About Secret Extensions

By HighYa Staff

You probably already know that Secret Extensions, endorsed by TV Personality Daisy Fuentes, claims to be invisible hair extensions that give your hair thick, natural-looking volume and added length in seconds. In fact, the company claims that all you have to do is simply pull the patented adjustable headband over your hair, and tousle so that it’s no longer visible.

Secret Extensions claims that their product is made of a keratin-conditioned polyester fiber that moves, feels, and looks just like your real hair, and is available in a variety of colors to perfectly blend with your existing hair color. What’s more, the company claims their extensions can also be washed, trimmed, and curled, and that the adjustable headband will remain in place until removed by you—even while exercising.

Each 16-inch Secret Extensions is priced at $39.99, plus $6.99 shipping and handling. You’ll also have the ability to purchase a second Secret Extensions for $29.99, which will qualify for free shipping.

Secret Extensions are "guaranteed" to perfectly blend in with your hair, or they’ll refund your purchase price within 30 days. However, keep in mind that this guarantee is voided once you open the package, so there’s no way to try it out in advance.

Bottom Line: Does Secret Extensions Actually Work, or is it Just a Scam?

Based on the numerous reviews for Secret Extensions we’ve received at HighYa, as well as the hundreds of reviews available elsewhere online, there appear to be two primary problems with the product.

Secret Extensions Problem #1: Poor Customer Service

The overwhelming majority of online reviews regarding Secret Extensions complain of extremely long shipping times, which in some instances has exceeded two months. On top of this, when customers attempt to contact the company, their customer service reps can’t inform them when their extensions will ship, in addition to constantly upselling them throughout the call. With this in mind, we read countless customer reviews that stated their emails to the company went unanswered, so if you need to contact customer service, it may be best to do so via phone.

Secret Extensions Problem #2: Poor Quality

As if this weren’t enough, after waiting a very long for their Secret Extensions, most customers complain of poor quality. This includes:

  • Colors that are different than what’s advertised on the website.
  • Unrealistic texture that is a dead giveaway that you’re wearing cheap extensions, which apparently also have a propensity to shed.
  • The extensions are very thin, which means they likely won’t work well unless you already have thicker, reasonably long hair.
  • The extensions can’t be curled.
  • The “the patented adjustable headband” isn’t much more than a thin piece of elastic that is likely to stretch out after regular use. Also, this headband does not keep the Secret Extensions in place very well, and almost certainly can’t be used when exercising.

Should You Buy Secret Extensions?

The short answer: Probably not. Between the extremely long shipping times, reputation for poor quality, and customer service that seems unwilling to help, we might recommend purchasing a similar product locally. This way, you can see the product in person before handing over your hard-earned money, and easily return it if you’re not satisfied.

However, keep in mind that at this price point it’s highly unlikely you’ll find high quality synthetic hair anywhere, regardless of whether you purchase it at a local retailer or elsewhere. This is because extensions made from real human hair are typically much more preferable to ones made from synthetic fibers, and as a result come with much higher price tags.

As such, you shouldn’t get your hopes up and lead yourself to believe that Secret Extensions are anywhere near the quality of those made from real human hair. Ultimately, outside of long shipping times, perhaps this is why most Secret Extensions customers appear to be disappointed with the product.

Sign Up for HighYa Newsletter

Sign up for HighYa newsletter and get our best content delivered in your inbox as well as 3 free eBooks to help you save money and shop smarter. Enter your email below to get started!


Read 389 Secret Extensions Customer Reviews and Complaints

Write a Review
Average Consumer Rating: 1.5
Rating Snapshot:
5 star: 23 4 star: 22 3 star: 8 2 star: 34 1 star:  302
Bottom Line: 14% would recommend it to a friend
Showing 1-11 of 389
Sort reviews by:

  • 7 out 22 people found this review helpful

    CHANGED MY LIFE

    • Florida,
    • Jun 27, 2014

    This product is amazing! Changed my life. It completely matches my hair color. No it doesn't stay in place 100% but you just have to adjust it. I have bought 5 of them so far. I would not wash it. Just have your hairdresser shape it. If you need any tips just comment. Love it!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 2 out 14 people found this review helpful

    Great product so far

    • Jul 7, 2014

    I called about the tracking number and they were very nice and prompt with me. The hair probably only works if you have thick hair as you can tell it is fake. So far very happy with the company.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 6 out 25 people found this review helpful

    I love them.

