About Secret Extensions

You probably already know that Secret Extensions, endorsed by TV Personality Daisy Fuentes, claims to be invisible hair extensions that give your hair thick, natural-looking volume and added length in seconds. In fact, the company claims that all you have to do is simply pull the patented adjustable headband over your hair, and tousle so that it’s no longer visible.

Secret Extensions claims that their product is made of a keratin-conditioned polyester fiber that moves, feels, and looks just like your real hair, and is available in a variety of colors to perfectly blend with your existing hair color. What’s more, the company claims their extensions can also be washed, trimmed, and curled, and that the adjustable headband will remain in place until removed by you—even while exercising.

Each 16-inch Secret Extensions is priced at $39.99, plus $6.99 shipping and handling. You’ll also have the ability to purchase a second Secret Extensions for $29.99, which will qualify for free shipping.

Secret Extensions are "guaranteed" to perfectly blend in with your hair, or they’ll refund your purchase price within 30 days. However, keep in mind that this guarantee is voided once you open the package, so there’s no way to try it out in advance.

Bottom Line: Does Secret Extensions Actually Work, or is it Just a Scam?

Based on the numerous reviews for Secret Extensions we’ve received at HighYa, as well as the hundreds of reviews available elsewhere online, there appear to be two primary problems with the product.

Secret Extensions Problem #1: Poor Customer Service

The overwhelming majority of online reviews regarding Secret Extensions complain of extremely long shipping times, which in some instances has exceeded two months. On top of this, when customers attempt to contact the company, their customer service reps can’t inform them when their extensions will ship, in addition to constantly upselling them throughout the call. With this in mind, we read countless customer reviews that stated their emails to the company went unanswered, so if you need to contact customer service, it may be best to do so via phone.

Secret Extensions Problem #2: Poor Quality

As if this weren’t enough, after waiting a very long for their Secret Extensions, most customers complain of poor quality. This includes:

  • Colors that are different than what’s advertised on the website.
  • Unrealistic texture that is a dead giveaway that you’re wearing cheap extensions, which apparently also have a propensity to shed.
  • The extensions are very thin, which means they likely won’t work well unless you already have thicker, reasonably long hair.
  • The extensions can’t be curled.
  • The “the patented adjustable headband” isn’t much more than a thin piece of elastic that is likely to stretch out after regular use. Also, this headband does not keep the Secret Extensions in place very well, and almost certainly can’t be used when exercising.

Should You Buy Secret Extensions?

The short answer: Probably not. Between the extremely long shipping times, reputation for poor quality, and customer service that seems unwilling to help, we might recommend purchasing a similar product locally. This way, you can see the product in person before handing over your hard-earned money, and easily return it if you’re not satisfied.

However, keep in mind that at this price point it’s highly unlikely you’ll find high quality synthetic hair anywhere, regardless of whether you purchase it at a local retailer or elsewhere. This is because extensions made from real human hair are typically much more preferable to ones made from synthetic fibers, and as a result come with much higher price tags.

As such, you shouldn’t get your hopes up and lead yourself to believe that Secret Extensions are anywhere near the quality of those made from real human hair. Ultimately, outside of long shipping times, perhaps this is why most Secret Extensions customers appear to be disappointed with the product.

SEE ALSO: Five Mistakes You Should Avoid to Prevent Damaged Hair

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!

388 Consumer Reviews for Secret Extensions

Average Consumer Rating: 1.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 23 4 star: 22 3 star: 8 2 star: 34 1 star:  301
Bottom Line: 14% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 388
Sort reviews by:

  • Company out of business

    • Chicago, IL,
    • May 24, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I ordered it in February and shortly after I got a notice that it’s on delay.

    It’s may 19th now and the company seems to be out of business. Their website doesn’t exist anymore and neither does their phone number...awesome.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • Am I getting my extensions? Or they stole my money?

    • Massachusetts,
    • May 20, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I love, love, love Secret Hair Extensions by Daisy Fuentes. I have ordered them for the past four years and I feel each order gets better quality each time. The last time I ordered it took a very long time, like two months, but eventually, I got them.

