate the refund process.

It’s important to note that if you visit the Scratch-dini website and attempt to leave without making a purchase, you’ll receive a pop-up box asking you to stay. If you click on “Stay,” a new pop-up window will appear and provide you with a $5 per-order coupon.

Should You Buy the Scratch-dini?

If you’re considering buying Scratch-dini, there are a couple things to keep in mind. First, the Scratch-dini formula is intended to work only on surface scratches. In other words, if you have deep scratches on your vehicle, it will not work. In all fairness, the company’s website does mention the word “surface” in a couple of instances, but most people without bodywork experience will miss this important detail.

Second, Scratch-dini is an “As Seen on TV” product, which means that there are numerous online complaints stating that it does not work as advertised. Also, products such as these earn the bulk of their profits though inflated “shipping and handling” fees. This means that, even though Scratch-dini does come with a 30-day money back guarantee, these fees are not included as part of your refund—and you’ll be responsible for shipping it back to the company.

Take the following as an example: If you ordered Scratch-dini today, you’d pay a total of around $26. If you didn’t like the way it worked and decided to return it, you would only receive $10 back, which doesn’t account for your shipping charges. When you also include this, it’s likely you’ll end up somewhere near $0.

In reality, you’re likely better off trying to find a more reputable product at a local, physical store. While it may cost you slightly more, you’ll at least be able to return it for a full refund if it doesn’t work out.

See Also: 7 Things You Should Know About As Seen on TV & Infomercial Products Before Buying


Read 66 Scratch-dini Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Customer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 3 4 star: 3 3 star: 1 2 star: 2 1 star:  57
Bottom Line: 12% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 66
Sort reviews by:

  • 13 out 22 people found this review helpful

    Amazing product

    • Fort Worth, TX,
    • Sep 1, 2014

    I think many of the negative reviews are by people who really don't know the difference between surface scratches and something worse. I had literally hundreds of surface scratches on my silver Camry from setting things on top of the car, like unloading bags of cat litter from Sam's, along with claw marks from cats jumping on the vehicle, etc. I used it exactly as instructed, including rubbing in multiple directions when removing it, and every scratch but three was removed. The three that weren't removed were pretty bad, though. I couldn't believe how well it removed the scratches. My Camry's exterior almost looks like the day I bought it many years ago.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 6 out 8 people found this review helpful

    WOW

    • Corpus Christi, TX,
    • Oct 27, 2015

    If I had read the reviews before purchasing this product, I never would have bought it. However, not knowing this I followed the instructions after scraping my car on the garage frame pulling out. It worked like magic. I'm so happy. Don't know what the other people did wrong, but you do need persistence and elbow grease.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Great stuff

    • Texas,
    • Jan 1, 2016

    I bought this at Dollar General. You can buy it almost anywhere for $9.99 for a four ounce bottle except at Walmart. The one at Walmart is $31.60. Great stuff.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 17 people found this review helpful

    It really worked for me!

    • Highland Park, IL,
    • Jan 28, 2014

    Had a few small scratches that always bothered me. Ordered this and was surprised when it help remove almost all of scratches on my car. Thanks for saving me time and money!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 1 out 2 people found this review helpful

    Works great for me

    • Concord, CA,
    • Jun 11, 2015

    This product works great for what I used it for and that was to remove "Surface" scratches. If you got a ding or deep scratch, this product won't help. I suspect the major complaints would be the definition of what is a scratch. But I was satisfied with the product. My car surface is like new again but those smaller deeper dents and scratches need putty.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 3 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Does it work

    • Okanagan, British Columbia, Canada,
    • Aug 22, 2015
    • Verified Reviewer

    If Scratch-Dini is used for the right job it works, it does not fix dents or scratches, but for those minor marks such as shopping cart marks, and other minor abrasions, you have to be persistent and use a little elbow grease. I touched it after with a bit of Carnauba wax and it was like new again.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 24 out 28 people found this review helpful

    Some what satisfied

    • St. Louis, MO,
    • Jun 24, 2015

    No, didn't get rid of the scratches completely. But did cover them up a little and they are not near as obvious as they were before using this product. Now my scratches were not deep, but I have to look at them at a certain angle before I see them. There's about a 60% improvement which is better than nothing. 

    I was able to talk them down to $16.95 which included shipping. You can't expect a miracle for this price, but there was some improvement.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 25 out 25 people found this review helpful

    A costly learning experience

    • Washington DC,
    • Jun 24, 2015

    Most websites offer a final page that lists what you have ordered, costs, and process and handling fees before you finalize your order so if changes are desired, you may delete or add to the order. Ordering products on line is not new to me, yet the experience I had with this company rated far below my expectations. The order was processed immediately from the order page without an opportunity to approve. I was expecting to spend approximately $26.00 by taking the double your order and paying separate p&h fees only. $10.00 + 7.95 x's 2 [ $ 15.90 ] = $ 25.90 Total. The order I received at my home address consisted of much more than I wanted and cost was $107.70. I sent the package back for a refund the same day I received it. I was refunded only $60.00 of the $107.70 taken from by bank account. I can say I did not research this company before I decided to place this order only because I felt this was such a small amount to be spent really should not merit all of that at the time.

    This was a spare of the moment purchase from a T.V. commercial. I've learned a lesson from this ordeal. Check out all companies before making purchases from them. I don't know about you but I work hard for my paychecks and I expect to get good products and services for my money. I was told when I called about the discrepancy with my refund, their policies. These policies should be listed in plane view for all potential customers to see before ordering their products. $ 47.70 lost. I wonder how many times over. Should be some recourse of justice to stop this.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 23 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Does not work

    • Royal Oak, MI,
    • Mar 21, 2014

    Purchased at a local store so it only cost $9.99. Thank goodness. What a waste of money. It did nothing to my small or large scratches.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 96 out 99 people found this review helpful

    Scratch dini is a scam it is useless.

    • New Jersey,
    • Jun 20, 2015

    Scratch-dini is a scam. It doesn't work and they will bill you for two or three if you order one. Don't do it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 55 out 55 people found this review helpful

    Bogus item - do not purchase it - double charging

    • New Jersey,
    • Jun 23, 2015

    This is a bogus scam. They will process the order and double charge you without allowing you to check and confirm what you purchased. You have no way of knowing what you will be charged until you receive the confirmation. If you call them, they will not help you or cancel the order. I had to cancel it through my credit card company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 66

Write a Review for Scratch-dini!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review