    • Tennessee,
    • Jul 2, 2015

    Secret hair extensions are a fun way to change your look. I first bought the wrong color due to the picture of the hair. Had I known at first you click on the color and the hair is shown on a model and you get a more accurate idea of the color. The first set I bought was too light but gave my hair an ombré look. I then ordered red blond and got the product in less than a week with standard shipping. The color is perfect. My boyfriend loves it and more importantly I love wearing them. Will probably buy one more set to make my hair look even fuller.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (2)
    View all 2 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 22, 2014

      Laya,

      You must work for the company...

    • Nov 5, 2014

      Jenn,

      I was going to say the same thing

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 11 out 23 people found this review helpful

    Was unhappy at first but then they replaced it!

    • Hartsville, SC,
    • Jul 23, 2014

    I would just like to say that I was very satisfied with my extensions. The first set of secret extensions I received however did shed and so I began to doubt the product. The company then replaced my extensions with brand new ones. I received my new ones within just one week of the old one. Now, I am very satisfied with my extension. I love the way it feels and the way it makes me look and feel.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Aug 18, 2014

      Andria,

      We'll you must be one of the lucky ones, or do you work for the company?

    • Aug 22, 2014

      Pool,

      I see I'm not the only one who is convinced the few 5 star reviews are written by employees. No way someone is happy with this product 95% of the comments are 1 star, these 5 star comments are in no way legit.

    • Oct 11, 2014

      Angel,

      Half of these people did not receive a second set, so I wonder how you were able to receive a second set.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 5 out 19 people found this review helpful

    Very pleased

    • Bend, OR,
    • Aug 17, 2014

    Love my extensions! I have worn it around friends who know me well and they didn't even know I had extensions on until I told them. My professional hair stylist says they are amazing! She cut mine shorter for me to give me a fuller look.

    It did take longer to get them as they were not prepared for the number of orders they received, but it was totally worth the wait.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 12 people found this review helpful

    I love them!

    • Sep 3, 2014

    Obviously you don't use extensions very well if these don't work for you. Just like any extension human hair or synthetic, they will shed a few hairs. Mine are just great and have not had any issues at all with them. I have thin hair and just like clip in if you have short or thin hair you will need more then one set. I'm happy and will continue to buy them. I just don't want to buy my human hair from China where they claim human hair and is very unreliable

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Sep 4, 2014

      Hairstylist,

      Sorry to break it to you but these are more than likely from China anyway. You get what you pay for ladies. These extensions are not for long term/everyday use.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Absolutely love these

    • Rochester, NY,
    • Jul 6, 2015

    I have been using clip in extensions for years and they were fine, but my hair is so fine I had clips showing. Yes I waited a long time for my extensions, but for me they were worth the wait. My hair looks awesome with them. I love them. They match my hair great and I have cut them up to give me fuller thicker and a little longer hair. I wash them every few wears and yes I do get hair falling out from time to time but for the most part I can deal with that for the awesome look I get with these in. I have two sets. I only need one set at a time to do the trick. I am so lucky to have these. They are so worth the money for me. I am sorry they don't work for everyone, but believe me, I look so much better with them in. Everyone comments on how great I look, and I know it's because of my secret extensions. When I got them, they were way to long to look natural in my hair, but a few snips of the scissors and they are just perfect. I highly recommend them and wish you luck if you order them. I guess I was lucky that they matched my hair color as well as they did. Thank you Secret Extensions for giving me self confidence that I never had.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (1)
    View all 1 commentsHide comments
    • Oct 2, 2014

      Anon,

      Your just saying that because you work for them.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 40 out 40 people found this review helpful

    Absolute Rubbish

    • Scotland ,
    • Aug 4, 2015

    I took the plunge and opened the pack. It was really poor synthetic hair. The band is stretchy and I found it to fall out easily so I certainly wouldn't have confidence outside. I called them up and told them the problem and was able to return. Do not waste your time or money.

