Scratch-dini Review: Is It Legit or Hype?

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Oct 7, 2013

Regardless of color, Scratch-dini is a professional-strength paste that claims to remove your car’s surface scratches in just a matter of seconds. In fact, the company claims that a 4oz tube of Scratch-dini is enough to fix “hundreds of scratches,” not only on your car, but also on your motorcycles, RVs, boats, trailers, jet skis, snowmobiles, and more.

When compared to using local body shops, the Scratch-dini formula is 100% guaranteed and can be hundreds of dollars cheaper. This may be part of the reason why the company claims to have over 500,000 satisfied customers, though this number has not been independently confirmed.

How Does Scratch-dini Work?

When using Scratch-dini, you’ll simply place a small portion onto a clean cloth, and buff away your vehicle’s scratch. In essence, you’re wiping it away. Scratch-dini claims that the primary ingredient, BFGoodrich Carbpol, uses “millions of microparticles that gently and effectively remove surface scratches,” while also protecting your paint job.

Scratch-dini Pricing & Return Policy

A single order of Scratch-dini includes one 4oz bottle, in addition to a headlight restorer/polisher, for $10 plus $7.95 shipping and handling. Like most “As Seen on TV” products, Scratch-dini will double your order—just pay an additional $7.95 shipping and handling.

This means, for $26, you’ll receive two bottles Scratch-dini plus two headlight restorers, all of which comes with a 30-day money back guarantee minus all the processing and handling fees. If you’re not satisfied for any reason, simply call customer service at 866-684-5574 to initiate the refund process.

It’s important to note that if you visit the Scratch-dini website and attempt to leave without making a purchase, you’ll receive a pop-up box asking you to stay. If you click on “Stay,” a new pop-up window will appear and provide you with a $5 per-order coupon.

Should You Buy the Scratch-dini?

If you’re considering buying Scratch-dini, there are a couple things to keep in mind. First, the Scratch-dini formula is intended to work only on surface scratches. In other words, if you have deep scratches on your vehicle, it will not work. In all fairness, the company’s website does mention the word “surface” in a couple of instances, but most people without bodywork experience will miss this important detail.

Second, Scratch-dini is an “As Seen on TV” product, which means that there are numerous online complaints stating that it does not work as advertised. Also, products such as these earn the bulk of their profits though inflated “shipping and handling” fees. This means that, even though Scratch-dini does come with a 30-day money back guarantee, these fees are not included as part of your refund—and you’ll be responsible for shipping it back to the company.

Take the following as an example: If you ordered Scratch-dini today, you’d pay a total of around $26. If you didn’t like the way it worked and decided to return it, you would only receive $10 back, which doesn’t account for your shipping charges. When you also include this, it’s likely you’ll end up somewhere near $0.

In reality, you’re likely better off trying to find a more reputable product at a local, physical store. While it may cost you slightly more, you’ll at least be able to return it for a full refund if it doesn’t work out.

See Also: 7 Things You Should Know About As Seen on TV & Infomercial Products Before Buying

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 66 Scratch-dini Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.4
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 3 4 star: 3 3 star: 1 2 star: 2 1 star:  57
Bottom Line: 12% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 66
Sort reviews by:

  • 96 out 99 people found this review helpful

    Scratch dini is a scam it is useless.

    • New Jersey,
    • Jun 20, 2015

    Scratch-dini is a scam. It doesn't work and they will bill you for two or three if you order one. Don't do it.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 55 out 55 people found this review helpful

    Bogus item - do not purchase it - double charging

    • New Jersey,
    • Jun 23, 2015

    This is a bogus scam. They will process the order and double charge you without allowing you to check and confirm what you purchased. You have no way of knowing what you will be charged until you receive the confirmation. If you call them, they will not help you or cancel the order. I had to cancel it through my credit card company.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 52 out 54 people found this review helpful

    Waste of money

    • Dec 13, 2013

    Worthless waste of money. A mild polishing cream that DOES NOT remove scratches. Those TV commercials are a fake.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 47 out 49 people found this review helpful

    A Total disappointment!

