About Secret Extensions

By HighYa Research Team
Published on: Mar 5, 2014

You probably already know that Secret Extensions, endorsed by TV Personality Daisy Fuentes, claims to be invisible hair extensions that give your hair thick, natural-looking volume and added length in seconds. In fact, the company claims that all you have to do is simply pull the patented adjustable headband over your hair, and tousle so that it’s no longer visible.

Secret Extensions claims that their product is made of a keratin-conditioned polyester fiber that moves, feels, and looks just like your real hair, and is available in a variety of colors to perfectly blend with your existing hair color. What’s more, the company claims their extensions can also be washed, trimmed, and curled, and that the adjustable headband will remain in place until removed by you—even while exercising.

Each 16-inch Secret Extensions is priced at $39.99, plus $6.99 shipping and handling. You’ll also have the ability to purchase a second Secret Extensions for $29.99, which will qualify for free shipping.

Secret Extensions are "guaranteed" to perfectly blend in with your hair, or they’ll refund your purchase price within 30 days. However, keep in mind that this guarantee is voided once you open the package, so there’s no way to try it out in advance.

Bottom Line: Does Secret Extensions Actually Work, or is it Just a Scam?

Based on the numerous reviews for Secret Extensions we’ve received at HighYa, as well as the hundreds of reviews available elsewhere online, there appear to be two primary problems with the product.

Secret Extensions Problem #1: Poor Customer Service

The overwhelming majority of online reviews regarding Secret Extensions complain of extremely long shipping times, which in some instances has exceeded two months. On top of this, when customers attempt to contact the company, their customer service reps can’t inform them when their extensions will ship, in addition to constantly upselling them throughout the call. With this in mind, we read countless customer reviews that stated their emails to the company went unanswered, so if you need to contact customer service, it may be best to do so via phone.

Secret Extensions Problem #2: Poor Quality

As if this weren’t enough, after waiting a very long for their Secret Extensions, most customers complain of poor quality. This includes:

  • Colors that are different than what’s advertised on the website.
  • Unrealistic texture that is a dead giveaway that you’re wearing cheap extensions, which apparently also have a propensity to shed.
  • The extensions are very thin, which means they likely won’t work well unless you already have thicker, reasonably long hair.
  • The extensions can’t be curled.
  • The “the patented adjustable headband” isn’t much more than a thin piece of elastic that is likely to stretch out after regular use. Also, this headband does not keep the Secret Extensions in place very well, and almost certainly can’t be used when exercising.

Should You Buy Secret Extensions?

The short answer: Probably not. Between the extremely long shipping times, reputation for poor quality, and customer service that seems unwilling to help, we might recommend purchasing a similar product locally. This way, you can see the product in person before handing over your hard-earned money, and easily return it if you’re not satisfied.

However, keep in mind that at this price point it’s highly unlikely you’ll find high quality synthetic hair anywhere, regardless of whether you purchase it at a local retailer or elsewhere. This is because extensions made from real human hair are typically much more preferable to ones made from synthetic fibers, and as a result come with much higher price tags.

As such, you shouldn’t get your hopes up and lead yourself to believe that Secret Extensions are anywhere near the quality of those made from real human hair. Ultimately, outside of long shipping times, perhaps this is why most Secret Extensions customers appear to be disappointed with the product.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 360 Secret Extensions Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 20 4 star: 19 3 star: 8 2 star: 33 1 star:  280
Bottom Line: 13% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 360
Sort reviews by:

  • 7 out 22 people found this review helpful

    CHANGED MY LIFE

    • Florida,
    • Jun 27, 2014

    This product is amazing! Changed my life. It completely matches my hair color. No it doesn't stay in place 100% but you just have to adjust it. I have bought 5 of them so far. I would not wash it. Just have your hairdresser shape it. If you need any tips just comment. Love it!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 2 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Great product so far

    • Jul 7, 2014

    I called about the tracking number and they were very nice and prompt with me. The hair probably only works if you have thick hair as you can tell it is fake. So far very happy with the company.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 11 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Was unhappy at first but then they replaced it!

    • Hartsville, SC,
    • Jul 23, 2014

    I would just like to say that I was very satisfied with my extensions. The first set of secret extensions I received however did shed and so I began to doubt the product. The company then replaced my extensions with brand new ones. I received my new ones within just one week of the old one. Now, I am very satisfied with my extension. I love the way it feels and the way it makes me look and feel.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 5 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Very pleased

    • Bend, OR,
    • Aug 17, 2014

    Love my extensions! I have worn it around friends who know me well and they didn't even know I had extensions on until I told them. My professional hair stylist says they are amazing! She cut mine shorter for me to give me a fuller look.

    It did take longer to get them as they were not prepared for the number of orders they received, but it was totally worth the wait.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 12 people found this review helpful

    I love them!

    • Sep 3, 2014

    Obviously you don't use extensions very well if these don't work for you. Just like any extension human hair or synthetic, they will shed a few hairs. Mine are just great and have not had any issues at all with them. I have thin hair and just like clip in if you have short or thin hair you will need more then one set. I'm happy and will continue to buy them. I just don't want to buy my human hair from China where they claim human hair and is very unreliable

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 40 out 40 people found this review helpful

    Absolute Rubbish

    • Scotland ,
    • Aug 4, 2015

    I took the plunge and opened the pack. It was really poor synthetic hair. The band is stretchy and I found it to fall out easily so I certainly wouldn't have confidence outside. I called them up and told them the problem and was able to return. Do not waste your time or money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 7 out 39 people found this review helpful

    Go for them

    • New York, NY,
    • Oct 26, 2014

    These are the best extensions I have ever used, they even stayed in while I was exercising. I was able to curl them and it was a perfect match in color too! Headband was invisible and stayed in all the time, never a problem. I would actually buy 5 or 6 for gifts. Super fast shipping and great customer service!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Impressed

    • Canada,
    • Nov 12, 2014

    I ordered once and the color was not good for me... They shipped me another which matches perfectly... I tried to curl, but it did not work... not sure if the band can be tightened... All in all, I think it is a great product... This price is affordable... and it is a fun accessory... I love it...

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 13 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Amazing and Perfect

    • Vancouver, Canada,
    • Jan 5, 2015

    When I ordered my Secret Extensions, I didn't read any reviews. Afterwards, I was very disappointed by all the reviews. When I did received them, surprisingly I loved them! The color matched perfectly and the hair is soft and a little bit curly (on the bottom). The length is 16 inches, which is good. My hair looks fabulous. Of course, I won't use a flat or a curling iron to avoid any damage.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 10 out 18 people found this review helpful

    I love them

    • Superior, Montana,
    • Feb 4, 2015

    I wish they made it in real hair because I would pay more. But seriously, After reading reviews that were saying they were so thin and that I would need at least two of them, that's how much I ended up ordering. As for being cheep, well yes, they are but when they arrived I trimmed them to blend with my hair so it wouldn't be crazy long and I love it. It's easy to put on and you can't see the clear band. They move with me and are light on the head, even with two of them in. I would even show you a picture of them in and they look great!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

  • 4 out 11 people found this review helpful

    I love them.

    I bought my Secret Extensions yesterday and I didn't have any trouble. I bought them at Wal-Mart in the hair section. They match and feel great in. I have used other extensions and the thing I like about these is they are not heavy or damaging to the hair like the glue ins. I have long thin hair so they did add thickness but I think that someone with thick hair already they would look thin. I was a little worried after I opened it that I had spent forty dollars on junk but now I would recommend the Secret Extensions after wearing them.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no

Showing 1-11 of 360

Write a Review for Secret Extensions!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review