    Bottom Line: No, I would not recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (0)
    View all 0 commentsHide comments

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 7 out 39 people found this review helpful

    Go for them

    • New York, NY,
    • Oct 26, 2014

    These are the best extensions I have ever used, they even stayed in while I was exercising. I was able to curl them and it was a perfect match in color too! Headband was invisible and stayed in all the time, never a problem. I would actually buy 5 or 6 for gifts. Super fast shipping and great customer service!

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (6)
    View all 6 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 9, 2014

      Rachel,

      Why are you the only good review? Do you work for their marketing department or something?

    • Nov 12, 2014

      BD,

      She must! Worst extensions ever!

    • Nov 13, 2014

      Lolly,

      Ha! I thought the same thing to! It's an 'undercover reviewer'!

    • Nov 16, 2014

      Sandra,

      She must be kidding, right? These extensions are a piece of crap.

    • Nov 16, 2014

      Lola,

      Oh this is funny. This reviewer must be paid to say this.

    • Dec 2, 2014

      Jill,

      ...and there's another fake review from the product employees.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 4 out 13 people found this review helpful

    Impressed

    • Canada,
    • Nov 12, 2014

    I ordered once and the color was not good for me... They shipped me another which matches perfectly... I tried to curl, but it did not work... not sure if the band can be tightened... All in all, I think it is a great product... This price is affordable... and it is a fun accessory... I love it...

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (4)
    View all 4 commentsHide comments
    • Nov 14, 2014

      Leanne,

      Looking at the other reviews, I would say that this is a fake one set by the company itself.

    • Nov 21, 2014

      Johanna,

      Certainly looks that way, Leanne

    • Dec 2, 2014

      Jill,

      I agree.

    • Jul 6, 2015

      Anonymous

      Really, I love this product and many of my friends love them too. Thank you, this review was vary helpful.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


  • 0 out 12 people found this review helpful

    Love my hair.

    • Victoria, BC,
    • Jul 9, 2015

    I have super thin hair, and suck at styling it. I got two different colored extensions and wear them together almost every day. I wash them and brush them out like they describe. Super easy to put in, easy to wear, no one can tell, even after you tell them. My hairdresser loves them for me too. I have real hair clip in ones and these are easier and better for me.

    Bottom Line: Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

    Help others find the most helpful reviews

    Was this review helpful?

    yes no
    Comments (3)
    View all 3 commentsHide comments
    • Dec 11, 2014

      Anonymous,

      You're kidding me right? You are the only one who has made a comment this positive which means 1 of 2 things. Either you're fooling yourself or you work for these people. Which one is it? If your hairdresser likes them, I would get another hairdresser. Everyone is entitled to their opinion for sure but I would tread lightly on this one. In short, ALL the other reviews speak for themselves. You're not fooling anyone.

    • Dec 19, 2014

      Anonymous,

      Wow. Such disrespectful comments, those that so dislike this product. Why not suggest helpful ways to improve this product, that you are unsatisfied with? Yet, somebody whom does not like this product sends a comment to one that does like said product cruel and bullying comments, accusing the person of awful intentions. Is it not better to work together to solve problems? Do not be snarky. Ladies and Gents people, behave yourself. Why don't you that dislike this item help, send suggestions to make this product better, instead of cruel, snarky and not nice comments?

    • Jan 13, 2015

      Truth,

      Here's my suggestion: Do NOT buy Secret Extensions. A helpful way to improve this product is to go back to the drawing board and start over.

      P. S. Why would the accusation of working for the company be considered an "awful intention"? Oh right, because the company is as crap as the product it's shilling.

    Do you have an account? Log In before commenting.

    (If you don’t have an account – don’t worry, you can create it after)


Showing 1-11 of 389

Write a Review for Secret Extensions!

Share your experience to help others shop smarter & discover great products.

Write a Review