    • Daly City, CA,
    • Dec 1, 2013

    I ordered the Chop Magic on 10/27 and received it on 11/30. Today on 12/1 I tried the product and it's absolutely no good! I can't believe I fell for this scam. Also when people order some other annoying products were non-stop on the phone, I should have known this earlier. I will never recommend this product to the public.

    Please read the reviews before getting into this. It's no good! Think ten or twenty times before you get into the water.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 47 out 48 people found this review helpful

    this stuff sucks

    • Panamacity FL,
    • Dec 18, 2013

    This stuff sucks . "do not buy it" I was a sucker.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 33 out 36 people found this review helpful

    SCAM ARTIST

    • New York, NY,
    • Jan 24, 2014

    When i called to order the product from an automated sales pitch, I tried to order just one item, but was unable to. As the automated recording kept trying to sell me additional items, I kept replying "NO." I later learned my credit card was billed for $50, not the $10 advertised price. I tried to cancel the order and was not able to do so. Now I must pay to have it shipped back to them, and I have no confidence that a refund will be issued to me. LEARN FROM MY MISTAKE! DON'T ORDER THIS PRODUCT.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 33 out 34 people found this review helpful

    Scam and scam.

    • Florida,
    • Aug 8, 2015

    This stuff is the same thing that the local company in 18 hundreds would go around in a wagon tell you this miracle crap will cure your cold and take spots off your shoes and grow hair on your head. I did not read these reviews before buying this crap. I went for the upgrade size. Then I went through them trying to sell me all kinds of other crap. By the time I was done saying no I clicked "buy". I did not have a page that tells you this is what you bought in case you want to change your order. Well, to my surprise I bought two of them, adding up to $71.95 for a $10 dollar item. I called the support line, they told me to send it back or they will refund 10 dollars but if I send it back I have to pay for shipping, so I kept it.

    Then I get a phone call telling me I signed up for something and I'm getting a 100 dollars of gas cards. I told the lady what do you mean I singed up. She tells me no you didn't singed up for anything, use the gas cards on us, and I just have to make a simple call and tell them I want to cancel. I told lady that I have been saying no for last five minutes, why would I need to cancel later. I told her this is one big scam.

    Then I tried to use this stuff. Nothing worked, the head light, no scratches came out of the paint. I could have went to my local auto store a bought the same crap that doesn't work for 5 bucks. I have seen scams like this on American greed. Call your local FBI and report this to them when they get many of our calls they will investigate them and put them in prison were they belong. I repeat this is a big scam. Do not buy this crap and if you did call you local FBI agency. Beware big scam. I am putting one star only because I have to, it's really minus 10 stars.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 30 out 30 people found this review helpful

    Scratch-dini review

    • Winlock, WA,
    • Jul 9, 2015

    Note that the product does not work. After sending product back no refund after a month, that leads me to believe as a buyer beware on trust issue's with this company. Per customer service rep. Yaritza - "no refund, your package must of got lost in the mail".

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 29 out 31 people found this review helpful

    This product sucks

    • New York,
    • Aug 7, 2015

    You will lose your money. As simple as that. I used it on my boat, car, motorcycle and it does not work. This company loves to still people's money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 29 out 29 people found this review helpful

    Scam, Scam, Scam.

    • Crofton, MD,
    • Nov 8, 2014

    It doesn't work. It will hide some surface scratches until the car is washed. The surface scratches will return.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 27 out 29 people found this review helpful

    Avoid at all Cost!

    • CA,
    • Dec 8, 2014

    Any person who gives this product a 5 star rating has no common sense and works for the company product. This stuff never works. Any product that says; "As Seen on TV" is all snake oil. They are all SCAMS.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 66

Write a Review for Scratch-dini!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review