    But I'm so upset because I put in an order for four extensions and I spent like almost $200. This was back in February 2018 and is now May 14th, 2018 and I haven't received anything. I have tried calling and the number said it's not in service. I emailed them and no one answered back. I'm so upset I don't know what else to do. At this point, I think they stole my money and I'm not getting anything.

    If anyone knows how to contact them or how to get in touch with them, let me know.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 1 out 1 people found this review helpful

    Didn't receive product

    • Los Angeles, CA,
    • Apr 11, 2018
    • Verified Reviewer

    I placed an order in February for my girlfriend but never received the product. I have no idea whether or not the product works well as we never received it, but the company has the worst business practices. They don't even pick up the phone anymore when you try calling them.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    I got scammed!

    I ordered back in December 2017, and they sent me the wrong color and none of the free gifts they promised. I called them and they apologized and said they would send me my correct color at no charge and extra bands as free gifts. I was so excited!

    It is now March 26, 2018, and I have not received anything! I tried calling and all I get is "number has been disconnected." That is really awful to do that to someone. I paid $75.00 in all and got stuck with nothing.

    Be careful, they aren't there anymore. Anyone else have a different number to call besides 844-517-1321 and 844-519-7277? Those don't work. Please help.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 4 people found this review helpful

    Never received and telephone number out of service

    I have ordered previously and like the product, however, I placed an order back in February and received my order number/delivery confirmation but still no product. I've tried calling several times, but the Secret Extensions number is no longer a working number.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Apr 13, 2018

      Rachael

      Is there another number to get ahold of them? Our order is still not here and I have been ordering their products for a while now. The last order was placed at the end of January or February.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 7 people found this review helpful

    Not good

    • Athens, GA,
    • Dec 1, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I loved Secret Extensions when I first got them. But after a few days, they started to tangle really badly and now I have a bald line running across my head from where the headband pulled out my hair. They also made a deep ident in my scalp that would itch and hurt. Sadly, I wouldn't recommend.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 10 out 11 people found this review helpful

    Extensions

    I purchased the double volume extensions in August 2017 of this year. I will have to say that I am VERY disappointed. When you first get the extensions they feel so smooth and they are very straight.

    After only 4 or 5 times of wearing them, the ends of the hair become very very rough and it looks tangled. Yes, I washed them just like I read how to do. To me, it is a waste of money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 5 people found this review helpful

    Very happy!

    I've been very happy with my Secret Extensions! I have light blonde hair and I was amazed at how well it matched with my natural hair. I've worn my extensions every day for two months, even to the gym. I find it odd that other reviews have complained that the extensions look thin and fake. Honestly, I find them to be a little too thick and heavy for my naturally thin hair.

    The only issue I've had with them is that the ends have become very course and frayed even though I take it off every night and comb it out. I also wash it about once a week and use extra conditioning treatments. So far I've had to trim a couple inches off because the ends get so bad. Other than that, I've been pretty happy with them.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 9 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Excellent product and customer service

    • New York,
    • Mar 19, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I have been told that my hair is medium to dark brown, so I ordered the medium hair extensions but it was too light for my own hair, and when I called the company, and they went above and beyond the Call of Duty.

    They are sending me the correct color I need and are only charging me for the shipping, and told me to keep the original. The extensions feel like real hair, and that was important to me because I had gastric bypass surgery, and one of the side effects was that my hair was going to thin out and I've always had beautiful thick hair with bangs, and now I don't, but hair extension bangs and the hair extensions truly look and feel like natural hair. But again, the customer service is second to none.

    I highly highly recommend this company.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 6 people found this review helpful

    Great

    • Bradenton, FL,
    • Mar 12, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    I really like my secret extensions!

    I was lucky enough to order a good color for me, and they looked fantastic until, over the warm weather, my natural hair was sun-bleached to the point where the extension no longer blends. I have been having a problem ordering a different shade, as they are on back order.

    The bottom line is, I really like the product!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 12 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Horrible

    • Stanfield, North Carolina,
    • Mar 11, 2017
    • Verified Reviewer

    They are cheap-looking, and they have a 30-day money back guarantee, but you have to have an authorization number. Their email is not about to be found and I am having trouble getting through on the phone. What a rip-off!

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 388

Write a Review for Secret Extensions!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review